Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Geneve CD de Mexico 5 stars

Londres 130, 06600 Mexico City, Mexico

#77 of 329 hotels in Mexico City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 823 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do better in the cleanliness. Breakfast was moderate. One world travel adapter should be provided for international guests.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed and located in the party area of Mexico city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an odious perfume in the lobby that was utterly suffocating. We found dispensers that were continuously pumping the obnoxious smell throughout the lower level. The others in my party also found the smell difficult to forgive, so while the decor and room were lovely, the lobby smell would keep me from recommending this place.

    The lobby is beautiful and filled with fun historical pieces. We enjoyed the bar with live music.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is a little weak

    We really like this hotel. It’s an interesting historical, character hotel with good sized rooms, helpful staff, comfy beds a good shower and the location is amazing - in Zona Rosa and Little Korea and walking distance to awesome neighbors like Roma & Condesa. For us it’s worth it’s value for a fun chance to explore the historical space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    oddly they charged ten US dollars to just OPEN the minibar? No real complaints tho.

    incredible value, great A/C, really clean and decent location. busy night life in the area but our room was really quiet facing away from street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff of hotel in general is not very friendly. But there is one senior, who was very helpful and friendly - he quickly solved our problem with room during check-in (initially another receptionist couldn't find a solution) and then we have the nice small talks with him during our stay in this place.

    Beautiful lobby, tasty and cheap breakfast buffet (~11 $/person). I recommend to have a breakfast in the hotel because the quality / price is much better in comparison with the places around. The comfort of room is 4.3 (from 5). The room was clean, but for example bathroom needs a renovation. On the other hand, it's historical hotel (> 100 years old) and we expected such situation. Very good location of this hotel - interesting night life in this district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad AC fan noise,we changes rooms ,not much better. Too noisy to run all night. The only disappointment,everything else excellent.

    Great location,style ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't book massages etc due to low availability (even though we were told pre-booking not available until we got to the hotel) no steam in the steam room and only open 2 hours a day

    Big bedrooms and extremely comfy beds Shower was super powerful Near to restaurants, bars and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Historical hotel nicely updated. The junior suite was roomy and comfortable, the staff are always friendly and the location is convenient for transport to various parts of Mexico City

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Bed

    The breakfast was great as well a Bar inside the hotel "Phone Bar" I believe was the name, they have a collection of old phones and a Live Band all nights. Fully Equipped Gym and close to Angel de la Independencia and many Bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We loved Hotel Geneve de Mexico! The building looked very elegant, historical and extremely well decorated. As soon as you walk in from the huge entrance, you feel like royalty. The lobby was so well designed with antique sofas, flower arrangements, enormous book shelves and old paintings, we had to stop and take photos inside the hotel even before going out to explore the city! The bar inside the hotel was super nice and cosy. The rooms and the bed were incredibly huge, clean and very comfortable. Plus, it was well secured, as the access to upper floors and the rooms were only available by scanning room cards in the elevators.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i never try to drive in Mexico City as a visitor.

    the hotel was wonderful , i want back to Mexico to the same hotel, i only suggest to check the size beds, if the hotel improve to Queen beds over the full bed for the rooms be awesome I am really thankful with Mrs Ariel he is a great concierge, I really want to name each employee, but they are a lot and all of them give us a great service, they love their job. The hotel have a lot of history,is really pretty and the people are very kind. The neighborhood is safety, with good restaurants, transportation possibilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not much that I did not like about this place. If you are looking for a charming older hotel then I do not think you could go wrong here...complete with doormen in tails and top hats at a very reasonable price. Of course Sheratons and the like are very nice properties but if you love the charm of these older hotels I can't see how you could go wrong here...and all at about one third the price I would expect to pay at a similar property in my home country.

    I really enjoy these older period hotels. This place had lots of old world charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went out around 11am came back 6pm my room wasn't made ..had to call 3 times to ask for extra towels it took aroun 90min

    I like the location is close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room could have been more consistently cleaned. I used the coffee maker every day and sometimes it wasn't clean. Once I found the used coffee bag in my shoe. Also bottled water should be provided more regularly since it's not advisable to drink tap water. For business travelers a better desk chair and lamp would be nice.

    The room was a good size and the bed comfortable. I had a quiet room in the back of the building which was fine. The hotel itself is like a big pink museum--quite beautiful with lots of history and culture there. Staff were professional, friendly and helpful. I tried the breakfast buffet once, which was excellent--lots of different authentic Mexican food. The location is rather central and public transport is pretty efficient (once you figure out how to use it).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just would have liked for the AC to blow out cooler air than it did. I barely felt the AC in the room.

    Felt very secure with doorman’s in the front and in the lobby prior to getting on the elevators.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean, bed too soft. Requested one bed on an upper floor when booked online, but was given a room with two full beds on the second floor overlooking a roof.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    In 8 days room service could never get simple things right. Housekeeping too. It.s as if nobody ever trained them/ .

    Ariel, the Concierge is world class. Helpful, creative and kind. We loved the atmosphere of the old hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathtub was leaking. It happened to our friends' room too.

    The historic elements are nicely displayed. The fragrance in the lobby smells great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to shower without getting bathroom floor wet. A/C was loud. Zona Rosa has become a loud party zone at night, but hotel was peaceful.

    Historic hotel well preserved. Friendly staff. Spacious room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone bar drinks. Lovely spot. Half things not available on drinks menu

    The hotel is beautiful and excellent value for money. The phone bar needs to lift its game. Second visit and still no wine selection, they run out of orange juice??? And the cocktails are VERYweak. Would stay again though as I love the hotel. Verandah restaurant is ok too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the bathroom. When taking a shower the whole for is flooded. Ned some work

    I love this hotel is very different from other places I stay before. You feel like entering a museum. Overall everything was good with staffs and facility. Everyone greet you with a smile

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, tiny bathroom, no view, and just coffee, no tea in room

    Quiet room, amazing public spaces, beautiful bar. Breakfast/lunch room was so Zen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast restaurant is not enough for the guests. I had to wait for 10 minutes to get to the table. What was weird is there were empty tables while we are waiting. I couldn’t know why.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was Awful . Looked out over a horrible view of ugly metal . Obviously they were staining or varnishing something on our floor because there was a strong chemical smell the entire time. Finally I encountered at least two VERY RUDE front desk staff who seemed extremely annoyed with my poor Spanish

    Location , most of the staff , lobby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no bellhop valet immediately available at my check in, but I saw them most times in the lobby. Sometimes there is limited English with staff, but they will find another staff member to interpret. Had the sense I personally did well since I can speak very limited Spanish. I suspect this could be a bit of issue for others if your Spanish is really bad? Check out was a little slow because I had an open incidentals account to pay for although I requested they organize it hours before my check out, so could not run out the door. The room services staff were surprised to have the orders not paid in cash, and I had to insist to remind them about my open account for charges. You have to specially request to set up an open incidentals account, even for the minibar. Over eager maid service in morning will not let you sleep in, there is no do not disturb sign available. Morning types would not mind, but if you have a late night out the frequent door knocks and shouting back to them is super annoying all morning long, but on the positive the room is always cleaned well.

    Great decor and the theme of displaying historical items like a museum gallery in the lobby. Nice flowers and room furniture, even basic rooms are spacious with big closets and drawers. Fans of Art Nouveau will appreciate their large banquet hall by the lobby. In house spa treatments are good quality and price. A lot of gym equipment and tanning bed. Very clean. 24 hour room service with good Mexican food, and a pizza deal. This is a quality hotel for an amazing price and good location. Concierge services are incredible, set up tours with day notice. Staff very good, always extremely polite and deferential to guests. If you like to tip for good service you will get increasingly excellent service. Only 2 blocks from Insurgentes metro station and near the Reforma avenue, in the heart of Zona Rosa, and La Condesa not too far.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stuff does the work, but that’s it. they dont try to be great or really nice. at least not in the reception. the concierge on the other hand was extremely helpful and very nice.

    the areas in the hotel are really nice and interesting! the var and restaurant are so pretty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double beds that are not very stable, old facilities, shower that was leaned towards the wall. Heater didn't work.

    Vintage lobby and restaurants interior. Almost a museum in the lobby. Staff is polite. Close to restaurants and Paseo de la Reforma.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks like a hunted hotel with a terrible Smell in Rooms and hallways. They have dolls hanging on some walls and it's very creepy. Beds are ok but rooms are old and bathrooms need urgent repair. Staff was not as involved or helpful with guests. Would not recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Unfortunately, there are still many roads under construction in this neigbourhood, so dust is everywhere! The room smelled to tobacco.

    Staff is very corteous. Location is perfect and there is a metro station 2 blocks away. Plenty of restaurants to choose from within a short walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room that was assigned to me, was a little too basic for my taste. There has been some renovations going on in a few rooms nearby, so the smell was not bearable. The staff was very nice about it and offered a better room in a different area of the hotel.

    Great staff! They are extremely nice and very eager to help. The lobby is phenomenal!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was not ready when we arrived even though we arrived far later than the check in hour, it took them like an hour to have it ready and have to press them to at least get a complementary drink which they gave without precisely a smile on their faces. The hot tub was full of mushrooms and the water came out of it and flooded the whole bathroom. The room was poorly decorated and not cozy at all, and the floor was tilted, felt like going up a slope every time we walked around. The view of our room was to some ugly back part of the building, all we could see was some ventilation pipes and decaying walls, for being in a 4th floor in the middle of Mexico city that was pretty disappointing.

    The lobby is very pretty (the only pretty part of the hotel), and the location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit older so naturally things weren't as nice clean and new anymore.

    Very classical, it felt like a scene from Downton Abbey or as though one was back in the 1920s. Staff was very prim and proper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was listed as a 5 star property and while the quality of the common areas qualify as 5 star because of the history and grandeur , the rooms themselves were underwhelming and closer to 3 star quality. There was major street construction all around the hotel, which made it difficult for taxis and uber drivers to find their way to the front entrance - we often had to walk a few blocks over to meet the driver. Additionally, the original room in which we were placed had been freshly painted and smelled overwhelmingly of fresh latex paint. In my opinion, that room should have been left to air-out before booking guests. I complained and we were narrowly accommodated with another room, but the new room had a smaller full sized bed (painted room was king sized) - fortunately my wife and I are small people, but a larger person would have been out of luck. Additionally, the area in which this hotel is located (Zona Rosa) has a vibrant night life - great if you love going out to party, not so great if you want to get a quiet nights sleep. We heard people and cars yelling on the street at all hours of the night.

    The aesthetic of the lobby and other common areas was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. My wife kept telling me that she felt like she was on the set of "Gran Hotel" (for those of you familiar with the Spanish show). The rooms, sheets and bathroom were clean if a bit dated. The hotel is very centrally located and walking distance to the Angel of Independence.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been nice if the shampoo/soap/water bottles would be replenished each time the room was cleaned (if they had been used). also would have been nice to have an extra blanket in the closet. It got chilly at night and the heater wasn't very warm. i am sure if we asked they would have provided it, however as a general rule I think it would be good to have the blanket in the room.

    the hotel has lots of character! It is a nice alternative to the generic chain hotels. it doesn't have all the amenities of the newer hotels but it makes up for that in charm and character. Good value for money too. the bathrooms are old but clean and in good working condition.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the front desk is kinda of... We booked room for 3 ppl but she gave everything including breakfast coupon, wifi login and beds for only 2. So we had to go back and asked for a lot of changes.

    The location is great. The room is pretty spacious. There are so many restaurant and places to go around the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is a machine in the lobby that sprays perfume in the air, it is way too strong to be pleasant. unfortunately the restaurant doesn't serve much of Mexican food

    the long history of the place and the décor. the service was very good and it was very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was small so always quite crowded. There are good coffee shops close by however!

    We stayed in a wonderful suite, huge amount of space for the money. One of the best hotel showers ever. The location in Zona Rosa is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Breakfast is a 5 star joke and unaccepatble in every aspect. -Bathroom is not clean and completely worn out -No replacement of towels.

    the design of the lobby is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood of Zona Rosa has gone downhill over the last few years, not great for families with young children. Stayed there over the weekend and could hear at night the noise of the surrounding discos, fortunately wasn't too loud so managed to sleep but could still hear it.

    Beautiful vintage property with very nice lobby. Great buffet breakfast. Close to many restaurants and shops, very central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More attentive staff. A couple times calling the front desk for various requests (room service) or additional towels took a long time. Cleaning service took a long time too- afternoon and not morning.

    The hotel was beautiful...retro and history preserved nicely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were terrible, totally unhelpful, didn’t tell us about any of the on site facilities, or any information on the area we were in, called our room at 5am on the first night for a wake up call we didn’t ask for, cancelled our room keys a day before we checked out, the WiFi was terrible. In all honesty it was very overpriced for what it was and the service was really bad. Hate giving negative reviews but I’m just so unimpressed.

    The beds were big and comfortable The cleaners were very sweet as was Guadalupe in the ‘business centre’ who helped us print our boarding passes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribe remote control to TV. Replacement was no better.

    Courteous, attentive staff made my first time stay a wonderful experience at this beautiful, historic hotel. Plus I made new friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very outdated and despite booking a double room (and emailing to ask) we got a room with two double beds. Air conditioning was quite noisy, the hotel felt over priced compared to other options in Mexico City.

    Location was good and generally staff were friendly (apart from reception). Bed was also very comfy and had an incredibly powerful shower. The safe was broken in the room and staff came very quickly to fix it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roads under construction.

    Excellent location near services of travelers needs. Well preserved interesting historical pieces, Like a museum inside! Staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn't think the breakfast was good value but really that is a very minor thing.

    Beautiful property with a lot of character. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel is located in a safe and central area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that I stayed in was ok, but just ok, it kind of broke the enchantment of the whole place. It felt not classical but just old. The bed was to stiff and the carpet felt not that clean. The pillows were too big.

    The hotel is not just a place to stay, it's an experience. You can watch amazing paintings right at the entrance, exactly the same place where you can pick up a phone on an old phone booth and listen to the voice of the mexican ex president Porfirio Diaz. The staff knows the history of the hotel who has more than 100 years of existence, and they are really warm persons.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving this experience was traumatic.

    Fantastic hotel! Yesteryear charm like an old exclusive club superbly located with great staff. I'll never stay at another hotel if visiting Mexico.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room. Breakfast wasn't great - prefer fresh as opposed to dishes sitting in buffet. Pastries dry.

    The concierge was outstanding in helping us experience the city. Ariel went out of his way to get difficult reservations and event tickets, and was a kind and informative in introducing us to the culture. All the staff, restaurant and room, were helpful, kind and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing wrong with the hotel but the restaurants in Zona Rosa have changed for the worse. Seem to be all beer and burgers with loud music. Used to be more international.

    Beautiful hotel in the Zona Rosa. Comfortable, excellent and helpful staff. Good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed brunch. My fault.

    I loved everything. This place had the best service of any hotel I've stayed in EVER. I will stay here EVERY time I come to Mexcio City!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not everything is perfect, due to the age of hotel, but this is why the hotel is so special.

    This hotel sets the standard in Mexico city. Great location, with everything you need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hadn't realised quite how much of the cost wasn't included in the price displayed on Booking.com - an extra 19%. Bit of a shock, although if you read all the small print it does tell you. Also the road was closed so the taxi couldn't get close and circled several times before realising it was impossible. Presumably this will be resolved at some point in the future but the road was entirely dug up so it will be a while.

    Nice hotel, nice bar & lobby, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with our room which was located on the lower ground floor between the kitchen area and the event hall. Our room had no view at all and no natural light. The frosted "window" was facing the event hall. We weren't keen on the caged birds in the breakfast area either.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel's interior is intriguing displaying a number of historical paraphernalia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was rather small, I know the hotel was over a hundred years old but we were cramped. Small restroom and NO wash towels. However we have found this to be true not only here but through out Mexico and other southern countries. Please can you get wash cloths in the rooms. Hotel restaurant did not have good selection, room service menu better and the SANBORN'S attached was better. The clam chowder I had in the main restaurant was terrible and pricey. We stuck to SANBORN'S, better prices and better food. We had to carry our bags quite a distance to the taxi because of repair to the street (LONDRES) in front. Same anytime we needed a taxi. Not good especially for me since I had had back surgery a few months back and using a home made cane. Had left my cane at home. I will probably go back, but hope I can get closer to ZOCALO. LMS

    I liked the history of the hotel. I liked the staff as a whole, friendly and helpful. The young lady who cleaned our room did a very good job.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there is a lot of construction around those streets and it is difficult to access the hotel.

    The museum they have inside the hotel. Awesome history.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    Once you are in your room, the comfort level is acceptable. Construction has blocked access to the hotel. Our taxi dumped us over two blocks from the entrance to the hotel. One of us has very limited mobility and it was midnight in a very iffy neighborhood. Drug dealers and male prostitutes approached us as we were trying to find the hotel afoot. When we reached the hotel there were only two very small lightbulbs lighting the lobby. And it seemed very dark and creepy. The desk clerk would not get someone to show us where the elevator was nor help us find our rooms. It was down a maze of very dark hallways with dingy lights, paint, and carpet. And when we brought these problems to the manager, he just did not care. There are other historical properties in which to stay in D. F. All of which are much more accommodating and a better value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone started working out around 6am and I could hear the whole think from my room; it sounded like someone was tearing down a wall. When I called the front desk, they told me that they couldn't do anything about it because the person working out was a guest..but what about me? Was I not a guest too? Besides, what was more important working out or having some decent sleep? Seems like they had their priorities wrong. Not a happy experience.

    Staff was very friendly, the front desk and lobby were very nice, the staff was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road outside is being renovated, and this was not shared before our stay, so we could not get near the front entrance with our cab. It was pouring with rain when we arrived, so not happy! They could very easily have communicated that you can enter through another entrance on another street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service was all right, especially the concierge and the security personal. I ordered some food to the room and the men were polite and once didn't take so long. Front desk didn't exist, not nice or ugly, just ok, not impressed.

    It is an old historical hotel and that is, lives from its reputation. No doubt of his pass grandeur, but now looks worn out and it looks like is more interested in the events that holds for companies or tv novellas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loby is inded very elegant but the room is very uncomftable. We were 3 in a room with two doble beds. The beds are uncomftable. bed side table or reading lamp only on one side of the bed. The room was not prepared for 3.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff could have warned us about the construction noise (day and some nights, through the night) and offered to accommodate us in a room away from the most direct noise.

    Amazing historical/museum like property!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost was more than I was lead to believe via booking.com

    Staff was wonderful, extremely comfortable and spotless. The x9mfortbale bed was 5 stars easily. Just a beautiful hotel, historical, well and authentically maintained. Waa very glad I chose it for my trip to Mexico City

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here before and it seems they let some things go unfixed. The lamps in the room were almos coming off the wall. And lamp shades broken.

    Awesome hotel, a lot of history and a lot to do and see around the place. Service is really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many streets in area and street in front, were torn up making it difficult to get around. It is in the Zona Rosa which is in decline from its better days. But! It is renewing, hence all the work, and once all of that is completed it should be much better.

    Staff was great. Food and service we very good. It is one of the oldest hotels in the city and on main floor has a museum like quality. It is close to two major blvds and Chapultepec park, which is fascinating and only about a 1.5 walk. Probably get there as fast walking as you would in taxi or Uber because of traffic. You see a lot more walking. Plus, you'll feel better about all the food And deserts you've been eating. Cost of hotel is probably half of what hotels on Reforma Blvd cost. I paid about $114 per night. But that included some meals in Veranda restaurant and a couple small bar tabs. Again, staff was great, helpful and friendly. The concierge will help you set up tours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire area around the hotel is currently a construction zone with bulldozers, open trenches and dirt everywhere. Come back to this otherwise beautiful historic hotel next year (2018) once they complete renovations, and make sure to ask for a quiet room. On our first night we were completely unable to sleep due to the very loud music coming from the two bars adjacent to the hotel. The music stopped only after 5am. The other room they gave us was much better.

    This is a large and beautiful hotel with an amazing history dating 110 years back. Winston Churchill and many other prominent figures stayed there, there are historic artifacts everywhere. Staff is very helpful. The neighborhood seems to be purposefully designed for foreign visitors with an incredible concentration of bars, coffee shops, fast food places and grocery stores. Even despite the construction going on, the area feels safe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit dark. The bathroom would need renovation. The safe was not working.

    Very good location, nice historical building, professional service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This historic hotel has a unique ambience and is a comfortable option in Zona Rosa, walking distance from the new Reforma 222 shopping mall and many restaurant and bar options. It has free parking facilities for guests and friendly helpful staff. It makes a good base for activities in Mexico City

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street in front of the hotel is now on a construction working, so we can not park our car to drop our luggages ,it's not the fault of the hotel,we know.but parking is not available also. hotel offers another place to park with some small extras.it's ok but inconvenient.

    Great lobby area! It's worth seeing,sounds like staying in a museum.also a room is spacious. Stuffs in the reception are not too cheerful but very helpful. One Concierge so kindly helped us to know the way for driving to a pyramid, show us the detail and gave us copies of map, was really helpful! We enjoyed staying , experienced grand classic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    non-commital welcome at reception when first arriving

    the character of the hotel the bell-boy keeping a look out and helping us with our luggage from the taxi by coming down the street which is being dug up at the moment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no soundproofing in the rooms. Heard people in next room as if they were at the end of our bed. Tile floors in hall amplified the wheels of all suitcases as they rolled by and voices of people talking. Maid didn't clean glasses or coffee cups or vacuum room very well

    Beautiful lobby with stained glass and lots of memorabilia.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    uncomfortable beds and they charged twice my card. I had to stop the payment from my end, lots of trouble

    Great staff but the hotel needs upgrading. i would not stay again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homophobic manager that harrased us in our honey moon... kept on saying that wedding pictures are only for bride and groom.... They haven't realized that they are located in the middle of the gayest zone of DF ... Shame on this place... We got married in Coyoacan and stayed here to hear this! NEVER AGAIN!

    The facility, is really beautiful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel Geneve is all charm and old Mexico City. The hotel itself is a destination to explore. The light filled garden restaurant is the perfect spot to have a morning cafe con leche and plan your day. Can't say enough about the staff who were helpful, knowledgeable and endlessly patient with three over 70's ladies who had about 10 words of Spanish between us. And, by the way, it's location in the Zona Rosa put us within easy reach of many of our tourist sites.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid for a "Deluxe room," yet when I arrived at the hotel the person working the reception desk tried to move me into a very small room way in the back with a very uncomfortable bed. When I asked, I was moved to another room. Also, the plumbing was in bad shape. it took a while to figure out how too make the shower work.

    Beautiful old building, spacious comfortable room, and comfortable bed. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are average for a 3/4 star hotel.Pillows could be improved, while the bed is comfortable, the pillows are not.

    The hotel is beautiful , pretty well maintained.Comfortable beds, quiet bedrooms .Easy access to restaurants and public transportation.Taxi facilitated by the hotel is a plus.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Geneve CD de Mexico traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: