Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Mexico hotel reviews
  3. Quintana Roo hotel reviews
  4. Tulum hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Casa Sofia Tulum

Reviews of Hotel Casa Sofia Tulum This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Orion Norte s/n , Entre Sagitario y Polar Poniente Region Mza 14 Lote 13, Centro, Tulum City Centre, 77780 Tulum, Mexico

#32 of 211 hotels in Tulum

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    Absolutely Adore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free breakfast could have been better but it was a minor detail for us. If you like long hot showers, you won't get that here. The hot water went in and out but again, that was a minor detail for us.

    The decor of Casa Sofia was INCREDIBLE and easily my favorite part! It's beautiful, cozy, and gives an authentic Mexico appeal! Very nice staff! They came in and tidyed up the room every day after we left for the day (they even hung up my friends bathing suit to dry). Comfortable rooms and beds and nice A/C!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    9.2
    Peaceful, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower a bit off, but manageable

    Great location- near the main street and bus station. You avoid all the noise coming from the clubs so you can sleep in peace. Nice and friendly staff. Rooms are basic but clean and comfy. Complimentary breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location in the heart of Tulum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did hear music until the early hours of the morning on some occasions, but it didn’t stop us getting a good nights rest.

    Excellent location in the heart of Tulum. Super clean, room/bed made every day. Breakfast included, which included cereal, bread, cheese, ham, coffee and pastries. Staff super friendly, especially Angel- Thanks for your help and a lovely stay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    The staff here was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff here was amazing! They were welcoming and helpful from the start, but then my daughter got sick and they were just incredible -- called a doctor, let us use the room and lobby area past check-out time even though the hotel was completely booked and they had only a short time to clean the room for the next guests, and were generally so very kind and reassuring. The hotel itself was perfectly fine -- simple, very clean, convenient to town. We were not in Tulum for the beach, so it worked fine for us.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    8.8
    Comfortable & Homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot water didn't last long and the water pressure was minimal.

    The room was a great size and it had most of the necessities. It was very clean and the property was well maintained. I loved how it was close to the Main Street without all of the noise. The staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast was simple, but adequate.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.6
    Hotel provided bath products, a hair dryer, bottled water,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could be more plugs to charge electronics in the room, safe wasn't working well

    Hotel provided bath products, a hair dryer, bottled water, and coffee machine, great location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.8
    Desappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for a room on the highest floor and got one on the ground floor: it was dark, noisy. I did not like that at all. Also noisy at night as a result of bars nearby

    Location, welcoming staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Hidden gem in the heart of Tulum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Read the reviews, thought it was too good to be true because it seemed so affordable. Blown away by how beautiful it was. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was so so sweet. Check in was 3pm, I arrived at 10am and they offered me the room right away. 5 mins to ADO bus by walk, close to all the restaurants downtown and 10 mins drive to playa paraiso. Loved my short stay here. 100% will come back on my next trip to Tulum.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Amazing, would stay here again. The manager Angel, was superb. Rooms were very well kept and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing the stay was amazing. If your looking for a swimming pool, this has a plunge pool, but you are not too far away from a amazing beach.

    This hotel was amazing. The staff are amazing. Angel, the manager was superb, he looked after our every need and went over and above what was required. When we checked in late at night, he provided us with extra water so we did not need to leave the hotel. We loved staying here. The beds were very comfortable and the room was kept tidy. The hotel also offers a really nice sun terrace, where you can relax during the day or evening.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Great location, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location was fantastic, right in the middle of town close to lots of great restaurants. staff very helpful, clean and comfortable room. Bike ride to beach was only 20 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Tulum pueblo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi wasn't working for the first 2 days, but it was over a weekend so I'm not sure what they could have done to address before Monday.

    Fantastic location - safe and walkable to everything in town, and around the corner from a bike rental shop. Interior was more upscale than the rate, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was huge. I never ended up using the pool or roofdeck because there's so much to do in Tulum!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Gem in Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People were smoking outside including around the pool which was a bit annoying for non-smokers but this was a minor issue in such a wonderful hotel.

    This was a divine place to stay. The people were fantastic hosts: welcoming, friendly, helpful and genuinely nice people. The place itself is a lovely haven with a very necessary cooling pool plus a sun roof on the top floor. Awesome!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    This hotel is absolutely fantastic and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such a great hotel. The bang for your buck is ridiculous. The rooms are about as nice as a fancy hotel on la playa, but a fraction of the cost. It’s also the perfect distance from the main strip so music doesn’t keep you up all night, but you can easily walk just a block and a half to go out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    Wonderful little gem in the center of Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some chairs on the rooftop need repair.

    We liked everything: one block from all restaurants; room with refrigerator and TV; rooms get cleaned as soon as we leave hotel; everything looks freshly painted and clean; pool. We will be back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Loved it, would stay again. Great place to connect with REAL locals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much really! The water flow of the shower wasn't always consistent however this is understandable due to the nature of the location/town we were staying in. I enjoyed our 2 night stay here.

    It was a wonderful and quaint hotel run by a couple people. The pool (we didn't swim, but it was cute!), decor, and hotel room were very clean. Angel was very accommodating. We had a night where we did not have enough pesos getting home with the cab, and Angel openly let us borrow his pesos until we were able to convert them into dollars the next morning. It was very kind of him to do this! LOCATION! The hotel is adorable and located 2 blocks from the central main street in the tulum city. It is a 6 minute walk from ADO, if you decide to take the local bus (we took it from Playa Del Carmen to Tulum for 98 pesos for 2 people) Very walkable to everything and close to restaurants! Don Cafeto was a 3 minute walk, which was an amazing place for breakfast. We were a 8-12 minute cab ride to the beaches and Cenotes, which were 100 pesos at a flat rate. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    Just perfect, clean, big bathroom and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    Really spacious bathroom and shower, super clean. Everything was just perfect, the best hotel we stayed in Mexico for it's price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.1
    Very colourful, just like in the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the ground floor, which seemed rather wet on a rainy day. Our room was small and we didn't have enough space to open 2 suitecases. The owner's family also live there but did not seem to respond to guests who went out without taking their keys and kept on knocking on the door, so I had to go out and open the door for them several times.

    Very colourful, just like in the photos.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel perfect for a stay in tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The manager was very nice helpful and knowledgeable about the area The room was beautiful and traditional with lovely touches of authenticity Nice pool to cool down in Very quiet Very close to centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    We spent one night during our visit to Tulum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We spent one night during our visit to Tulum. The property is clean, the room offers everything that is needed. The hotel is located in the center with lots of bars and restaurants around! The staff was very friendly and helpful! We would stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.2
    Roof top terrace was a great suntrap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too much to dislike about this place really

    Roof top terrace was a great suntrap. The swimming pool was little more than a plunge pool but perfect when you got back to the hotel after a day on the beach or exploring the archaeological ruins at Tulum. The room was clean, spacious and quiet and the location in Tulum was great for the money - we were just passing through Tulum. Parking can be arranged too at no extra cost but it is a little way down the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    6.3
    It was ok, but i wouldn't recommend to others.Location was great but service was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hot water was on and off every night. Staff were never around to ask questions no map on arrival. I had to go to another hostel & hotel to book an airport transfer and get information. Don't get breakfast included - is not worth it.

    The location of the room was fantastic Easy to get to

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only tiny thing is the lights from the pool area shine through the window at night so the room could be a little bright when trying to sleep.

    The hotel is small and relaxing. The owner / manager and staff are always very friendly and helpful. We especially liked the fresh beach and pool towels everyday! There is a small dipping pool and a lovely roof terrace to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Beautiful Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet while being just off the main street surrounded by restaurants and shops. Taxi service two blocks away was priced very reasonably even going to the beach, grand cenote or local ruins.

    Clean, staff was excellent and the continental breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Looking at the outside of the hotel i did question why i had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is close to the main street and you can hear music from bars inside the room.

    Looking at the outside of the hotel i did question why i had booked but on entering the courtyard with small pool really it is very pretty. The room was comfortable, shower had good water pressure and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. An enjoyable night in Tulum close to the main street, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    It was everything I hoped for in a quiet Oasis in the center of activity. I will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building itself was exceptional! Absolutely gorgeous. And the location was perfect - two blocks from the center of everything. The owner lives right there and would stop at nothing to ensure we we're happy and satisfied. The building had a secure locked gate which felt very safe. I loved this place very much. And the pool... Perfect after a day of biking in the heat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great location in the centre of Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Secured parking is one block away from the hotel, but is very safe and closed with a gate.

    Great location next to 5th Avenue with restaurants, shops and tourists stuff. Short drive to the ruins of Tulum. Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, attractively decorated, some issues with location, parking and communication.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe parking but some distance from the hotel, seemed like a converted hacienda with the brreakfast room squeezed into the entrance, doesn't look great but it works. Staff speak very little English and I have only a rudimentary knowledge of Spanish, consequently communication was challenging and I could not get any information about where to go to eat or what to visit. The hotel is located somewhat out of the way and there were no nearby reastaurants - we had to walk about a km both evenings to get to one.

    Clean room, functioning quiet air conditioner, mattress adequate, beautiful and tastefully decorated, adequate continental breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hacienda in the center of Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is good but only continental and could propose some local products and fruits.

    Great location in the middle of the city center where you can reach everything by walking. Never used the swimming pool but it’s a nice decoration to the inner yard. Rooms are of good size and confy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bring earplugs. Some nights neighbourhood dogs get barking!

    Breakfast provided was good with plenty of variety. Staff were helpful. Location was perfect...close to restaurants, town and bus service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money and location - breakfast is basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - I emailed 3 times to ask to arrange a transfer, no one replied - breakfast was a little disappointing, just toast and ham/cheese on offer - the rooms are dated and a little shabby

    - good location close to town - great rooftop spot - pretty colourful building with courtyard setting - staff were welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    Very beautiful oasis of a hotel, fantastic value for money, simple but everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very beautiful little hotel! We were so happy when we arrived. Comfy room, good air con, really lovely and helpful staff! They even took our bags (which were delayed by our airline and then delivered to the hotel) to our room before we had even arrived. Great location - very close to cafes/restaurant, the bus station and taxis. Despite it’s central location it feels quite secluded which is great. Breakfast was good - simple (granola, fruit, pastries etc) but yummy and just what we wanted. Super chilled out place, feels like a small family run business. They really care about their guests. Very reasonably priced, really fantastic value for money - would highly recommend for those who don’t want to splash out on the expensive hotels and want somewhere as a base to explore Tulum. I rarely write reviews but I loved this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    Casa Sophia is a very friendly and comfortable place to stay in Tulum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps, having ice since it’s so hot during the day. At night, could hear loud music that kept me awake. It stopped after a few nights.

    Happy to have AC. The owner and manager were extremely helpful, along with the staff. The location was excellent. The swimming pool was refreshing after going to the beach. It is very small. Enjoyed the early morning coffee and yogurt. Provided us with towels for the beach. Had free internet. Provided us with small bottles of water daily. There was a small fridge. Taxi and collectibles are close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    When enter on the court building will find a beautiful oasis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    When enter on the court building will find a beautiful oasis of peace from the dirty streets outside. The rooms are very celan, comfortable and we'll designed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great budget choice for Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was pretty basic - bread, coffee, juice and one type of cereal. Some fruit would have been nice.

    This is a small casa in a great location in central Tulum. The included breakfast could be improved but overall it's good value for the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel close to the Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a charming hotel that is beautifully decorated. The rooms are a good size with a safe, tv, small fridge. There is good counter space in the bathroom and a drying line in the bathroom as well. It is a block and away from the Main Street with all the restaurants and stores. Each morning they put out a buffet breakfast of cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, ham and cheese. It was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel in a conventional Tulum town location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure wasn't great but acceptable.

    Loved the spanish style of the building with the courtyard pool. Also the hotel manager was very welcoming and accomodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    8.8
    Family like and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's far to the beach/sea.

    We were greeted as into someone's home. Very friendly owner and cosy place. The room had everything you could ask for including well equipped bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    10
    An interesting hotel with great location and staff always at your disposal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed 3 nights in Casa Sofia Tulum with my girlfriend and everything was perfect. A special mention for Àngel who was always on hand when we needed something,. His service is fantastic and gave us tips of what to visit. Thanks Ángel for such a great stay! We will surely come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    4.6
    I would compare Casa Sofia to a casa particular that one would book in Cuba through airbnb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hot water in the room. Showering was painful. For $260 a night you would expect the place to at least have warm showers. The sink would always get clogged. This is definitely NOT a 3 star hotel. It felt more like a 2 star bed and breakfast at best. Minus the good breakfast.

    The staff did a good job cleaning the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel. Very relaxing. Owner knew his stuff and was really helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit better

    Very nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Owner was REALLY knowledgeable and helpful about day trips and the town itself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    8.3
    Attractive oasis of calm in the centre of Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water pressure in the shower was poor, and it was difficult to control the temperature. Breakfast was quite meagre. Overall, rather expensive and not great value for money.

    Casa Sofia is an attractive and tranquil oasis of calm just a couple of blocks from the main avenue in Tulum and about ten minutes' walk from the bus station. Our room was spacious with two very comfortable beds, fridge, safe, TV and attractive bathroom. The Wi-Fi was the best we had anywhere in Mexico - fast enough to stream and download Netflix and BBC iPlayer. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Many restaurants within a short distance. It was very peaceful at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.6
    we loved our staying here.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we loved our staying here.The stuff was extremely helpful and friendly! They gave us even beach towels. Nice breakfast. The decoration in the room and of the hotel was beautiful! pure mexican. We extended our stay to nights more because of how pleased we were staying there.Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    The room was nicely decorated, with a bit of a traditional...
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was nicely decorated, with a bit of a traditional style but comfortable and modern at the same time, big and comfy bed, there is a small pool in the patio, the staff is nice and always willing to help. The place is not on the main Street, but just around the corner from it, so it is close to everything but quieter at the same time, there is also a nice terrace nearby with good food, as well as a taxi station. The bus stop is within walking distance. I will stay there again if I return to Tulum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    3.8
    I wont recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super expensive for 4 people and no breakfast, I got bed bug bites and dirty towel, the parking is just infront of the hotel

    The design of the hotel is good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet Pretty Nice Hotel, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn't offer dispensed bottled water. There were very small bottles in the rooms, make sure to bring water.

    Very clean nice small hotel, fantastic friendly accomodating staff. Very small pool but pretty in the courtyard, would be nice if there were lounge chairs around it but not a lot of room. Very nice roof top deck with tables, lounge chairs and nice plants. Room had good a/c and ceiling fan. Don't think all rooms have a/c. Offers nice soap, lotion, shampoo, quiet off main street block down from El Mariachi. Manager Angel was so kind, funny, helpful. Nice simple breakfast of cereal, toast, yogurt, juice and coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Quiet oasis with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A small oasis. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful, good atmosphere, quiet and relaxing. Very clean and good attention to detail. Would defiantly stay at Casa Sofia again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.7
    Ok , one nite plenty, unless you want to lay on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you like TV , you need binoculars to watch it

    Breakfast minimal, one outlet in room behind tiny refrigerator . Poor water pressure in shower, mostly cold water I liked the rooftop , lovely. To get to the Tulum Ruins is a 2 k walk one way, but shade

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Casa Sofia is a very nice Hotel in the middle of Tulum city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Casa Sofia is a very nice Hotel in the middle of Tulum city. It is super comfortable, clean and everybody is very welcoming. I forgot my ring at the hotel safe and because they had holidays after we left for our tour around Yucatan we met when we returned to Tulum a week later at a shop and they returned my ring to me. I'm so happy and thankful for that. Super nice service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Great location, right in the middle of Tulum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The neighborhood looks dirty/sketchy, but it's just outside. The property itself looks good, it's quiet & safe.

    Great location, right in the middle of Tulum! The stuff was extremely friendly, the room was clean, and the pool was a nice bonus! Great value for the money you pay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, near the main street. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is pretty small. It looks bigger on the pictures. Also, the pool is the inner patio, so you can hear everything from the room.

    Good value for money. The location is good. It is a pretty quiet area within walking distance from the main street where most shops and restaurants are.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    The place was wonderful close to the center of town, it was safe and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was very nice and clean, I had an issue with the water pressure and the water temperature. I realize that the pressure is probably an issue throughout mexico but the water temperature created a bit of a task to figure out how to get warm water rather than just hot or cold.

    The room was beautiful clean and very comfortable. The person at the front desk was very helpful with suggestions on where to eat delicious food. He was also very helpful and made sure our stay was very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but horrible manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager wasn't nice at all, he was rude and unhelpful didn't want us to use the pool, we were in the reception area one morning at 7:30am and talking, he came out of his office and told us to be quiet, we told him we didn't like his attitude and wouldn't be staying at the hotel again, and he just shrugged his shoulders.

    The rooms were very clean and the beds comfy, very pretty hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    The hotel is very beautiful and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints.

    The hotel is very beautiful and very comfortable. My room was pretty and comfortable and the price was very fair. The people working at the hotel are kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    8.8
    Big comfy bed small pool, fridge in room very clean helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot water was really hard to adjust. Not much choice for breakfast

    Big comfy bed small pool, fridge in room very clean helpful staff who spoke English. Easy walk to main st & collectives.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    9.6
    Good location while visiting Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Less than 2 blocks from main street where lots of shops and restaurants are located We received a key to the main entrance to the property and another to our room Very secured place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    Excellent help from the owner with tips for our exploration...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent help from the owner with tips for our exploration of the area. Comfortable room. Towels for the beach. Friendly, helpful staff. Truly a pleasure to stay at Casa Sofia.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in Tulum center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of hot water in the bathroom, although with the temperature outside cold shower feels ok. Parking not exactly in the hotel in a lot without surveillance, next street few minutes away distance.

    Beautiful well-maintained building, comfortable beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.3
    Overall cozy place with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower heater did not work well, so the water was pretty cold throughout the 3 nights we were there.

    Very friendly staff. Complimentary continental breakfast - simple spread but tasty. We were late to come back to check out but the hosts were still patient with us. Really appreciated that. Wifi connection was good. Location was not too bad, 4 streets away from the ADO bus station, and we found a few cafes around the property that serve excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    10
    Good location to stay when visiting Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 minutess walk from Avenida Tulum where shops, restaurants, etc are located Quiet location, Good breakfast Air condtioner, small sunroof, swimming pool Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit sparse - not what I would've expected. Entry system needs to be changed - we couldn't get two sets of keys (for my wife and I). When returning to the hotel, I had to knock and wait for the desk attendant. Very frustrating!

    Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    9.2
    Mi casa es su casa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and the Casa was very well maintained. Also liked the roof terrace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    10
    Beautiful little hotel in the center of Tulum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is great at Casa Sofia, friendly staff always there for you, clean spaces and rooms, comfortable and quiet, air conditioning. The size of the rooms is quite good so you don't feel cramped. Is our second time staying there, and we'll make it a place to visit every time we're in Tulum.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was spotty but we didn't need it so it wasn't a problem.

    Staff was very sweet and kept the place exceptionally clean. Continental breakfast was simple but had enough to get us started in the morning so we ate it every day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    9.6
    Clean, comfy, wifi, great a/c, friendly staff, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Clean, comfy, wifi, great a/c, friendly staff, spacious room, great location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    8.8
    Great hotel, would stay again and recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great central location. Cute and authentic decoration, everything we needed for a great stay. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    10
    Pretty little courtyard pool, nice breakfast, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pretty little courtyard pool, nice breakfast, close to restaurants. Easy to find, safe and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful space and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful space and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    It was a very quiet location in the middle of downtown Tulum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very quiet location in the middle of downtown Tulum. They had a roof garden which proved to be a great place to hangout in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Great location and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee in the morning

    Quiet. Beautiful courtyard. Very good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Very quiet, cozy, clean and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet, cozy, clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.5
    Stayed here twice on 2 different dates. Beautiful property, very pretty and ambient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Coffee machine. No Hairdryer

    Quiet. Good location. In room safe. Beds comfy. Good lighting. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    We liked this hotel more than any other hotel we stayed in thi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent value for the money with all the facilities.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    Cool et convivial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tradition and colors for the general design.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.9
    Good cost benefit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They dont have parking but you can park on the street.

    Its a simple hotel with a good location. The room Was confortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: