Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4 stars

Carretera Pto. Morelos, Km. 27.5 S.M. 12 Mza. 41 SM 12, 77580 Puerto Morelos, Mexico

#16 of 36 hotels in Puerto Morelos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 143 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older rooms really need to be remodeled and the air-conditioning needs to be lowered at the night club

    The concept and atmosphere are great and even if it is your first time there,you will feel very comfortable because everyone minds their own business at the pace they choose

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Beach. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach with a very bad smell.

    Food was very good. Like eating in NYC restaurants. The staff couldn’t do enough for you. The grounds and pool very clean. Overall great trip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is very limited. The Indian food night. Wish they had grilled fish and veggies available at every meal. The music in the club is dated.

    I loved the staff. The vibe is the best. Best food night was the bbq and the japanese restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first day room service tray did not get cleaned all weekend, room on first day did not get cleaned until 5PM even though we were out all day, room service ordered on the last night never arrived.

    staff was friendly, good food, nice atmosphere, spa was amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing resort. Staff is fantastic. People are friendly. Great atmosphere. Beautiful resort, clean. Great food. Daniel, Auzoro, Ignacio Kate.... get to know them... they’re great staff and totally on top of everything!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The staff is simply the best! Loved the food, the location, and the deep sense of relaxation we experienced. This is our second time here and we will definitely keep coming back! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small for what you pay. Also top shelf drinks were not on show and you had to ask for them. This was our fourth time here and I would say it was not as good as previous visits

    Location and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food in the buffet restaurant could be better. As many people have noted the time-share pitch is a bit tiring, but considering they give you a bunch of vouchers its worth it.

    Amazing resort. You can choose between relaxing on the beach or having fun by the pool (or even more fun in the Jacuzzi). Food is good (if not extraordinary), particularly the Japanese restaurant. Staff are so helpful and friendly, with a special shout out to Didi and Anna. The evening entertainment is, well, stunning. But the best thing is the people here, who are so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are incredibly small for the price. It was always a long wait for a drink at the pool, or anywhere for that matter.

    The beach was nice and quiet and the food was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of humidity in the room resulting from a combination of humidity outside, room being near to the ocean and AC. So clothes can be damp unless stored away, but it will not withhold us from going back.

    The staff is very very friendly; clients speak easily to you and are friendly. The resort is in impeccable condition and the food is very good for a resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really cannot think of anything worth mentioning.

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. We had only previously been to one all inclusive resort and were not really sure what to expect. We had never been to a clothing optional resort, either so this was also a new experience for us. The biggest thing that we took away from this visit was the total feeling of relaxation while staying there. Everything is taken care for you, meals, drinks, the pool, the beach,everything you do and everywhere you go there is someone there to provide for you. Yet, they are not intrusive, just there if you need them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed movie channels in the room!!

    Staff went Over and Beyond!! Facility was in Pristine Order!! Entertainment was Excellent!! I can't say enough good things!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did see a couple cockroaches, but I think that's just area and climate. One was in our bathroom (we killed it) and the other was just scurrying across the sidewalk one evening. This didn't effect our fabulous stay though since it was just the 2.

    The staff was especially fun and accommodating. We loved the entertainment. From the volleyball to the late night dancing, there were always activities we could participate in if we chose to.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rude and not helpful reception staff Rooms are 3* for a 5* price. Desperatly needing some upgrades Very pushy to sell you the timeshare ... ... and you'll feel like 2nd level guest when you don't buy it Animation team is not what it used to be

    Concept and other guests Clean and well kept Food ok (but not exceptionnal)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a small bit of construction on the property that they did their best to keep out of sight and quiet. They did a good job, but there was a path obstructed because of the work being done. That didn't ruin our vacation at all.

    The environment was incredible and all the patrons were friendly. It was like having a family of strangers come together in a sunny, Mexican garden of Eden. Shortly after we arrived, we were immersed. After a few hours, wearing clothes felt very awkward and out of place. All of the food was tremendous. We recommend the steakhouse above all others. Although there was an additional charge for the menu items, they were WELL worth it. The hibachi restaurant was spectacular as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the Front desk staff were very stoic and "security focused" upon our arrival, it was somewhat off-putting! The facilities and other staff(including front desk) more than made up for the 1-2 min that this initial first impression yielded. It basically changed my opinion from friggin awesome to dang awesome...so no problems!! Wifi in our room was less than stellar.

    The property had everything a resort of its kind should have, it was well kept and although there was construction, it started at 10am and ended at 6pm(when mostly everyone is out and about!)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that people were not as friendly as I thought they would be. when I was there, it was not a variety of race there. I enjoyed the place but I thought the people would be more friendly. but that's not the resort fault.

    the place was very nice and relaxing. I enjoyed the food. the staff is great. the staff was great. they were extremely nice and very very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely superb service and they couldn’t do enough for us and very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tip top staff and service - nothing too much trouble!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff was AMAZING!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully landscaped, well maintained facilities, variety of food choices, activities, and great entertainment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to leave

    Overall experience was great and we will go back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent staff over the top friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sales pitch for the future packages, that took a lot longer than expected!

    Staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bed could be a little more comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The slick floors

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Entertaiment and friendly people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exit doors in lounge opened inward...unsafe for panicked exits.

    Meticulously maintained. Staff genuinely friendly...excellent ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    Everything! This resort and the atmosphere was amazing! We can't wait to go back!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception staff not terribly competent! the room smelled terribly of chlorine. concierge does not work!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is outstanding, very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on occasion was cold. Especially the cooked breakfast.

    The staff were superb! All extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Price

    Service team ( costumer attention and security), cleaning, food quality and diversity , and Animation team end lot of Play programs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better cushions on chairs

    Staff was great!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room with King size bed and were given a queen bed. The Shower smelt and the bathroom was far too small for Two people. We had 600$ taken out of my wife's purse, from our room!! Not good :(

    The staff, the atmosphere, the fun and total relaxation. No pressure absolutely recommended. once you get us to the place its just outstanding. The good was good too.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Luxurious all-inclusive accommodation on a nice beach. Service fantastic. People all very friendly. Fun activities around the pool, or peace and quiet on the beach whatever you prefer. Evening entertainment superb.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went with the cheaper room (Garden View) it was pretty small and poorly lit. If your a beer drinker the options are slim. If you like hard liquor your in luck. The entertainment staff was rude and not fun at all. The rest of the staff was very good.

    Better food than most all inclusive. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Right on the beach, top shelf liquor. Best waitress ever at the pool. They cleaned our room 3 times a day. Spa was nice, but the gym was small if you like to workout.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    People including staff and guests were great

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food made us both sick...

    Pool area...

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charging for beach beds is annoying. Prices in gift shop are criminal

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all of it, great stay

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing particular to mention.

    Staff is very friendly, service is good, food&drinks are filling, and entertainment is intriguing.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This property is really cozy with really good staff.... The entertainment is really great... A weekend of indulgence and relaxation!!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was incredible. We'll be back soon!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The buildings needed some upkeep.

    The staff was very friendly and professional. Excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All fab

    Cost no deals full price only

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: