Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel del Peregrino 4 stars

Calle 51 No 488 x 54 y 56, 97000 Mérida, Mexico

#39 of 113 hotels in Mérida

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 235 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not notice

    Very good breakfast. Colonial building with simple but nicely decorated rooms. Staff was very helpful and friendly easily communicating in English. Hotel located not right in busy center of the town but within a few minutes of walk in a quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a a bit out of the way so a little inconvenient. The ground floor rooms get really noisy because they're right by breakfast/check-in - request a room on the higher floors if you can

    The staff were so friendly. The room was very large and super clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was a little far from the main parts of town, but not too bad - about a 10-minute walk.

    The hotel has a lot of personality! The style and decor make it unique, which I love. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I only ate breakfast there one day, but it was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Hot tub" really was a large jetted tub that they would cheerfully fill up upon request which worked out fine. There aren't chaise lounge chairs to lay out and soak up the sun (although plenty of chairs)

    This hotel feels like being home. Staff was very helpful and spoke good English which helped us. Breakfast was very good. Everything about the hotel feels authentic. Location was easy walking distance to everything, although Uber is cheap and very quick of you don't feel like walking. Very safe everywhere we walked. We ended up going back for an extra day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great different main dish everyday, wonderful coffee, fresh fruit. It is served in a group setting so. If you want you can chat with other guests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at Peregrino. It really felt like home away from home. The staff was very friendly. We checked in at 11pm and wanted to pay for the room in pesos after exchanging currency. They were very kind to allow us to pay next day. Every thing was within 15-20 minutes walk. After so much eating and drinking we appreciated the daily walk to and from hotel. Almost every night we returned to our room at midnight or later feeling very safe. The front door is locked at night. We rang the door bell and immediately a front desk person opened the door and greeted us nicely. Our room didn’t have windows but we really didn’t miss it. There’s so much to do in Merida so we only came to our room for an afternoon nap and late night to sleep. The breakfast was small portion by american standard but it was delicious. They serve you soon as you take a seat at the table. There was a choice of orange juice and coffee. Then they serve a bowl of fresh fruits and toast with jam & butter on side. Then comes the main breakfast entree. They always tell you what the main entree is and if you need any modification done. I’m a vegetarian so they always made sure there was no meat in my plate. We stayed 8 nights and never had the same breakfast twice. I think I got spoiled being served every morning. My boyfriend loved the coffee they served. There was always lots of room to sit. I don’t think we spent more than 10-15 minutes at breakfast. You can sit around longer if you want but never because you’re waiting to be served. They also have a small refrigerator in kitchen for guests to use. My BF likes a certain beer that we bought in town and kept in fridge. They also have a refrigerator stocked with cold drinks including wine for purchase. In the lobby they have a binder of tours that are available. They called the tour office to schedule our tour. We got picked up and dropped off at the hotel. It was very very convenient. We did the Uxmal and Kabeh day time tour with lunch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is very small and not so comfortable, and it has no window. The room has only a small window above the door. In room number 3 there was no curtain and a lot of light comes in, so we asked to move and got room number 4. Both rooms are near the breakfast area so the mornings were noisy. No laundry service.

    The room was spacious (except the bathroom), and the bed was very big. There were both air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The staff was very nice and helpful. The included breakfast is nice but not suitable for vegans. Located 5 minutes walk from the center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was welcomed on the evening of my arrival like a friend the staff had been expecting. Breakfast was delicious and delightful, and the advice about best nearby places to exchange dollars for pesos, places of interest I could visit on foot, local restaurants, etc., was given generously and, again, as if I were a friend and not just another hotel guest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was cute. What I did not like was that when we arrived to our room, the door was open and that allowed a mosquito to get into our room. Otherwise, the staff was great and this was a great location to be close to the center of Merida.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no windows in the room except for a little mated one above the door, so the room was a bit dark.

    The hotel was lovely, nicely decorated in a colonial building with a patio in the middle, where breakfast was served. Breakfast was really nice and filling, first a bowl of fruit and toast with jam and coffee. Later they prepared eggs and frijoles (Mexican black beans) in different ways, for example omlett with Chaya (you should really try Chaya leaf in a dish or a drink whilst you're there). The rooms was clean and every day the cleaner would make a different animal with towels which I thought was quite nice. The staff was really friendly. About 10-15 minutes from the centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Enjoyed my stay.

    Excellent staff, David at the front desk exemplified the excellent service by everyone. Great breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the shower I had to tap the sewage because the smell came up if I didn't.

    although very humble , the hotel had everything I needed: from luggage stand(?), air conditioner, lots of towels, big mirror, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 4 rooms downstairs located quite literally around and next to the front desk. I mean 1-3 metres away. My room was the worst with a huge single-glazed window facing onto the street. What with passing cars, late night buzzers and opening the front door for late returners, and then a full on reception desk from 7.00am, I just didn't sleep at all. What they've done here is maximise the space available, but at a cost to the guests. My advice: insist on an upstairs room ONLY and do not accept a downstairs room, as you'll suffer as I did. Absolutely no privacy or peace downstairs. If you cannot get a GUARANTEED upstairs room, don't book.

    Comfortable beds and room as expected. Shower pressure reasonable, but NO HOT WATER AS STANDARD. Free water refill. Breakfast was fine. All but one friendly receptionists. I was offered a 10% discount for a cash payment, which I accepted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and service minded and allowed us to check in straight away even though the check in time was not until 5 hours later than our arrival. The hotel itself have pretty rooms and is very clean with comfortable beds. The location of the hotel is within walking distance to the city centre with great restaurants and bars nearby. Nothing to complain about!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shared guest fridge is too small and no freezing facility available for guest use.

    Served Breakfast was lovely and hotel is an easy 15 min walk to Town Square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was suprised that there is no windows in 4 star hotel room. No swimming pool on the place. Safe box in the room only after deposit of 200MX$.

    Nice lobby in beautiful mexican style. Clean room, King size bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing that could be improved was the flow of hot water in our bathroom sink.

    We enjoyed the whole place. It is very welcoming. Our breakfast was excellent and the information they staff provided was so helpful. We loved the towel animals left for us each day. There is purified water available at no extra cost and a guests refrigerator. Really liked the location and walked everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was great and the owners awesome. Super helpful and knowledgeable about the place. The terrace outside on the higher level rooms is nice. It also features a jacuzzi, but we didn't use it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 6 nights and it was normally very quiet. However, there was one night a neighboring building was playing heavy metal music very loudly. Breakfast is only served from 7:30-9:30 so you must plan your schedule accordingly. No pool onsite but you have access to one a few blocks away.

    We've been traveling for 5 weeks through Belize and the Yucatan. The staff here created the best experience. From the front desk, to housekeeping, to the breakfast service they are wonderful! Felt more like being at a Bed and Breakfast than hotel. Beautiful historic building with cheerful rooms, cold AC, comfortable beds, great pillows, beautiful tile work, extra touches, wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordinary service at the front dedk, noise from street as roo was close to street. No pool or parking as advertised. Perking on the street.

    Different breakfast every morning, safe area. Bedding , decor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely professional and attentive. They made everything easy, including arranging for excursions and car rental. It was nice to wake up to a freshly made breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright and welcoming hotel with exceptional staff and a great location. The best thing about the location is that it is close to everything but far enough away to be very quiet and peaceful. The staff were always friendly and had lovely breakfasts ready to eat each morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast could have more than one option each day, but I'm really grasping at straws

    The property has an authentic feeling and vibe I really liked, the rooms are clean and the location it's close to everything. Plus the staff is incredibly helpful and allowed me to plan an even better stay in this great country.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, the Hotel itself was adorable and felt homey. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff! They answered all our questions, were attentive to our every need and made us feel truly welcome the whole time we were there! We will be back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs.

    Cute, small rooms but we weren't in the room very much. Older clientele. Very friendly repeat customers. Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Just far enough from Centro so it's not too noisy. Would go back in a minute but I would reserve early to get a queen sized bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the staff was racist. We were waiting in the queue to checkin. A white guy came after us. He completely ignored us and went to the white guy. Will never stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful small hotel in excellent, quiet location a short walk from the town centre. Lovely, helpful staff to assist with tours or anything else. HUGE bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was right in front of reception and dinning room, therefore I could hear the phone everytime it rang and you can hear people preparing and having breakfast.

    Nice boutique hotel. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a tad odd - not as close to downtown as I had originally thought, but definitely in walking distance (a good walk!).

    The rooms were crazy clean, the staff was absolutely amazing and helpful and most spoke very good English. The property was quaint and extremely quiet. Love the breakfast included.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super clean, quiet, yet close to downtown. Perfect Jacuzzi (filled just for me), use of kitchen and fridge, all staff was helpful, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    During our recent 7-day trip to Mérida we stayed at the centrally-located quiet Hotel del Peregrino on Calle 51. We were warmly greeted by Mario at the front desk while another employee was on his hands and knees in the lobby apparently cleaning the floor. It turned out that the guy on the floor was David, who was also the chef! He created wonderful breakfasts which we enjoyed every morning on the patio with relaxing music. Breakfasts were included in the price of the room. Our second floor room was spacious and spotlessly cleaned every day by Noemí. She also delighted in creating 'towel art' in the form of swans, dogs, turkeys and elephants! Staff teamwork is clearly evident as Mario and David shared their tasks including guiding us to all the wonderful events in Mérida and to the best restaurants serving Yucatán food. There was hardly a question that they couldn't answer immediately. When stumped, they hunted down the information. Hotel del Peregrino is indeed a home-away-from-home! P/S The 2-hour city bus tour with bilinugual guide, Gabriela; and Henequén Plantation tour at Hacienda Sotuta de Peón with tri-linguial guide Ivan, were both highly recommended and both excellent tours! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is simple but nice. The rooms are ok but a bit small. The location is not that close to the plaza or paseo montejo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mosquitos

    Mexican breakfasts superb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast; very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Very insightful as to what to do in the area. Great Courtyard! A great value!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great to have a fridge in the room

    Great location, working Netflix (!), great breakfasts, super friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy parking but on the street

    Comfortable stay, good location close to Paseo Monejo, Parque Santa Lucia and the center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room, no windows, small no hot water at all.

    The upstairs balcony was lovely. Good location, though tricky to find at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice personnel, really comfortabel room and bed, great location. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too far off site. Downstairsrooms no windows and rather noisy.

    Small place in good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really enjoyed the breakfast there. Also the Jaccuzi is very nice :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Straightforward on-street parking, easy check-in, discount offered for payment in cash.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small place but no big courtyard and pool 5 blocks away. If you have room downstairs it can be loud.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whirlpool is rented to guests. So not available without reservation. Thats not ok, as it is offered as a service for all guests!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel! Clean, great staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very poor.

    The style of the hotel. Very Mexican style with coloured tiles and amazing courtyard where you can have breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited breakfast.

    Great colonial style hotel - very good staff, good size family room, excellent price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff attitude was excellent. Breakfasts were the best of the trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast. Bathroom needs renovation.

    Very nice room with comfy bed. Nice jacuzzi at tarrace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the Staff was really nice. Room was clean and confortable. I recommend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is close to town but a little boring

    Good valué For money Good breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    staff friendly, on quiet street convenient to town centre, great kitchen that you can use to cook your own meals, reasonable buffet breakfast, very pleasant building with interior balcony around open courtyard, comfortable beds, everything clean, nice and pretty.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could have some more items and there was no parking place, we had to leave the car outside. No big deal, just some details.

    Everything was very good, specially the staff was very nice and helped us with many tips.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    Very nice property in the center of Merida, clean and runned by lovely people (day&night). The nearby swimming pool was a pleasent surprise; simple but nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are dark. First room a got was without window, I asked to changed it, nice receptionist gave me another one. It was much better, good for one night, but still mini-window.

    Nice patio for a breakfast, good location to walk around old city. Comfy and clean beds.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Be aware, family room is located on the street, you will therefore hear noise from the street.

    Very nice staff, willing to arrange everything properly. Of really great help ! Many thanks ! Ask for rooms on 2nd floor (quiet).

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    This is a delightful guest house, staffed by caring, friendly people, immaculately clean, in an excellent location about halfway between the Centro and the Paseo de Montejo areas. Our bed was firm, as we like it. There was a good variety at breakfast, plenty to sustain us through the morning each of the 8 days we stayed in Merida. We interacted mainly with Mario and Alejandro, both of whom are exceptional in their positions. The size of the Inn [13 rooms] is just right, and the public areas are spacious and comfortable. The price is almost unbelievably reasonable. Our first time in Merida, but hopefully not our last. We shall definitely return to the Hotel del Peregrino.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    It was 10 minutes walking from the central plaza but we never felt unsafe. We liked having breakfast with other guests at the hotel and met some very interesting people. We stayed for 8 nights and booked 4 excursions through the hotel. The hotel staff were very helpful and spoke English.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our family enjoyed our stay at Hotel del Peregrino immensely. It is a little off the beaten path in Merida but still only 7 blocks from the central plaza, and it's on a side street so parking is relatively easy. The rooms are simple but very tastefully decorated, with colorful tiles on the floors and in the bathrooms. Everything is very well maintained and clean. And the best part is the staff, who are very friendly and helpful. Mario(?) at the front desk very patiently conversed in Spanish with our two grown daughters who really wanted to use Spanish instead of English. He and Jim, the director, also made some wonderful suggestions of places to see and restaurants to try. The only drawback is that the rooms with windows facing the courtyard can be somewhat noisy with the windows open. Request the second floor, which is somewhat better than the first. Overall, this hotel is a great value for the money!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been staying in the hotel for 2 nights and it was a pleasure: beautiful and very clean place, simple but delicious breakfast. Special thanks to the receptionists that were walking an extra mile each time that were asked for any kind of help, showing a cheerful willingness to do favors for others. This is very much appreciated!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Very nice hotel located just five minutes away from the main attractions. The rooms are spacious, very clean and the king-size beds are huge! Wi-Fi is available in all rooms. There is a Jacuzzi on the terrace. The buffet breakfast is really good with lots of options. The staff is lovely and very helpful, I would definitely go back. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is typical American and not fresh at all; would prefer a mexican breakfast or at least more fresher food

    quiet location next to downtown, very hospitable staff, wonderful rooms with shampoo, wifi, netflix, etc

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mosquitos are a problem in Mérida and this hotel is not an exception. Be prepared to encounter these unpleasant intruders. I killed a couple the first night in our room but still got bitten a few times. Super staff helped un get any possible mosquito out the next day by spraying our room in the morning while we were out. If you're a mosquito magnet like I am bring yoir repelent.

    Great staff. Old masion turned in to a hotel so expect an old building that is being maintained as good as possible and kept up to date. The included continental breakfast breakfast is good and has coffee, fruit, yogurt, a local version of a ham and cheese sandwich, tea, cereal, OJ, and toast. You can use the kitchen to cook your own meals. The hotel has beautiful colonial architecture that gives a nice experience of the local culture. Staff is great I have to repeat. Room 1 has a secure safe (200 pesos key deposit).

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really! :)

    The hotel has a lot of character and is well maintained and very pleasant. It is relatively centrally located, so it was easy to get to all the main sites and restaurants. They also do a good breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a few issues with our car hire and the hotel staff very kindly offered to call the car hire company and explain our requirements.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a cockroach in the room on the first morning. Noise carries around the hotel and keeps guests awake. Wasn't impressed that when I opened the blind in the bathroom a guest was staring back at me.

    The room was nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Authentic old building upgraded with modern conveniences so combined best of both worlds. Convenient location, easy walk to El Paseo or el centro and cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Firstly the staff was very rude, Secondly it felt dodgy that they forced us to pay cash as they said otherwise they apply tax 16%. Did not sound right. What is more both rooms had no windows and were smelling of dump. Our room was just behind reception and should probably rather be a luggage room / storage than a customer room. Air con leaking water on the floor. Walls needed re-painting a few years ago. Horrible experience-worst place I stayed in mex.

    Kitchen in the colonial style was nice

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not located in the best neighborhood, despite being within walking distance to a decent neighborhood. There were no windows in our room.

    Close to Paseo De Montejo. Breakfast was included.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived the person on reception didn't tell me that the King room I'd booked wasn't in fact available. Not knowing this I booked and paid for an extra night directly with the hotel. The room I was given was a very small single with no window. Very disappointing.

    The staff were helpful and friendly and their English was good

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very accommodating staff. The owner was very personal and knowledgable about the area. Breakfast included and access to the fridge and kitchen facilities was a real plus.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The block of streets around the hotel was a bit dark, nothing to worry about

    Nice rooms, friendly personnel and within walking distance of all things worth visiting in Merida. Try the hot tub on the roof for a nice relaxing hour at the end of a day of discovering a great city

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was ok but very basic, could add some nicer bread or buns, the yogurt and granola was very good, coffee was very good

    Staff very friendly and accommodating, accessibility to a kitchen very nice, lots of sunny places to sit and relax, nice mexican decor, would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor choice for breakfast, chipped mugs, plastic flowers. No fresh juice, no coffee- 20 min wait, no eggs. Dirty table.bathroom seen better days.

    Bed, Staff very helpful and honest. Always smiling and polite.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: