Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Quetzal Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Calle 51 No 218 Barrio de Sisal, 97780 Valladolid, Mexico

#15 of 55 hotels in Valladolid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, nice, well situated, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we just booked one day before, unfortunately our large and very comfortable room was on the street, which was a little bit noisy, but ask for a room at the back.

    Very nice place, very good welcome, beautiful garden, very well situated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    We did awesome choice with this acomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did awesome choice with this acomodation! There is beautiful surroundings in casa andpeople are very nice! Room is also great and clean! I can only recommend! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    A stylish hacienda designed in the colonial style - matches...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in the room was too strong and as the bed was located just below it, it made it difficult to sleep while it was on... there were also roosters around which regularly woke us up early in the morning.

    A stylish hacienda designed in the colonial style - matches perfectly the Valladolid atmosphere! Very nice staff and evironment, close to the city centre with all shops and restaurants. Simple, but very good breakfast - fruits and yogurth, good coffee (which should not be taken for granted in Mexico ;-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a huge room (very large bed+living room+bathroom)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 10, located next to the road, it was noisy at morning and we didn’t have direct light from the outside. The pool didn’t seem to be clean. We didn’t dare to go. We missed it.

    We had a huge room (very large bed+living room+bathroom) extra clean. There was nice decoration in room and commun part with nice garden. Breakfast was very good. Staff was very helpful and sounded happy. Location was perfect to visit valladolid and stuff around (maya architecture, cenote...)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to base yourself for Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool is quite small but this wasn't a huge deal.

    Fantastic location next to the Convent and within walking distance to the centre and ADO station. Beautifully place. Great to base yourself here if you're wanting to visit Chichen Itza early (We did!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - for one night there was no electricity from 5pm til midnight. Unfortunately it was a problem concerning the district - breakfast could be better (no eggs erg.)

    - Very nice place with a garden and little swimming pool - Breakfast in front of the pool - Very nice decoration and rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Our room and the bathroom were really really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and the bathroom were really really clean. The breakfast was fresh fruits with Joghurt and cereals, which were delicious with the view in the green garden. You get also a few small buns, croissants and a bit cake. This was totally enough for us! Everybody was very kind even we don't speak spanish. It's not far to the center of the city by foot. I would definitely come back to this beautiful place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    We had the cabana which was beautiful and offered a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not tell us that ordering pancakes or omelette costs. We were surprised at check out that we have to pay for it!

    We had the cabana which was beautiful and offered a lot of space! It is nice to stay there because it is surrounded by the gardens. Breakfast is only good if you order additional option like mexican or pancakes, for what you have yo pay for. Otherwise the breakfast is just pretty dry bread with jam and some fruits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Great! But noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sleep because we heard goats, dogs and roosters making noise constantly.

    The staff is really nice. The rooms are really clean! Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    “Excellent location and great staff”
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the friendly staff and the location. The hotel was a short drive from chichen itza and some incredible cenotes. If you stay around make sure to go to cenote samula. It is breath taking!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Early breakfast arranged so we could get to Chichen Itza...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool could do with a clean, as it was coated in leaves.

    Early breakfast arranged so we could get to Chichen Itza early. Clean and comfortable rooms. A short walk from the town centre, but in a quiet location. Gated parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and enjoy colonial climate of Valliadolid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay and enjoy colonial climate of Valliadolid. Beautifull colonial style boutique hotel with nice garden patio with a lot of Mexican art objects. Very good location to explore the city and go for a trip to Chichen Itza or Dzitnup Cenotes (don't miss them !). Good breakfast. Owners and staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at Casa Quetzal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay at Casa Quetzal! It is a beautiful hotel! What I liked most is the small size. There are only a few rooms so it doesn't feel crowded. The rooms surround a lush tropical courtyard with a pool. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds and pillows! Breakfast was delicious. The location is great because it's on a quiet street but in easy walking distance to everything. Check out the convent across the street! Can't wait to return next year!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location, 15y old room. get something different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is at least 10 years outdated with facilities well below expectations and obsolete furniture. the AC was not clean and very noisy, the safe was not safe at all and the door was half broken. I was extremely disappointed by the state of the room. wifi signal was barely present making basic web browsing and emails impossible. I ended up using my 4G signal and spending money for it out of frustration. I do not recommend this hotel unless you are sure you are getting a decent room.

    very good location close to central plaza and all restaurants. access to parking (one block away). the common areas are nice and create a pleasant environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully decorated with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was absolutely beautiful. It was right next to reception but still very quiet and tranquil. It had an open plan bathroom which took a little getting used to but overall the room was wonderful. It was decorated with Mexican crafts which were all of a really high standard. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were some of the friendliest we encountered on our whole trip. The hotel is just across from a convent which has the most amazing sound and light show projected onto it at night. Well worth seeing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Casa Quetzal is a tranquil, lovely haven in Valladolid's artistic Sisal neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little hard to adjust hot and cold on the shower but hardly a big deal in the warm Yucatán climate.

    We loved the beautiful garden and pool, especially in the early morning as we drank our coffee and listened to the chorus of birds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    We had a very enjoyable stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very enjoyable stay here. The gardens and pool were like a little oasis in the city, which the kids loved. Our beds were comfortable and the room was a great size. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff was very helpful in assisting us to arrange transportation to various ruins. It's in a lovely area, at the end of historic Calle 41a, and about a 10 to 12 minute walk to the main square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location next to the Convent of San Bernardino of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimmimg pool was unfortunately partially covered with leaves which keep falling from the garden's plants and trees. We recommend that the pool should be cleaned on a regular basis. Whereas the area of the pool, the water and the seats were all right.

    Great location next to the Convent of San Bernardino of Siena in Valladolid, spacious and comfortable rooms, beautiful garden with an oasis feeling in the inner yard, wireless internet, breakfast included, nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing oase in the middle of valladolid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just great. It is build around a garden where you can hear the birds in the morning. We were able to switch rooms and ended up in the room in the first floor with a own balcony. The stuff also helped to find a doctor! I would come back again for sure and recommend this place to anybody!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.0
    The atmosphere was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water supplied. It's not a big deal, but it would have been appreciated.

    The atmosphere was wonderful. The garden beautiful and tranquil. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and the staff friendly. We couldn't recommend the hotel enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Spacious, decor, comfortable bed, lighting, shower , superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted privacy in shower, toilet area— how about a DOOR?

    Spacious, decor, comfortable bed, lighting, shower , superb coffee ! Very cheerful, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    We loved our stay here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool water was cloudy - not very inviting....lots of leaves, because there are lovely big trees overhead. Would have been nice to have eggs for breakfast along with the very good fruit and yogurt and granola that they provided.

    Loved the Mexican folk art throughout. Owners and staff were very nice. Our room was great! A nice location near the park and the Convento. Parking was in a shady locked lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nicely decorated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room near street even though we wrote we want a quite one. The hotel organisation is a bit chaotic, we forgot our key in the room and called the number at the reception at midnight, then waited 15-20min until an old lady came and gave us a 2nd key. We felt first annoyed, then really bad for waking her up. Definitely not the best experience.

    The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nicely decorated and the garden is awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    very nice authentic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room in the front(street side) is noisy, cars etc. (there's no fix, but future guests should know there is NO sleeping in:) very few places to hang wet towels and suits(after senote swimming). Also the extra "tax" (20%) when you check out is a bit of a shock making it a bit pricey.

    beautiful traditional courtyard hotel. big rooms, lovely breakfast(and lovely staff)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a quiet location yet near the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room, the large suite with a king bed was very beautiful but also very musty smelling. We ended up switching rooms because it was affecting my allergies.

    The rooms were lovely, beds comfy and staff was extremely helpful. The garden was so beautiful and it was great to have off street parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Along with a lovely grotto like courtyard, excellent air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Along with a lovely grotto like courtyard, excellent air conditioning, quiet area but only 1/2 mile from Centro, I had an outstanding massage from their massuse, (male- I forgot his name, sounded sort of like Napolo) . Staff very friendly, Nearby is Yerbabuena, fabulous place for lunch or brunch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    This was one of the finest hotel experiences I've ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast would have been inestimably improved by including a hot item, any hot item, like eggs. The fruit, yogurt and croissants were all excellent but I was left slightly wanting.

    This was one of the finest hotel experiences I've ever had. I stayed in the cabana, and the pictures just do not do it justice. It has a huge living area, netted for mosquitoes, with a fully stocked kitchen and hammock. All around you is greenery and the sounds of birds. The room itself is comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom is large and, once again, perfectly appointed. Its basically a house, on nearly a private property. You cannot see any other lodging from . It has a private, gated parking spot. But you have the benefits of a hotel - a breakfast (no hot items, though), reliable reception, and things like umbrellas and advice provided. Seriously could have stayed here much, much longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Enchanting and comfortable. Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The complimentary breakfast was only so-so, but that was okay because as I've mentioned, the best breakfast place in town is nearby (and run by other members of the same family i think). We had a room with a street facing window, which could be loud at times, so bring earplugs if you sleep lightly (or ask for a courtyard-facing window).

    Charming and magical place. Gorgeous huge room, beautifully and artfully decorated, super comfortable bed, lovely garden, friendly staff, located in a really cool neighborhood near the old monastery (and near the best breakfast/lunch place in town!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location in Valladolid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey for the amenities. Lighting in the room could be improved. I don't recommend the rooms overlooking the street. Location is very good, the nicest part of Valladolid. Staff is friendly.

    I liked the location, room decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in beautiful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms at the front of the building are quite noisy (street traffic), so try to get a room at the back if you can. The hotel is relatively far (10 minutes) from the main square, no issue for us, but keep it in mind.

    Beautiful old building, nice garden and clean comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff and a great breakfast. The hotel is located nicely near the San Bernardino convent and some restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    A must see, must visit, must stay at property. Accommodation does not get more authentic than this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valladolid is nice, but there isn't much to do for more than 2-3 days.

    The property is beautiful, staff is really nice, breakfast were delicious, parking right next the house. We stayed in the little villa in the back with our own kitchen, hammock and sort of a living room. The whole place looked like from a dream. Absolutely recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Loved our stay in this very attractive boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The faucet in the bathroom needed a washer as it sprayed in all directions. And the neighbours were noisy: roosters crowing, goats bleating, children playing loudly and church bells ringing at random times. I would just like to add that as Canadians we live indoors on account of the weather so have found the noises in Mexico a bit of an adjustment as there is much more outdoor life.

    The room was very attractive. The location was very good, an easy walk into Centro. The breakfast was delicious--fresh fruit and yogurt and a granola type topping as well as fresh squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Colonial style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main bathroom light was not working and the safe was locked when we arrived but they were fixed the next day.

    Our double room was huge and nicely decorated. Breakfast was served in the inner court overlooking the fountain and pool. Private parking available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Never wanted to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Casa Quetzal was one of the most memorable and relaxing places of our trip to Mexico! It looks kind of unassuming from the street but once you enter you are greeted with the most beautiful tropical garden and pool. We stayed in the junior suite just off of the garden and the wonderful staff brought us coffee and breakfast every morning on our part of the porch. It's in a quiet part of town across the street from the old monastery and great restaurants and a short walk to the cenote and town square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    A charming courtyard, simple rooms, and a nice location in a charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were moldy -- hard to correct given the dampness of the climate -- Interior rooms have only a window to the interior courtyard, so either you have light or privacy but not both. Would be great if the hotel could offer drinks 4-7 or something like that.

    Within an indifferent exterior lies a charming courtyard, with shade and places to sit -- a lovely place for breakfast or to read a book. Walkable to the center and most sites of interest. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful place hotel & town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place hotel & town! Absolutely loved everything about it wish we could of stayed longer staff fab breakfast fab. Gardens make it like your in paradise! Room beautiful overlooking the pool. Just loved everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful garden. Excellent value for money and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos. I wish more had been done to deter them as our room was right off the pool and they were eating us alive. We ended up buying a repelling candle like thing at a corner store just so we could sit outside.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was always clean. Breakfast was lovely if a tad repetitive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Definitely a great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is more for decoration in the garden that for hanging out in the afternoon. That said, we were there during the rainy season so it didn't help!

    Nice hotel with a lovely garden. Away from the crowds of tourists and in front of a beautiful convent. The room was very spacious. The staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    The management is great and the location superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming but needs some updates.

    This is a nice boutique hotel with great service in a very interesting and mellow part of town. One of our favorite cafes, Yerba Buena, was just a block away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    The room was spacious and the garden was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dark. The pool was not clean. We booked a hotel with a pool to swim in it after a long hot day in Chichen Itza but the pool was so not inviting.

    The room was spacious and the garden was beautiful. Staff was really friendly. Breakfast was very good and healthy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    This hotel offered a relaxing stay with a tasty breakfast, friendly staff and in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were hoping the pool would be larger for swimming. And it would be nice to see a few modern/fresh updates made to this charming hotel ie add of contemporary lighting and decor in rooms and communal areas.

    The staff at Casa Quetzal were very welcoming and helpful! The breakfast was tasty, in a pleasant hacienda garden and included in our room rate. We enjoyed getting to know the area near the hotel which had an amazing restaurant, Yerba Buena Cafe, and set near beautiful colonial streets, shops and an impressive historic church.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Overall, a really great find, especially at this price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was a bit dirty after a lot of rain; it wouldn't have hurt to change the water. Not really anything else to complain about.

    Nice, clean room, consistent internet, comfortable beds. Beautiful garden, lovely mexican decoration. The kids loved the big hammock and private terrace area. The staff seemed really happy, which I like to see.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the front and you could hear road noise but nothing loud enough to put us off.

    It was a lovely hidden gem of a hotel, quiet, amazing gardens, peaceful walk into town. Friendly staff and clean and tidy. Great, simple breakfast - perfect way to start the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Despite the negatives, I really loved this place - felt like a "home".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed in the cabana - basically a small little house - and I loved it. But, the girl at the front desk initially asked if I wanted a room with a/c and offered me a room with it as my current reserved room did not. She said the only difference was "the bed". Well, that was not true at all - the air conditioned room was just a room whereas the cabana was a small house. I had accepted the air conditioned room at first, only to go back and ask to see the room I reserved and realized it was COMPLETELY different. They have a sign on their door indicating they take American Express, and when I got in, they said they don't take it, their machine was broken (this was my experience ALL over Mexico though). After insisting I had no other payment they said I could just make payment through PayPal, which was okay but still a bit of an inconvenience. Had to light the gas stovetop with matches, which weren't provided. Had planned to make breakfast my first morning but was unable to do so because I couldn't light the stove. No one was at the front desk until after 7AM to ask for matches. All the TV channels had bad reception (like when you use "rabbit ears" for reception and the picture is static-y). Should have a key lock on the main/front door - not just to the bedroom. Water pressure was pretty bad, but that's not unusual in much of Mexico. Lastly, I am not accusing the staff of this, I think it was likely a mistake, but my favorite sarong that was on my bed when I left in the morning, was gone when I returned. I tore apart the entire place and didn't find it. Possibly it got accidentally mixed in with the bedsheets when changed. Still, I was upset about that.

    Most people probably wouldn't like this part, but I did - you feel like you're living "at home" in some says. In the little cabana house - the "Casa Maya Quetzal" - you can hear the street noises, the rooster nearby, children laughing, and dogs barking. I rather enjoyed that. I felt like I was "IN" the real Mexico. The cabana room was beautiful. I loved the hammock in the main area. The kitchen area was nice - great to have a fridge and stove top to heat up leftovers. Also had a full water cooler so that was GREAT to be able to refill your water bottles. More places should have accessible water coolers to refill water bottles. There was also another jug of water next to the bathroom sink for brushing your teeth - very convenient. Lots of ceiling fans and one oscillating fan in the bedroom, so I was quite comfortable without a/c.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is fine but it can be cheaper for the concept of boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was not clean so we couldn't swim. Wi-fi was not working well in the room. There was a rooster waking us up at 5:00 am!!!

    The staff was really kind and it is well located

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    We really liked the authencity of the hotel, it reflects the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked the authencity of the hotel, it reflects the culture of the city and Mexico. The decorations were very traditional, handmade, very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Atmospheric....Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool, but not too worried about that. The area was quite nice, but on very hot humid days felt the walk to town square a little far (15 mins - but then it made us get some exercise so that's good!)

    Nice location near church, convent and park. Good a/c, very clean and spacious rooms, balcony, secure off street parking. Fresh simple continental breakfast, with fruit just as we like it. Use of fridge in breakfast room. Leafy central courtyard with pool, but said pool had a lot of leaves (understandably) so wasn't inviting enough for us to cool off in. But we already knew this from other reviews. Staff were friendly but next to no English so difficulty being understood, but we didn't mind that, we are after all on holiday overseas!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    A Peaceful Oasis in a Beautiful Colonial Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Opening the front gate after 8:00 was a little tricky. It took me a few attempts to figure out how it worked.

    This beautiful hotel is an old colonial house set next to a historic convent. It's a great location within easy walking distance to the main square of the city. The courtyard is lush with plants, a fountain, and a cool and refreshing pool. My room was large and the bed was super comfortable. I had two rocking chairs, a desk and flat screen TV. The bathroom was also large with a nice shower and vanity. The AC worked well and my room was very quiet. The WiFi worked well too. There was plenty of on street parking, but they have off street parking that they lock up at night. You're provided with a key. The hotel is very secure. After 8:00 they lock the front gate (again you're provided with a key). The breakfast was delicious and the serving staff were warm and friendly. All of the staff were warm, friendly and professional. I hope to return here for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Cozy house with birds singing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its garden is full of birds singing and the room is very cozy. The whole hotel is full of lovely details made by artesanías. Nice coffee in the morning - hard to leave this place. We will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    The pool was perfect for cooling down and relaxing after a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and Coffee facilities should be available all day for guest self-service.

    The pool was perfect for cooling down and relaxing after a hot day's sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Everything about the property was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about the property was wonderful. The beautiful embroidery in the room, the very comfortable hammock, the breakfast, the artwork around the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. When I asked if I could buy a glass of milk from them for my toddler, they provided some free of charge and allowed me access into the kitchen if we needed more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Very attractive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were mosquitoes, but we had our own nets, so not a problem so long as you do. The walk into town is a bit of a slog, and it's not that easy to find - I programmed all my hotels into my Satnav before I left, but failed on this one because of the confusing naming of streets. Still, didn't take long to work it out.

    This is a really nice hotel, with easy parking, good breakfast, and in a nice courtyard with a pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    The Maya cabin is super cozy and nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit off centre: very close to the Convento San Bernardino and a few nice restaurants but about 20 min. of walk away from the "main square" (San Gervasio).

    The Maya cabin is super cozy and nice ! With a huge "outside" (screen porch) kitchen and it's own parking lot ! The main building of the hotel has a very pretty garden in the patio, where breakfast is served : just wonderful ! :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Clean, cute hotel with a nice courtyard, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms next to the street are a little noisy at night.

    Clean, cute hotel with a nice courtyard, well located. About a 15 minute walk from the main square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurt, and granola followed by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not great, leaves hadn't been cleaned out for a few days.

    Breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurt, and granola followed by croissants, bread and cake. Coffee was good and strong.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    3.8
    Dirty swimmingpool and nobody takes care of the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty swimmingpool and nobody takes care of the garden. We booked 2 rooms with garden view and discovered that was 1meter with 2 plants and plastic and directly on the street

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful atmosphere of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sent a special request for the room upstairs ( several days before check in). This request was not satisfied. Instead we got a room on the first floor, but that was not the worst part. The worst part was the side of the street where our windows were . From around 6 am the noise from the street was unstandable. Forget about sleeping. Cars are crazy. I guess there are not many rooms like that but we were "lucky". Conditioner was blowing right on the bed, so we had to turn it off. And then heat was making sleeping pretty hard as well as the noise. Breakfast could be better with just some extra things like : ham, cheese and a boiled egg. They served fruit with youghurt and granola; juice, coffee and the variety of bread.

    Rooms are cute and stylish. There was a hammock in our room, I liked that. Everything was clean and nice, just like on photos. Very beautiful territory , decoration of the halls, birds singing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    A beautiful refuge in a cool town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Gorgeous gardens! Quality, local materials used in building And furniture. Peaceful! Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved it! Even had a hammock in the room!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Grand old Colonial Style Casa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes, but make sure you have some mosquito repellent. One other observation, our room had a slightly musty smell, but as we were only there for one night, it wasn't a particular issue.

    The casa was a great setting. Huge rooms situated around a beautiful central garden courtyard made it very relaxing. Staff were friendly & helpful. Good location too as it was less than a 5 minute walk to the Convento San Bernadino and a pleasant 10-15 minute walk into the old town. As we were travelling by car, it was handy that there was on site parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Wonderfully peaceful place in central Valladolid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely and quiet spot in the centre of Valladolid. Easy walk into town and all its great restaurants. Breakfast was included and was in the lovely and lush courtyard (with small pool). Would definitely recommend and stay again :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    Delightful oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the setting: a beautiful tropical garden and pool. Location was great, within walking distance of shopping and the town square but away from the noise and bustle. The decor on the spacious veranda included many beautiful hand-made pieces and a great mask collection. Staff was friendly and most helpful in organizing a private tour to the pyramids and nearby cenotes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Welcoming, beautiful, a great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems.

    Beautiful cool garden for midday relaxing in the heat. Lovely art pieces in room and common areas. Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious, fresh breakfast each morning on the patio by the pool. This is the nicest place we have stayed on this trip, including the resort in Cancun.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    A jungle oasis in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a review for the bungalow/cabin. It was perfect for us. It was a little jungle oasis in the middle of town. Surrounded by trees and a short distance from the main building it is properly detached. Birds visited the garden, even a Motmot. The cabin is very spacious and comfortable and even has a hammock where you can relax and look out over the garden. The self catering facilities and large fridge are ideal but you also get the delicious breakfast. The walk to the centre of town is an easy and pleasant 10/15 minutes. A very enjoyable stay. There is some noise from traffic and neighbours but nothing more than you would expect for a central location and it didn't bother us at all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Great little hotel off the beaten track
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cold at night and there was no heating in rooms or restaurant. They said they were buying heaters - but i would check if you are going there in winter - maybe pack a hot water bottle

    The staff were super friendly - though English was not spoken by most - they tried best - used Google Translate and got by. Heated pool was wonderful. Outdoor pool looks fun - but we were there in winter

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location and wonderful staff
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn't work well and pool not very inviting , but other than that place was great.

    Great staff, clean rooms, good location. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Location was good. Great food and shopping within easy walk

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    Very good locatio, quiet, clean, great staff who were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, no shallow area, no one used it, not sure it was maintained.

    Very good locatio, quiet, clean, great staff who were very helpful. The breakfast was great, generous, homemade granola. Walked to centro easily, close to park and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    The Casa Quetzal Boutique Hotel is perfection. Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent our one night in Villadolid in one of the Casa 's hacienda —  I'm so glad we did! Everything was wonderfully clean, completely charming + the complimentary breakfast was perfection. (Fruit, yogurt, coffee + fresh bread) We tucked our car into the gated parking spot that was right next to our room + wandered the town on foot. Thanks so much for your lovely hospitality!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent only one night there, but a dog began barking late in the evening and kept it up most of the night. After that, the roosters started crowing. Not sure where the dog was and whether this is a nightly occurrence, but it was impossible to sleep. It was a cool night, so we did not need the air conditioning. Perhaps that could have blocked the sound. Also, the pool was not clean, but that may have been because it had rained and was unusually chilly, so most likely no one would swim that day.

    Beautiful property, large, comfortable rooms, impeccably clean, good breakfast. Very nice sitting areas and nice traditional decor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water on first morning which was fixed after the staff arrived for work.

    Very authentic Mexican town with a nice historic feel. We were very surprised at the vibrant night life in the town square a short walk from the hotel. Nice and helpful staff and very clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a little weak

    We really enjoyed our stay there. The staff was very nice and helpful. They give a simple but tasty breakfast. There is also a nice garden and it is in a great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.9
    The interiors of the rooms are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is right by a road and it was extremely Noisey through out the night with cars and neighbouring parties. Also the neighbors cockerel waking us up at 5am for a good 30 minutes wasn't pleasant after a restless night!

    The interiors of the rooms are beautiful.its in an incredible location and the facilities are perfect just what you need!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    5.0
    Nice location, terribly noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms have 0 noise insulation. If you end up in a room facing street, you will hear every car/motorbike passing (there are plenty of them). I barely slept at all. Shower has pretty low pressure, expect 5-10 minutes of waiting for hot water.

    Hotel is located in a very convenient location. Walking distance to town center, close to restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.5
    Valladolid peace and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't clean.

    The garden setting was peaceful and the room very large. The location is not near the main square, but there are excellent dining options walking distance away and the monestary is very pretty. I enjoyed the hammock in the room and the decor. Breakfast was tasty and filling. Parking was available and Valladolid is a very charming and interesting place to stay while being close to Chitzen Itza.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautifull place to rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room number 5 was spacious also with a big shower area. And chairs in front to enjoy the beautiful garden. Close to the convent. Good breakfast, mexican eggs. Nice decorations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay what a jungle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Quetzal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There rooms are great , bathrooms are nice and clEan kitchen well stoked beds were conffy . And the best part out side your room it's a jungle it's amazing. They did a great job.

    Everything was great they go above and beyond to make thIngs right, the pool was ugly from leafs made the water dark.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Casa Quetzal Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: