Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Mendoza 4 stars

Venustiana Carranza No. 16, 44100 Guadalajara, Mexico

#31 of 166 hotels in Guadalajara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 661 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room. The food in the evening in the restaurant was poor.

    Lovely staff during every stage of my visit. Large clean room. Amazing location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were cleaned late in the afternoon.

    Location and the friendly staff. Excellent customer service. This is the third time we have stayed here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel! Staff super friendly and helpful, very delicious breakfast and we enjoyed the pianist during breakfast time. Beautiful and clean pool. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is not heated. Brrrr. Restaurant could use more veggies and better salads. Really nice restaurant staff though!

    This is not a luxury hotel, but I honestly couldn't imagine having had a better stay anywhere. I was traveling with a two year old and no other adults. Location is a 10!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cancelled my 3 room reservation without notifying me, even when I had called to confirm my reservations that same day and when I was there, there were other guests who they also cancelled there reservations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave too soon.

    Nice restaurant and friendly, welcoming staff. The location is so grand right alongside the Degollado Theater and famed Plaza Tapatia. Many things to see and do in the historical center of Guadalajara.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms is dim and you must leave a $100 cash deposit to get a key for the safe.

    The locations is faboulous. All the historic stuctures are at walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative about this place.

    The location could not be better as it is right by the theatre, museum, plazas etc. It has a very nice restaurant with awesome staff. I want to give special mention to Alonso and Eduardo. They spoke English and were fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great, everything is super close if you travel as a tourist. But the hotel itself requires some facelift. Anyway, thank you for our great time in Guadalajara!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Room had a very strong odor of mold. 2. Little to no hot water in the shower 3. No in room coffee pot and no room service until 7am 4. The only Outdoor smoking area doors on the roof were locked at night and in the early morning 5. Room linens and mattresses are dated and old

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff service was excellent. The hotel ambiance is very nice, with a classic traditional charm; it has comfortable rooms, and a very nice rooftop terrace. The food and service in the restaurant are very good. The location is just wonderful right next to Teatro Degollado, at a walking distance to all the attractions in downtown Guadalajara. Everything during our stay was positive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have valet parking. But, I like having a customer's parking lot liked used to in the USA. But, Mexico lacks space. Guadalajara is not a driver-friendly city. So we use buses and taxis rather

    Location is tops, nearby the famed Degollado Theater and Plaza Tapatia, Cabanas Cultural Center, Even Mercardo Liberatd is within walking distance. La Rinconada Rstaurant is a favorite of ours. Great ambiance, menu and Armando is a wonder on the paino. The Hotel Mendoza is fine comfort, great staff. Restaurant has a fine restaurant also. All of this is a great value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment has been this time. The desk clerk charged our American Express card 2,000 Mxn pesos rather than the bill of 1,336. The difference is about. $35 US dollars. We spoke with them on the phone and sent them a copy of our American Exp. bill. No resolution yet.

    Location is tops. We have been here many times. Enjoy the restaurant staff a lot.Always have felt a warm welcome, facilities quite appealing, as have been costs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turned out that the laundry was dry cleaning, so got a big bill for this, despite conversations about which temperature to wash clothes.

    Spacious, comfortable hotel and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable bedding, great views of cathedral, theater and other landmarks. The staff was absolutely wonderful - the waiters in the restaurant, the gentleman who handled our luggage and made our taxi arrangements to get back to the airport, the people who happily provided ice and cut limes so we could enjoy beverages in our rooms. Superb location for sight-seeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only detail I didn’t like was that I had to pay for one half day in order to access the room a few hours early. I think that policy is a poor one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost was about $110.00 CA per night which was alittle high considering breakfast was extra.

    The location in the historic centro was wonderful. Our room on the 3rd floor faced the pool and the church. Very nice to have a small balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect location for visiting the historical center. A traditional style hotel with modern facilities and extremely well kept. Staff and restaurant breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was not hot...

    The staff was very nice and was kind enough to help me with my Spanish and they spoke very good English as well. The hotel is centrally located and was very clean. It is an older place but very well cared for. The beds were a bit firm but the pillows and sheets were of very high quality. Definitely will return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on front (west) of building can hear musical events on nearby plaza.

    Great location allows walking access to shopping, restaurants, cultural sites and Starbucks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant could use help.

    Benito & Efrain were extremely helpful with giving us information which added to our enjoyment of Guadalajara. All other staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and love it. The location is perfect and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to stay very close to the historic district. It is very quiet too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise on the halls by guests arriving to their assigned rooms after 1 9:00:00 pm and having loud voices And Laughter makes very difficultt to have a restful sleep during the Night. Their Restaurant food can be improved By having better cooks. Even the fried Eggs were very greasy and poor presentation. Overpriced. The waiters took too long to serve And had to be remained to bring Things they forgot. They need better training and pay attention to improve Their performance . The hotel and Restaurant are very nice. Housekeeping was excellent. Suggestions to the owners is to have better food menu and have a good manager to supervise . Also, to give a notification to guests that are also arriving after 9:00 pm to keep voces down for consideration to others.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of a bar, and the unpleasant surprise that the water in both the pool and "hot" tub was unheated.

    Great location, and great staff. All in all, a pleasant surprise for the price we paid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service wasn't very knowledgeable, no coffee, gym needs updating, towels where horrible, no conditioner, access in and out wasn't ideal. No bar. With some updating this place could be amazing

    Location was ideal. Service was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some things about the hotel are kinda outdated, like the bed cover and the bathroom, but it's OK.

    The location and parking. It's a pretty place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither the pool nor the hot tub were heated-beware, they are cosmetic only!

    Good staff who helped us resolve a problem rapidly and calmly. Nice rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I partially chose this hotel for the pool and jacuzzi (for my kids to enjoy after exploring the city). However, they were both freezing cold (despite weather in the 80s during the day) and unusable. This was disappointing. Hotel breakfast was over priced.

    Nice old building, amazing location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In both rooms I was in, the bathroom door opened at kind of an odd spot, so you have to kind of maneuver around it to get to the toilet. If I were less nimble, it might have been tough, so if you have movement difficulties, consider calling ahead to ask for an accessible room.

    The staff was always really kind and helpful, especially the bell staff, who was always willing to assist us with getting Ubers (since getting a cab off the street is a bad idea there). The restaurant's breakfast was quite good, and they were willing to give us to-go coffee in the morning. It was a well-located, well-operated place to base our GDL visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having The doors locked when the sun is rising from the The top Terrace they have such an amazing view of the domes / churches / cathedrals they open until eight should open at six ( I think )

    Love the Location !!!! Love the staff as well super helpful telling us where to go all the “ must Do’ In the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi that we took from the hotel to the airport over charged , 250 pesos they said when he arrived he told us 280 and when we ask him to turn on the a/c he said it’s 20 pesos more , that was ncredible and abusive

    It is very close to a lot of temples and the market San Juan de Dios

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our first day we were having breakfeast at the hotel restaurant and we found a cucarach in our food it was disgusting and we never eat there after that we have to take uber every time we wanna go eat

    Great location for tours but no to walk at nigth

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently, guest get a voucher to try the food at the hotel, we didn’t receive any vouches

    The structure of the hotel, was beautiful, that area seemed timeless, unlike the booming technology that Guadalajara has. Close to museums, theatres, and the the center of the City

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old-style hotel right in the middle of the historic centre of Guadalajara. We were very grateful they were able to let us have early check in as we arrived from an overnight flight. Our room was large and comfortable. The restaurant was good and a pleasant place for our first Mexican meal. Notably, the hotel could not be more central for visiting the old part of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked it all. There really is nothing else to improve on!

    The food was great! The beds were super comfortable & the staff was amazing! Also their english was very good so even I could communicate...ha ha!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better greeting at the reception desk. We have been to this hotel numerous times and the experience has been the same by desk clerks.

    Location! Right next door to the Degollado Theater, where international performers of world acclaim perform. Plaza Tapatia is there to stroll and shop. Nearby La Rinconada Restaurant, a former residence of long ago, is quite the ambiance to dine and feast at! The feel of the hotel is colonial, but with all of the modern conveniences. The hotel restaurant is staffed by the most amiable people. Only the reception desk has personnel that seldom smile, all business, not very welcoming demeanors. Every one else is great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good breakfast on days when we could order from the menu. Fair on days they had buffet. The wait staff was helpful and friendly. The room service was excellent and the location in the historic center was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms could have been more up-to-date.

    Older hotel within walking distance from historic downtown. Nice, simple rooms with a somewhat outdated bathroom. Great nonetheless. Friendly staff and awesome prices for room and food alike. Nice pool but hottub was not working when we were there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the rooms are very sparse. There was no chair to sit on to read and if two people were on their computers, one would have to be on the bed. Would have liked a coffee maker in the room and the bathroom while very nice and modern was so small that you had to sit sideways on the toilet.

    Diningroom was lovely & food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator had problems, under repair.

    Best Location. Degollado Theater is next door for opera, concerts etc. La Rinconada restaurant on Plaza Tapatia is fine dining with nice ambiance, live piano play. Want to stay in hotel? The hotel restaurant will satisfy. Lots of arts and culture within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TAKE CARE !!!! When we arrive, we have given the keys of our car to the Hotel staff to park the car. When we got our car back the day after...no more GPS in the car... And of course nobody from the Hotel has done something ! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE !

    ATTENTION VOL !!! Lorsque nous sommes arrivés un voiturier a pris nos clés de voitures pour garer notre véhicule dans le parking de l Hotel, Le lendemain nous avons récupéré la voiture SANS LE GPS !!! Après deux heures d attente le gérant est enfin arrivé mais nous a dit qu il ne pourrait rien faire car nous ne pouvions pas prouver que nous avions un GPS ! Un conseil : passez votre chemin, d autant que Guadalajara est sans grand intérêt, Partez plutôt sur tlaquepaque à 15 minutes....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer 😊

    Very vey great place , super great location just in the hearth of GDL .. everething you need at just a few steps ..very clean hotel , I love the architecture of it and the rooms in an excellent condition, room was very quiet and clean. Everything from the time that we arrive until the time we leave everyone was sooo friendly, helpful and got out of their way to make sure we were happy and taking care of, all the staff was just wonderful.. the maid "Lola" the best and soo happy all and smiling all the times ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They charged me a fee for mattress that got dirty and the person that was upfront explaining to me about this hidden fee was not courteous at all. She made it seem like i was not going to afford to pay that fee.

    Restaurant in hotel was great and they have room service available. Beds are comfortable. Well kept room and very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    noisy AC. 2, 3am in the morning noisy guests talking loud in the hallways. the doors to the rooms have no buffering so when people closed there doors and did pay attention to that it sounded like doors getting slammed. Woke me every time.

    Overall a nice Place. great location right in the historic center. Food in the restaurant is OK. Staff is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room acoutrements were on the spare side, though everything functioned ok.

    It was a great value for the money. The service in the restaurant was excellent, and the food was very good. The location, next to the Teatro Degollado, the Catedral, and major plazas can't be beat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the only thing was that the air conditioner was not as poweful in the room, but just a minor detail. Everything was great.

    Great location and friendly staff, right beside Teatro Degollado in the city's downtown. It's a great value for the price. The pool is nice too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Repair:- safe, door lock. Needs painting and new carpet. Needs better food to reach the potential of its location close to the main square and opera house.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of comfort afforded by this place calls for softer towels. Nonetheless the towels are clean and fresh.

    You could not get closer to the heart of Guadalajara in all its traditional glory than this turn of the century hotel equipped with all the modern amenities of the 21st century. Teatro Degollado, the walking plazas and the beautiful cathedral are mere steps away. The adjacent church Maria de Gracia is a glorious example of architecture and beauty. The staff is well trained and treat you with the utmost respect and friendliness. Highly recommend you stay here for a weekend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating. Rooms clean but stark. Not 1 picture or decoration. Breakfast service terrible. Eggs cold by the time salt was brought. Toast brought dry without butter or jam. bacon burnt.

    The location and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When ordering a la carte in the morning for breakfast, dishes took a very long time to come out.

    The location of this hotel is incredible - right next to Guadalajara's main square and extremely easy walking distance to anywhere in the old center. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who were very happy to help us store our luggage when we arrived early and left late. Big portions and great variety in the buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the room was one of the shallow bowl type. I do not like them. FYI: the toilets between the restaurant and swimming pool area have deeper bowels.

    Old-world charm describes a comfortable dining area. The salsa was fresh and flavorful. I especially enjoyed the entire fish section of the menu,particularly the outstanding Mendoza fish filet with shrimp & white wine in the sauce. Also, the fish Vera Cruz style was a delight the three times I ordered it. The staff was professional and friendly. The location is OUTSTANDING!! Value for price was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a huge dissappoinment! Do not eat at the restaurant

    The best location of all the hotels in the area!!!! You are practically a few feet away from the main plaza! The place and the staff are the best, very pleased and happy with my stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed being right next to the exquisite Teatro Degallado, the Plaza and the Cathedral. Perfect location. Alejandra was wonderful and checked us in with her perfect English. She suggested a great place for lunch on the Plaza. Benito helped us to our room and the rest of our stay was the go-to guy for directions and suggestions. He is a wonderful asset to the hotel. He's professional and FUN. kadi and jim wills Not sure the rating button is working but we give the Hotel de Mendoza an excellent rating!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only complaint that we have is sleeping in two beds. We requested 1 king bed room for us but received 2 beds room.

    I felt the great spirit of hospitality and service in the whole sense...from the front office to the room and restaurant. Thanks to everyone for making our stay (wife & me) an unforgetable journey to Guadalajara MX.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service in the restaurant could have been better - they were a bit slow.

    Really nice staff - very helpful and attentive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and in the room the wifi was good. the restaurant had a nice appearance and the food was ok.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very small. The bathroom was even smaller. The only place to sit was a desk chair. The bed appeared to be a double not a queen. You should attempt to upgrade as you book; I think that might make a difference. Although I didn't see any other rooms.

    Almost the entire staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful! There are beautiful Mexican antiques in this hotel. Property is very clean. This hotel is in the middle of everything!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection very unstable. Old shower: little water and not that warm. Room service takes a long time to prepare your order. Needed to give my billing info 3 times. When booking the room, at arrival and when checking out.

    The location is excellent. Just in the middle of downtown. The style of the hotel is in harmony with the colonial buildings of the surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool is unheated and since it's located in a courtyard with minimal exposure to direct sunlight, the temperature is about 65 degrees. We never saw anyone in the pool or the adjacent hot tub.

    They prepare an excellent fresh sea bass filet that mildly spiced.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were lovely as was the staff. I shared a double queen with a friend and we had lots of room. The shower was good and the view from the balcony was peaceful into a courtyard with a pool and many plants. The lobby is a nice place to sit and read or wait for someone. We were touring around and taking the on/off buses which started just a block away from the hotel. The location is near the historical buildings and museums and a huge parkway for walking. The staff called a taxi for us to take us to our restaurant in the evening. I will definitely go again. The price is a bargain.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is centrally located, it can be noisy at night. I heard a really loud church music Sunday night (around midnight). The room size is on the small side, esp the bathroom. So is the lobby and front desk area. But these are minor quibbles that don't negate the hotel's charm.

    Location is great. Nice old world touch (e.g. european-style terrace overlooking the pool). The window view of the church dome next door is nice (see photo). Rooftop deck is spacious and nice area to lounge at.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd have loved a coffee pot in my room! But that's not a criticism...Starbucks is right across the street!

    Clean as a whistle, close to everything, excellent price, no add-ons for extra services!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool smelt heavily of chlorine throughout our stay. We wanted a swim but would not use it for this reason and never saw any other guests use it either. Shame.

    Staff were helpful and responsive, room quiet, breakfast good - I would stay here again. Gracias

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property,s location is perfect. Its sets in the middle of the Historic Dist. The cathedrals ,Theaters, . restaurants, & shopping . Beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was beautiful. Staff were excellent and attentive. Food was reasonably priced. Was disappointed they did not have the Caesar Salad which was on the menu. Food ranged from good to very good.

    The room was very spacious and clean. What was special was the balcony. There was an underground garage and valet staff were very helpful. All of the staff were excellent and very accommodating. Location was excellent but some nearby construction complicated access for us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that they made you wait exactly until 3PM for check in when I got the feeling the hotel was no fully booked and no need for the wait. While waiting, we decided to eat at their restaurant. Did not regret it! Note, at night time the area sort of shut down with few people around.

    Great bed, nice pillows, small but good bathroom. Cute steps going down to a little star with flat screen tv and a pull out sofa. Room service prompt and inexpensive. Great location to visit the monuments, centro historic and take the tour bus, highly recommended and very inexpensive. Tlakepaque area of the city is a Must. Also, an afternoon at beautiful Town of Tequila, where all the tequila factories are located, is definitely an obligated stop. Tour any of the factories, in particular Jose Cuervo with a tequila tasting. Similarly, a very short trip to the lake area (Chapala, largest lake in Mx) and Ajijic town to open the day in two gorgeous lake towns. Have Torta Ahogada, a local dish, delicious and inexpensive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe there were a couple of details here and there that could be improved, but are they really important when you stay in a magic place like this for a reasonable price?

    The location is really outstanding, an old building in front of the Teatro Degollado, a few steps from the Cathedral. The property includes a swimming pool (small, but still an enjoyable place where to relax) and a terrace from which you have a view on the city. I was particularly lucky to be able to enjoy the sunset and the full moon night.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool wasn't heated, so chilly. Room was very plain in terms of décor. Cable TV was very basic. All these things were minor in view of the low price, fabulous location and all the other good things the Hotel de Mendoza offers.

    Excellent comfortable bed, great hot shower. Very attractive public areas filled with art and antiques. Friendly, helpful staff who spoke English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel room styling is dated - but it adds a vintage /authentic charm to things imo.

    Location location location! Staff was great - spoke English. Room service galore - The food was awesome, ate in the restaurant everyday. Bed was very comfortable. Loved the views from the roof top terrace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made reservation for two adults and my 14 year old son. But they did NOT uphold the original price given by booking. They overcharged us $250 pesos extra, allegedly because the maximum age for a minor is 10 years old.

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a safe in the room, however, the locking mechanism in the door was missing. So we could not lock the safe.

    Stayed here for one night. The hotel is in a very nice building and the location is great (in the middle of the centre). We got a free upgrade to a deluxe suite, because or default room was already taken. The room was large and the bed was comfy. Also bathroom was good. There is private valet parking with the parking lot in the garage of the hotel. Parking is not free though. Had a nice stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I donde. like it was the chicking hours checking late for me was kind Inconvenient at 3 o'clock when everybody else checks in at early morning I was kind of confusing For me it was late I arrive at the airport at 10 in the morning and he told me the room was supposed to be at 3 o'clock afternoon and not for me was kind of a inconvenience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE RECEPTIONIST ON THE NIGHT SHIFT WAS NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL, NO GREETINGS NO NOTHING, THE DAY SHIFT RECEP WAS GREAT!

    EXCELLENT ROOM! CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is almost next door to the Teatro Degollado, and its restaurant is open until 10:30 p.m., allowing a "bite" after the performance. The staff is friendly. We did not use the swimming pool this time, but it looked o.k.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing backed up during rain storm; bad odor. Staff cleaned up mess. Bathroom sink drain ran slow; not repaired. Bathroom exhaust fan did not work. Reported the problem; not repaired. Lanyard not provided for safe key. Maid fashioned a portion of ribbon so I would not misplace key.

    Location was excellent. Room had a balcony with a view of pool. Staff was mostly helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Location, Location, Location. If want to stay close to all the attractions of Guadalajara Centro this is the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Mendoza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: