Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Majestic 4 stars

Av. Madero #73. Col. Centro , 6000 Mexico City, Mexico

#212 of 372 hotels in Mexico City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 685 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    Great central location - can be very noisy because of that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise! Understandably for a historic building there is no double glazing but there is a huge amount of both external and internal noise. Internal noise as it's all hard surfaces so noise bounces around. Check if anything is happening in the square - we had workers setting up for a festival in the square every night through till 3/4am including doing sound checks (which finished at 3.21am). We didn't get a single good night's sleep.

    The staff are friendly and very helpful, the location is great and the hotel has a certain old fashioned style.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Marvellous in the extreme!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can think of very little that did not please me. There was some problem with the WiFi connection, but even it was solved quickly. As noted above, not all might find the location as wonderful as I did. Do not look for quiet here! But if you want to be inside Mexico City's vibrant hub, it couldn't be better.

    The hotel itself with its combination of a colonial Mexican shell and an art deco interior complete with talavera tile wainscoting on spiral staircases makes this hotel a visual treat. My room, with its balcony onto the Zócalo, Mexico City's central square, from which I could watch the national flag being raised each morning made my stay special in the extreme. However, the fact that the Zócalo is active all night, whether from drummers or cleaners, might make a different choice more apt for others. The staff were helpful in the extreme, and all else good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Historical property with the best views in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel entrance is located on a pedestrian street, so you can't arrive at the door by taxi, you have to stop at the corner and walk about 2 o 3 minutes, which I am not completely sure it is safe to do if you are alone and it is late at night. Other than that it was a great experience.

    The room had an amazing view over the Zocalo, which can however be a bit noisy at night. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast at the terrace also with views over the Zocalo was gorgeous. I also loved the bathroom in the room, super spacious with an old style bathtub

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, value for money, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a King room and were offered a large 2 Queen beds room, so had plenty of space. Nice sheets, hard mattresses. View of Zocalo, which was mostly quiet from around 10pm to morning. During our visit in September it was no problem not to have air-conditioning. Excellent breakfast buffet, including made-to-order omelets. Confirming others comments: lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Terrace restaurant view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Encountered pick pocket activity just outside of hotel entry Minimal, uncomfortable furnishings. Noisy zocolo facing room (loud speakers blaring AM & PM)

    Terrace restaurant view. Friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Especially the restaurant staff were kind. They gave us same advice how to eat tacos :) And even after several days from checkout, front staff helped us call a taxi without showing a bad face.Thank you very much. The location was the best and it was very convenient for sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Location couldn’t get better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s colonial character, the restaurant overlooking the historic center. Breathtaking view! Amazing!

    Location couldn’t get better!!! People are special. The property it self is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Over all, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No color on the walls in the bedrooms. Dreary. Some colorful pictures would have enhanced our stay.

    We liked the view from the restaurant. We enjoyed the halls and tile which remained traditional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Central a
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived very early in the morning. The night watchman was so unfriendly and practically shouted at me! Electronic key stopped working every day

    Excellent view of zocalo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Excelent location and great confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the buffet was terrible. It was cold. The fruit and salad were not fresh and the weitress service was slow

    The location and the confort of tje bedroom were great. Also the staff service was great (except at the terrace restaurant)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    In the heart of Zocalo, in good and bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s top location is also full of life and also noise. Zocalo is full of military parades, dancing mayas beating their drums, political speeches, random dudes with megaphones trying to help other people find Jesus etc. so if your windows are to that direction, beware that it’s an odd show from 7am to midnight. Also the streets around hotel are full of tourists and touts so it may not always be a leisure promenading out there.

    Location. The balcony of our hotel room was opposite of the President’s balcony. The hotel is literally facing te Zocalo. Cannot be more historically central than that. Room was spacious and comfy and so was the bathroom. The building and its interiors are elegant, full of historical charm. The hotel’s restaurant on top floor is particularly nice with its view over Zocalo. Where some earlier reviews pointed out that rooms were somewhat outdated that was not the case with ours. Our room has been redone recently.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    The location is perfect and the room view was awesome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is from 200 BC so you need an operator in order to use it, so, at 6 am from the 6th floor with a heavy suitcase you’ll have to wait 10-15 minutes or go down stairs. Also, no air conditioning.

    The location is perfect and the room view was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is situated very centrally.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at reception was not happy to call another taxi service than the one they work with. Obviously, they charge almost 100% more than other taxis and probably keep that surcharge for themselves.

    The hotel is situated very centrally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, old style hotel with large rooms and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very noisy at all hours of the day and night. This is not the place for resting or snoozing the day away. Glad we were in a room facing the zocalo.

    Location couldn’t be better. The room was a bit old fashioned, but very large and comfortable enough. Only ate in the restaurant once but food was good and setting is great. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    It was better than the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and furniture is not modern, but functional and clean.

    The room was very big, I had a view on the Zocalo Square which was amazing. The mattress was very comfortable, I really liked the structure of the hotel itself. The bathroom was not really fancy, but was clean and with a window on the internal wall, that guaranteed fresh air. Breakfast on the terrace was ok, with music also in the morning and a view on the square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great staff and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As some people mention it is an old historic hotel so you must expect a little wear here and there, but that's not really a complaint as I thought the upkeep has been good and the good features more than make up for any small problems.

    The location is fabulous, and the character and elegance of the building is great, but extra points go to the staff. When I found that my room did not have the view of the Zocalo that I very much wanted, the desk clerk right away worked to find me a different room. He found me a smaller room but with the perfect view, a trade off that I was happy to make. That is just one example of the friendly, professional service I experienced over and over during my stay. I would not hesitate to stay again especially considering what I think was a great value for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    I compare it to the best exotic marigold hotel for choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit dated. Some sockets were a bit loose.

    I compare it to the best exotic marigold hotel for choice of name. It was majestic in a dated sense. Even had a lift operator. The breakfast. Could have stayed all day if I had a big enough stomach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning might detract in high summer, though I stayed during late May and was very happy with an open window and the floor fan provided.

    The location is superb. I could not afford to stay in a hotel in a comparable location in any other large capital city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Great city centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No A/C in the bedrooms.

    Central location on the Zocalo square. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooftop bar and restaurant have some of the best views in the city. Hotel decor looks increasingly dated - but somehow this added to its charm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.5
    Expensive night for a bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive price for a night and expecting a good service. Hotel room floor was dirty, TV wouldn't work, the main light didn't turn on, beds were hard rock, personal was not friendly. Ok,faucets were a thing... two separate faucets for hot and cold water, so you could only get hot or cold water! Never warm water.. we stayed the night there cause it was getting late, we thought we could have a decent night stay but, never staying again.

    Historic center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The next visit on April 19 we were given a very tied room with rattycold carpeting. It wasn’t nearly as nice as our first room from April 5-9

    The room overall was good but the staff were outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Got twin beds instead of double, also could not sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got twin beds instead of double, also could not sleep because of some street-works (plumbing?) being done just by our windows during the whole night!! Very disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Dream vacation - would stay no where else in Mexico City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish they had air conditioning in the rooms, but with a fan I didn't have any issues. Also, it is a little noisy at night since you're at the town center.

    The atmosphere at the restaurant is fabulous. It was the highlight of the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Location is great: the very center of Mexico City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great: the very center of Mexico City. A very decent hotel in an old style building. We enjoyed the view of the central square of the city - Plaza de la Constitucion - during dinner and breakfast. The hustle and bustle of the city center died out at about 11 p.m., and it was quiet at night though our windows faced Plaza de la Constitucion and there were a lot of people in evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Majestic landmark getting old
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel needs TLC (but then it'll cost more for sure!), rather expensive breakfast, at first to everyone's confusion got a room that was already filled

    location, view, the building is grand

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Splendid location lets you forget some shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists unpleasant. Ine of them wanted to charge me twice for the room and when I finally proved that I was right he didnt’t even say sorry or anything.

    Location cannot be beaten especially if you got the zocalo view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Ancient castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was sceptic about the place as the soundings were not good. My room was perfect. I had awesome view, comfy bed, big room and extremely positive impression from the attentive personnel and wonderful atmosphere of the hotel. Number one recommended!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some wear and tear but nothing unexpected in a 300 year old building.

    Excellent location and view on the Zocalo. We liked the historic building and the terrace restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    Location is very convenient to walk around downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very old and not well maintained. The windows were so old you could hear everything what was going on the street, specially when the hotel is next to the zócalo. Bathroom was very old.

    Location is very convenient to walk around downtown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was overall okay; staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although clean, the room was not updated - furniture was old; bureau drawers were stiff and hard to open and close; ceiling light fixture was hanging at an angle, flooring was very old and definitely needed to be replaced. Although not needed at this time of year, there was no A/C. Windows did open so we were able to get a nice breeze, but it would be unbearable in summer when the temperatures are much higher. Awkward placement of outlets; the coffee maker was located on a table where the cord didn't reach any outlets, so had to rearrange to be able to plug coffee maker in. Only one set of towels provided so had to request additional set (there were two of us on the reservation).

    excellent location, right in the heart of the historic district of Mexico City

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.3
    horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, many other properties to choose from with wonderful locations, anyone can go up to the roof top resturant to see the view and have a drink, would never stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    cold and bad internet, but location good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad internet, cold rooms, restaurant food and room service food was always cold so I had to warm it up with a hairdryer, Breakfast had cold food, cold water in shower mostly! Not ideal stay, but location was good & the tepid pancakes were good at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Classic Mexican hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise is part of life in Centro Historico. The lack of towels and plugins and poor lighting all date this fading princess

    Loved being on a pedestrian only street and the hotels classic grandeur. The view from the rooftop bar restaurant was wonderful. The staff were very welcoming and the elevator operators absolutely delightful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Magnificent view, if you stay there in cold weather, bring thermals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a poor signal. It also delayed the check in process and I lost 30 minutes because they couldnt run my credit card to pre approve. I also happen to be there during cold weather, my room was freezing. And there are no heaters in the room, which is the case in all Mexico City, but they should have provided portable heaters.

    The Location is right on the Zocalo with Amazing view. Close to shops and museums

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Central position for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room overlooked the courtyard which we changed the room to face the Zocalo - this was a huge mistake as the noise from the square was deafening as the windows are not double glazed. The noise went on till midnight. The wifi in that room was non-existent and although staff tried resetting the router the service was frustrating. We moved back to our old room where at least we had wifi but no view and there was no noise. The beds are hard and not comfortable.

    The hotel has very beautiful tiles on the walls and the roof is magnificent, the staff are friendly and helpful and the desk manager arranged for a very pleasant and informative taxi driver to take us to Teohuacan in the morning. The rooms are clean. The hotel is in a perfect position. We did not eat at the restaurant but had delicious room service. There is a great patisserie right next to the hotel serving fresh pastries and coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Faded grandeur in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a beautiful building, it is in need of updating, not modernising but restoring... had problems with the key not working on some occasions and had to obtain a new one from reception. Although roof top bar was a nice place to relax, it felt like the staff were constantly watching you and asking if you wanted more drinks instead of waiting to be asked. Also they sometimes didn't bring your change and just assumed they could keep it.

    Grand old building overlooking the Zocola, Cathedral and National Palace. Great views from the roof top bar. It was like stepping back in time to a bygone age, even the lift was operated by a person, Sergio on the lift was very helpful, polite and friendly. Big rooms and very comfortable, large bed. Close to restaurants and eateries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Superb location and value. I had a Magnificent view. Older facilities lacking comforts, though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is overall a little run down. I like historic (and it IS historic) but it’s also in need of some maintenance. Water was also barely warm enough to shower. And as is probably common in Mexico, there was no heat or A/C, so I was chilly in my room. Along with the great location comes throbbing street noise far into the night.

    Excellent location and value. Historic. Clean, and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building is old, yet the bathroom door needed another lock, that is what the repairman told us, but it was never changed.. They forgot to changed towels couple time, yet the front desk is super fast and got them fast! I still like the hotel and will be back!

    The beautiful location! Acros from the Mexican National Palace! We view the Zocalo Christmas decorations etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.8
    Maybe it's a pleasant hotel in the summer. Definitely avoid this hotel in the Winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and freezing cold. They have no heating at all. There were no extra blankets and I had to enquire to get blankets.

    Classic looking hotel. Pretty much nothing else going for it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Wonderful location, friendly staff but honestly we would recommend other accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not very clean and we had to ask several times to have it cleaned. The room was very cold as there is no heat and the temperature was 5 degrees Celsius. Had to sleep in my down coat with 3 wool blankets on the bed!

    friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. The New Years Eve fiesta was very expensive but was great fun.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great price, incredibly uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were terrible (rock hard and springs protruding). At first I thought it was upside down and tried flipping it during the night. Eventually I took bedding from the other bed to add some padding. Also the water never got any hotter than luke warm in the shower.

    The location is extremely central

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Would recommend it to all but the very fussy traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to manhandle the luggage a block from taxi as it is a pedestrian only street out front of hotel. But convienent location made up for it.

    Loved the ambience of the colonial building! Old fashion elevator too. Gorgeous spiral staircase. Spacious and comfortable room. Rooftop terrace and food was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.3
    Cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water, so I had to take a cold shower in the winter in a room with no heating! The bed was hard!

    It's a very beautiful Hotel, and the location is perfect for seeing downtown!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Hope to be back soon and stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in downtown MX City is a nightmare, which is not the fault of the hotel. But valet parking is not available, just so you know. My husband circled the blocks nearby and was finally able to find parking about 4 blocks away.

    Tremendous view of the zocalo/central square. We loved the historic building and the location right on the pedestrian walkway and in walking distance of the major attractions in the old historic center. The restaurant was terrific.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Best view food and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with many historical building, little voice travels a good length + bed can use some better mattress.... still loved hotel.

    Best view, staff, rooftop restaurant, cafe popular and distance to hop-on/off bus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    This hotel is an excellent value for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was not the strongest and could often be slow to use. The shower pressure was not the greatest in the room that I stayed in. It could get a bit noisy because it is where all of the action is.

    This hotel is an excellent value for the location. I had amazing views of the Zocalo from my window. The building is a historic building with great architecture and character. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was no air conditioning which was fine during this time of year, but could be an issue in summer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Only advantage is location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi very poor!! The room was not clean. The floor was dirty. The shower was disgusting. I had a room with an exceptional view on the zocalo but that is on about the only advantage of this hotel. Unfortunately. It is not on the level of a Best Western Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    I will not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (you must rent a fan with a deposit), poor cable channels, old and not enough towels, charged for water, the wood floors appeared to be dirty, bed is too hard, and a security guard appeared to be very, very unfriendly.

    Close proximity to historical sites, average customer services and good taxi service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    OK for a short stay of 3 to 4 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The building is old and it shows. The hotel is in need of a massive revamp if you have to restore it to its previous grandeur. Right now, it does look a bit dull and jaded. Dimly lit rooms can be depressing.

    The nice thing about the hotel is of course, its location. It is a heritage building where the hotel has been in existence for the past 80 years. So it does exude an old-world charm and is actually one of the buildings that ring the famous Zocalo square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    The building and rooms and lobby were outstanding. I will only stay at this hotel in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby staff were sometimes a little dismissive of me. Also the restaurant asked for you to include your tip on the receipt before they ran your card. That was a little awkward.

    Amazing building and atmosphere. This hotel had a nostalgic feel from the travel poster era.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Great location and building but room is too noisy and service and amneties are substandards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not particularly clean. The bathroom is substandard for a 4 star hotel. The plaza is very noizy and the hotel failed to install double glazing which makes it difficult to have a good night sleep. The white lighting reminded us of an office space or a hospital.

    The location is great together with th view and size of the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location! Great people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have never been here, it is a little difficult to find. Not a lot of exterior markings and it is on a "foot traffic" street so the cab has to drop you off a few hundred feet from the hotel.

    The location is fantastic. We have stayed at this location on previous visits and is our favorite place in the Historic district. Easy walking access to many things to see, do, and eat. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location facing Zócalo square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work in the room, only in the corridor. The bathroom is old and needs to be remodeled for 4-star look and feel. The towels were really old.

    Excellent location facing Zócalo square. Very good natural light. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Incredible location and great for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is old so it can be a bit noisy. The room I stayed in had stained carpet and needed refurbishing, but I was there a couple of weeks after the earthquake so this may have caused some damage.

    The location cannot be beaten of this lovely old hotel, right next to the Zocalo and on the main shopping street. The rooms are spacious, the staff are wonderful and incredibly helpful. It's great for a short stay as close to all the main sights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Fine Hotel with a great Loacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had an unfortunate "incident" in the Lobby concerning a money clip and some cash. It had tremendous sentimental value to me, ( a gift from my late Wife") involving one of your Bell Staff. I must underscore the Bellmen who escorted me to my cab was not involved.

    The Bellmen helped me with my bags and waited with me on the Zocala until the Cab arrived is a very fine gentleman and his courtesy should be noted. The other two who were with my bags in the Lobby while I checked out, not so much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Faded glory but what a view--and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of outlets and flaky paint

    Old-style hotel, charmingly ancient and unimproved. Still has the tiles and the plumbing from the 30s so you take the good with the bad. I liked the balcony and the deep bath but the fixtures were funky and hadn't been updated. Like most Mexican hotels, wall outlets are in short supply so we wound up putting the coffee maker on the floor. On the plus side, you can't beat the location and view. The staff were equally helpful so, all considered, I'll be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    Best Western needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could be cleaner. Foul smell coming from bathroom at night. Cockroach in bathroom. Did a bad job on laundry of pants, had to wait 3 days to get them back.

    Location and restaurant with a view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.6
    Choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty floor, cockroach in bathroom, sewage smell wafting in the room at night, shower curtain too short, AND they wrecked 2 pairs of my pants when I sent them to the laundry for a high price. No apologies when I returned them to the front desk to re clean them. Requested a quiet room and was given a noisy street front room. No way to stir tea, no sweetner, no tea provided, only coffee. Chair in room needed repair. Bad wifi.

    Location. Tea maker in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.6
    Good location but that's what they count on only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really friendly as written by others, you can only enjoy the terrace if you will have dinner or lunch buffet, but as a single Traveller, not suitable. Bar soso, long waiting time, open ice cube storage , Bad WLAN in all areas and also not clean as I thought

    Only the location and the Charme of the old hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.6
    Outrageous security & privacy breaches; disappointing because it's such a gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A staff member (not housekeeping, but someone from sales or management) broke into our room in order to show it to potential guests. We were taking a nap at the time, but I was appalled at the breach of security and privacy. When I told the front desk about the incident, they didn't seem very concerned and offered little apology or compensation for the intrusion, except to offer me a different room (which begs the question – are certain rooms show rooms subject to random intrusions when the management feels like it?) We did not feel safe here because of this incident and I won't be staying here again. Other issues included the front desk's inability to coordinate an early check-in. I waited in the lobby because I was sick and even an hour after check-out, I had to be persistent and ask the front desk again to be checked in early. When we visited the terrace for a drink, we were told that we could only sit there if we ordered lunch, and yet the entire terrace was empty. They reluctantly let us sit there. Overall, the staff was rude and not helpful. They did nothing to anticipate our needs.

    The hotel is absolutely gorgeous – talavera tile, classic elevator, great views of the zocalo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Lovely place in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be super helpful if, at check-in, staff confirms dates of stay, and then at check out confirms checkout date matches dates confirmed. I ended up paying for a night I didn't use and having to scramble to find a hotel for a night we thought we were booked at the Majestic (but weren't). I definitely take partial blame, but a few clarifying questions at check in would have helped immensely and would have left me with a more favorable impression.

    Lovely interior, lovely views from room, great central location, rooftop restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Classic hotel filled with old charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin, it was very noisy and I could hear the person in the next room breathing!

    The hotel is old and wonderful, filled with character. Great location, in the centre of Mexico City. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good There was no AC or fan, and the afternoons were very uncomfortable. The early mornings, evenings and nights were very pleasant.

    Location was excellent. Staff were very good. Facilities were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is situated in a perfect spot to be in Mexico City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel added additional costs to the original prize advertised on booking.com. The Internet reception was a challenge. Breakfast is not included in the prize. The restaurant staff were very unaccommodating and unwilling to assist.

    The hotel is situated in a perfect spot to be in Mexico City. The reception staff were friendly and willing to assist.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent base for visiting Centro Historico of Mexico City!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi signal in the room was very weak and most of the time I couldn't connect at all. For a Skype call home I had to stand close to the door otherwise the connection was lost.

    The location is excellent, my room was on the corner with a view on the Zocalo and the cathedral, superb! Large 2-room suite, nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Location is good and value for the money fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building echoes and you can hear people talking. The Wi-fi was not reliable barely had any service on their network. I booked this hotel because ad said breakfast was included, it wasn't. Luckily there were plenty of places near by that were great. There was construction outside in the plaza with work going on all day and night; that was not optimal. Expected better from Best Western.

    Convenient location and the food at the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Good experience in Mexico city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy but enjoyable. The Cathedral's bells and construction works in the zócalo made the stay a bit noisy.

    It's well located, just in the heart of Mexico city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little old and the rooms could use some updating. Parking is very expensive in all the lots nearby. Considering that it's in downtown even driving around is very difficult due to the traffic and one way streets.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The second right in the heart of the historic downtown so everything is close by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safety box in my room was out of order. Though I asked a staff to keep my valuable goods in the front desk, the safety box there was also broken so that they kept my staffs in a drawer unlocked ......So I have to worry about it all night!

    This hotel is located in the heart of the city(fronts on Zocalo! ) and I could see the Catedral Metropolitana from the window. It was so impressive view! But instead of this convenient location the noise(sirens,music,and the Catedral bell ring super loudly per hour throughout the night) never stop all night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    The location is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn't work at all and there were renovations ongoing the whole night next to my room. The staff however offered me a new room when I complained about this later in the evening. Unfortunately however the new room was not as nice as the first one.

    The location is awesome!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Majestic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matresses and are too firm. If you like soft pillows it is a good idea to bring your own one

    Beautiful colonial hotel with excellent staff. Reasonable room price. Restaurant on top of the building with the best view to the Zocalo. The breakfast was excellent and a good variety, fruits, beef, chicken, fish, bread, tasty yogurts, eggs, etc Nothing spicy if you prefer it. Rooms are pretty big and very clean. Staff is very detail oriented and attentive. Location is the best!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location on the Zocalo a few steps out of the door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water for the 2 nights I stayed. Mexico City is a great world capital and full of things to do, but it is like all major cities dirty and one gets sweaty going to its historical sites and great parks. A decent hotel experience includes a shower especially for the price. The building is old and an echo chamber, much more so than most older building of this type. A couple of young people in the lobby enjoying a game of cards sounded like I was in the middle of a lucha libre audience by the time it echoed into my room. My room was once part of a suite that just had locked doors between them, I could hear every thing in the two joining, I mean every thing, I could hear people roll over in their beds as if they were in the room with me. The floor was recently renovated, a company of Best Westerns size ought to be able to understand how to sound proof rooms and provide hot water.

    Perfect location on the Zocalo a few steps out of the door for major locations in Historic Center, the Metropolitan Cathedral, pedestrian shopping streets etc . Lot of old style amenities-elevator men etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    View is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet very choppy, very loud due to events in zocalo, beds very firm.

    View is amazing! Great price for central location, old school style, very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.3
    Marvelous View & Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the service elevator was working & we were on the 6th floor, however the 6th floor has the best view & higher is quieter, so it was worth it!! The bed was just a bit too hard for my liking.

    The view is magnificent!! The location is the best, right on the main Zocalo, considered the very heart of Mexico itself. The room was a good size & we love the high ceilings. This is an older hotel (1937) So it's an historic building with beautiful blue & white mosaic work everywhere, but also a bit worn in a romantic kind of way. If you like brand-new shiny modern....this is not the hotel for you! We also got a better deal on the room through Booking.com, than the posted rack-rate on the hotel's website, & posted behind the check-in counter, which was great! We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Best Western Majestic great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traveled with family and we booked three hotel rooms at the Majestic. The shower pressure was way too low in my room or extremely high. The cable barely worked and wifi did not work. These very minor setbacks should not deter anyone from booking here.

    The hotel was in the center of everything a tourist would want to do. The staff were very courteous, bilingual, and friendly. The pictures is the view you get from this hotel. I stayed in room 608 and 408 these rooms have the best view (any room facing the palace/center plaza with the flag. The hotel is right next to a little convenient store and a pastry store.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Majestic traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: