Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elcano 4 stars

Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman 75 Frac Club Deportivo, Costera Acapulco, 39690 Acapulco, Mexico

Review score

Based on 366 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    The Elcano offered me me a very relaxing vacation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment!

    I really like the Elcano and always stay here when I am in Acapulco. I love that the hotel is on the beach, and all the rooms have an ocean view. The hotel is very clean, and the staff is constantly working to keep it that way. The swimming pool is beautiful and perfect for children and adults. The Elcano is a beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for the right price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel exceeded our expectations. I went with my best friend and stayed on the 8th floor. The view was breath taking and just hearing the sounds of the ocean below. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Affordable luxury in Acapulco Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    And old hotel that kept a tradition of quality, Great value for money, amazing views, clean, food is very good and tasty, private beach with palm huts and comfortable chairs with drinks and food service, ask for “Cilios” & “Croquetas” , the best beach at the bay, free parking, staff is very nice. In few words you will have a tropical sunny luxury experience at budget price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    My family and I stayed for three nights and we had the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool close too early , 8pm, why not 9?

    My family and I stayed for three nights and we had the best time ever, my cousin loved the pool and the beach, waves were little dangerous due to the storm around. We liked the beds and room , very comfortable, great view to the beach and surroundings. Food was good, expensive as all other Hotel restaurants, If i go back to Acapulco I will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    First class, memorable hotel with best view of Aca bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cannot think of anything negative.

    Wonderful view of Acapulco bay from good size balcony and sound of waves hitting shore. Great at sunset. Lobby , hallways , room are all very nicely tiled and spotless.. Every room faces the sea. Pool was very nice...not crowded and loved it when the sun was going down. Whole hotel very clean. This is a very special hotel in Acapulco with a great reputation, quiet and not rowdy like some of its neighbours.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Great view of Acapulco bay from room's window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool opens at 9 a.m., I would've loved to use it earlier in the morning.

    Great view of Acapulco bay from room's window. Staff fluent in English. Spacious room. Strong WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Oh dear! the bed mattresses were very hard. The WiFi was often Fair. Nice pool but it is made for kids, so don't expect to do laps. When the hotel is full, it's almost impossible to get a shaded area on the beach after lunch.

    One of the first hotel built on that stretch of beach, it has been renovated a while ago but will need some updating. With its 9 floors, it's "small" compared to the other buildings around. Very cosy, large rooms with great spacious balcony. Good A/C and separate ceiling fan. Large closet with lots of clothes hangers. ALL the rooms are on the ocean side, so fabulous views especially of sunsets. Flat screen TV, multiple channels (even CNN in English). A restaurant and a bar are on the premises.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They gave us a room that was occupied and wwe needed to go down to reception so they could change it. It needs urgent remodelling and some shade in the pool.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Great views, Great people, Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost 300 pesos to have the bar fridge opened in our room. Thought that could have been complimentary.

    Fantastic location. Every room has a prime view of the pool, beach and the bay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Best Hotel to stay while in Acapulco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy, the staff was very friendly, excellent location, all rooms are facing the ocean, I will definitely come back in the near future.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Everything was very good, staff very nice and food at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good, staff very nice and food at restaurant (breakfast) excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excelente
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La playa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were clean, the pool was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it , it's a good place with a good rate

    Rooms were clean, the pool was awesome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing

    Very clean. Close to the beach. Staff friendly and helpful. Food very good. All rooms with sea view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no internet very bad signal

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room views were fantastic! Lovely part of the beach. Felt very comfortable and safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Acapulco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodating staff, clean property and practical amenities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    A classic Acapulco with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovations

    Excellent Value for the money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the beach there is no free sunbeds, the hotel offers only not comfortable plastic chairs.

    Stunning views from the window.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    All rooms with see view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection very bad

    All rooms with see view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Amazing beach-side stay in Acapulco!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my stay here. I came with a friend and we truly enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    excellent option!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent option!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    After spent few weeks at different locations in Mexico I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi internet connection didn't work at all for computers on the 4th floor. My reservation was cancelled during my stay at the property. I was really sad, I would say.

    After spent few weeks at different locations in Mexico I continued my journey to Acapulco. I couldn't believe my eyes when I checked in. The lobby was furnished with everything I kept in mind, except the piano, and I felt a sentimental value when entered the room. Moreover, I was moved by a charming feeling when I walked down the stairs and watched out the ocean horizon and sunset. In comparison with other hotels the inward atmosphere is really calm and romantic, I would say! The night bar at the beach and the pool area is a great opportunity for hotel guests to join the unique atmosphere. According to my travel experience and a cordial reception in all aspects, I believe my stay here was the best moment I ever could find in the heart of Acapulco. I am definitely pleased with my stay, just imagine I could travel and meet Mexicans and travelers in a beautiful town as Acapulco! I appreciate the staff too! However. I can recommend this hotel from my heart. I really do :) A very much-appreciated stay in Acapulco, I would say. Actually, it was very easy to use public transit and the hotel helped me in several ways to find out a pleasant living! I can't stop remind myself about the wonderful past during my stay. Actually, I push myself don't cry but it always ends up in a flood of tears inside me.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    4.2
    Centerlly located and clean and great view of the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a very friendly place for non-Spanish speaker. At my last night of stay, the GM/owner of the hotel had a party with live music until at least 1am. Very inconsiderate for everyone else.

    Centerlly located and clean and great view of the bay

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.8
    The view is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be nice to able to "introduce" your own drinks to the pool area, the service at the pool was poor, 8 waiters and barman standing around and we waited 20 minutes before walking up to the bar ourselves. I counted, 8.

    The view is excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. Anyone visiting the Mexican passport office the location is right around the block. Not far from the Canadian embassy, 4 or 5 blocks.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.3
    General infraestructure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mary sellers on The beach and swimming pool very short

    General infraestructure

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    5.8
    Lugar, playa alberca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    personal, staff

    Lugar, playa alberca

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    We saw that there was constant effort to maintain the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We saw that there was constant effort to maintain the property.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.8
    A great location, within walking distance to pretty much...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is aging, the floors were stained, and the towels ragged.

    A great location, within walking distance to pretty much everything on La Costera.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    The view is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach menu lacked a ton of sea food

    The view is amazing

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: