Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tukan Hotel & Beach Club 4 stars

5ta Avenida Norte Entre 14 y 16, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#158 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money. What you see Ian not what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what was shown from pictures on website. Had to pay extra to use their beach. Leaky shower into the bathroom. Terrible wait at check in. Overall just a bad experience. Would never stay there again

    Location. Great location but the pictures show beach front. We were not booked into the beach front portion. Huge letdown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Is very well connected and in the center so you can walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t have lift, the bell boy doesn’t offer help if you don’t agree before to pay for the help.

    Is very well connected and in the center so you can walk anywhere is all near by the area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff good grounds good location good but beware of certain rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar at the hotel played very loud music from 9am to midnight making certain rooms not habitable the sump pump outside room 602 was very loud the hotel needs to lower the volume of their music this is not noise from the street but noise from the hotel. The owner of the hotel needs to spend a night in rom 602

    Excellent staff 1st night was in room 602 the hotel bar played very loud music and the sump pump sounded like a blender the room was not for habitation the staff moved us to another room the next night rooms were good grounds were excellent location good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Very old rooms and not well maintained. barely a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is not a 4 star hotel. not by any stretch of the imagination. on the day of arrival, the shower door fell (we were really lucky it did not break and injure us) the towel rack fell, there was no hot water for the shower. The room is big, but very old, I don't think it has seen any renovation in the last 20 years.

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    If you just need a room at a good location and can find this hotel at a cheap rate then it is fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception was not very friendly at all. The pool was very small and not very nice at all, didn’t feel like jumping in it - on the limite of being disgusting

    I Got a really Good room (deluxe) at a barging price - large discount compared to the normal rate it was a “penthouse” with a Nice balcony The cleaning was really good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    2.9
    Do not stay in this hotel, there is no 4 star installations or service. It sucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was by far the worse experience at a hotel in my life, first they tried to cancel my reservation, they sent me an email saying that my reservation was canceled because I didn't pay in advance (but my booking was supposed to be payed upon arrival) and my reservation was active in the booking website, so booking had to call them to give me a room. I saw that my reservation was 600€ and when I looked for a new room in the same days their rate was 13,000€ so maybe thats why they tried to cancel my reservation. In the end they offered me a room with 2 beds (we were 4 adults) although I had reserved a suit of 2 bedrooms! I had to fight tooth and nail to get the room I had booked. In the end the room was very dirty, the bed and furniture were broken, the bathroom window was next to the street so everyone can see inside. There was no mini refrigerator, they put a coffee machine with no filters, no coffee, no sugar, and 1 cup...for 4 people. Also they put 1 towel, and no waters! I don't understand who gives stars to this hotels! This was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, there was not even a phone in the room to call reception for any type of room service. The cleaning staff came to clean our room at 17hrs!!!! Not to mention the pool is disgusting, dirty and old. To put a cherry on top, at our check out they tried to charge me 80€ for some bracelet I took off during my stay. A total crap!

    The parking was easy, they always had a spot available on the street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    3.8
    FALSE ADVERTISING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff are not friendly and I'm the nicest person on earth. When we checked in- the rooms ware very dirty , sand on the floor. ( , bed not made),hair in the shower The biggest disappointment is that the hotel false advertising that there's a private beach club for the hotel guests but actually this beach club is working with few hotels in Playa and the access is not free. So I don't understand how they dare to call themselves El Tukan& beach club. THERE IS NO PRIVATE BECH!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Amazing! Very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no mini fridge in the room, you have to pay extra for the security safe in the room, water won't come out of the shower head, if the bathroom sink is running (can't shower if someone is washing their hands or brushing their teeth), the tap/shower water had a hint of a salty taste to it, construction staff began working on the resort (removing tiles) at 7 in the morning... people are still sleeping at that time!

    The front desk staff spoke English pretty well & are always pleased to help hotel guests. There is a water cooler next to the front desk for staff & guests to use to fill water bottles. The A/C in the room works VERY well, very refreshing. The hotel is next to the beach & at the beginning of 5th Avenue, so you get to see all the shops in one walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were not in anything pictured on the web site. We did not have shuttle or beach access to the Cool Beach Club, as advertised on web site. Very mis-leading. Even the page I printed when I booked said "shuttle and access to Cool Beach Club. This was Not true. Very Disappointed.

    Nothing. We gave up our booking. We would not stay there. Did not feel safe, were put in a dark, dingy basement like apartment, the outside "pool side" area was small, dirty and not landscaped properly, all the plants were dead. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Just ok..nothing great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    noise! terrible 5 out of 6 nights

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value in Playa del Carmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel’s restaurant.

    Very firm beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or microwave for those not wanting all inclusive.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Water in the pool was to cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the pool was to cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.9
    Shower and restroom need to be updated ASAP.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location but not friendly staff and need new towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, old towels

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice room
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Jacuzzi was cold no coffee in the lobby Music from the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was cold no coffee in the lobby Music from the bar was a little bit loud at night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location Nice landscaping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've been nice to have complementary coffee at 6 o'clock in the morning in the lobby

    Good location Nice landscaping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Great time!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was cold

    The hotel is tight in the heart of the action in Playa del Carmen and the breakfast included was incredible!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    My hotel from now on my future trups
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What i disliked was the bathroom a little small for my comodity

    I liked that its very peaceful and quiet especially at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    5.4
    If something broke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a problem with our booking and the hotel nor the booking company us. The bed was hard and the pool was like a hot tub.

    If something broke.. they fixed it.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    4.6
    Yes, OK, it's pretty central, amazing job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pathetic. This place shows 4 stars, but it's unable to live up to any expectation. Depending on the room you get you are in a separate building, where WiFi is completely absent or malfunctioning. The bedrooms are ridiculous: a "standard" room should represent the standard of a 4 stars hotel, but instead it represents the minimum available to push you to pay more for a decent room. Be prepared to paper thin ceilings and walls, through which you can hear ANYTHING. Also there were a lot of workers around and during the night, making it difficult to relax. The bed is basically covered in plastic, making it extremely uncomfortable. Lighting in the room us poor, same as the furniture and decoration. Small crap bathroom, totally unacceptable. If by any chance you are unlucky and you get to Mexico when it is a bit colder than usual... you will be cold: the aircon is not enabled to heat up the room and there are no additional blankets. The BEACH CLUB it's a small area in front of all the boats where fishermen and tourists feed fish to seagulls... imagine the stink later in the day.

    Yes, OK, it's pretty central, amazing job. What else?

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    Overall, our stay at El Tukan could not have been better - 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Overall, our stay at El Tukan could not have been better - 5 stars for quality, value, service and location. We highly recommend El Tukan! The staff could not have been friendlier!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.5
    good location, staff, clean, food, drinks (Mojito) near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location, staff, clean, food, drinks (Mojito) near to the beach

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    5.0
    center of down town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy, smell of molds, shower head was stucked, have to wear plastic belt all the time(which may cut your skin)

    center of down town

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.8
    Location garden authenticity
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes rude desk sometimes nice

    Location garden authenticity

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    The location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything i saw i liked it.

    The location was awesome. Close to everything. At the hotel feels like you are in the jungle, lot of trees.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.8
    Great location on 5 Avenida.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet service not that great.

    Great location on 5 Avenida.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    location next to 5 avenue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    did not get put in the main hotel

    location next to 5 avenue

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: