Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Francia Aguascalientes 4 stars

Avenida Francisco 1 Madero 113-A, 20000 Aguascalientes, Mexico

#13 of 45 hotels in Aguascalientes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 520 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    a bit old fashioned hotel in the very city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast that is included is very poor. Coffee or tea, some toast and some fruit. There is a buffet though, but that's not included. Service at breakfast was slow and not as friendy as at the reception desk. In the rooms there is some sort of aircon, but I tried to lower the temperature a bit, but it didn't make any difference. As the outside temperature at night wasn't that high, we didn't really mind.

    Friendly staff at the reception. Car parking is free, the hotel staff drives it to a location nearby, so you don't have to bother yourself. Hotel is located in the very city centre, which is very handy. Large rooms which are a bit old fashioned (it's quite an old hotel) but large and with good beds. Wifi was okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very helpfull although I speak little Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast includes only 1 juice, 1 coffee and 2 toasted slices of bread, nothing else. Also the airco in the room did not function properly.

    Staff was very helpfull although I speak little Spanish. The location of the hotel -next to the cathedral- is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, but rooms need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious but outdated. The carpet was old and the tiles in the bathroom were a bit crusty.

    Location to Centro historica. Ambiance in lobby area. Great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and worn. We were 2 in a room that slept 4 but there was only one glass, one washcloth, shampoo and soap weren’t replaced. Promised amenities were absent ; for example,coffee was supposed to be in the room, but not

    Large rooms, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We fell in love with Aguascalientes and our accommodations in the Hotel Francia playwd a large part.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is perfect for visiting several different neighborhoods, good restaurants, museums, tour buses, parks and shops with local products. The rooms are spacious, quiet and beds are very comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and the temperature was constant, not always the case in many hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    You always get what you paid for!!Horrible experience !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Buffet Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the hotel appears not even close with wha'ts advertise on all web and hotel pages.furniture its very old and damage,carpets are dirty and stained,applainces don't work and most important beds are old and hard like rocks!!!

    Just the fact that this place is well located in city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    The heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is getting old, Hotel Francia needs a refresh. No more carpets please.

    Location. very best. You can walk anywhere. Top floor has wonderful downtown views. The shower is strong so good. Friendly staff and they also take care of your car. Hotel Francia in Aguascalientes is a very good option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    We seem to have had a much better time than other recent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Buffet Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about.

    We seem to have had a much better time than other recent reviewers. The reception staff were excellent and thoughtful about the lovely room they assigned us. The room was big, bright and although old-fashioned was of time luxury. As a wheelchair user this was splendid, though I didn't have a bath/shower that day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel right in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is rather poor and expensive. Our room's small window was on the inner side without a view. The hotel is a bit old and would need a kind of refreshment.

    This hotel couldn't be better located, right in the city center by the central square. It has everything you can need for a short stay and everything you can expect for a 3-4 star hotel. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet. All in all, you can hardly find a better place in downtown Aguascalientes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    The location is unbeatable for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room I stayed in was on the "outside" not inner part of the hotel, next to some stairs and a generator that went on and off all night.

    The location is unbeatable for the value. Central to the historic square and most tourist attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    This is a beautiful historic hotel in a great location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in house restaurant but many great options nearby

    Great location Sanborns a plus. Near good eats , the historic town square n their locally made stuff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Central location, everything from restaurants to convenient...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Central location, everything from restaurants to convenient stores are close (walking distance). Museum, a park, a street with nothing but bars, and several other entertainment locals are near by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    - Good breakfast with some local food and lots of fruits
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Buffet Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - When I arrived, there was dirty dish near my room door in the hall and it was still there next morning when I came out for breakfast. Perhaps somebody who lived in that room before used room service and ordered food, but I cannot understand why dirty dish was still in the hall when new guest arrived. It was quite unpleasant welcome. - If you don't speak Spanish, you may experience difficulty in communicating (asking for taxi, etc.) with hotel staff.

    - Good breakfast with some local food and lots of fruits - Eager to help staff. For example, problem with a taxi to the airport was solved in 10 minutes maximum and I could see every effort to do that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    i will come back and stay in this nice and cozy hotel has lots of history, will not be eat here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was only a coffe or juice and fruit plate, staff was very inexperience, took a long time for them to come to our table, very unfriendly, if breakfast buffet was to be paid an additional fee many of the food items were not replaced, and were cold. bar staff took a long time to serve our drinks.

    beautiful hotel, next to main plaza, well worth for the price of room, very clean and confortable beds. reception staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.8
    Very good location / This was an Iconic Hotel and is a shame the condition and service right now
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No valet on main entrance / and too much time on getting the car Confussion in my reservation Out of service the hair dryer Daily you have to update your keyroom Out of service the Air conditioning of the room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.8
    Stay here when in Aquascalientes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside facing room - view to alley.

    Comfortable, clean room. Excellent location to see the sights. Nice restaurant next door in shopping mall. Good breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Good internet connection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A perfect location for a short stay in Aguascalientes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee at breakfast was terrible - almost undrinkable.

    The location was perfect - steps from the main plaza. The bed was firm but comfortable. Everything was very clean and the staff were lovely. The cost of the room included a continental breakfast but we paid extra and enjoyed the full breakfast buffet. It was worth it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing objectionable.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service is excelent, great location, very clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Buffet Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the security is not good because anyone can enter the hallway of the rooms, in general very well.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed too small, breakfast included is too poor

    location, very gentle staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    I've stayed in places a tiny bit better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed in places a tiny bit better. But the staff were the best I've ever experienced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Vacation with my family was awesome everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and food exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    When you wake up to bug bites there's not much else to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired property, bed bugs I'm afraid to say

    Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Worth your Money!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, historical

    Location, price, Hospitality, Cleanliness, prompt attention to all needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Great value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fast check-in upon arrival from friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food menue is very small for room service.

    Los servicios del personal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A nice cold day ina Aguascalientes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a minor issue just the shower head needs to be replaced and hot water takes time to run.

    Location near everything you might need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    yes is beatiful and confortable
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 1 night

    yes is beatiful and confortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    in great place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i like

    the beds very cleans and comfort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Old hotel in central location makes this a good choice for exploring a lovely relaxed historical cit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail-Closet door needed replacing - Coffee machine with no coffee.

    Location and size of room were great .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel and view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Centrico

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 4 nights

    more toiletties

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Continental Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was small for a couple; I expected a larger room for the price

    Location is really nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable

    The location is perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Really nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room

    Really nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.4
    Very dirty rooms, bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty rooms, bathrooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Good hotel .. Quality - money fair
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old.. must be renewed some places

    Excellent location. Comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Everyone is very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card problems to get into my room .

    Everyone is very friendly..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room Non Refundable
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there's something wrong with the AC and I don't know if there's a parking lot

    Location was great. Everything was close to me

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    5.8
    The staff was really friendly and helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was too old to charge this price. Definitely not a "5 star" hotel anymore. My pillow was very dirty, seem like someone step on it. The room was big, but bathroom was small, no room to stand between the toilet and the sink. Dirty and old.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful!!! The location was great!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    4.6
    One thing.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Rooms with very poor or I can say NO cleaning, I am 100% sure they just fix beds without changing bed sheets, the first night I asked so they can change my sheets, the lady from front desk was rude by saying if they didnt clean my room that day! What a joke!! Which I responded that was my first night!, 2. Continental breakfast for free??? Thats not even continental breakfast not even fruits and bread in a bag like they just got it from the market! Please what a lack of Service, 3. I called so they can laundry my clothes at lobby they said leave it they will pick it, my surprise is that I arrived at night and no laundry was done! It was still there even though they fix the bed ... after they helped me with the urgent things I called to front desk and asked for the status which a guy replied. I have no idea I just arrived.. Seriously I asked well can You find out?? He said let me see, I heard they gave him instructions and my clothes arrived. The Hotel is nice but Service and some people just dont! Plus is a Hotel which should be attentive and salute clients.

    One thing... Location!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    6.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We ordered room service and the food was inedible, we threw it out. The breakfast consisted of three sugary cereals, bread and a toaster, plus juice and coffee. No coffee maker in the room.

    Nothing. I won't stay at this hotel again

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    excellent central location of hotel, friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have only two minor comments here: --the lighting in bathroom was dim and made it difficult to shave in front of the mirror; --conversations and the TV in the neighboring room (separated only by a locked door) could easily be heard in my room.

    excellent central location of hotel, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room with all needed facilities.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The,shower curtains were too short so the bathroom floor got wet after every use.

    Friendly staff and good value for the money. Located near good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hopeless wifi. Kept cutting off. Both hot and cold taps were warm! Included breakfast next door at Sanborns was more like a lunch buffet. Not an egg in sight

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    6.7
    The site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that I was charged for breakfast despite the fact that it was supposed to be included (something I didn't realise until afterwards). The fact that the louvred windows did no close fully; so that the street noise was not excluded. The fact that the computer toner ran out as I was printing my car reservation form, and there was no replacement. The price during the feria.

    The site. The friendly chambermaid. The helpful young lady in the computer room.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    Everything about this hotel was amazing from the service to...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything about this hotel was amazing from the service to location. Have a beautiful church right behind it and a chocolate shop right down the st. What else could you ask for?

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom and decor a bit grotty and old. Luke warm water in shower. Old fruit for breakfast.

    Excellent location. Spacious room and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    5.4
    Big spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old and dirty hotel. Expensive for what it is.

    Big spacious room. Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    7.9
    Rooms are spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Continental breakfast was poor (not even tea is offered).

    Rooms are spacious.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: