Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Taj Oceanfront and Beachside Condo Hotel 5 stars

1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#25 of 203 Holiday rentals in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    The staff was so friendly and they were always able to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was so friendly and they were always able to help us with any question or concert we had. The breakfast buffet was really good too. I loved the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Everything was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its not really their problem but the beach was not really nice beacause of "sargazo".

    Everything was really good.I will definitely come back-

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    The design of the complex, particularly the lush greenery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our "partial ocean view" was so tiny it could be hidden behind a coin held at arm's length (yes I checked). Don't waste the extra expense on this, the block further back is just as good, and further away from the seaweed smell. The seaweed on the beach when we were there made it impossible to swim, and the smell was bad enough to make us gag at times when walking along the sea shore.

    The design of the complex, particularly the lush greenery throughout, is really beautifully done. Staff are genuinely friendly and super helpful. The location is a short walk to the main street yet is private and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    This was one of the best hotel experiences of my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!! I can't think of anything to say negative about them.

    This was one of the best hotel experiences of my life. Not only the staff was so friendly and accommodating (and helping us with our Spanish) but the condo was extremely clean and so personable. A lot of thought and creativity went into every detail of the condo. We end up leaving to another hotel after 3 days bc my husband got his passport stolen on the strip so we had to spend over our budget and had to downgrade but this hotel we will surely come back to!!! I was so comfortable!!!!! Please if you love comfort, style, cleanliness, and just an overall wonderful experience, look no further!!!!! Book El Taj!!!!❤️

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great location right by the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on all of the doors in our apartment was broken. They locked with a small bolt however but I’m not sure why they were all broken in the first place. You cannot swim at the beach. It’s a docking area for boats only.

    Great location right by the town. Helpful and accommodating staff. Clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    We like the ubication, the room was amazing, good space so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like the ubication, the room was amazing, good space so clean, you can cook if you want. The pool awesome and the beach great. If i come back to playa del Carmen, without a doubt ill go to “el Taj”

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Awesome time with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, near 5th Avenue. If you are planning to cook and are used to cooking with gas - be prepared to cook on an electric stove. Plan for longer cooking time. Everything else was great - awesome staff. Servers at Indigo - especially Hugo were very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    We stayed at three bed rooms partial view ocean fron.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach in front of the hotel is not a 'beach'. It's almost the port. There were many boats and no sands to play with for my babys. We had to move to find an other beach.

    We stayed at three bed rooms partial view ocean fron. Equipment was very good. There were some detergent, sponge, dishwasher, laundry, oven and so on. Jacuji at the terrace was good to relax. The workers at the fron desk were very kind and can speak english very well.They are beter than hyatt jiva'.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    We did not enjoy our vacation the way we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyday at 7 am we were waking up because of the noise (hammers and electric tools)of the construction site next to us, we complain and the manager didn’t do anything about it. When we checked out he tried to compensated us with 2 cans of soda and two candy bars that our kids consumed during the week,really? Booking.com should know about this and warn potential guests about this problem. First time I use booking.com and wasn’t a good experience.

    The location is good,the staff was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    that’s only a block form the main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beach access is not the appropriate , all of the fishing boats ruins the view and pipe can’t even access the beach

    that’s only a block form the main street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and comfurtable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a cleaning service and something was taking from my bag. After talking with the stuff and the managar cuoldnt help me

    Very clean and comfurtable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Amazing brunch at plank
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because of the beach. However the beach itself is not suitable for swimming and the furniture is really worn out. We checked into another hotel the next day at the same price but much much better quality.

    Amazing brunch at plank

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    I think if our roof terrace had been functional we'd have given this place 100% - overall great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a building site behind our roof terrace which was the only place with full sun and it became unusable from 7am to 6pm due to noise, dust and it being an observation platform for the workers! The washing machine broke on day one and the aircon vent fell out of the wall a few days after (in fairness, the response from maintenance was pretty quick). The beach (not the hotels fault but worth mentioning) was in the process of being cleaned up from the seaweed which is causing problems across the Caribbean at the moment so was a little grubby and smelly but they are doing something about it... the beach bar (Indigo Beach) was amazing with best staff, cocktails and hammocks for that afternoon snooze!

    The location was great, staff friendly and helpful and apartment well equipped. The communal pools were both lovely but you had to chase the sun around them... great if you want shade! There were also discounts to some of the good local bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    El Taj is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few small problems. The toilet flush did not work 100% and the hot tub was not that hot all the time

    Beautifully designed property and extremely comfortable rooms. Great location at the heart of 5th Avenue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice weather! Incredible pool and restaurant staff! Units are beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level of the street close to the hostels. The lack of security at the front. Our friends here at the same time had a man walk straight into their room at 6am one morning while they were all asleep. Was he there to rob their unit? He ran out as they woke up and noticed him. Front desk said they could not do a thing since he did not take anything. Not a good feeling!!!! Beach too small and seaweed was awful. Paper thin walls. Heard neighbors all the time and crying baby all through the night.

    The staff was amazing!! Incredible customer service! The beach club service was wonderful along with the Indigo restaurant service and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is very small and there are boats tied up right in front that makes it awkward to try to swim there. When we were there there was a seaweed problem that I don’t believe is the norm and the hotel can’t do anything about it. But in the 2 days we were there there was no attempt to clean it up and kept piling up. Our room was closer to the street side of the building and the noise from the club nearby is loud and goes until 4am. The white noise machine next to the bed helped. Please note the club noise was only only Saturday night and not Sunday.

    Location was great, short walk to everything in Playa del Carmen. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good service at the restaurant. The breakfast was very good with a lot of choices and it’s lovely to be able to sit right on the beach. Our room was big, we didn’t use the kitchen but I can see it being quite handy if you are staying for more than a few days like we did. The bed was very comfy too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    3.8
    Expected a whole lot more for the price. Do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel had very little ammenities, no restaurants on site and you have to log your luggage through stairs to get to any of the rooms. The staff was clearly not trained well (while I waited for my room to be ready, the cleaning lady was dusting the reception, sweaping away). The location was terrible - if your primary focus is the beach. The hotel sits in the narrowest stretch of beach and is crowded with fishing boats, which makes it impossible to enjoy the ocean. Furthermore, with the sea algea problems they´re having, this area was clearly hit the hardest with it.

    The room is nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Really angry about not getting the ocean view I paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not receive the ocean view I paid extra for. I let the desk clerk know that I paid extra for the ocean view and nothing was done to rectify the situation. Her statement was that the hotel was full. I have a home that’s nicer than their accommodations but without a ocean view. I could have stayed home. Plus, the beach has virtually disappeared in that spot and the boats anchor on what’s left of the beach so it’s impossible to swim at the hotel location. The breakfast was adequate, but the capuchinos were excellent (you must pay extra for these, but they’re worth it). I am not an “ugly American.” I enjoy Mexico and it’s people, but when you don’t get what you pay for, you should say so firmly but courteously. Choose another location. I do not recommend this hotel.!

    The property is very attractive and close walking distance to the tourist zone which has many restaurants and shops, but you can’t swim there and you may not get the room with a view that you may have paid extra for! Find another hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Playa del Carmen never disappoints and the El Taj will be where we stay each time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View - Penthouse
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach in this area is eroding and has quite a bit of seaweed but this is no fault of the hotel. They do their best to deal with it.

    This property is in a perfect location, Very close to 5th ave. the room is quiet and very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The parking garage made having a rental car much easier to deal with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Size of Unit was nice - lots of space and all room amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud in the evenings - can hear music and people from nearby bars and restaurants. Construction going on literally next our bedroom windows - banging began early morning. Not warned/or cautioned about this. Given a “beach side” room which meant across the street from main building which was the beach view. Very expensive unit for beach side/construction view. Beach area for guests very small and crowded. Not able to go into ocean from here - had to walk to Mamitas Beach Club and rent chairs there. Not likely to stay there again.

    Size of Unit was nice - lots of space and all room amenities were great. Room was clean. Convenient location to 5th Ave - good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Another Fantastic stay at El Taj
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I have been to this property several times and it continues to impress. The location is perfect as it is close to 5th Ave, beaches and just a short cab ride to a whole host of activities and excursions. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with luxury furnishings that are meticulously maintained. The staff is fantastic. They go above and beyond to ensure a great time is had by all. We really enjoy breakfast at the Indigo Beach Club (which you may opt to purchase as part of your room rate). We highly recommend doing so.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice suites, great location, unfavorable plumbing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recurrent issues with both toilets blocking and no water through any of the taps! Very inconvenient and not good enough considering what we paid for the room. Attendants fixed the issues within the day, but it occurred over and over over three days. Whilst another room’s bathroom was made available to us to use, it was in the building on other side of the street, so not convenient going to and from locations with kids over and over. A separate new room or suite was not offered when asked and no compensation provided for the disruption of basic services. For this reason only we have to down rate the property. Something more could easily have been done to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.

    Great two bedroom suite. Very comfortable beds and very nice/clean room. Close proximity to beach and fifth avenue which was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money in an excellent location, great breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have a partnership with the grand coral beach club, which they recommend you to visit. Our experience there was awful and both: service and hotel were well below our standard and expectations.

    We stayed in the Penthouse which had a very nice sun terrace with a well sized jacuzzi and a functioning grill. The breakfast in the Indigo Beach restaurant was delicious, well served, and had a beautiful view. The personnel of the hotel is friendly and helpful. Some top clubs are just around the corner but the windows isolated the noise so well that ourselves and our baby could sleep very well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach has receded significantly since our last visit. Hopefully it returns back soon to what it was. The location near all the restaurants and shopping still make this a great property

    Great staff. Erick was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Great condo, perfect location and for travel with friends or families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed with the beach at this hotel. The photos are a little misleading. There is a beach here but it is not nice. There are lots of boats tied up out front and at the time I visited there was a lot of seaweed. On a positive note you can walk down the beach either to the right or left about 10 minutes and the beach is great.

    The staff was excellent, very accommodating. The condo was great, it was very roomy and nicely furnished. It was perfect for a family of 4. Adults had own their own room and bathroom and so did kids, so no need for 4 people to share. The condo also had filtered water for the guests. The bed was comfortable and the shower was nice. They had cable tv and a blue tooth speaker. This hotel is right off of 5th Avenue, its a little more quiet here and there is plenty of food and shopping very close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Not 5 star, very noisy, rude employees, comfy bed and nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got a room with a shared terrace only, not a private one. The first day we had no water for 5-6 hours, due to some technical issues... The biggest problem was that the rooms are not soundproof (against their datasheets), they gave a (white) noise generator to reduce the external noises. There is a big construction, and there is the "party street" with 3-4 discos next to the hotel, so noise is guaranteed day and night... :( Unfortunately the windows are 1 layered non-soundproof ones, so it's hard to take a good rest here. The employees were cynic when I asked for a solution, and they did not help.. After all these I asked for 1 hour late checkout, and the receptionists told I can use it only for extra money / every hour. The manager offered a solution, but I think this case it should have been a natural response, not something to beg for.... Summarising all, I can say this is not a 5 star hotel, and never will be with these employees.

    The bed was comfy, and the toiletries were nice. The location is nice if you want to live the city, it is 5 minutes walk from the city centre (5th Avenue).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Rooms are very spacious and staff is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watch out by booking at the last minute. After 18u booking the same day results in the receptionist not knowing you are coming cause the reservation department has been closed for the day...

    Rooms are very spacious and staff is friendly. Location is very central but can be noisy in the evening due to the clubs around the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Me encanto el lugar las fotos no le asen justicia .
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me encanto el lugar las fotos no le asen justicia . Mucho mejor cuando llegamos a nuestra luna de miel el lugar es hermoso y muy bien equipado fue perfecto para nosotros .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    I loved the morning wait staff and beach staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the boats that were directly on our beach. Even half would have made it great.

    I loved the morning wait staff and beach staff. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was amazing. Bed was very comfortable and the room had great air conditioning. Also had clean water in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable condo room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The oceanfront had boats, not very inviting for going to the water. Seems less clean than other beaches

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, clean, very comfortable bed and pillows. A/C worked very well. Location good in terms of close to 5th avenue and restaurants. Closed garage, very helpful since we had a rental car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely pool and spacious apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlucky with constant drilling underneath our apartment for the full day on Saturday and half day on Sunday. Not very responsive to complaints.

    Lovely pool and spacious apartments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome stay, nice hotel, great rooms and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Hardly the hotels fault but we were there a week after a tropical storm so there was meaningful seaweed on the beach. They did their best to keep it cleaned.

    Staff were totally accommodating. We interacted with many of them. Daniel in particular helped tremendously.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing to complain about is that there were so many boats on the beach you couldn't really enjoy thr beach too much. . These boats are te one yiu would take for a tour

    Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice holiday apartments close to Restaraunts & bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach front could have been better , a lot of sea weed on the beach

    Really nice 1 Bed apartment comfortable bed , great amenities, tea & coffee , full mini bar , 2 very nice pools , breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to the main tourist street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beach in front of the hotel is very small and there are many boats moored, so you cannot really swim. We were given an apartment on the ground floor, so there was no view as such. Our bedroom was facing a wall and from the living room there were plants. I can understand it was done in order to give us more privacy but when I asked if we can stay in a different apartment I was told at the reception that unfortunately all other apartments are already occupied, so beware of the ground floor.

    Close to the main tourist street. Big, airy apartment. Nice pools.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky that there was a problem with seaweed on the beach which meant we were unable to swim and the smell was quite bad however this was just unfortunate

    The staff were great and the condos were stunning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    El Taj, a mediocre place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A jackhammer was going underneath. We never would have stayed there if we had known. The property should have warned us so we could decide if we wanted to go elsewhere. The property was much smaller and not as nice as it appears on their website. There was an issue with hot water in the showers. For $350 a night we expected more.

    The room was pretty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    One of a kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can only think of positive things regarding El Taj! Our unit was extremely comfortable and every need we could possibly have was thought about in advance and supplied! The staff made us feel like we were family. The location could not have been better; the hotel was very close to 5th street and about a 10-15 minute walk to the ferry. We were a little concerned in the evening we would hear the fun from 5th street in our room but did not hear a peep! We will definitely stay at El Taj when we return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in beachside paradise, everything we needed was very close no need to go anywhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were some construction works going on which were very noisy. Luckily we checked out that day. Otherwise no other faults.

    Great property, located right on the beach and close walk to main shopping strip. The beach bar/club was the best in my opinion in the area. Could have spent many days at the beach. Hotel has many discount deals with restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, resort lifestyle, but the bed was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard as a park bench. Sleeping was difficult and we felt it in he morning. If the bed was decent we would give five stars. The bed was bad!

    The location is excellent, just blocks from 5th Ave shopping and dining. The facilities were excellent. A great resort feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View - Penthouse
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beach area had boats.

    Staff was excellent -friendly and accommodating. Food was great. Beach was somewhat impeded by fishing boats. Lovely property. Accessibility to rear rooms facing beach was limited from the ground floor. One person had to walk through the garage to get an elevator from the ground level to 1st level and beyond.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was very clean and well-maintained. It was relaxing to sit in the spacious living room, and the extra large bathroom was a nice touch. We also liked the fact that El Taj had a great location by 5th Avenue so that we could walk around and enjoy the sights and restaurants nearby, and yet it was quiet once we were inside the hotel. We highly recommend El Taj.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    I liked a lot staying at this hotel, but the price was high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I ordered a banana shake and people at the kitchen wanted to charge me for that even when I had paid for breakfast. This breakfast included milk, sugar, oats, and bananas, but they refused to do the mix for having a shake.

    Rooms are very comfortable and the pool is simply beatiful. Cancun can be hot, but the water in the pool is fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    The suite was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose this hotel because it was beach front, but their beach area was disappointing. There were boats moored in front, there were a lot of seaweeds and rocks, so you can't really swim in front of the hotel. We had to walk for about 10 minutes to get to a swimmable area.

    The suite was great. Nice bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, living room. Very clean and they cleaned it daily. Also had access to the pool. It was also located in the middle of 5th avenue so had great access to the different restos and places, there's a Walmart that's a close walk. Also close to the nightlife.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    on the whole a very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was sold as a apparial sea view this was in correct i also asked for a first floor and got a ground floor.

    The hotel was situated right in the middle of town on the beach and breakfast was served on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Amazing resort will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Then bed was very stiff, we stayed in the two bedroom, with a private entrance to beach and a spa on our balcony. Amazing. Thought our room literally opened to the beach but it doesn't. Still amazing.

    The location was great. Next to a lot of restaurants and shops and the gym and beach. Close enough to party but still far enough to be private. Short distance to trips as well (xcaret xplor etc)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Great stay in El Taj
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like about this hotel. But just don't go there for only its beach since it is not that good. However, the hotel management gives beach access to Senor Frogs and the Grand Coral Hotel.

    Our room was very spacious. We had hot tub in the terrace. Kids loved it. There were two bedrooms and two bathrooms which was really convinient. The room had a fridge, washer and drier, all kitchen utensils. We cooked our own breakfast and comfortably ate in either in the living room or the terrace...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Amazing staff and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The beaches at Playa del Carmen are not that nice anymore. The beach club is nice but the beaches are small and the seaweed is dirty and they can't do anything about it.

    The staff at this hotel is amazing. We had a problem with our rental car and they helped us out and made sure we got our money back and a new rental car. Tip: book your rental car at the hotel and not on the street! Before we came to the hotel I had a couple of questions and they answered us really quick and were very helpful. The appartments are big and very beautiful. We used the kitchen a lot. First we went to Mega for our groceries but there was a problem with the freshnesh of the products so i would recommend you to go to walmart (walking distance). The restaurant was very good. We had lunch and dinner here and we were very happy. The pool is perfect. The location is really good. Near everything but still quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.7
    Our Stay at El Taj
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was terrible. Pool was small with only 3-4 chairs at either pool. Beach "club" was very rundown and needed refurbishing.

    Staff were very nice. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are insincere, we booked 1 unit in the front building and 1 in the back as per the description any put us both in the back. The unit was extremely run down in my parents unit washing machine and dryer did not work, cleaning was poor everyday, power plugs in exposed area outside were falling off the wall and wires exposed. Every disappointed with reception staff and over all experience. At $400 plus a night I would expect a lot more. Photo paint a better picture than reality. BBQ was broken.

    Location central to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Good Location but still a litttle flawed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark and the beach overlooked a bunch sporting fishing boats that were all tied to the beach.

    It was right on the beach and very near 5th avenue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff was lovely - very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A few more TV channels in English.

    The staff was lovely - very friendly and helpful. We loved the location with its proximity to town and ability to take long walks on a very sandy beach. It was great to see the fishing boats, divers, and ferries from our vantage point at the hotel. The breakfast was amazing - with tables right on the beach and sea breezes cooling the dining area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Unexpected perfect week at El Taj in Playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems it is a popular wedding venue . There were 3 wedding parties there just in the week we went. The music from the reception was very loud. There were white noise machines in every bedroom, but we did not expect this. Still would return!

    Amazing included breakfast. Proximity to all of the Playa del Carmen shopping/restaurants , but secluded enough to feel very private. Also loved that it had all of the amenities of a grand resort but was intimate and charming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in Playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach righ in front of the hotel is where the fishing/diving boats anchor so if you want to get in the ocean you'll need to walk a ways down the beach. By the end of the week a loud/obnoxious bachelor party group arrived which killed the vibe.

    Staff was helpful, nice pool and amenities. I was there mid-week which was wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Location is right off of 5th so you're close to all the restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Spring Break Trip in Playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View - Penthouse
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We rented a mini-van due to family size and it was difficult to park in the building's parking garage. We managed but often it was a challenge getting in and out. Our suite was well laid out and spacious. We did have a challenge with getting staff to assist with a grill lighter which put our plans to grill out on the terrace on hold and we had a water leak from the bottled water system later in the week that was a bit of a challenge but otherwise, the staff a very nice and helpful. The beach area is as many have said...not ideal...with all the boats tied up in front and very minimal area so when we wanted to beach it, we went to Cozumel and other locations south of Playa del Carmen.

    The El Taj is very convenient to walking along 5th Avenue. The location is great and the view was fantastic. We enjoyed the upstairs terrace and having the full kitchen was great although we didn't usually eat there except for breakfast meals. The dual pool was fun. My daughter enjoyed swimming in it several days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Many boats parked in front of the beach area of the hotel. Besides this, it was everything great!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, always smiling. They care very much on guest's needs. Both the rooms and the structure around, were very clean! I certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    6.3
    No orive gau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no beach access in front of the condo. It was a docking area for many small boats so swimming a view was impossible. There was barely enough area to walk in front of the restaurant. Very disappointing. Booking.com did not price match when I found the same unit for $300 cheaper. I was told to read the fine print! They would not even include the breakfast or make any attempt to honor their "guarantee". I also paid for an oceanfront room but was only given an ocean view. Extremely dissatisfied with that experience.

    The condo was clean and well equipped. Large in size and well good design. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it is a beach front hotel, the beach per se is full of docked speed boats which steal a clean look to the sea.

    Location, comfort and great costumer service. The condos are completely and nicely equipped.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice place for the family and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch out for the noise for the construction right next to the beachside units. They tell you there will be noise from 9:00-5:00 but in reality it begins at 6:00 AM. Also avoid restaurant Plank which has a discount partnership with this condo hotel. It's Overpriced with bad food and service. The handover from night shift staff to the morning shift was not done properly making us explain the arrangement regarding our complaint all over again.

    Good for family because it's an apartment. You can cook and feel at home. They did a good job with privacy too. Location is very good and their partnership with beach club and Imprevist restaurant for breakfast is really smart. Nice decor at the unit and comfortable beds. Good amenities. Bonus massage was also worth it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    4.2
    NEVER stay there again!! NO beach, music from the clubs blasting music in the room until 4AM!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is NO beach, the resort is one block away from the big night clubs, we had music blasting into our room until 4am. Would NEVER stay there again.

    The resort is a great property, but the beach is gone.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    All in all...it was a wonderful experience staying at ElTaj in beautiful Playa !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was just way too firm for us... And the sofa was just a cushion on wood so very firm... But as far as the couch, we did not spend much time there anyway.

    The apt. was nice and private and not noisy at all so we were very pleased. The food and beverages were wonderful, and the service extremely good and everyone very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Cozy, clean and close to great restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the beach. It is very small and lots of seaweed.

    The kitchens in the rooms are well equipped. Showers have great pressure and water quality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.1
    Beware: no beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is NO BEACH at this hotel. That was a total shock. Photos show a gorgeous beach, but it was all washed away in a hurricane several years ago. Also, we paid for a partial ocean view. You could sort of see the ocean from our terrace, but you could never sit on the terrace because it was on a side street that was filthy and smelled of garbage, with a bar blasting music at all hours. The hotel was wise to make arrangements with a beach club and shuttle guests there, about 20 minutes away. Worth it for a real beach.

    Staff were all great. Room was large and well-appointed. Very convenient location in town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the big condo. Well equipped with everything you need. We stayed in Condo 311. Very quiet. We enjoyed the pool in front of the condo. El Taj are walking distance from so many nice restaurants, shops and the big supermarket.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Service was fantastic, food on property was very good and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach is GONE, erosion is awful affecting how many chairs are available at the beach. If you want to swim at your doorstep- not going to happen at this condo.

    Service was fantastic, food on property was very good and we had free breakfast each day. Our unit had a PH patio, private hot tub which was excellent, although it was not connected to our unit and on an upper floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    A pleasant oasis in the hustle & bustle of Playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was great value for money.

    Great location only a few minutes away from the madness of Av 5 with all its restaurants, bars, clubs and shops. Yet our room was really peaceful and the hotel's beach club is set away from the spring break type hotel beaches further round the coast. The suite was spotlessly clean, huge comfy bed, and had a free water cooler which was great. The food at the beach club was great and the staff were very friendly. The El Taj was considerably cheaper than a lot of other similar hotels in Playa del Carmen so we weren't expecting much - I have no idea why because it's excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Complex in the Perfect Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beach erosion was disappointing, but that is mother nature

    Room & vicinity was fantastic. Breakfasts at the Indigo Club were outstanding. Great value, right in the heart of town

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel lost beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to erosion the beach is basically gone. You can not fault the hotel for this but it is very unfortunate. Otherwise the hotel was amazing.

    Amazing rooms with everything you would ever need.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful Stay in Playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Premium Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The need to walk and look for a kid friendly beach. Some noise from private booked party in the restaurant below. But it was understandable. We ended up just dancing to the music on our balcony, and the wedding sent us some great tequila shots. thank you.

    The hotel location is excellent and close to everything. The staff is understanding and accommodating. We had children with us and there was not a single problem concerning their stay. Our breakfast at Indigo was really nice. We were lazy to walk to the other restaurant. Service at Indigo is great. It was very refreshing to sit and look at the sea every morning. Although the beach is non existent at the hotel, the management had a shuttle provided for the sister property. The apartment we stayed was oceanfront and we loved every bit of it. Amenities are great and we had plenty of space for a large family (6 adults and 3 kids). The garden in the complex is so beautiful - just a small tropical oasis.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    Great stay for 4 nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach area had been washed away by the storm so it would have been nice to have a heads up about that, but luckily they have partnerships with beach clubs and a shuttle that takes you, which was convenient.

    Great room! VERY clean and comfortable. It is very close to 5th Avenue and all the clubs, but we did not find it to be too noisy at all. You can hear the bass and a little bit of the music but we were a group of girls looking to have fun, dance, and relax.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Excelent views and sit down breakfast with sand between your toes! The
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard. And recently, most of the sandy breach in front of the pool has been lost due to erosion. The first issue can be easily resolved by the hotel, the second issue is completely out of their control. They have acted with alliances and transportation to other beach clubs, but it still is a little inconvenient.

    The rooms a finely appointed and spotless. Also there are nice touches such as bluetooth speakers in your room, as well as a DVD player. Security is excelent with hotel staff posted al all hotel entrances. Our questions were always answered courteously and in a clear manner. The location is excellent! You're close to the night life and to the restaurants and bars but just far enough so that you can't hear them so a good nights sleep is s sure thing. The hotel shared areas are all well maintained anth the hotel configuration itself on the beachfront side gives you a sense of community.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.7
    Nice place but poor location because of the loud music every night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    It was best to half a dozen dancing clubs with blasting music from 10pm to past 3am. It was extremely loud. Had to use white noise machine everyday.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    6.7
    Great location but no beach! Need office staff that communicates better..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is eroded. Didn't get penthouse due to no elevator and my husband needed one for more than one flight of stairs. Front office miscommunication involved with moving us to another room because of availability...

    Clean and location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    4.6
    a little disapointing. very little chance I will recommend or I will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very poor staff. the room was not ready when we arrive . no proposal to help for changing clothes and go to the beach in the meantime. they had issues with the beach one week before we arrived. I understand they didn't say anything before our arrival but the beach, which was proposed as a backup plan , needed to take transportation. Very poor support to accommodate the transfer time.

    the access to indigo beach restaurant where people were very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Loved this hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Penthouse
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our favourite hotel on our trip. We had a rooftop apartment with hot tub and terrace - loved it! Apartments are very modern, clean etc, great position, close to the main street - would definitely come back!

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: