Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel 5 stars

Boulevard Dr Belisario Dominguez No. 1195 Col. Santa Elena, 29060 Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Mexico

#4 of 43 hotels in Tuxtla Gutiérrez

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food took too much to be served both times we ate there also there are a lot of mosquitos in the common areas even in the restaurant.

    Bed really nice and the pool .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff,room,price are very good. but The distance to airport is much farer than showed in Booking, we spend 40 minutes to airport in The very early morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great offer of on-site amenities with a nice pool area to relax. Due to our late flight, we especially enjoyed the possibility to check-out until 1:00 pm together with easy baggage storing. Overall, we had a perfect stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well equipped gym was not maintained at the standard. In one of our roooms we had a wet carpet, which we addressed, but did not really bother anyone.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet with a broad selection. Nice pool area in the courtyard. Big rooms with a view over the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My reservation was all screwed up, I had selected specific bed types and the hotel assigned whatever they liked. I had requested 3 double rooms with two beds, 1 Executive Suite and 1 double room with a king size bed, instead they gave me 4 king size be rooms and 1standard double two bed room on the executive floor . When I requested the change yo what I requested they argued that booking.com was to blame since they do not specify bed type (of course this is not true), this was the reservations manager saying this and of course he was nowhere to be found. They ended up giving me a so called "upgrade" (which was the actual executive suite I had already booked) and after an hour of arguing they also gave me an additional standard two bed double room. This was exactly what I had reserved but they wanted it to make it look as if I was getting a great deal, which I was not. I am also a Marriott rewards member and they strongly suggested using their own website instead of booking.com in the future The hotel was full and I guess it is easier to try to blame someone else (in this case the booking engine) for their mistakes that assuming their responsibility and fixing the problem they generated on their own.

    Nothing worth talking about, just a below average midlevel business hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very comfortable and there is a lot to enjoy like a pool table, tennis court, steam bath, fitness and pool. The breakfast is very nice, it costs around 10 dollar. Wifi is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some amenities for the bathroom weren't available.

    The Service is terrific, the staff is very kind. The facilities are great and the rooms are very comfortable, highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in/ check out staff angry, cleaning people carrying cleaning cart very early ( 6 am ) making a lot of noise and talking really load outside the room. Flies at the buffet the staff seems to don't care so much.

    Good mattress, good pillows and linens, great bathroom amenities, good restaurant, good lobby bar with music, snacks and drinks fairly priced. Conrado bellboy is a great welcoming person, great job showing us features at room and hotel facilities, people at restaurant celebrating my sons birthday

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was probably a very classy hotel when it was built but some parts are a bit tired like the grouting around the bath. The dirt on the big windows in the dining room spoilt the spectacular view.

    We were not looking forward so much to our stay here as it was just a stop off but we really liked it. The location is excellent because of the view rather than its position in town? The buffet meals were very good and value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a shower for swimming pool. I have noticed that the room price can be lower if you book directly with the hotel. This is not fair with what booking.com tells to the client. I expect an explanation fronte you.

    The kindness of the staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel reception and main restaurant area has no air conditioning. Too hot

    The business lounge is v nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been a few more snacks in the room.

    Pool was great, access to the executive lounge and the gym was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greatt location, lovely buffet, nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in the new part of town, close to plenty of restaurants, bars and parks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s difficult to reach on foot. Walking up hill in the blazing sun is kind of difficult.

    It’s a very airy and open property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Pool, but water was so cold

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If there's a better deal in Mexico I haven't found it after 6 trips there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price

    restaurant and bar service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La recrpcion

    El ambiente

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant expensive for dinner

    The bed extremely compfy and the room spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant - it was off and old

    Excelente

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was expensive, no hairdryer in room.

    Good wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was nice

    Service was excellent staff was very helpful with all questions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was very slow I waited almost an hour to have cutlery delivered to my room

    Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old fashion hotel .

    comfortable but old fashion.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure

    Food was great. People are extremely nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were noisy from the screaming kids in the pool area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools are cold, room smells, problems with bathroom, restaurant with bugs

    Comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities, are poor plus the personnel actitude very poor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • People with friends
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Troubles with coffre machine

    Staff, Room, Gym

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service was awful.

    Massive bed. Great facilities. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Group
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought my breakfast was included but I had to pay afterwards

    It's a very nice hotel with lots of facilities and a great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didnt speak english very well, our room was bit oldfashioned, no mini bar

    Pool area was very nice, good wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort, cleanliness, friendliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No emiten facturas! Lamentable

    No emiten facturas! Lamentable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer that worked

    Hotel staff very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big breakfast Buffet, room very nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and comfort

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE pool was extremely cold , the food was extremely expensive, only small bottle of water in a family room

    I liked THE beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noce staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelente Hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking .com price was 69.00 but total charge per night was100.00

    Nice and clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked some English tv and the option of having breakfast included in the room.

    The breakfast buffet is very good and the bed is very comfortable. It is a beautiful hotel because of the swimmingpool in the middle and large trees giving the hotel a tropical feel.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Deco could be a bit more modern and less end of the 90s. Food at the restaurant is good. Food for room service is not. Inability to be charged to the room instead of having to pay immediately after ordering anything.

    The staff is incredibly professional, polite and trustworthy. I forgot a couple of gold rings, rang them up and came back to pick them up. These would have normally be stolen or never found. The beds are great, the pool and all the facilities. I am not a fan of big chain hotels but this one, I liked!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool temperature is not controlled, bathroom had no extractor, and the hotel was under construction so it was a little noisy and dirty.

    Comfortable, very kind people, location is convenient, and wifi was good

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That we only stayed one night

    Great breakfast, bed, value for the money

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is beautiful. And has very good personal. All of them really nice. Very comfortable romos.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    View from hotel room

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got really bad food poisoning after eating dinner at hotel restaurant. After this incident hotel cancelled all my food expenses.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool is to cold

    It's a great hotel to stay at!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    windows that only opened to an inside patio

    location, enclosed garage, large comfortable beds, helpful staff

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: