Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fontan Ixtapa 4 stars

Boulevard Paseo De Ixtapa, 40880 Ixtapa, Mexico

#17 of 28 hotels in Ixtapa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    very enjoyable. Staff were exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    music too loud around pool and not enough seating on the beach. otherwise very happy with stay.

    Clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Good food, service staff very attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing room, great view, super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was questionable, breakfast and lunch were decent - dinner should be eaten outside the resort, but there are lots of options around. The bed has a pipi pad which makes it pretty uncomfortable.

    Amazing room, great view, super friendly staff! This is a lively resort, with lots of kids. If you don’t want to hang out with Mexicans, go to Florida...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Yes we would stay there again. We really liked the lay out and our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in our room could have used a good power wash and regrouting. It was also the first time we had a hotel take copies of our passports at check it. I was not really comfortable with that. The snack bar is the basic burgers, hot dogs, chip and some bland liquid cheese.. I felt that could use some improvement. Maybe makings for what Americans call nachos. Chips, peco, lettuce, a tastier cheese ect... When the bar in the lobby opened they could have really used 2 bartenders instead of 1.

    We really like the layout of the hotel. The staff in the restaurants, bars and snack bar were very good. The maid service was good. Our room and view were very nice. The food was adequate. Breakfast was always the best. But i'm usually a 2 egg with everything omelet type person. My husband usually does pancakes and fruit. This time he tried the white syrup (he noticed many local using) and said it was sweet and good. But we need to stay away from that lol.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    Not to expensive, but for the same money you can get something much nicer in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The premises appear to be from the 90s and maintenance has not happened recently. I hated that the bars opened just a few hours a day and that the swimming pool, and the bar next to it, closed too early.

    The food was really good, but more variety would have been great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Drinks were good, some hotel staff was more friendly than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They canceled my stay a day before arrival and then kept me on hold for over an hour after explaining my issue and just never picked the call back up, it was extremely frustrating and disappointing to see how little importance they were handling my situation with.

    Drinks were good, some hotel staff was more friendly than others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.6
    Loved the beach and food
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets were wet after the staff would clean them and they smelled. The shower curtains were old had dirty.

    The food was delicious. The shows that were held at night were entertaining and fun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.6
    Staff were great I don't know how they can keep smiling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The influx of people on the weekend - they took over the property and anyone on vacation should just leave for the day - the rooms were poorly maintained. No dressers no plugs anywhere near the bed - TV was a joke -

    Staff were great I don't know how they can keep smiling and being pleasant especially on weekends

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    3.8
    NOT GOOD, Old, smelly dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Catered to local Mexicans and made us white people feel like outsiders Bad rooms in need of repair, dirty, old, hard bed, pee smell in bathroom. Way to busy on the weekend with rude Mexicans

    Location. We were moved to a better room, but still bad. Dirty, old, pee smell in bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    4.6
    The only thing we enjoyed was the beach acess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the rooms (hairs in the shower, in the dryer, mould,...) the NOISE, we were not prevented of ALL NIGHT REPAIR WORK on the main beach front pool, the food was awful. All beverages were of low quality, for fresh coconuts you had to pay extra. Even easy breakfast stuff like chilaquiles were watery and only luke warm. Fruit was bad looking and without taste. All inclusive serving hours were weird. You had to wait every day until 11am to get a beverage even a glass of water at the pool/ beach....

    The beach access was the only thing worth the money we paid. Check in needed repeated supervision of the senior staff. When we asked to switch rooms because of the noise, this -at least- was easily arranged.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Staff was rude and uncooperative when I purchased a day pass for a friend. Issues parking vehicle ev
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, no fridge, no coffee maker

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy and not enough bats open.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Good bang for your buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy with locals. Pools didn’t appear to be extremely clean

    The beds were nice. Location great , food great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was bad. Every item in the buffet did not look appetizing.

    Great location. Facility, and staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.9
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.8
    Massage on the beach and location
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly old and run down.

    Massage on the beach and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    2.5
    Very poor
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.2
    the beach view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the building needs exterior work

    the beach view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    4.6
    Don't waste your money at Fontana ixtapa!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort for local Mexicans. Food was geared to the local Mexican. Stay away from here if you want a quiet vacation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    2.9
    Expensive 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality Dirty floors Bathroom grout black Bathroom curtain too short

    Close to restaurants , just acrossthe street

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation, rooms were in very poor conditions.

    Location and all inclusive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    3.3
    Worst experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst experience ever. Uncomfortable beds Dirty bathroom in our room Rude housekeeping person She did not like us asking to have bathroom cleaned. Someones old soap and razor was left in shower,and I asked everyday to have it cleaned.That shower was NEVER cleaned. She locked us out of our bathroom 3 times, on purpose.Never gave us towels, toilet paper,left our sheets on our bed for us to finish making bed,did not empty waste baskets.Went to desk 3 times and nothing was changed. Night before we left they offered to put us in another room in another area of hotel. Too little too late. Changed hotels to down the street. Had a fabulous experience for 1/3 less cost per night. I do NOT suggest this hotel. Also the swimming pool chairs are impossible to find empty,as it is allowed to reserve them with a towel or whatever, and leave them for hours or all day, leaving guests without a place to sit or lay in the sun. Small children were running up and down the halls screaming and playing some nights past midnight.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    5.0
    The staff in the dining area are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The facilities are clean but they are really dated. They need better music too. It's like we time warped back to the 80's

    The staff in the dining area are amazing. They are friendly and work hard to get drinks out as quickly as possible. They are so appreciative when they get the tips. So so Different from Cancun where they expect big tips

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    8.8
    Loved the friendly staff, great food, overall great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved the friendly staff, great food, overall great experience.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    6.7
    Food and staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Run around on bad bedrooms till we got third room looked at by Huilo

    Food and staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    2.9
    It took over 3 hours to check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It took over 3 hours to check-in. Customer service TERRIBLE! Food barely edible! Rooms barely functional!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    9.2
    The price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nada!

    The price! the pool, the beach, the staff

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: