Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa- All Inclusive 4 stars

Avenida Xcacel, Lote 1, Plano 2, Manzana 18, 77783 Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

#8 of 25 hotels in Puerto Aventuras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was a little bland for my taste.

    Beautiful property. Very wonderful staff. Music played during the day around the walkways which was nice. If you needed quiet you could find it or if you wanted to be in the thick of things you could be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing hotel, book through booking.com entitled you to be a privileged guest, meaning access to all pool areas and majority of beach areas. Also access to the fabulous a la carte restaurants, we only ate in the buffet twice for evening meals but that was also fantastic. The staff are all extremely attentive and friendly. Great quality food and drink throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real poolside service and because it's smaller than others no place to really getaway from noise

    Staff were amazing great place to bring a young family food was good but still no tacos at lunch??

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) We arrived late our first night and were put in a room that should not have been let out (it faced the back ally, extremely loud music from club pounding until 1130pm, smelled strongly of petro fumes from paint/silicone bath sealant throughout). We were able to move to much better room but only after two unpleasant nights. 2) Wifi was very weak throughout complex and was nearly nonexistent in our room, making streaming anything impossible, 3) our second room had no hot water the entire time (it was tolerable but barely pool temperature), 4) the Italian restaurant was terrible and should not be allowed to stay open, the Tapas bar was nice atmosphere but food was mediocre at best and some was terrible (stewed beef was chunks of 80% pure fat). 5) The blackbirds by the largest pool were weirdly aggressive and scraped/ cut both my and my husband's scalps when swooping down. One suggestion on atmosphere: avoid LED lighting in restaurants that make it look so cold and institutional (some had, while most thankfully did not).

    The buffet restaurants had a great selection of healthy, fresh foods. We enjoyed La Brisa for breakfasts and the Mercado for lunches and dinner options. Crepes by the pool was nice. My husband loved the open-air "Beach Bar" in the late afternoon/early evenings for a relaxing time before dinners (with the steady breeze coming off the sea). The spa was relaxing. My kids (11 and 13 y/o) loved the pools, snorkeling, kayaking, and the game room. The Japanese restaurant was fun. Be Loved Restaurant was nice. The complex is completely safe and very lovely surrounding. Puerto Aventuras is a gated and safe town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest bad habit of reserving beach beds early in the morning

    Restaurant Bloved and all other restaurant of privilege upgrade, courtesy of staff, variety of the resort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The workers didn’t speak the greatest English which made it hard to understand sometimes, the food was absolutely disgusting, and the beach was horrible because it was so dirty and filled with rocks and seaweed.

    People were so nice, our upgraded room/bathroom was awesome!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the location of my room because it was near the janitor room that is use a lot by the staff of the hotel and the room was facing the pool that was pretty noisy.

    It is a great resort the beach is beautiful, the staff is great. I had read a lot of bad reviews about the food witch I find unfair the food is good and the restaurants are excellent. I definitely recommend that resort if you're traveling alone or with family it is a great place to stay. There is also great animation perform during the day and performance at that night that are really enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The towels in the room were rough. The shower didn't drain well. I'm not sure if I really got "privileged service" as I had paid for. Eggs tooooo cooked!

    Everyone was so friendly and the room was kept clean. Food provided at the pool was delicious. Entertainment nightly was great as the dancers were incredible. The grounds were well kept and very pretty. The mini bar in the room was kept full.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Superior Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym a little small and pretty old equipment, appreciate entertainment team worked relentless but hard to escape the thumping euro pop around the pool for most of the day

    Very friendly staff and great service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first trip to Mexico and to an all-inclusive resort and we were not sure how it will be - we like active vacations. We did not regret our choice. Senior Asis and his team made sure we had a wonderful time. We loved everything - the facilities, the pools, the beach, the food but most of all the friendly and professional staff. We will return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no beach. There is a boardwalk and mostly rocky areas. Not enough beach for the amount of guests. The privilege rooms for 2 people are really old. The hot water was out on peak times for showers. The toilet and faucets were leaking. The room was too small and too dark.

    The deal with booking gives you privileged status and great benefits. You get a yellow bracelet and room service included among other things. The food is good and varied.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The list is long: The ride was double the price. I paid 150 $, from the airport to the resort, and $75 the other way. The airport food pricey. The people in the airport are thieves. My bag was exactly 50 pds, but when they weight it , it is 55, and made me pay $100 more. they played with the scales, because in US, my bags were 50 pounds exactly. The food in the resort has all pork, ham. They don't care about people who don't eat pork. The mexican food was not authentic at all, It is all american food in Mexico. The beach is very very small and short, few seats and it is full. They have construction going on. No way to sleep. You will be stopped on the highway to get there and you will have to pay money. It is a scam. I changed the room 3 times. My kids wanted to go home after the first day. This never happened.

    To be honest, I didn't like anything about the resort. I only liked the water and the environment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a spa, I think you could also use another activities scheduler at the resort – we had troubles being able to talk to one and get money back from one of our excursions. We usually had to wait over an hour to get into the restaurants at night.

    Pool, beach, staff, activities, shows, the restaurants offered delicious choices and the waiters were a lot of fun in general.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We booked this hotel because we wanted to stay on a nice beach. However, what the pictures online show is not what you find. There are concrete wave breakers in front of the beach and ehe swimming area is rather narrow and shallow. It is generally an animation resort not a beach place to relax. If you know and like this it is a good hotel for that. But it was not what we were looking for. We did not appreciate the staff going around with wild animals taking pictures of guests posing with them. Birds belong in trees and not on peoples arms.

    - Very friendly and attentive staff. - Privilege rooms allow you to eat a la carte each day. - Food is decent but not great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the beach at the hotel is bad, quite small by the size of the hotel and has those big blocks of cement to slow down waves, at the end looks like you are at the industrial dock, not at a resort. Food in the restaurants is poor, wines they serve are very cheap quality, the drinks at the bars are also cheap. The accomodation part where I was it was under cosntruction with a tremnendous noice from 9am to 5pm, when I say noice I mean rotor hammer, disk saws, big construction machinery...of course they didn't tell us at the reception at the moment of checking in. Another low light is the size of the reception, it can take care of 2 guests at the same time only, so imagine when you try to check in and you have a bus that just arrived before you...we wait for at least 1hr with a small baby of 18months, this is what you call a left foot start. I will never come back, not even for free

    the parking was just beside the reception, the neighborhood it's very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    all the hotel is very clean, the beach is cleaned every day. The attention in all areas is very nice. They have bicycles for free and you can get one or simply go walking and you can visit all the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is under construction in our pavillon, they didn't tell us at the moment of checking in, the construction goes from Monday to Sunday inclusive from 9am until 5pm, the noise was absurdly high, also dust everywhere. Our son of 18 months couldn't sleep at all for the nap, we had to take him to the car and drive around in order to let him rest. When I complained they just say "you are right", but didn't provide any alternative room. About the restaurants, the food is average quality, it's funny because they have 5 restaurants, tryed all of them, the only one that makes sence is the Italian. About the restaurants their top one is called B-Love, plates ware looking nice, food quality is bad, worst ceviche I ever had, it had the fish pre-cooked (probably left from old plates prepared, unbelivable), the restaurant beside the pool was "grill restaurant", can you believe they only had burgers and hot dogs with some vegetables and fried potatoes??? . About the rooms they were clean and the bed was comfortable.

    the Puerto Aventuras neighborhood is great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Check in was horrible - it took us close to 40 minutes to check our party in, with no apology or consideration for the fact we had 4 small kids with us. The room was dated and on the small side (even in the privileged rooms). The room (6131) had an awful smell that stuck around all week - like sewage or damp. We had a minor medical situation one day and rushed to the front desk for some assistance - they brushed us off and told us they called 'someone'. No one ever turned up to help us. We had to chase down the cleaning service to exchange our beach towels, and one day our room wasn't cleaned.

    There are a lot of great things about this property! The pools are excellent and well maintained (though not heated), the restaurants are incredible (great variety and high quality), the beach was fabulous (lots of seats plus in a bit of a cove where you can see fish and wildlife), the grounds are beautiful (but dated), and the 'privileged' upgrade is totally worth it! Guests services worked hard to make my mother's birthday special. We got lots of extra percs for booking through booking.com! The location is fantastic- in a gated community and within walking distance of a nice marina with dolphins, shops, and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only a few minor let downs. One was the food. Although there was a lot of variety, most of the food was very flavourless, at the buffets and the restaurants. We only really enjoyed the Japanese because it had the soy flavours. Also the massages were extremely overpriced so I didn’t get to enjoy one. And finally Anee at the dive counter was very rude. She told us our dive was all inclusive and we double checked that it definitely was, then just before we went to pay she suddenly added that we had to pay $80 more than we thought for some dive gear, after checking numerous times that everything was included in the original price. We said we didn’t want to do it anymore then and she got very rude and sassy.

    Everything at Catalonia was amazing!!!! And so is booking.com! Thanks to them we got a free upgrade in room and to being ‘privileged’ members where we had a restaurant just for privileged people, better beach towels etc. Plus champagne, a cheese platter, and chocolate tray delivered to our room! So thank you booking.com! All of the staff members were SO kind and happy. Our maid Victoria was the best housekeeper I’ve ever had and she always made us feel special with her beautiful and very talented bed decorations. The entertainment staff always had something to keep you interested and having fun and remembered everyone’s names, especially Luis! The pools and beach were beautiful, good shows, quick service and everyone so helpful. Very happy and lovely place. The chefs at Japanese we’re amazing!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Clients should realise that it is quite a large resort, not a small boutique hotel

    We were helped very nicely by Jolande from customer service to resolve an issue that we had. She was very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only thing i didn't like was the bar staff giving drinks in plastic cups in the evening.

    Beautiful in every way. Loads of variety. Lots of activity, or chill time. However you prefer it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think it is time to take reservations at the Japanese restaurant. The first night we waited 1hr and 49 mins. We wanted to go a second time but there was a 2 hr. wait and we went somewhere else. I don't think there are enough chairs at the pool. By 8:30 you cant find an available one.

    I loved the size and feel of this resort. It was very family friendly, The dinners were very good and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like!

    This is a fabulous hotel right on the beach. We chose it because it was reasonably priced and after our stay would say that it is excellent value for money. It is not one of the REALLY big fancy hotels but we preferred this as it was easy to get around the hotel. The rooms, gardens and pools are all beautiful. We loved the beach although it is fairly small and there were lots of free activities to try, including snorkelling and kayaking. The hotel has two buffet restaurants and a snack bar buffet available throughout the day. The food in these was really lovely with a very good selection and extremely nice staff. There were also several other restaurants which were A La Carte, including Mexican, Japanese, Italian, Steak and Tapas. We had Privileged rooms and were able to visit all of these restaurants at no extra charge. All the drinks we wanted were included too. There was entertainment at the hotel both during the day around the pool and evenings in the theatre area. We also enjoyed using the gym and the tennis courts (both free). The hotel is situated in the resort of Puerto Aventuras which is a nice resort with a golf course and a marina where there are bars and restaurants. It felt safe to walk around the area. The hotel did offer excursions but we organised our own and hired a car and found it very easy to get from the hotel back to the main road from where it was easy to travel along the main highway to all the interesting places to visit including Akumel, Tulum and Playa del Carmen. We had a wonderrful holiday, were really pleased and impressed with this hotel and would definately recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ultra lovely staff, upgraded us and made an extra effort when they found out we were on our honeymoon. Even had a little problem with hot water on 3rd night and was resolved quickly all the while keeping you in the loop. The dive shop there is awesome. Friendly, knowledgeable staff and were so welcoming and supportive of new people just wanting to give it a go.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for money. Food second to none with very wide choice of restaurants Stayed in privilege suite and room was great Staff were extremely happy and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    leaky sink, weird tub on the balcony with no privacy for bathing in it. would like more variety of nightly entertainment. an overview of mayan history would be helpful

    fruit selections awesome, great cappuccinos, food was good! super friendly staff. ran out of time to use the free kayaks, or catamarans.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privileged Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not related to the hotel itself, the street lighting was poor and the side walks were in poor shape. I twisted my ankle twice (2x) because I could not see where I was going.

    My massage at the spa with Laura was wonderful. She is a great gal. All wait help were friendly, helpful and respectful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    we wanted to go on a bike ride with our family but you did not have any seats for small children so we could not go. this was a major disappointment as you cater for children in all other respects.

    the whole hotel was great and a two week holiday was not long enough!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication from and among staff is very poor,especially regarding Spa and Housekeeping Depts. The kayak they loaned me from the marina at the resort was damaged. It filled with water,flipped and the paddle smashed me in the mouth. My lips were swollen and black and blue all week. Something in the water either stung or irritated my arm and I ended up with a massive itchy rash I had to buy ointment for. 3 of us booked pedicures but when we got there they had cancelled them due to a miscommunication. The attendant said they would never be able to do 3 at a time anyway,only 1 person does them. Hydrotherapy we had booked before massage cancelled (they were filming that day,they told us).

    Las Brisas restaurant was a good go to buffet but it was sometimes a challenge to get someone to pour you a cup of coffee. We had to get our own several times from the take out coffee station because no one came by,even after asking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water was a bit chilly. No hot tubs ... however we did visit in January!

    The room exceeded our expectations. Staff was very friendly, everyone smiled and greeted us. A wonderful place to visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, with a private beach. Reserved a "Privileged" room and got upgraded to a very nice suite, because I used Booking.com! Nice welcome surprise!!! Friendly staff, great amenities, good food & drinks, great place to just sit back and relax!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There aren't very many non-alcoholic beverages. I wish they'd serve iced tea and lemonade. Often times the food at buffet wasn't very warm.

    The staff is amazing! SO nice and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are gouging you for money and reducing services every way they can. The pool area is always loud with amplified group activities.

    It is well located and good range of activities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privileged Superior Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Pressure to join their private travel club, ETC. Beach was nice, but a little rocky.

    All the restaurants were good and everyone was very helpful. We got upgraded after we arrived to a Preferred Guest status and received extra amenities that we were not expecting. Overall, a great experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is really low quality. I had never such a small buffet the food was so poor that we decide to eat pizza (frozen pizza) the 12 days of our permanece. The restaurants were even worst. In the Japanese restaurant the show is nice but the food is plastic. The Mexican is terrible the food is like paper. The Italian one, I think I can cook better. The steak house is so bad that the meat is obvioisly low low quality. The tapas one is the only one that have normal food but nothing special.

    We were to privilege upgraded due to the booking reservation, with this upgrade we had a really nice room and access to a private launge on the beach (anyway everybody can access and use this zone). The cocktails at the bars were really good and the staff really nice persons.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washrooms outside of the room should be better kept up and cleaned more frequently.

    The beds were amazing. Also a pillow menu so you can choose what type of pillow you would like. The rooms were also huge.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner buffets were not extremely tasty. The bed was a little hard for my taste.

    This is a beautiful resort with great pools and beaches. We were treated perfectly by the staff and loved our time there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were new and fresh. Booking.com provided us an upgrade and numerous perks/treats.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff and a good variety of food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was too small, far from city and nighttime activities

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privileged Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wine and horrible food and very bad smell from the A/C

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I eat too much at all inclusives but my fault not the hotel’s.

    Everyone is so friendly and willing to please you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffee

    Stuffs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entertainment, especially movies, could be better.

    We got a class upgrade because they were overbooked

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Restaurants were better but buffet and snack bar, not good.

    Staff was very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Entertainment and food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Sometime we spent time to call room service for cleaning.

    Perfect place for leisure with small kids!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was meticulously maintained and beautiful. Service was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the grounds are immaculate, staff so very friendly and helpful. Room large and fully equipped.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is so overpriced!!! Bottle of sunscreen 24USD! Beach bag $65........

    Sttaff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurants and pool bar service was consistently slow. Seemed understaffed. Pool bars closed at 5pm and I didn't like that. The shows were not very good. Some of the activities staff were somewhat awkward. Room Staff didn't restock waters and drinks in our room any of the 3 nights.

    Liked the room, the number of restaurantss. Loved the staff at the El Abuelo lobby bar. Liked the proximity to the beach. Loved the availability of chairs at the pools and beaches and the palapa a in the beach. The lagoon was very cool as well. The food was good.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much soliciting. One no thank you should be enough for the stay. We felt imposed on by your solicitors for events.

    We enjoyed the art of towel folding by your cleaning staff. Of course the pools and ocean shore was remarkable.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You MUST hace reservations in the restaurants The bathrooms outdoor were very dirty

    I like the amenities, the swimming pool, the quality of the food, the room was quiet and clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi in the room and on the beach was spotty. The beach very pretty, but it was a pain to get into the water because the bottom, close to shore, was covered with rocks and coral. Check-in was ridiculously long, more than half an hour with only four people in front of me.

    It is a very attractive facility. The restaurants were also very nice. Food presentation was well done, and while not five star, was more than adequate. Breakfast buffets were comprehensive and well laid-out.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the snack bar is not open all day it would be convenient to have it open more hours. they should have more people working the front desk it gets busy and people get annoyed having to wait a long time in line.

    I liked the location, the resort was nice, workers were friendly, food was good I was expecting more sea food but overall it was good.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food was bad except for breakfast buffet. First room had leak from ceiling - obviously an ongoing issue. Second room phone didn't work and the elevator NEVER worked the whole week and we were on the 4th floor - didn't look as though they were even attempting to repair . Unacceptable in 98 degree heat and if you are older.

    staff were very pleasant. Location next to Puerto Aventuras was awesome

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A couple of small suggestions - The staff at the front desk was to few with the amount of traffic they have. The show they have at night is below High School play quality. We just didn't go anymore after the first one. The one and only service complaint is the towel service at the beach. The young lady that works there was there a few minutes after they closed and I tried to exchange my towel and she refused and said no tomorrow morning. With the amazing service from all the entire staff this is definetly not the same as I expected from a Catalonia staff member. But Olga the lady that serviced our room came through. After asking her the same she left even later that night and went above and beyond!

    The accommodations, service, quality of food, room service, activities and attention to detail were great.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The reception needed more staff. At times you had to wait over half an hour to talk to someone.

    The entertainment team were so enthusiastic and full of fun. They carried out a good range of activities that my teenage children and I enjoyed. It really was good natured fun for all ages. Also a good range of restaurants to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pools very small, beach had rocks in some areas. Seawater had lots of floating plants in there.

    Food was good, restaurants have great locations. Accomodations were close to everything. You could take a lot of trips from the hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only book through hotel directly!!! It is half the price! We paid double using booking.com

    Excellent staff, food is good.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Improve the choice of liquor and better food.

    Beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Orange juice isn't natural,

    Everything was good! Really recomiended place.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Water and lights went out. Spotty WIFI

    Good food and facilities. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach had corals, dangerous for anybody to enjoy the beach or swimming in the ocean.

    Location, facilities and great staff!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: