Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vamar Vallarta Marina & Beach Resort 4 stars

Avenida Paseo de la Marina Sur, Marina Vallarta, Marina Puerto Vallarta, 48335 Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

#80 of 111 hotels in Puerto Vallarta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    all in all our stay was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi near the pool in the beach area, neither in the rooms no real balcony in the standard rooms no freshly brewed coffee for breakfast (only instant options)

    Great breakfast, great seafood and Italian restaurants Good location Very clean common spaces and rooms Attentive staff Free kayaks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our staff and staff/bell hop Manuel always happy to help would stay here again
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi did not work at all for us; we were waiting for contact about a medical procedure Water cooler never worked on 5th floor for the 5 days we were there although they attempted to fix it Safe failed to work when we first tried to use it but it was my error and maintenance fixed the battery right away

    The food choices were excellent, staff worked hard to keep presentation and serving area clean. Very tasty... hot food hot cold food (salads) always on ice to keep fresh excellent The coconut pie was out of this world we are still talking about it! The room was quite. Staff very helpful and quick to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    It was great!! would do it again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the fact that the lobby bar didn't open until 6:00 p.m. Other locations of all inclusive places I have stayed at the bar opened early in the morning and closed late at night.

    The facility was great. The staff even better. I just think they could have changed the hours of the Lobby Bar to open earlier and provide a bit more service for people sitting at the lobby lounge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    The seafood restaurant was really good & the service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't the same as the pics on the side we got a room at the end of the floor it was really noisy next to the service entrance

    The seafood restaurant was really good & the service was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Even though i love the location and the staff i will probably stay somewhere else next time! :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every time I went through the lobby was harassed by time share people...The food wasn't as food as the last time I stayed.. Very noisy at night time!..Wi_fi is terrible. The location close to the marina and the staff are excellent!..When it was time to check out they wouldn't let me stay an extra 3 hours before my plane left (that never happened last time)...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    It was ok. The best service was provided by the waiters. That really made the place shine for their
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking process was disappointing. The rooms provided was not what I paid for and I struggled with the staff at the counter. They promised something and delivered something else. Not being straight forward and clear was upsetting. The rooms were cleaned up very late in the afternoon and we have to call reception to request cleaning. They didn’t leave towels and shampoo and we have to request them again.

    The staff at the restaurants was outstanding. Very engaged in providing excellent service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. The free WiFi was worthless, slow, and barely connectable. 2. The Magallanes restaurant was highly disappointing. The house red wine was cheap, bitter and served cold. We were unaware of the miniscule gourmet type portions and so we left hungry. The wait staff was overcome by the half-full restaurant and so they never came by again after taking our order. I was unable to order another glass of wine to accompany my entree. We left after waiting for 15min for someone to take our dessert order.

    Price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Vamar Vallarta Marina & beach resort
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aging apartments where all appliances have been removed, not even a coffee machine nor a kettle nor a table on the large balcony. No shower curtain in the tub, leaking faucets and shower heat with a constant huge smell of sewer. 5 coat hangers but hanging bar from the bedroom has also been removed. Bed was comfortable. Food was overall good.

    The location was great with direct access to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice enough for an older resort. We would give it a 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at Vamar was enjoyable. Nothing really negative. The New Years party was great. Lots of choices for food from turkey, fish to bbq pig. Music was great and location on beach was excellent for the fireworks. Food during our stay overall was good. Very Mexican family oriented so expect kids and all that brings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is good if you are staying for vacation - food all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not suitable for a business trip - no wifi in rooms and a bit noisy at night.

    The hotel is good if you are staying for vacation - food all included and nice pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    2.9
    Lots of potential, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Poor customer service from a few staff members made it an unpleasant stay. Check in needs to explain rules/policies better to avoid miscommunications.

    The location was okay. Not right on the beach but had a nice view of the marina. The breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    good mix with money value and quality. don't expect high level resort, but price is real interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    silence and privacy, we have very big problem on night to sleep cause rumors of other young guest during all the night.

    beach is good, have marina and beach on same hotel is nice. all inclusive also is good, they have snack on the beach very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We do realize this is an older resort but, there was an inconsistent sewer smell in our bathroom and the public ones. There was not an ATM on site. We ended up going to one of the other resorts nearby for the best withdrawal rates ( NOT the OXXO).

    We liked the location. The staff were very nice and helpful. Ivan was very good at the bar, Ricardo was great with recreation. The food at buffet was limited but delicious, and the on -site ala carte restaurant was very nice ( especially the Italian dinner menu) . The price was awesome for what we received. House wine was pleasant. Evening performances were very enjoyable and a surprising bonus to this little resort.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    4.2
    I couldn't wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid extra money to have a room with balcony yet our room had no balcony and the bathroom door had to be closed at all times because of the horrible smell of sewage. We didn't go and ask for a different room because we had waited in line for almost an hour and simply didn't want to waste another hour at the front desk as we only booked the room for 3 nights

    The waiters in the restaurants and bars are very friendly!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villas need some updating inside, but were clean and comfortable. At night the music from the resort next door is very loud in the villas. The thumping of the base became annoying every night. Kept loosing the internet at the villas.

    Bed and pillows were good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Manuel the bellman is always helpful. Resort clean. Close by restaurants and Marina if you don't have all inclusive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location and wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was not that great. The bed for me was too hard and stiff, I woke up with a really sore back. But, my husband had no complaints about the comfort of the bed. The was no shower door in our shower, only a curtain, which led to a flooded bathroom floor.

    The buffets were awesome! Really good selection of food options. Staff was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant with the seafood and Italian style dinner was fabulous. Pools and landscape were very clean. Minutes away from the airport. Walking distance to the beach. Overall beautiful resort!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.9
    Budget All inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion on room booking after paying cash for an up-grade, but which was resolved by "Sandra" at the front desk by a further up-grade to a villa. Buffet not great.

    Italian restaurant served filet that could literally be cut with a fork. Beach snack bar had best hamburgers in Mexico! Hand formed, juicy and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    nice area to walk around the marina and enjoy all the restaurants night life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the parties from the weddings would go on all night, very loud.

    the view from our balcony was fabulous, the hotel is on the canal leading onto the marina so there is a constant parade of beautiful boats passing by. also the hotel is also on the beach side so you can watch the sunset in the evenings.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    A very friendly resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of seating, apart from sun loungers around the pools and a very small lounge bar near reception. Music around the pool was a bit loud at times. Wi-fi hit and miss at times.

    The adults only pool area. Great views from our balcony. Comfortable beds. Very attentive staff, especially the pool drinks waiter, Chavelo, who kept us hydrated throughout our stay. Not everything was as it should have been when we arrived but Raoul, the Operations Manager, made sure it was put right immediately. Any requests we made were acted upon immediately. Varied selection of food at all meal times and the all day pool snackbar. Pristine gardens and litter free. Very few foreign guests - mainly Mexican who were all very courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    5.0
    okay location - but, didn't get the bang for the buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was not all that great. Same thing every day just called it something else. trying to get a decent room upgrade was a real pain. We were first given a tiny room with no balcony, took 3 hours to get the one next door that had a balcony and a kitchen bad thing was no refrigerator not even a little one that you would expect in every hotel room. not a dish or cup or anything just a lot of mt space. wouldn't go back there way to much money for what we got. ended up eating out most of the time.

    Location was alright, entertainment was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    It was a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a specific request ahead of time via email to have 1 king size bed, not two doubles. A return email confirmed our request and let us know it would not be a problem. When we checked in, our room had two doubles. Its hard for a couple to sleep in such a small bed. Beds were not comfortable.

    The staff at the resort are so friendly, they clearly value their work, and do so much to ensure the pleasure of the guests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    It was ok....we wanted something near the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get into the Italian restaurant....the dinner buffet was nothing special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Staff was great but everything else was horrendous
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of food

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    2.5
    You people need a lot of experience on that industry, every thing is so poor on services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Not a thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night

    missing curtain, food was so-so

    view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    No surprises for the first time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Italian restaurant service , very slow , slow to get hot water to shower

    The 2 locations, several places to eat , service .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    It was good place..would try again at the right ptice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee pot No hair dryer No fridge

    Marina view was awsome Very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The food was not hot, luke warm.

    Mario at the desk was outstanding getting us a room that was perfect for my husband that was using a walker.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place to vacation!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need a bit more training in waiting tables.

    The breakfast and lunch were good. Dinner could be better

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Mexico adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our air condition did not work well.

    The staff was awesome. They were able to decorate our room for my husband's birthday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    Well located, near from beautifull beaches but quite bad service and high cost benefit ratio
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old installations, the menu of the buffete does not change a lot from day to day

    It was close to the Marina area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    The staff was great, perfect location, rooms comfortable ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have wifi in alot more places throughout the hotel, more variety of foods in the buffets

    The staff was great, perfect location, rooms comfortable and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    Pool and grounds are spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds are very, very hard so uncomfortable. Only one heated pool on ocean side. Having a heated pool on marina side would be nice. Buffets and food although fresh does get a bit tiresome after a few days. Found it difficult to find a cup of coffee in the mornings.

    Pool and grounds are spotless. Staff friendly and accommodating. Location is excellent. Bus stop in front for easy access to Walmart or downtown.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    6.3
    lovely pool altho it wasn't heated but the heated pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the rooms need updated and made to feel more cosy. they misplaced our reservation with booking.com so we had to take what room was left which was 3rd floor right above the main entrance into lobby #3081. no tables on balcony only 2 chairs and no tables by loungers around the pool.

    lovely pool altho it wasn't heated but the heated pool was across the street at the other resort on the beach. the food was good and a good selection. lots of bar staff to serve you while at the pool.local bus into town stopped right out front of resort very handy.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    5.0
    Room cost for double bed single room was $80 Cdn and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower was terrible. Curtain had no weight so flew around while shower was running. This resulted in lots of water on the bathroom floor. Shower head direction not adjustable and seemed to be gummed up with deposits leaving a poor water stream. Shower smelled really bad; likely mold in drain and corners of room due to moisture levels. No bathroom fan. Check-in was a nightmare. I arrived at 12:30 and was told room not yet ready so put my bags in storage. When I came back at 5 pm, there was a huge, slow-moving line of people waiting to check in. Not sure why they didn't have more staff on duty to handle such a crush of people. Poorly organized. Hotel location is a fair distance from downtown so be prepared if you are taking the bus. Breakfast buffet included but long line-ups for hotcake station and for omelette station. Ended up with only yogurt, granola, and some juice :( WiFi only available in lobby and not great connection. Not sure how to get to beach from this location as there didn't seem to be a public access point nearby. This hotel fronts the marina. Will choose a beach location or hotel downtown next time.

    Room cost for double bed single room was $80 Cdn and included buffet breakfast. Close to airport (costs 65 pesos by taxi). Pool seemed nice but didn't have time to try it out. Bed was clean and comfortable. Lighting was good in all parts of room and lots of windows for natural light. Nice views from certain sides of hotel if you are on a higher floor.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    I would like to acknowledge MIRIAN, the customer service rep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to acknowledge MIRIAN, the customer service rep. She helped us so much with air line and diner res.always with a smile on her face. Also the matri'd at the Italian rest and Manuel the bell hop and Abel the server.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    6.3
    The staff and the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wedding party till 1 am one night with loud music, Locals having a karaoke until 1 am one night, very bad. Other events in the bar until late every night. Would not return for any price.

    The staff and the weather

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.1
    the food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food was delicious. Always a great variety. Staff was amazing. the marina board walk is just minutes away. A great way to walk off all that delicious food. the entertainment is great

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    8.3
    Staff and breakfast offering was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool shut down for 1 day.

    Staff and breakfast offering was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.8
    The staff and people that work there where super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff and people that work there where super friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Hotel staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It took about an hour just to check in

    Hotel staff and location

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: