Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castelmar Hotel 4 stars

Calle 61 Numero 2 (between Calle 8 y 10), 24000 Campeche, Mexico

#8 of 36 hotels in Campeche

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    The property was very nice with helpful staff, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was some small leaks in the bathroom ceiling and balcony after heavy rain. The toilet flush was also tempormental.

    The property was very nice with helpful staff, well located. Rooms were large with soap provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, colonial hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major - my husband is over 6 foot so the beds were a bit small for him.

    This is a fabulous place to stay in Campeche. The location really is perfect and it’s a beautiful building with very clean, comfortable rooms. The pool was devine giving us a chance to come back during the hot period of the day to cool off and relax. We didn’t try the breakfast here as it wasn’t included in the price but we found a German owned veg cafe who had homemade brown bread - yum. You can here traffic from the rooms but not much and it didn’t bother us. Overall, it made for the perfect stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included - you can buy one, but it is only average.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, they also speak quite good English. centrally located. Small, but nice pool. Free parking for guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Desk staff awful and unfriendly. Pool nice. Hotel passable but not as nice as other
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very surly desk staff/concierge who seemed to think be was doing us a favor checking us in - definitely spoiled our impressions of the hotel.

    Pool nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small and hard. The bathroom was no bigger than a small closet. No space to get into the shower. From a previous visit we know that the rooms vary a lot so would advise to choose a room with better bed configuration.

    The hotel is generally charming, esthetically pleasing and clean the plants were all well cared for, the pool was clean. The staff were pleasant enough but not particularly welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful kolonial hotel, with large rooms, the best shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sensitive when it comes to beds, but these matrasses were hard as a rock. Overall friendly staff, except for one guy with glasses at the reception who didn't seem to like hotelguests at all.

    Beautiful kolonial hotel, with large rooms, the best shower we had in Mexico, centrally located in lovely beautiful Campeche. The prettiest and cheapest hotel on our trip!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Outstanding swimming area / poor bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like the room , mainly the bed , very uncomfortable and small. The room was perfectly clean though and big window , but really i wouldnt have stayed more than a night cause of the bed and the room which dont make your moment comfy nor relaxing.

    We loved the beauty of the place and the swimming pool and chilling around area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful oasis to escape from the heat and hustle of Merida
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is located a little far from the historical centre.

    Welcome drink and happy hour. Very friendly and professional staff. Room was very large and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    It has old world charm, is spotlessly clean and the shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the standard double we had the balcony doors are traditional in keeping with the building - wooden with single glazing, so there is no sound-proofing from the street. Unfortunately for us there was a road blocked off and a huge stage and sound system erected for a performance. The first night the rehearsals ended in the wee hours and we got a few hours sleep before the blaring music started again at 6am. We asked to change rooms but the other one they offered was also facing the street. The second night we thought once the concert ended we would have quiet but no, the entire night there was music blaring and shouting, banging, clattering and clanging as they disassembled the rig. We were unlucky, any other time we'd probably have a no problem sleeping but it's something to be aware of. Also, there was now where to hang cloths, just a few drawers.

    It has old world charm, is spotlessly clean and the shower was the best we had in 2 weeks in Mexico

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dark with only doors to let any light in. No shelves in the bathroom.

    Good location, just a street from all the bars and restaurants. Small but good pool and had it to ourselves during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and clean hotel. Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night, there was a strong wind and the doors were slamming and the roof moving. I wouldnnt recommend to sleep on the first floor.

    The location, the place itself, the swimmingpool, the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Only just comfortable enough, staff made up for short comings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were so hard and pillows were like blocks, otherwise linen very clean and fresh daily. First room was too noisy, unbearable music outside for Xmas festivities so we changed rooms but then lost king size bed exchanged for two singles which they called double. One of us fell out of bed in the night. Shower taps difficult to use, shower sqirtted water all over the room, telephone was not working but got fixed next day. Only breakfast offered at extra cost a la carte but not very good. Continental was passable with the same sad apples and bananas during our stay.

    Rooms spacious and ok, a cozy small hotel with charming staff. Well positioned near sea and easy walks, safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    excellent in every way, albeit not global 5* standards
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing at all!

    excellent in every way, albeit not global 5* standards great location for shopping and restaurants in a most beautiful hacienda-type setting campeche is on the rise!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Campeche a Destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That are schedule didn't allow the time to stay longer. Campeche in this area is a charming location

    Secure parking lot across the street. Great location in the historical center. The facility is attricatively colonial style unique. Visually appealing. The staff is very helpful and accommodating and many communicate in English

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    + nice old colonial building with a lovely hotel with many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    + nice old colonial building with a lovely hotel with many plants in the cosy patio + nice small pool + great towels + friendly staff + aircondition worked well + parking spaces available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Back to colonial times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very kind and friendly, the colonial house is simply beautiful and peaceful. The perfect hotel to stay if you want to enjoy campeche's city center and be 2 min away from the central placa and from the sea. We had no breakfast included, but with 60pesos each, we got a good continental breakfast (little buffet). Swimming pool small, but a great corner for relax after the tours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Small colonial hotel in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is just nit picking but when we opened our door we looked into the maids linen and cleaning area across the hall but that is just one room, room 210. Our friends room had large windows opening to the outside.

    Excellent location within walking distance to most of the sites and restaurants. A short stroll to the Malecon where we walked for over an hour every morning before breakfast. Room was small but we didn't spend time in it. Bed and linens were of good quality. Nice to cool off in the pool after a day of sight seeing. Plenty of comfortable seats on the upper cloister to relax in the shade. Colonial style hotel with original pasta tiles. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice location, unfriendly front desk person
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk receptionist was very unfriendly , there were many rooms available but we got the one next to a construction area, lots of noise at 7 am

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Charming hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay but not much.

    Nice and Mexican charming place to sleep. But you can't expect a lot for that good and cheap price. Everything was clean! We stayed there for one night and it was good. You can reach everything good by foot in the central city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Traditional hotel, great location, big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of natural light in our room, otherwise it was great.

    The hotel felt old school, a huge staff including smiling bell hops and an army of maids, this was definitely not El Travelodgeo. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was the size of a church, with a huge crucifix to match. Very nice little pool, solid breakfast, great location. The room itself looked into the internal courtyard, not ideal, best to ask for one with a window looking out of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.8
    Nice place for a coffe but not to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't use the safe because there is no key. You need pay a deposit to get the key! The first room we got was behind the main room, were very dark and noisy because it was just next to the street. So we asked to move and got an upgrade into a room that was ok, but it started making a weard noise from the toilet - absolutely noisy! We couldn't sleep well. We were just one night, therefore we didn't chance again.

    The building is really like an old Mexican house.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location near the Puerta del Mar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The connection to Internet was not working well, but it might have been an issue with the Internet provider, rather than with the hotel wifi.

    I had forgotten a couple of items on my bed before checking out. I retrieved them waiting with my luggage that I had left in the hotel's storage before going to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our double bed was very small, though comfortable. Ours was the standard room - you might consider a junior suite. The noise from setting up breakfast is minor but echoes loudly from the courtyard early in the morning.

    This hotel is a beautifully restored colonial building, immaculately decorated in gorgeous colours and unique tiles. It's perfectly situated in old town Campeche, steps from the seawall and all the best restaurants. Most rooms overlook the lovely central courtyard where breakfast is served. Our room was small but new and comfortable and very clean. The hotel even has a nice little swimming pool, and the price is very reasonable. Breakfast is additional to the room charge -- basic and reasonably priced. But we found the wonderful Sotavento Cafe 5 minutes away and ate there every morning: exquisite cappuccinos, good food, fun art. Also very nearby and highly recommended: Restaurante Marganzo.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful but no Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not get a refund on our reservation even though we tried to cancel two weeks in advance of our arrival. We were disappointed that there was no beach even though there was definitely an ocean.

    That we were within walking distance of the walled City and there was a lot to see.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful colonial hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in a double standard room first, it was small with quite hard and narrow bed. Booking.com advertised it as double but I think it was a single room actually. Lot of noise from outside so make sure you have earplugs. Quiet rooms don´t have windows.

    Junior suite was great! Spacious and beautiful with a lot of character and athmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.3
    The location was great and physically, the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in, in 1 month of travel. The staff is impersonal. It's like we are bothering them. For the price, breakfast should be included.

    The location was great and physically, the hotel is magnificent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Centro Campeche
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a couple of blocks to the zocalo, and a little further to the Malecon (sea), the Castelmar is in a good location to explore Campeche. The staff was helpful, and I had a very nice night here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful weather, lovely to see pelicans & frigate birds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked bigger bathroom. It was adequate but unsuitable for larger people!

    Nice big room, ours had a balcony & outside window. Other rooms faced onto the courtyard, so no out facing windows. Only 5 minutes walk to main plaza, or to the sea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location with good outdoor places to eat around the corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the reasons I chose this hotel was the photos that showed rooms with lots of light. I did know it was an old, very tastefully converted home, but my room door, and window opened on to the walkway around the courtyard and so I left the window closed, making the room somewhat claustrophobic. The room was small, neat and clean and there was no light over / near the sink which made shaving impossible. As for tourist advice, the person at the desk only knew that to take the local bus to Edzna you had to take it from the market. Doing so was possible, but locating the bus was far more complicated.

    The location was excellent. The staff were friendly and their English was much better than my Spanish.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Campeche Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically nothing, very happy

    The rooms, if you need an outside window make sure to ask, I thought the interior rooms were dark, but this is a old building and that's how they were built-it is a great place and loved their pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Clean, very close to the center, parking, pool, amenities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, very close to the center, parking, pool, amenities, good wifi. Nice bed. We stayed only one night during our trip, but this place we would reccomend

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    A great hotel - our second visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Everything was great. This is our favourite hotel in Mexico! It is built on a massive scale with lots of tiled floors, a sunny courtyard and pool. The staff were always helpful, courteous and efficient. It was spotlessly clean. It is not modern and trendy but full of character.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Location was really convenient with a car park right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms have no windows and my friends had air con machines just over the bed leaking water on their face. Apart from that, good value for money

    Location was really convenient with a car park right next to the hotel. Nice colonial architecture of the the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    A good location in Campéche
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and the bathroom was very outdated and cramped.

    The buffet breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadside rooms can get noisy

    Beautiful city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great central choice to discover Campeche
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - unexpected good pool - comfortable rooms Lovely colonial atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good..quite a charming place and surroundings. Lots of good places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful, perfect location, friendly helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, perfect location, friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds, fabulous shower, antique charm was best of all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    The courtyard is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and no hairdryer

    The courtyard is amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    The staff was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredible! So nice and attentive. The rooms are beautiful too and a great location. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice patio and continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the pool so it was a bit noisy, but they did close the pool at 9:00pm so not a big problem.

    Nice patio and continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Nice big room in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big room in a beautiful city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent choice for lodging while in Campeche with quaint hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was pretty hard, but OK. Room was fairly small

    Excellent location, beautiful grounds, very clean, friendly staff, free parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful building and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was in the shade for a lot of the day

    Beautiful building and rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but you can find better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was near the pool and you could here people talk.

    I like the style and the antique decoration

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room in a nice colonial building, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice Architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud airco

    Nice Architecture Big Rooms Swimming Pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was a bit dirty and without control by part of the staff.

    Excellent facilities. Totally recommended this place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Swimming pool is small but still nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the road are noisy

    Swimming pool is small but still nice. Very good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous building, nice hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good local food nearby, only tourist traps — including ones recommended by hotel staff

    Gorgeous building, nice hall

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Excellent, will be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, perfect.

    Beautiful hotel, clean and comfortable. Central location. Staff was so helpful, kind. Parking included.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    great location, beautiful colonial building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing !

    beautiful house, nice staff, great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from staff preparing for breakfast early in the morning

    Great location. Huge room. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous building and great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was snotty and unhelpful.

    Quaint historic building and location!!! The pool was wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.3
    1 night in Campeche
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Safe inside the fort walls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceilings were too high! (Sarcasm)

    This is the best hotel I've stayed at this entire trip!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    The service is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing un particular.

    The service is excellent! Especially Carlos working at the reception!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi in the room

    Clean, good installations, atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Very nice stay in a beautiful colonial building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is a bit poor in the rooms

    Location. Price. Beautiful building. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice patio

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Finally a shower with pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finally a shower with pressure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.2
    The location and the design of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing except the staff recorded our departure time for taxi incorrectly and as a result, it took us a long time to get a taxi to rush to bus station. But overall, everyone is very helpful and can speak English. Wifi is weak inside the rooms, but we had been informed of such before we made the reservation

    The location and the design of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    2.5
    Don't stay there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't stay there !!! they stored my backpack in the lobby's office for a couple of hours and I got robbed 2000 pesos = 100$!! The manager could not offer me no solution or compensation!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    9.2
    Really friendly and efficient staff at the desk of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Really friendly and efficient staff at the desk of this beautiful old building near the main area for restaurants and bars. Excellent decor, comfortable beds and a great breakfast (not included in the price)

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    8.3
    Cleaness, perfect colonial style, away from main roads,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Please add the mosquito net at the windows

    Cleaness, perfect colonial style, away from main roads, sometime noise from the window that was facing the patio. The best hotel choise in our mexican trip.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.2
    Lovely old building, sympathetically maintained, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very happy so no real problems

    Lovely old building, sympathetically maintained, with friendly part-English-speaking staff, good breakfasts, comfortable bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.2
    1. Location just at the hart of Campeche's historic city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. At arrival, we were assigned a small bedroom adequate as single room but inappropriate as double room. For a small difference in price, we moved to a very spacious and charming room. We could have avoided changing room if we had been properly informed of its size. 2. Bedrooms do not have safes.

    1. Location just at the hart of Campeche's historic city center. 2. Hotel resulting from the smart adaptive re-use of an historic palace with a beautiful columned patio. 3. Furniture and decoration of public areas and bedrooms. 4. Availability of free parking facilities for hotel customers.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.2
    The staff were wonderful- very friendly, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds could be a little more comfortable.

    The staff were wonderful- very friendly, helpful and professional. Great location. Rooms and public areas were spotless and well maintained. Excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.9
    The position right in the historic center is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool is very tiny.

    The position right in the historic center is great. The stuff was super friendly and helpful. The building is very well mantained and very clean. Beautiful colors and details. The room was basic, a bit dark as it had no window (I believe it was the only one), but the thick walls isolated us from noises and the template was quite cool. Breakfast in the inner court is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    6.7
    Location, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very rude staff, we were put in the wrong room and very rudely transferred after we already unpacked our luggage. Room smelled and was quite small.

    Location, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The clerk tried to upsell me to a more expensive room when I arrived. I asked to check out the room I reserved and the "better" room to make the choice. The clerk said it was thier policy to not show rooms until payment was made. I then asked if each room had wi-fi. Clerk said only in common areas. At that point, I left.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    It is centrally located with off-street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been better to have breakfast included.

    It is centrally located with off-street parking. The staff are very consciencious and the rooms are traditional colonial style.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    This hotel was really lovely, unfortunately we only had one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was really lovely, unfortunately we only had one night there but would definitely stayed there longer if we had time. Nice staff, beautiful surroundings - I would recommend

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castelmar Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: