Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco 5 stars

Boulevard Benito Juarez Numero 5, Bahia Tangolunda, 70989 Tangolunda, Mexico

#7 of 11 hotels in Tangolunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym was poor and the hotel felt like it was a bit rough around the edges. Also it needs to have wifi in the rooms and not just communal areas.

    We had a good time here. The plunge pool in our room was fantastic, as was the pool. When we went it was very quiet and that made for a lovely time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Much of the food was dire. We had the worst pizzas I've encountered. I also had to reject food that was not properly cooked - still frozen. You also need to check your room, as ours had a "sea view" that was quite restricted and, while clean and comfortable, was looking its age.

    The location is fantastic, right on the beach but, unlike neighbouring places, still looking unspoilt. The enormous main pool is a joy with plenty of space to relax both by the pool and on the beach, without feeling too over-crowded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place. The rooms are a little bit dated, but you're mostly there for the beach and pool anyway. Buffet breakfast was good but the dinner was just average. It seems like they are a little bit understaffed, which is probably not management's fault. Every business I saw in Huatulco, especially restaurants and hotels, had signs up seeking to hire new employees. Just not enough local population to sync up with all the development, I guess.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The playset been built sometime around 1990, and not much maintenance had been done since that time. The room looked somewhat dingy. Other staff tried to be helpful, it took 90 minutes for bottled water to be delivered to our room. The food buffet was reminiscent of a high school cafeteria, despite the lovely beach location. How do I paid 500 pesos a night for this room, I would have forgiven all of this. But I paid over $500. Not recommended.

    The location was great, and we had a magnificent view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was weak. Also, there was a lot of construction going on which was noisy. But that’s temporary, we’ll be back for sure.

    The staff is the highlight and heart of this property. They’re so friendly, warm, and fun. They provide top notch service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While I had a great experience, my rating also includes the bad aspect of my stay (having to be moved to another room because of the smell of mold in the three rooms they showed me).

    The first three rooms the hotel tried to put me in smelled of mold. They upgraded me to a beach front room and I was beyond thrilled with their patience and flexibility in accommodating me because of a mold allergy. The room was amazing and the personal pool fantastic! The food isn't fantastic, but they have a tasty breakfast buffet with traditional breakfast food and mexican food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water temperature in the shower was lukewarm, but its not a big deal since its very hot outside anyway.

    Beautiful resort located in a beautiful bay. Great food, excellent service, comfy beds, spotless facilities. Its the perfect place to just chill by the beach the whole day and get pampered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very expensive and location doesn't not offer alternatives to hotel food. Beach is not very swimmable. Dangerous for children.

    Lovely views, architecture, fantastic pool. Staff is friendly, kind, informed and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When they clean the room, they should be more proactive on taking all the room service trays on time

    The people's service touch ... priceless Food was very good, above average ... The hotel, very well located. Beautiful beach -not crowded at all! The place was so peaceful, quiet at night (good rest assured!) Clean, neat pool ... Very worthed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    for a solo guest it was a little to quiet, no music allowed without headphones and zero night life pool was like 85 degrees ocean was more refreshing

    views were great, food was good, very quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner on Sunday is poor quality buffet. Wi-fi not available in room. Facility used to be a better quality, it is now more dedicated to groups of visitors rather than giving every guest a good service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the room they gave us when we checked in. They gave us a room way on top of the hill, that was far away from restaurant, pool and beach. I requested a King size bed and they gave me two small beds. The view was the roof top of the building below. After I complained they moved us to a room below that was the very last room on the opposite side. I was told that the reason they gave us the two beds and not king and terrible view was because I booked through Booking.com. To move down below to a King size bed with a better view I had to pay $300 pesos more per day. I was very unhappy and complanned. I am now going to email the manager which is what I was told to do.

    The swimming pool was very clean. Liked the private beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wonderful QUIET and PEACEFUL place! Unlike the usual hotels with loud music and partying and water sports, this is a place to be quiet with the most beautiful view ever. Do not go here if you want to party.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant prices! Good food but too expensive and very few alternatives within a walking distance.

    Very peaceful, relaxing place. If you are looking to party, look elsewhere. Also, the hotel has its own bakery so the pastry is always fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Baked goods were of inferior quality. Taxi rates were more expensive when called by The hotel.

    Every comfort was thought of. Even a little pool off our patio for rinsing off océan salt.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am writing you an emial to explain all the things that were poor. Charging for wifi is rude. They wanted to charge $50 a day for two people with 2 cell phones and 2 ipads. This is stupid. Front desk didn't have a clue about any tourist activities...not helpful at all. Your policy about imprinted my credit card for 10,000 pasos to sign for food and drinks is disrespectful. No other hotel in the world does this. I had a major arguement with your people about this. They were going to rip me for this amount of money. You provide no entertainment for the tourists. You hosted a corporate garden function and a staff Xmas party which made noise for all those who faced the areas. There was no music in any of the dining facilities. The palapa beach bar closed at 6 pm...really!!!!!!!!!!!!! All inclusive people should wear arm bands so the staff can differentiate them from paying clients. The breakfast restaurant gave me a bill for the Mexican breakfast for three days in a row when we had the Americano which is considerably cheaper. This is not a mistake. The staff were trained to do this. Didn't like this at all. Your front desk staff needs customer service training. They were not friendly, courteous or helpful. I won't be recommending your hotel to anyone.

    Nice location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tried to overcharge me upon arrival stating that the booking.com rate did not include my kids, although I had reserved for a family of 5. They would not change the up charge of over $100 a night. Hotel was going to charge me for the whole 4 night stay if we left but agreed to let us stay one night and then leave after I complained Bathroom was dirty, room older and not well maintained for a $350 room. My advice: stay somewhere else. Hualtulco has many 4-5 star hotels for about a third of the cost!

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was almost always red flagged

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't overly attentive to requests but friendly

    Quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communication at the front desk was a little slow.But they were very nice people.

    Great property very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality food, poor service, we had to buy food outside the hotel

    Service was terrible, front desk people were agresive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds - Private Pool Non Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is not wifi service included in the rooms price and the bouhgt service is too bad.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didnt like the furniture as well as the room, the wood doors are old and in bad conditions. The paint wall of the outside of the room was damaged and badly painted. I think the pool could be cleaner. and also there was a congress (15 people). They disturbed with loud music at the beach, one day. I think there should have a respecfutl regulation in order to keep confort to everybody.

    I enjoyed silence and peace, No music at the pool and beach. The beach area is clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room needed updating and was far from beach and pool. Food was just okay. Guests would stake out shaded spots on beach early in AM, leave stuff all day long to save places and not be there.

    Pool and beach. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They did not take into consideration that we were traveling with a 2-year old, and our suite was in far and high from the pool (not easily accesible). We made a reservation for dinner at the restaurante, and they called it off last minute due to a wedding. I expected that for the price we paid we could have WiFi included but no, and even we wanted to pay extra for it but it did not reach our suite (again to far and high from everything else)

    The location, the beach and the pool

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food was poor and service was slow. A real pity that they can't offer better quality of food when the facilities are otherwise perfect. Even the buffet food in an all inclusive resort is much better than á la carte here. The hotel is located on a steep hill so not recommended for older guests or guests with small children. Internet access is charged a hefty $10/day and was not working in the room. I did not pay this at check out.

    Location, beach, pool (best I have seen), suite with private pool.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi should be included with your room, you should not have to pay extra. But it is free up by the reception area.

    The grounds are beautiful, great pool, and beautiful private beach. The rooms have a great view, the ocean is right there!! Very friendly staff!! Smaller resort which I prefer!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If I just have to say something probably would be to advice that if you have a baby (as we did) try reserving a hotel room in the beachfront or lower floors otherwise stairs can be a hazzle.

    Very private place with all you need. Staff was very kind and prompt. Food was excellent although you run out of choices if you stick only to the hotel as it is not a larger all inclusive with varieties of options. Facilities are a bit old and run down, but maintained properly and functioning good.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband found objects in the food twice. The restaurants are very average, even mediocre for the price. Staff members came in our room even with the "do not disturb sign" up. I thought that was very unprofessional. Overall very expensive for the experience

    The pool, beach and location were great. The room was spacious and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rollaway bed was very uncomfortable for my son. If you must accept one and can't get a room with two double beds, then demand they give you a comfortable mattress.

    The beach seemed private, the views were great, and the stay was very comfortable with a great breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food! Prices too high, portions very small and below average quality...the hotel has little details such as rooms maintenance or not free wi-fi (ridiculous in such a hotel category) but the food is what really hits you too bad!

    Relaxing spot and very big pool

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kitchen needs to be updated and equipped. What's the point of having a stove if there isn't any pots around? Microwave and coffee maker need to be part of the kitchen, I think a list of items should be provided and signed when returned.

    We liked the cleanliness, the pool, the view from balconies, the staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    <the meal in the restaurant azul in the evening wasn't so good Music of some guest in the beach,loud and the guest next our room TV the whole day and night

    The whole staff is very kindly,Breakfast delicious. Hotel and Room very clean Excelent view

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you pay thousands of MXN dollars you should be in the position to expect at least paid WiFi. They extra charge on this which is ridiculous. Further instructions at the helpdesk when beeing welcomed should meet the price you pay, which wasn't the case. As a guest you need to get information on your own. Also, it can not be that you pay for still water in the room.

    Place and View. Very clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was super friendly and the hotel was very clean! Spacious pool and great private beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dining options limited.

    Really quiet hotel, mainly Mexican/Canadian guests. Short taxi drive to town for more restaurant options.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had A King Suite. The room smelled. Room was far away from pool. Kitchen had no glasses, plates, utensils

    The main pool area and beach

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No minibar, they promised one but didnt deliver.

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hard bed. Bathtub drain issue was not rectified despite numerous complaints. Maid service sub standard.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is nothing To do un THE prpperty.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact they insisted on an exchange rate that exceeded the current value.

    The beach, the facility, the staff

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There's no free internet.

    Excellent location and attentive staff.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: