Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amarea Hotel Acapulco 3 stars

Costera Miguel Aleman 2310, Costazul, Costera Acapulco, 39840 Acapulco, Mexico

#37 of 68 hotels in Acapulco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Well I moved from the hotel from across the street because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Run down and terrible customer service. Tried to order a wake up call-they hung up on me, finally asked for 2 more at the desk-noone called. Bathroom fan never worked so asked 2/3 times to have it fixed-noone came so did'nt even bother to ask when light burnt out. Even terrible service in the restaurants-starting ordering food for take out. Sewer smell in the room-finally found an order neutralizer strong enough to kill it.

    Well I moved from the hotel from across the street because it was nightmarish. The hotel was run down but adequate and I got a good deal on the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.9
    That was the first time in that hotel, and it was a mistake. Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Try to ask to talk to manager, I ask over 20 times To complains at different thing, always the receptions have different excuses. Many times in meetings or lunch, breakfast, went home, always have excuses.The hotel is very old and is not three stars, not even one star. Internet does not work in the room,The first night I was trying to leave to different hotel, the reception told me that a person is coming to fix the internet, He came after one hour and a half. He workaround three hours when we are their and me and my wife left for dinner. Came back late, and still the internet not working. Every time you use the toilet you have to change your pants, because the toilet Leak water heavy in the bottom. Their is ants in the room and the bath room, even in the restaurant and the lobby of the hotel. I was drinking water in the lobby their were ants in the cup. the air condition in the room make a lot of noise. the room next to mine, at around 2:00 AM took a shower, you will wake up and stay up till finish. The hallways outside rooms dripping water from ceiling.The receptionists are very polite and nice. The breakfast buffet is the worst I ever had in my life. The only thing is good is the fruits and Milk, tea, coffee, eggs, and omelets. After 4 days and nights, when I was checking out, I insisted to talk to manager, the receptionist went inside the door after three time when I said I am not leaving until I talk to a manager, the receptionist went inside again, and brought Mrs. Rosario Valdez, she is receptionist.manager. The manager of the AMAREA hotel is Sergio Dominquez, I try to talk to him, he is never their to talk to hotel guest.

    Not a thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Great place loved it!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say...Nice place...

    I really loved the view from our room and the location was great close to the beach and Walmart. Lots of close option to go eat too...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.3
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    The breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.9
    The photos they show is not What it is When you get there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos they show is not What it is When you get there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    Beautiful in the photos, very bad in reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything too old ! Smells bad the corridor. Flushing didn´t work every time . You spend a lot of time for the lift

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take to long to check in and check out and no fast info

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Alberca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alberca Regular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    The breakfast bufete, location is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Installations are a bit old, they need a refurbish, especially the corridor.

    The breakfast bufete, location is fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Location of the hotel its great, very close to restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fix the wifi,

    Location of the hotel its great, very close to restaurants, bars and statbucks. I had to go there to use the wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.8
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was outrageous that you have locks and tags on your appliances, and you need to pay extra.

    Close to restaurants and casino

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    It was kinda confortable, good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room cool air

    view and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    7.1
    For such a big hotel, personnel is friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Best years of the building are long gone - despite acceptable hygiene and comfort, facilities are showing wear and tear almost everywhere. Pool area is old, poorly maintained and very crowded.

    For such a big hotel, personnel is friendly. Rooms nothing special, but comfortable enough. Good wifi, clean bathroom. Relatively cheap.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    7.5
    The location is petfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The noise of a disco-bar that plays hard rock beyond the limits of its walls and the hotel is just across the street, ....... it is not easy to get sleep from 2 am to 5 am

    The location is petfect

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    5.4
    The cleaning staff were excellent and very polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception staff were far from helpful taking two attempts to agree to checking out at 6pm rather than 1pm after spending 17 days with them

    The cleaning staff were excellent and very polite

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    4.5
    Location is the only plus point , dining and shopping sports...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are not comparable with the rooms shown on pictures. Furnitures were super old, bath with blind mirror, shower always cold. Hotel could shapen up immensely with very little effort Most of the staff had difficulties speaking English

    Location is the only plus point , dining and shopping sports right next to the hotel, beach in 100m distance, great view

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.9
    The locations is very good: the restaurants and supermarkets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It took us more than 1 hour to check in while there were only 3 people in front of us in the line. The reception was very slow! To get a remote for TV you have to leave a deposit.

    The locations is very good: the restaurants and supermarkets are very close same as it takes just 5 minutes to go to the beach. The hotel isn't new, but clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    6.7
    nice locations with a lot of shops around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terrible reception: has to spend a lot of time always waiting for service. wrong information's given by receptionists. no coffee machine in the room.

    nice locations with a lot of shops around. near to beach.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    4.6
    Housekeeping and bell staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff not greeting people as they pass through the lobby. Rooms out of date, old furniture, old bedding, linens poor quality, still had old bedspreads which are not sanitary, television left speaker sound distorted which was reported to the front desk but not repaired, shower head works but old with deposits. Stains on back of drapes and also on black out curtains. Room lacking clock. hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Toilet constantly running, bath door needs painting, bath door hinges rusty.Very small desk, Wi- Fi signal comes and goes. Also room lacked refrigerator and microwave oven.

    Housekeeping and bell staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.1
    Iocation and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I did a reservation for 2 nights and put my credit card as guarantee and when we check in the give us different rate something that never match with booking reserve and we ask about it a I did a reservation for 2 nights and put my credit card as guarantee and when we check in the give us different rate something that never match with booking reserve and we ask about it and they said that was booking problems they don't have to do anything about that that we should call booking.com cuz the hotel can't assume that responsibility and I just found it extremely unprofessionalnd they said that was booking problems they don't have to do anything about that that we should call booking.com cuz the hotel can't assume that responsibility and I just found it extremely unprofessional

    Iocation and price

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    6.7
    My two friends and I arrived to Acapulco for a few days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The negatives about the hotel are more to do with the state of Acapulco, as a whole. The hotel is older and run down, and many of the amenities were not available, like the bocce equipment for the court. There is no beach front to the hotel, so we walked a short walk to the beach, but had to pay for a place to sit and were constantly accosted by vendors since we were one of the few groups of tourists on the beach. If you want to stay here, I'd suggest coming on a weekend and being prepared to entertain yourselves with few cultural or entertainment options in Acapulco that are safe for travelers.

    My two friends and I arrived to Acapulco for a few days during the week. We are international travelers and had been to cities prior to Acapulco in Mexico and were hoping to enjoy the beach and relaxation of a coastal stay. At the hotel, the staff was very kind and the room was cleaned well. The view from our room was lovely and definitely my favorite part of the stay. The pool was pretty, but because we were there for the work week, we were usually the only ones to relax at the pool, meaning the bar wasn't open and there were only two towels for the guests to share. The location was fine, with Walmart accessible for us to buy cards and wine, once we realized there wasn't much else to do in the city.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    The bar
    • Family with young children

    The bar

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    5.4
    I felt sick but the doctor was not called.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I felt sick but the doctor was not called. also one of the security guards was naughty.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    6.7
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.5
    Very good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fridge was a bit noisy at night.

    Very good location, friendly staff. There's parking in the hotel. We got a room with a beautiful view!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.9
    Handy for the beach, shops, restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Handy for the beach, shops, restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.3
    Praice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Praice

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: