Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copacabana Beach Hotel 4 stars

Tabachines 2 & 3 Fraccionamiento Club Deportivo, Costera Acapulco, 39690 Acapulco, Mexico

#31 of 68 hotels in Acapulco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1152 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service, bad food. The only day I was able to use the pool I had to go get my food every time the waitress were too busy talking to each other Plus food was cold and made me sick.

    This hotel has a lot of conventions and the facilities are only for that people. The pool was closed 2 out of 3 days because they had special dinners to those convention people excluding completely other guests. Terrible!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost impossible to get pool/beach towels. Not very safe for children; my daughter got a cut in her leg in the swimming pool even though we reported the day before that a pool lamp was broken. Also, many of the small doors that give access to the pipes that run throughout the building were open or not properly locked. Very unsafe for small kids.

    Good location and acceptable facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was very slow, receptionist not friendly, floors always wet, elevators very slow and crowded and annoying music, food from the restaurant wasn’t good, and very pricy. The rooms are very old, bed was very uncomfortable, stained bedspreads, yucky towels, our restroom was always flooded we reported but never got fixed, never left toilet paper, bad room service, no good house keeping. Acapulco need uber because taxis in the hotel are very expensive.

    Location, beach, the convinience store

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service very poor as staff was not cooperative or truthful. One CSR quoted $1,835 pesos per day while another quoted $850 for all inclusive. Went down for breakfast at 7am and told by staff it opened at 8am then front desk said they weren't even open that day yet hotel pamphlet states 7am. The unwillingness and misinformation from staff was very upsetting.

    Room availability next to each other.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant and Bar waiters were not friendly at all. Food quality poor for Mexico. Avoided these areas altogether after the first couple of times. Preferred to go to other hotels, restaurants, bars for food and entertainment. No entertainment, lobby bar closed during off season.

    Reception and cleaning staff were friendly. Beach was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the restaurants were open. Not all the activities were going. Just a little disappointed! No Water fountain in the pool like it showes in the add.

    The staff is very nice and the beds are great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees not very friendly. Service was kind of poor. Hotel does not provide water bottles for the rooms as it gets really hot. The glass windows and sliding doors in the rooms need to be cleaned. It was very difficult to shower as there was no water pressure at all, it was falling more like a water sprinkler.

    The beach was very close to the hotel. Easy to get there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the room we got it was a older room and bathroom light needed a key card in order to turn on light in bathroom.

    The property was in a good location and they had karoake at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole experience!! From the Lobby employees,, very unprofessional i asked if i can call a cab from the reception for dinner and they looked at me like i was asking for 1,0000 dollars. She said is going to cost you , the pools were crowded and small. Food was horrible the whole service was awful. Never again..I think I'm done traveling to my ow country and going else where next year!

    Terrible customer service when we arrived. The beach was dirty and the hotel was not what i expected. Nothing like the pictures. I will never book on line again. Lesson learned.. save a little more money before traveling next year to stay at a 5 star hotel. I don't care if i have to pay double.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff the hotel it's self is very old and broken down. The sheets were color yellow from the fact that they're really old! Plus restaurants were horrible service! Very expensive.

    The fact that it was at the beach but everything else was horrible!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, food, price of the buffet bed was dirty ac wasn't working properly annoying tang they do t have valet cuz the parking is awful 7 floors and only i don't remember exactly but i think was only 3 available for the guests so if i want tongo out when i came back there was no room for my car The towels lady actually treat me like I was dumb cuz I didn't give back my towel the night before she was very disrespectful I will never come back to Copacabana hotel in acapulco

    The beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet offers a wide variety of food. My only problem is that it wasn't always at a temperature that I would like. Also, the sea was a bit rough at the time of my visit.

    The staff were really helpful and polite, especially the ladies at the reception and people working in the restaurant. The hotel is well equipped with things to make your stay comfortable, including a beauty salon, gift shops and gym.On the beach, there are people offering water sports, massages and henna. Breakfast is until 12, which is great if you want to have a lie in.Other food is available from then until 11pm. There are plenty of other options outside the hotel too if you want to venture out. There are water parks, bars and many other convenient shops. There is an oxxo and ATM machine within feets of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small hotel, it pretends to be like a resort but in a small space; thus, small swiming pool, small restaurant, not enough towels, etc. I did not get any courtesy drink for booking genius member.

    Good price near the beach.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tooo crowded, 1 hour for check in and parking. No instructions. Imply one elevator working. No towels for the beach.

    The pillows (said my mother in law). Rooms were ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to remind the staff to bring water etc and unfortunately for us the safe in our room had to be changed but that's all really.

    The room we were allocated had amazing views and was very spacious. The wi fi was like being at home and was super fast for a change! The music in the lift was cheesy and if you don't like barry manilow don't do it because its everywhere but that's what I expected its COPACABANA. Guess what? Breakfast is until 12 noon :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to improve more in the breakfast. There is not much variety to choose. And expensive breakfast. On the Internet they said breakfast only $135 pesos, but not true, cost of the breakfast is $300.00 pesos per person.

    Very nice place and friendly people, excellent dinner buffet, great food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I only have one option for all inclusive restaurants and that they closed the pool too early and that the bed in our room had bed bugs

    I like the fact that the beach is right At the foot of the pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was rude, no attention at all. Very bad service, the "all inclusive" was a joke, the food was really bad and with a few options. The room had a connection door with the next room, so we can hear al their party until 3am even that we complain with the personel from the hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the recent weather pattner the beach access was temporary close on our second day. Totally understandable. The bathroom shower head needed to be change because the water was spraying all over not on the person taken the shower. The bathroom door did not close all the due to it was a little big. Also the room secure lock hardware was too loose, but the maintenance fix this issue.

    The daily active at the pool area by the staff entertainment coordinator and the two for one drinks. Free wi-fi access.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room hade an unpleasant smell and the parking was far from hotel

    Fear deal for the money, staff was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot people

    The beach and room were ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room with a beautiful view. Always clean. The service is great and the food delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a ok property

    Good hotel. Restaurant food not the greatest. Overall it is a ok hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain

    Beautiful hotel close to good restaurants and close to Beach Club

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for all inclusive.

    The people and the istalations and the food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait at reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for what it is...This is a public beach level

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    la vista

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was great. The staff was very nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi doesnt work, breakfast very expensive

    Good bed, nice Beach,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great front desk service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Berry friendly

    Pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The captain Server Victor was very rude

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool area needs to be cleaned more often. There were beer cans and empty cups everywhere.

    The hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is pretty far away from restaurants and activities not a very good neighborhood

    Very nice and clean nice pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great! My wife and I loved it. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    la playa

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deal

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible horrible

    Nothing it's a horrible place to stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is horrible

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no fridge or microwave

    Smart tv for Netflix

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not on time , floor to the rooms soak wet ,housekiping not nice ,elevator long wait , not air conditioner work good on the rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all inclusive wasn't really "all inclusive". Staff were a bit rude.

    The place was quite well located.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location Price Everything was working

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location service

    Is okay but not a good location...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the meals. I found a better place like sanborns to eat with less money

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people and the dirtiest in the pool

    The bedrooms were really good but there were too much people and the swiming pool was dirty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La gente y el lugar horrible Mal servício

    Nada.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location just a short walk to everything you need. It's an older hotel elevator wasn't that slow it worked. Stayed on 10th floor wouldn't go any higher. Ate their once wasn't that great go to jimmys bar or pipos GREAT food. Weekend to many people weekdays ghost town loved it empty beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet wifi is very poor here; constantly losing connection, unless you're on the first floor or lobby area then the wifi signal strength was excellent. The hotel was Very crowded the first week of January (elevators-I took the stairs down almost every single time because of full elevators, pools full of kids, & crowded beach) which made our stay less enjoyable..

    Location, beach front, comfortable beds, large outdoor chess set, Jacuzzis..

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Staff speaks little english - The hotel ist a bit run down, please at least throw out the decade old carpets! - Breakfast and parking ist overpriced - AC is loud in the room - WIFI ist not working in the rooms - Pool/beach area are crowded, you have to be early to get a sunbed and shade We didn't have much of a choice for the long weekend in Mexico but still expected better.

    - Excellent bed comfort - Location - Filtered tap water

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow check in process, actually very very slow... Busy elevators - we finally decided to use stairways than wait 10 minutes...

    Close to the beach, Very cheap (low season) Nice facilities - for this price good enough Warm waterpool! Jacuzzi!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the dinner buffet as well as luch buffet are always the same, with no imaginación. Despite this, every hotel should have at least two tematic restaurants, not just one... The music in the bar was amazingly high I don´t understand why... The bed were too short and no comfortable at all.

    the location and cleaning service is fair

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I book a room for 5 people went arrive they told me is oly for 4. I paid extra for the 5th person but no extra bed was available so was very in conformable far my other guess

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The worst hotel experience in my all life. Believe me, I have been travelling for the past 25 years across continents – Africa, Asia, Europe and America, but never experience such a poor service - Incompetent and disrespectful reception staff, extremely poor booking management, over promise and under deliver, poor security and safety of guests and their properties, overcrowded and dirty swimming pool – the list is too long. However, to better understand my opinion of Copacabana Hotel Acapulco I will narrate below my bitter experience with this hotel. Since it was the first time travelling out of Mexico DF, two days before my arrival in Acapulco, I called the hotel to check if everything was alright. To my surprise and disappointment, on my arrival and after waiting for 20 minutes, I was told that the hotel was fully booked. However, they offered me and the family to stay in another hotel (Elcano) for one night. The next day nobody contacted us, despite having the phone on for the entire day. Of course, it has been just an apparent sign that everything was alright. Indeed, another bad surprise was waiting for us. After returning from lunch we were informed by the reception of Elcano that we overstayed and consequently invited to leave the Hotel Elcano of pay for the night. Politely and thankfully, because they were kind enough to wave the MXN600 for the late check out. Back to Copacabana we informed that we asked to leave Lecano and that we were surprised because we were not contacted by the hotel. After 15 minutes waiting, we were offered a room. We took the key and the lift up. When we arrived and opened the door – BIG surprise – the room was occupied. We had to apologize and go back to the reception. The receptionist despised and laughed at us – we felt humiliated on top of our money and all the bad services we have received since our arrival in Acapulco. She was behaving like she was doing us a favor to get us a place to sleep.

    Hotel Elcano, which we stayed instead of Copacaban Hotel. Because Copacabana Hotel did not have rooms available, despite 7 day advance booking and the fact that we called back two days before to check the booking, and was told it was okay. They actually saved us from being hosted in an inhospitable place - extremely poor service, overcrowded, dirty facilities with poor security and safety. Elcano Hotel is very well located, with very clean facilities and friendly staff. Surely a place we would visit in the future holidays in Acapulco.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in took hours, pool too small and was far too busy. Food awful and we got sick of beggars trying to sell stuff to us everywhere

    Great location and views

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Aircondition to loud. Ventilator always on high speed.could not adjust.Construction work early morning to noicy

    I like the terrace with sea view. I liked the food. Always fresh and tasty.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Receptionists are extremely slow. Lifts are even slower....you have to wait for a long time. Everything is old......not like the photos.

    Junior suite has a very nice view.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds and pillows are to firm. Shower plumbing was making terrible noises when hot water was running. Other than that, good place to stay.

    Hotel is next to the beach and grocery stores. Warm pools. Staff was helpful. Good view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is really old need to be renovated, room are not really clean, WiFi coverage is very poor, few of the senior saff are impolit, the worst thing they keep changing the price of your booking once you are in house

    The only thing good in the stay is they have big private beach and few of the staff members are helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our shower had no hot water and the one lukewarm shower i had, had zero water pressure. Wifi is shotty at best. The staff werent unpleasent but they werent happy when we tipped over 20% and their 2 for 1 drinks were overpriced. Food is blah.

    The location is great. Rooms were nice looking

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Couple

    The elevators are soooo slow and on the weekends when the hotel if full, you can spend a lot of time waiting one. I did not like on the day of check out, the Hotel wanted to charge me their change rate which was 13,5% and the going rate was 15%. That was not the price quoted, when I made my reservations.

    Location was great, the room was comfortable and the staff kind and helpful! There are great local restaurants all around the hotel, from inexpensive food stands , to medium priced restaurants. Transportation is easy to find, city bus or volksvagen taxi's are inexpensive and lot's of fun to ride.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The website indicated double room, however they meant double bed. That was a big surprise!

    The location and the view

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Front desk was not to friendly

    Location was great and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location next to a shore

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ac wasnt up to our us standards

    I loved the comfort

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Copacabana Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: