Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach & Spa Resort Adults Only - All Inclusive 5 stars

Cancun Road, Chetumal km 264.5, 77790 Xpu Ha, Mexico

#1 of 11 hotels in Xpu Ha

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Lovely 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Deluxe
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    The resort was smaller and quiet and very nice. The amenities were many and great! Lovely beach lots of activities to do. The staff was very very nice and always helpful. The restaurants and food was very good. We would definitely return. Very beautiful Mayan resort!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities and food are great , but the best part about Catalonia Royal Tulum is the staff. Juan, Rosario, Fredy, Mario, and Julia stood out to name a few and make sure everything is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is something natural that means the sea water is clean, the hotel should arrange some procedure to take the seaplant out of the beach. It was not a problem for us and we enjoyed tha beach a lot, but we think it would be a good idea as sometimes seaplants come and some clients may not like it. Anyway, the worst thing of our stay was, by far, having to leave!!!! ;)

    We enjoyed our stay so much! The restaurants and bars are very good, the room was big, very clean and had a useful terrace and the bathroom was also big and clean. All the staff was superkind and superpolite. The spa and the gym were good. The hotel is very well decorated, clean and provides everything you can need. The beach is very beautiful and just in front of the hotel, you can make a beautiful walk on the beach to enjoy the sunset. Everything was just great!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful grounds and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately, there was lots and lots sargassum on the beach - nothing that the hotel can do anything about of course. Wifi was very capricious. We didn't really care for the Italian restaurant.

    It is a beautiful, well maintained hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Food is good, especially at BLoved restaurant. Buffet breakfast is exceptional with lots of choices. Grounds are simply spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Shame the magic didn’t last
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most things if I’m honest! At first glance the hotel seems like total luxury but scratch the surface and the veneer exposes a strange holiday camp vibe of forced fun and a place where staff treat guests differently depending on their tips! All inclusive hotels are basically like giant cruise ships on land! Great if that’s your bag but it was a million miles from my type of holiday. It’s important to point out that this was our first all inclusive experience so a lot of these comments may just be about that type of holiday rather than the hotel itself. Here’s some hotel specific feedback: - please please please stop using animals for photoshoots! Traipsing round the beach with poor iguanas & parrots for guests to get their picture taken is crazy! - apart from Bloved, the food elsewhere was average (definitely not 5*) The Tapas restaurant food tasted frozen. Yuk! - the games!! I realise this makes me sound like a mega grump but I go on holiday for peace and relaxation. Life is hectic at home so it’s bliss to get away and be still. No chance of that here! Staff are constantly asking you to join this or that activity. Happily politely declined but you can’t escape the loud music they play by the pool. - cocktails weren’t great either

    Ok so now for the good stuff... - The grounds from the reception up to the pool are beautiful! You are transported into a magical woodland with the cutest animals and they’re even better at night with the lighting. - Luckily we were upgraded to Privaledged so we got to eat at Bloved restaurant. This was by far the best food at the resort, it almost felt like a different hotel. Well worth doing. - The room was lovely and spacious. Great shower and they had paid careful attention to getting the lighting right. Super clean too and loved the towel animals on the bed each day! - generally the staff were all friendly. My only bug bear was with the drinks staff as they were so rushed and uncaring, unless you gave them a hefty tip of course! In summary, I think if you generally like the all inclusive vibe, you’ll love it here. If you’re umming and ahhing, I would say there are lots of other really interesting places to stay in the area - try Isla Mujeres, Isla Holbox or Valladolid :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great site, nice staff, super well-maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some restaurants were quite good. Some were very average (the Spanish one was the worst)

    Staff were all incredibly (genuinely) nice. This place is also super clean and well-maintained The rooms are not on the beach but on a beautiful path leading to the main building (reception). You can see cute small animals on the path (birds, Coati, iguanas)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to leave :(

    From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us with a welcoming cocktail :) The entire resort is amazing! All the restaurants were awesome but especially the BLoved restaurant near the beach was beyond tasty and delicious! The buffets offered an immense variety of fresh foods, everything you could imagine! Catalonia has the best part of the beach...soft clean sand looking over the turquoise blue water. They offered water sports(kayak, boogie boards, etc) and daily entertainment at night! The staff was beyond attentive and friendly...made our vacation perfect! Highly recommend and would definitely LOVE to go back soon!!! Mucho gracias Catalonia Royal Tulum!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    All the meal was varied and very good the a'la cart and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The sound proofing of the rooms are weak and the guests are waking up early.

    All the meal was varied and very good the a'la cart and even a buffet also. The location is good , near to Coba and Tulum, there are in the neighborhood lots of sinkholes. Beach was wonderful, with white sand, there are enough sunbed arond the "playa" and also in the poolside, but have to race for the good position, because the best places runs out soon. There is wonderful jungle in the hotelpark with a lots of coatis and agutis

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Seems like a good place that could be a great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much smoking. Ruined the beach and other areas. Very long walk to the beach. Playing loud dance music at the pool in the morning when people were trying to read and relax was a problem. Also late night music for events going after midnight was also a problem. Other surprises: One beach towel per guest. No umbrellas. Kids wandering onto the beach from other places.

    Wonderful beach. The staff was really nice and friendly overall. Food was great and BLoved and good at other spots.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Quiet, cozy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Asian themed restaurant only opened one night, also no access to hot tub unless you pay the privileged pass

    Quiet and stress-free hotel, food was good and staff always helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Happy New Year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was fair. Did not get a clear explanation of the privilege benefits.

    Stayed for New Years and it was a GREAT way to start 2018. Paul (bell man), Angel (check in) and Alejandro (exclusive club salesman) all were courteous and excellent to deal with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.6
    At the resort i really enjoyed the Staff, besides the Time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    There is a lot of things NOT to like about this resort. I was a regular Guest with Catalonia so i have been expecting something similar like you have in Punta Cana, but no. Main Problem here is a Travel Agency inside the Resort, called Vera tours (Italian). They fill the whole resort with Italians (ratio is 70% Italians - 30% everyone else). There offers are below the price you find on booking. Still, not the actual problem (well if you know Italians then you can already spot the problem). But the Italians that are coming to the Report with Vera tour are not really there to enjoy the Vacation and take it easy. Nope. These are mostly ALL young, rude, loud, drunk, misbehaving Guests. Dragging the whole Service of the Resort to a bottom low. Problem is that the Vera tour Guests are really young and they are there to PARTY! Which means you will not enjoy a peaceful afternoon on the Beach, nope. Rather, you will be given a VERY OVERCROWDED beach area, with ALOT OF LOUDE MUSIC and yelling all the time (in Italian). On the Beach you will have "Entertainment" options... yea but you will not really be able to use them as they ONLEY speak Italian and they are ONLEY there for the Vera tour Guests... Not you. When i say Loud i mean Loud. At 2am, there are still parties going on at the Beach area (You will hear it in your Room). And if you are lucky and are very far away from the Beach (in the first Building), you still will have the pleasure of listening to Italians getting Drunk and yelling at the Hallways of your Room... Next morning while you will still think about the little sleep you got last night (and all the nights before - as parties are going on every Night) and make your way to Breakfast you will stumble upon ALOT of empty Bottles, spilled drink and empty Glasses on your way (In front of your door, Hallways, the road to the Restaurant with Breakfast).

    At the resort i really enjoyed the Staff, besides the Time Sharing Guys, everyone is really nice. Also the walk from the reception to the Beach goes through a winding road which leads you through a jungle with some cute animals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Resort. Great Food. No need to reserve for dinner! Helpful, friendly and fun staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Raxau show should be free to guests.

    Beautiful Resort and beach. Great friendly service. snorkling was awesome. Waiters and Waitresses were all friendly and helpful. The Entertainment staff were friendly and fun! Great variety of food. Souvenir shop had a great selection and not over priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    A holiday in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All soft drinks were “diet” by default, getting “regular “ was difficult. Bathroom towels looked and felt “old”.

    Choice of restaurants, quality of food at all seven restaurants. Service was exceptional, wide choice of drinks, cocktails. Beach groomed, local wildlife fascinating, wide variety of night entertainment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Quiet adults only with great beach and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aggressive sales of "exclusive travelling club Maravilloso". Concept of top-up option AI exclusive not very clear.

    Great beach. Great food. Proper coffee. No kids. Quiet. Pillow menu.extensive entertainment with different options every night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    We loved that the resort was adults-only and small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative was that they were doing construction on two of the 6 buildings. Our first room was across the way from one of them. It made it impossible to enjoy being in our room and/or enjoying our balcony any time during the day. I requested and was able to secure a room in a different building for our next 3 nights. Otherwise I am not sure what I would have done. It was also obnoxious having to listen to the noise while walking down the beautiful path to and from the beach/pool. Thanks to the jungle-like vegetation, you couldn't hear the noise at the pool or beach.

    We loved that the resort was adults-only and small. The entire property was beautiful. It was lovely (and quiet) relaxing by the pool and be literally a minute walk to the private beach. We had a junior-suite which was quite spacious. This also meant we were "privileged" and able to eat at the more upscale restaurant. This was nice - the buffets get a bit tiresome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    The staff was amazing and very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left real pearl earings in the pocket of SPA robe. When I realized, they said they couldn't Find it......... Reception personnel very, very unpleasant. It's like they are doing you a favour.....

    The staff was amazing and very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Catalonia Royal Tulum was a vacation in paradise - would absolutely love to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was’t “hot”. It was the same temperature as the pool. Other than that, no cons!

    The location was absolutely beautiful. Resort was very clean and well kept. Staff was one of the highest pros, very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Catalonia Royal Tulum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Restaurants at the hotel are mostly very good with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room in ground floor was very dark as due to all the trees in front not much daylight comes in. Cocktails at the bar seem low quality and are not tasty.

    Restaurants at the hotel are mostly very good with great service. Beach is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    If you're not a drinker, this place is a waste!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realize that having a "privileged" room was going to cost so much more and we never utilized any of the benefits. We do not drink alcohol so the all-inclusive was a great waste of money for us. I also got food poisoning on our 4th day, so I spent 24 hours not leaving our room once, so no massage, no meals, no "privileges" were ever taken advantage of.

    We had some staff that went out of there way to guarantee everything was great. Unfortunately, it wasn't the majority. We liked the location of the resort, however, we were disappointed that there were no ocean view rooms. All rooms were more of a jungle feel. You had quite a stroll to get to the beach. We also didn't love that you had a limit of 2 beach towels per day. I realize the potential for enormous loads of laundry, but when you pay as much as we did for 6 nights, I would think we could have dry towels when we got out of the ocean/pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    LOVE Catalonia Royal Tulum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks could be stronger

    Pure relaxation, great selection of food, beautiful white powder sand beach, great snorkeling and kayaking. Amazingly friendly staff. Lots of beach chairs under the palms with drinks delivered regularly. Do as much or as little as you like. Easy access to Tulum ruins, Xel-ha, and Playa del Carmen via the Collectivo. This is my second visit and we will be going back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for couple's retreat and excellent beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The quality of the food on the restaurants, we preferred to have dinner at the buffet than the themed restaurants.

    The location, and installations. The breakfast buffet. The animals living free inside the installations. The beach was the best thing of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start...this is a 5-star resort if you've never been anywhere nice or think olive garden is a great dinner. Horrid food - bland, overcooked, boring. I went to dinner one night and my dress was a bit wet from my swimsuit... And I was told I couldn't come in. At a resort. One night at the tapas restaurant, my friend wanted the shrimp, but was told it was only for the "special guests," meaning those who had paid more. Although we found out from some people we met who had "paid more" that they didn't have better food or drinks than the rest of us. The drinks....we thought they were watering the drinks, but they were only pouring about a half shot per margarita, etc. The pool service was good, the women who brought the drinks were great. Not enough chairs under umbrellas, and you had to wait and watch to grab one. Not much to do on-site and nothing outside resort within walking distance. There was a "disco," which wasn't terrible, but the drinks were horrible in there as well. Closed at 2:00am and, again, we were on vacation to stay up and have fun. We took a trip to Playa del Carmen, which was "free" through a service at the hotel. By the time we went to the jewelry warehouse, the tequila shop (both a joke and an annoyance and supplied the free transport), we had about 90 minutes in Playa Del Carmen, which was actually fun. Overall, if you have traveled, have taste, and know good things, this is definitely not your place - And we met people from all over the world who have traveled and they echoed my sentiments. Disappointing trip. I have never done all-inclusive, but I would have rather paid double to have a great experience. Not sure I'll do Mexico again.

    The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The resort is old, food was fair to poor. Having been to many resorts in Mexico and throughout the Caribbean, this resort was not at all impressive and the restaurants could have been better. Reminds me of the Excellence in the DR..........cheaper than most but you get what you pay for.

    The resort was clean,quiet, and the staff was extremely polite. Not very impressed with this resort but it didn't take away form our good time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Great place to relax and recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We went with a Jr Suite which was supposed to include some additional perks to include a fruit basket the first day and on the 4th day a fruit basket with Tequila, never saw either of them. I also compared the room to the neighbors regular room and the difference was minimal. Unless you just want to spend more go for a normal room without the "Priveleged" access. For the most part other than a couple of higher end Tequilas the alcohol selection was low end. After the first couple of drinks it all tastes the same though. It could be difficult getting beverage refills at the buffets as it seemed the waitstaff was spread too thin, especially at breakfast and lunch. Beer was limited to Corona Extra or Modelo Negra. A few more options would be nice.

    Staff was great, room and the rest of the facility was incredibly clean. Plenty of options for food and thought the buffets were really good considering it's all inclusive. The beach is great, we never spent time at the pool. We attended the dinner show one night and though expensive we both really enjoyed it and at the end of the night felt we got our money's worth. We spent 5 nights and thought that was the perfect amount of time to spend just on the resort. The resort and guests are pretty relaxed and at night the place gets really quiet. This is what we wanted and it was just as others had described. We were never pressured or even asked to attend the timeshare presentation as others have mentioned. The WiFi coverage was great and I found the speed to be great considering it was a resort. Some might not care but as someone who travels for work I find most hotel internet connections to be painfully slow. Overall if you are looking for a place to relax and be catered to this place is great value for the money when compared to other options.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Well set out accommodation blocks, surrounded by natives...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    In House photographers using animals to take pictures of guests. In House guest service not communicating with housekeeping.

    Well set out accommodation blocks, surrounded by natives trees and wildlife

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Great place to vacation!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have had more beach chairs available.

    Liked the staff a lot!!! Food was ok, not great, but good and abundant. :) The walkways, gardens, all scenery was absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.8
    Good location and facilities but a bit 'holiday camp' institutional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wear a wrist band, upmarket holiday camp approach. Unfriendly staff in the buffet area and horrible wine! Most of restaurants were like canteens - the Spanish one by far the best but hard to get in. Booking.com didn't explain about the 'privileged' status of guests at a certain price level having exclusive access to quieter beach and pretty beach side restaurant and bar (you get a different colour wrist band!). We had access but it would be annoying if you didn't know and found yourself excluded...

    The 'jungle' pathway to the beach where we often saw wild animals (safe furry ones!). The beach - short walk along to funky public Xpu-Ha beach with bars, scuba school - beautiful empty beach on the way. Lovely room, but ask for a high one - very dark at ground level due to mangroves. Good and bad - they had a two tier system 'privileged' guests had access to a superior beach side restaurant and bar and separate beach. Nice for those of us who had it, but a bit uncomfortable having a 2 tier system!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    One of the best all-inclusives I've stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel itself was perfect. It was majority honeymoon couples and older couples but it was so relaxing and the staff were so friendly, I would definitely go back again. There was nothing I didn't like at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    most perfect vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    --

    This is one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen! The people are very friendly. The food (we had the upgrade and thus could eat everywhere) was terrific, fresh and good wine choices. We enjoyed all the different beds to enjoy the beach, and the water was the perfect temperature. We had two massages while we were there :-) I can recommend this to anyone!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing hotel by a gorgeous beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk was a bit grumpy from time to time. The place is very relaxing (just what we were looking for), but if you are looking to party and go to a hotel with a younger crowd and more things to do at night, you might find yourself bored. Lastly, the photographers are really nice and did take a few cute pictures of us, but we found that they were really expensive ($20 a photo), so we didn't buy any.

    The beach is gorgeous and right next to the pool. There were always sun beds by the pool and the bar had a lot of tasty drink options. The food was really good as well. Lots of options for breakfast and lunch. For dinner, you have different restaurants to pick from, and they all have great dishes, you just need to know what to order (there is the occasional dish that is average). My husband and I had a very relaxing time and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    Qualität of Food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First Room near to the Ice machine. Very Noisy Response to change to Other Room was very fast.

    Qualität of Food. Very Friendly Entertainment in the evening

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Great option for a romantic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Arrival at reception was not a good experience. The gentlemen that assisted me was probably new and had no clue of doing things. Everything else was perfect.

    Staff was incredibly friendly. Location is fantastic. Beach is fabulous!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    Beach was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was warn out and pillows were not soft. Activities staff catered to Italian-only tourists. Facilities staff pushed the time sharing plan repetitively and aggressively throughout the trip. Not enough chairs by the pool. Guests were obliged to purchase an $80 bottle of champagne in order to get a table during New Years. Pizza at the lunch snack bar was awful and should be banned - the crust was a giant cracker and the ham was out of a can. The mixed drinks were bad smelling and tasting - not sure if the dish washing detergent was properly washed out of the glass containing the drink or if the tequila and/or rum was subpar quality and/or all of the above. The nightly entertainment shows were subpar performance and short (though the New Years show was great).

    Beach was gorgeous. Easy to find chairs by the beach. Facilities staff was very nice and friendly. Some meals (arachera steak) were great (though the food was generally a hit or miss). No dinner reservations required (though on some nights the wait was 45 min at more than one restaurant, which limited our options). The resort never felt over crowded - no German guests to steal your towels. Cafe latte at breakfast was legit. Cute little animals around the facilities. Restaurants were open late. Fridge had handy snacks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.3
    Do choose this Resort if you are after fun and party!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really disappointed with the entertainment and animation team compared to the other Catalonia Resorts in the Riviera Maya. Really boring, and low value for money with the exception of the Mariachi.

    Excellent food at Bloved, world class, the best of our holiday, everything else pretty mediocre!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    Anniversary celebration getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Membership hustle. We just wanted to experience the resort without high sales presentations. Food was mediocre. Majority of vodka drinks were watered down in my opinion. I'm not a heavy drinker, after two drinks I'm done but I didn't feel any affects after drinking two drinks made with (skyy) vodka here. We caught on and started asking for other brands and additional shots. ...Also we realized it wasn't worth drinking from any other bar besides the bloved bar for premium and exclusive travelers.

    Majority of the staff were really nice (they got nicer with tips). The beach was stunningly amazing with clear blue water and sugar sand. It is the best beach in the riviera maya in my opinion. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite for our anniversary. ..that was greatly appreciated. The minibar had snacks, water, juice and beer (no liquor which is a minus). The canopy bed was very comfortable. The housekeeping was amazing! I was able to walk barefooted to the bathroom and not have to dust off my feet before getting back in bed. We enjoyed being in the mangroves. My husband loves animals. We also appreciated some nightly entertainment considering we had just left a resort that didn't have any. The spa.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Great beach, great people, great food, great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    European's smoke everywhere nearly all the time. From an American's viewpoint, way too much smoking.

    Happy smiling Mayan faces willing to make our stay the best. Also like November = no mosquitos

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Amazing hotel with lot of unreasonable rules
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There's a lot of stupid rules! They'll force you out of the pool and the ocean if it looks like it might rain. Quickness of the service is quite a problem as well. Once we sat at dinner 2 hours basically just waiting for things to arrive. Our last day, we already checked out and wanted to keep some stuff in the locker at spa. There was nobody in and all of the lockers were empty but they've lied to us saying everything is full. Then when we approached them they said they don't provide service like that. Again very stupid. They just want to avoid responsibility so we had to keep our wallets, passports, camera, phones on the beach when there were 80 lockers available not 20 meters from us. You really should do these little things especially when it doesn't cost you anything. Another suggestion is not to put sugar in sushi rice. Fish is great but the reason why nobody eats it is you are not supposed to prepare rice like that. All in all we enjoyed our stay, just improve these little things and we'll be happy to come again.

    Food was amazing. There's not a lot of tourists. Beaches and the water are very clean as well. The design of the hotel is great, set in the middle of the jungle. Lovely raccoons everywhere. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Will be returning, can't beat the beautiful beaches and pool area with NO kids. Great food and very
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could of used more activities around the pool area and some music!

    Many choices for eating. Everyone is super friendly. Beautiful grounds and will maintained!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel for your dream holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe people at the front desk could be a little bit more involved. Our flight got cancelled and we needed some assistance arranging an extra night at the property or help to call our local agent but the front desk staff wasn't very responsive.

    Amazing hotel located just by the ocean. Beautiful gardens with local plants and animals - it makes you feel like you live in the jungle! One of the best beaches in the area, pools and Jacuzzi are cleaned every night. Staff is very smiling and helpful. Food is amazing, great quality and variety, best all inclusive ever!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Girlfriend got food poisoning and room was infested with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girlfriend got food poisoning and room was infested with flying ants. Left a day earlier to get home to seek medical attention.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Great place to just relax or find a local adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from many rooms of ocean.

    Incredible pool and beach experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for a table at Bloved

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was quite crowded this time.

    Top notch service, great food, stunning property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurants with a lot of different choice. Be loved was delicious. The swimming pool, the animations every day. The beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    This beautiful unique resort gives you the best beach AND jungle experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most amazing and uncrowded beach in the area! Awesome adults only resort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Great all inclusive resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should totally upgrade to Privileged Services, food is so much better!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Need to change types of wine available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to change types of wine available Poor quality for standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Pool table
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool table

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was hard and the food was not as good as the last time we stayed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excelente!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La playa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sea food

    Everything was perfect, the service is excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    The pool was hotter than the air temp most of the day so it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool was hotter than the air temp most of the day so it was not a refreshing dip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small adults only resort built in its natural surroundings with abundant wildlife. Amazing beach!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Great resort for couples who are truly on vacation for rest and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No transportation was providing by the hotel from and to the airport.

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Everything😄😄😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything😄😄😄

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    6.7
    Great, but quality is getting less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some people are grumpy; No free upgrade to premium via Booking anymore.

    Not too big; No children

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    One of the best hotel we ever been to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great expriance!!! One of the best Place we have been to Highly recomended

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    They exceed your expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No screen door on our patio..

    The food, the staff and the facilities were wonderfull!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Holiday at Catalonia Royal Tulum !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, room excellent and free upgrade received!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    6.7
    The beaches and organic Resurant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Privileged Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being pressured to purchase a platinum memebership, the spa was a little dirty.

    The beaches and organic Resurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    4.6
    Nice but their better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They is you a band to wear so they can identify your level. Not a true all inclusive resort.

    Service is ok. Beach is ok once you get to it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is very clean staff is excellent! Loved my stay, definitely will be a return guest.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    WiFi could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be better

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    A resort I will always be in love with ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave 😂

    The staff ❤️️

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    very nice hotel resort good staff looking forward to another...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very nice hotel resort good staff looking forward to another trip

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Delicious food, hotel service at the highest level,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious food, hotel service at the highest level, everything perfectly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    What a great all inclusive hotel, rooms are big, it feels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was perfect

    What a great all inclusive hotel, rooms are big, it feels very private due to all the vegetation, the beach and its setting its amazing and the food was fantastic specially in the beach front Beloved restaurant. We got the Privilege package and it was worth it because we got access to the best restaurant. I also recomend visiting Bahia Divers right next door for a diving trip so you get to see the amazing see life and corrals of Xpu-Ha

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    The staff were hard working and very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While the rooms were clean and excellently cared for, when we called for room service, it tended to take a while. Really its a minor complaint, but the door in our room did not fit in its frame very well and streamed in sunlight in the morning.

    The staff were hard working and very pleasant. We were also pleasantly surprised by the food and variety. There were a few restaurants that didn't measure up to the others, but we quickly learned which ones were great and went there more frequently.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.6
    Above all great beach with crystal clear water, reef close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food in tapas restaurant and in Beloved organic retaurant, did not try buffets

    Above all great beach with crystal clear water, reef close by smaller type resort with nice selection of restaurants and very nice bars. Eco friendly, very close to the best cenotes and Akumal and Tulum

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    9.2
    Food and beach were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were duped into wasting 90 mins of our time to sign up for some advantage plan - really annoying as we were only there 4 days.

    Food and beach were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    The resort was beautiful and staff were all very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our only gripe was the quality of the wine...but I guess that's to be expected in an all-inclusive. Also, better wine was available for purchase

    The resort was beautiful and staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The food was all very good- we didn't encounter any restaurants we didn't like.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    from the moment we arrived the staff was friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    from the moment we arrived the staff was friendly and professional. the service from them was absolutely first rate. I could not recommend staying here more highly. one of my greatest vacation experiences! we will definitely be back again!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Excellence in every department.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to report.

    Excellence in every department. Food was fantastic.. 6 restaurants and countless bars.. Location superb and tranquil.. Pool and beach were great as well, beautful facilities all round.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: