Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Emporio Ixtapa 5 stars

Boulevard Ixtapa Mplo. Teniente Jose Azuela, 40880 Ixtapa, Mexico

#10 of 28 hotels in Ixtapa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Some more activities like the Casino nights and karaoke will be great.
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities are old but they functional and clean. The hotel could have a remodeling and it will be fantastic because the location is amazing.

    It's quite and the location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location, old property, poor atention.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy. They knew there was a sport venue as big as Ixtapa's Triathlon, but sales are more important. A wedding ceremony was held at the garden the night before, it was noisy but they didn't care. The hotel lobby has been refurbished, but not the rooms, although it is very clean. The staff is not very helpful, they obbey orders. For a little extra budget, you can get something better.

    1. The location. I travelled for Ixtapa's triathlon. The location was my main reason to reserve this hotel. 2. The room, although old, is kept clean, the bathroom and toiletries are pretty good, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my stay and would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not the greatest, it wasn’t bad just not great. The outside snack bar was understaffed resulting in long waits for food. The beverage dispenser didn’t work we had go elsewhere for drinks

    Staff was great and I liked the fact they had activities for all age groups

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful pool area and right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was spotty which was problematic as I was working remotely. Room was dated and we had problems with our AC.

    Wonderful pool area and right on the beach. Location in Ixtapa means its easy to leave the hotel for shops, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please consider having a no smoking section of the beach front cabanas.

    We were treated wonderfully by all the staff. We enjoyed the water aerobics. The lifeguard helped us when my daughter got banged up in a wave. The room was cozy, quiet and had a beautiful view. The location was perfect as the bus stopped right in front of the hotel and across the street were many restaurant options. I’ll be back. Thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    All inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like all inclusive places. We were on a room only basis and even then you get that wrist band that marks you as a tourist.

    Great pool and beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Good, but more expensive than I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being charged extra for things I expected to be with the price.

    The Hotel it's self was fantastic and right on the beach, but there was a problem with my Boooking.com reservation for £81 and when I eventually got to checking in I had to pay an additional £25 pounds for a "sea view" room that I didn't ask for and that was just the start of it, breakfast was an extra £10, the internet was another additional £6, pounds. A friend of mine book a room at the same hotel at the same time as me using a different website and paid for it over the internet and the booking was made with no extra charges.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wish the rooms had balconeys

    The bed was very comfortable. Our housekeeping lady was excellent! We enjoyed the 2 bottles of water each day in our room. We needed change a few times and the front desk was always so complying with our request.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice ocean view but rooms and front office services need updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music at night until late from the hotel's own event as well as from the next door hotel. Also the front desk staff are not well trained. We had two rooms. One room checked out early in the morning and other one later. They messed up the room no. even though we had corrected them once. Then when our second room checked out they said the first room did not check out and claimed that 2 Alka Seltzer pills were taken from the in-room snack bar. Nobody in our party needed any Alka Seltzer and who knows if it was their own staff that had taken it? Finally, all the faucets in the bathroom leak. The hotel needs an update very soon!

    The location is very convenient. Close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    If you like mixing with locals and want walking central access to beach and city center, this is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WIFI settings (only happened there) on my Amazon Fire tablet caused intermittent loss of internet. No adult only pool. Room well used, but repair man very entertaining (a plus).

    The staff was very cordial and friendly. It was mainly a hotel that hosted Mexican families at this time of year. The lobby was open air with breezes all day. Choice to not be all inclusive. There was an English speaking greeter who met us as we arrived. Comfortable beds with clean room. Service was good in hotel and on beach. We located several turtle nests on the surrounding beach and reported them to the volunteer turtle conservation team that came around 7:30am every morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff, lovely beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Easier to operate air conditioning would be nice. The rooms probably need to be updated in general.

    Good variety in the breakfast buffet. Much better quality than the norm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Place to Sway with the Palm Trees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The margaritas. I would love to have been able to sit in the open lobby with a good book and a delicious margarita, but alas, it was not to be. It was undrinkable. No flavor and tasted like they were made from a bad mix.

    The view from our hotel room was just gorgeous and overlooked the ocean and pool. This is our second time here and we met many others who have returned through the years. The buffets in the hotel looked great, though we did not opt for the all-inclusive, preferring to take advantage of the many restaurants across the street. The location is great, with easy access by car to Zihuatanejo. We will definitely return again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Not a large, fancy resort but had some good points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music is amped up at the pool way too loud creating an atmosphere that is not at all relaxing.

    ask for a corner room on the ocean side. You get windows facing the ocean from two different directions creating an awesome 180 degree view of the ocean and very near by islands/rock formations. Extra awesome when the moon came out later. Food was good and reasonably priced. Located directly across the street from various stores where you can probably get necessary personal items.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    A PERFECT FRAMING OF OUR OCEAN STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed every part of our stay. If I had to say one negative, I would not order a margarita at their bar. It was really pretty undrinkable. However, it was a very busy evening and perhaps real limes were not available. There were so many restaurants right across the street to choose from. Try Deborah's!!

    From the moment we walked into the open lobby with its view to the pool and the ocean beyond, we knew this was a perfect choice for us. Despite the number of Mexican families as well as people from US and Canada, we felt from the start that we would have a peaceful, exciting and beautiful time here. Our room at the back of the hotel had 180 views as it was in the corner and had two windows. The cross breeze and view of the green covered mountains was wonderful. At the tail end of our stay we were able to change our room had a perfect view of the ocean. The windows opened and it was as though we had our own balcony with protective bars to waist level. The rose on the bed was a great touch. Staff was so accommodating and yet not overly so, respecting our privacy. We met many folks from the US and Canada (mostly older couples) who had been coming to this hotel for years. I think this is due to the fact that the hotel does not have an over the top feel of a resort, but rather a comfortable to the senses, sensible and calm feel to it. We did not have the inclusive meals, but they looked really well-prepared and enjoyed by those who did. The hotel also has two restaurants as well as buffets in the evening which were really beautiful and festive. No loud music playing or rowdiness...Just a lovely atmosphere.---for hotel guests such as us, weddings, family visits.....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We would have liked a balcony

    The beds were very comfortable. Staff very friendly. Our requests were fulfilled. ie: top floor, 2 full beds and oceanview

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    I would to it again hopefully very soon had a unforgettable ,awsome time , highly recommended .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would get the beach view and not the mountain view you can hear the music from the club across the street which can go till 0300 in the morning :(

    Location ,and price excellent , not to mention the awsome beach which is just feet away ,staff friendly, extra perks like romatic dinner music under the stars next to beach.walking distance to town , busses and shops.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    good acess to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    only one place to eat in the resort, didn't get the room we ordered, elevator was a waiting game,

    acess to town, friendly staff, towel animals :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    8.8
    Happy to be on vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not given the view or the room that we booked online, They weren't willing to change or want to accommodate us in anyway, we had booked 3 rooms which we were able to keep together but each was a downgrade from what we had booked online

    Very nice place, lots of things going on to keep a person busy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Small number of hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small number of hotel staff. poor dinner quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    It was good
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staffs

    I liked that it was close to a lot of stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic place, room was great, had all inclusive package...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two double beds with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, room was great, had all inclusive package and all the food was first class. All the staff were very helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 3 adults beds were too small. Should be queen size . Also too noisy , constant music from the pool area.

    Comfy beds and good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Dining in the evening at the Sunset Grill and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Noise from the bars across the street.

    Dining in the evening at the Sunset Grill and the location with lots of good restaurants across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    checking in ........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in process was worst ever !!!!!took an hour to check into hotel

    location and beach views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    All employees were extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All employees were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Good would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool to shallow and a little to conjested

    Food was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Lots of families. Pool side staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food buffet was expensive

    Beds were very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is food. Beds comfy. Great activity staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    CONVENIENT LOCATION, AND EFFICIENT CHECK IN / CHECK OUT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WOULD LIKE A ROOM WITH KING BED,WHICH WE NEVER GET HERE, AS WE'VE STAYED SEVERAL TIMES.

    BEDS VERY COMFY! PILLOWS GREAT TOO.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Pool side bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pricey drinks

    Pool side bar!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    We have really good impresión of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    We have really good impresión of this hotel. All the employees were great very profecional and kindness thanks to all of you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Excellent place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave and come home

    The activities at the hotel and the staff were helpful and accommodating!👍

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything I was happy with😀

    Would love to stay there again! The location on the beach and the staff were excellent!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everithing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is not bad for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are not isolated and too much noise from street. Also I request for a sea view room and they denied

    Very nice location next to the beach

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice but hard beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music was loud til 4 and bed was very uncomfortable to hard, old and blanket was to heavy.

    Resteraunts very close and good.N

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.7
    I wanted to pay cash and the hotel staff denied my cash...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to pay cash and the hotel staff denied my cash becuase they had already charge my credit card.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Make sure they charge the correct exchange rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was supposed to be charged in Canadian funds with the exchange. They charged me USD exchange.

    Great location!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    4.6
    North Mountain view rooms are super noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality and waiting at the check in& check out. The cleanness of the room The noise of the AC machinery from the building aside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Family friendly kids had a blast at kids pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms hard time opening windows

    Location so close to everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was prety beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was prety beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.9
    Had a great location to many restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    While we were there the power was down for about 4.5 hours and right at check out time. Was difficult to lug our bags down from the 9th floor. Also, I realize we were in another country that's first language is not English but we found it hardq to interact with the staff at the front desk. I would think that the front desk staff should be able to have general conversations with the travelers.

    Had a great location to many restaurants and shops. Very clean and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    6.7
    The location was really good, in front of the beach and with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would not mark it as a 5 star hotel but more on the high 4 stars. If you are used to 5 star service and attention you will be disappointed. The rooms are a bit run down and the doors look very old.

    The location was really good, in front of the beach and with easy access to the town and main attractions. A good place to relax and enjoy the best Ixtapa has to offer.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    7.1
    Nice helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Advertised all inclusive and when we arrived were told it is semi all inclusive. Oy allowed to eat at Buffett. No balconies. People save chairs at beach and pool as early as 6 am and don't show up for hours. Beach chairs have lots of bird poop and never cleaned. There during Super Bowl and were charged. $25 each to watch in hotel lobby. Wait staff gave preferential treatment to guests who were not on all inclusive plan.

    Nice helpful staff Great location Nice pool and beach area Cleaning staff

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.2
    On the beach, friendly staff, close to shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lounge chairs on the beach,manyl had bird droppings, had not been cleaned for a long while.

    On the beach, friendly staff, close to shops and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    7.1
    cleanliess
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    cleanliess

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    5.4
    Really close to transition area for Ixtapa triathlon
    • Group

    Internet connection

    Really close to transition area for Ixtapa triathlon

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    2.9
    nothing really
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no activities, bad service bad food

    nothing really

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    7.1
    The location was excellent, weather was great, locals were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough pool space and weekends were busy. Drinks at pool were expensive.

    The location was excellent, weather was great, locals were friendly.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Emporio Ixtapa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: