Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa - All Inclusive (Adults Only) 4 stars

Boulevard Kukulcan Km14.5 Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#79 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was kinda old style .

    They provide friendly service .. but the room was too old and it is kind of expensive to pay for these much for this level hotel. But it’s in Cancun I guess that’s what you can get it this much of money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was average size, beds was full size and was to be a king. Had a musty odor when you would come into the room even used air freshner and didn't help. Hot tub was very cold and could of been so nice with the size and location it was at.

    Staff very friendly most part the food was good, some plates are smaller portions served. The drinks was good tasting and they would try to make almost anything you could think of was very pleased! Very nice pool and nice to see the activities going on also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi costing 70$ a week. The quality of the house wine was not good, especially as I don’t drink spirits or cocktails..

    The restaurants, selection and quality of the food was very good. The staff were very friendly, hardworking and efficient. The location was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in deep need of TLC. And, as many stated before, the fact that you need to pay for internet.

    Amazing staff, good food, the fresh juice bar at breakfast was an awesome perk. The crepes station in the lobby, an excellent idea. Great location, close to everything if you need to go out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little tired and need updating..there needs to be better, brighter lighting especially in the bathroom.

    The staff was great..the food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not free, cocktails are not strong at all, watered down. Massages are very over priced, cheaper to go into town for one !

    Great value, very relaxing, terrific food options ! Beds were extremely soft and overall beautiful hotel !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thing with reviews is...its a matter of taste. And sadly the Golden Parnassus was definitely not to our taste. The food was bland, the service was lacklustre and unenthusiastic and the facilities are tired. Not sure how it has a 4* rating...but is barely a 3* in my opinion. In terms of value for money I would suggest that there are much better options available in Cancun. I would not stay there again, it is overpriced for what you get and we received little in the way of care or service from the staff

    Hard to find much to compliment the resort on...you can tell that 'once upon a time' it was probably quite a beautiful place, but its become the rest that time forgot. The beach is beautiful but the constant sales pitches from cigar sellers got a bit tiring

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for wifi and bottles of water even though it's meant to be all inclusive. Doesn't quite make sense since you can't drink the water from the taps.

    Great resort activities that everyone can participate in. Food is great and all the wait staff are so lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn't deep enough literally that's the only downside but the beach is right there and they do have activities all day so yea can't complain.

    Great place to get away with my wife you can't go wrong here

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have booked the shuttle through you but we found out last minute that the resort did not provide that. Anyway it was troublesome!

    Buffet was very good. The steakhouse was mediocre. Asian restaurant was also good. Late night ice cream bar was awesome. Activities were really nice and the staff was particularly nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was a little disorganised

    The hotel is lovely, great facilities and the staff were excellent particularly the wait and bar staff who couldn't do enough for us, always friendly and smiling. The rooms were great, comfy beds and the pool area was perfect, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The acoustics in this hotel are appalling - noise can be heard at all hours in the rooms. As reported in other reviews the beds are too short. Offering 9 pesos exchange rate for Canadian dollars is very unfriendly towards the resorts clients. The resort has a few beach relaxing beds with mattresses available for $80 US dollars per day - no one rented them because the price is outrageous and very unfriendly towards the resorts clients. The resort is tired and "tacky" looking.

    All the waiters, bartenders, resort staff etc were very helpful and very friendly. The specialty restaurants offered great selection and very good food. The waiters in all restaurants were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist lacked customer service skills. Power went out for 3 hours. Staff did not address the issue, they did not offer any safety lighting (flashlights, candles), did not offer any additional support. We had to miss out on a show and we couldn't get a refund, the receptionist just said sorry. Alcohol was very cheap. Food was hoooorible. Ordered room service 3 times and. 2 out of the 3 times, my food came time cold. They charged for everything! You couldn't even make a local phone call or else they would charge you.

    Bartenders were awesome. Resort right on beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    closet doors were in hallway very narrow.. some lights didn't work.. no transportation to airport

    Location was amazing.. Our Room was perfectly located.. access to pools/bars/dining areas were close by

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Old hotel, Wi-Fi extra, frigobar extra, with a cost very very high. Atmosphere Like sono hospital. Safebox of about 30 years ago. With key that You must bring with You.. No car valet. You must park your car. Old pool. Dont suggest everyone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have not been disappointed a lot of times with ratings I see on Booking.com, but this was the first time that the actual property were a serious let down. This resort is a 3 star at most. Waited 20 minutes to go through check-in process while there were no else but me and a friend to check in. No welcome drink. Its old and dated and needs a lot of TLC. Noisy AC. The hotel open bar is to close to the bedroom areas and there are a lot of noise. The variety of liquor to choose from does not make it worth to pay for all inclusive.

    Beach were nice and comfortable beach area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food portions in some restaurants small. Not all restaurants are open every day.

    the staff were very friendly and attentive. On the beach and great views. if you want to stay at resort the whole time they have stores and shopping. if you want to book day tours or taxi out they are great at making arrangements quickly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed were small. I'm 5'7" and my feet hung over bed if your lay straight out! No refrigerator in room. First 2 small bottles of water are free but if you want more. They will charge you. WIFI is not free as I was told.

    Staff was very helpful & friendly! Beautiful beach! Good food! The guest were friendly so it made the experience very nice!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room smelled musty most days.

    The location was excellent. The water was so blue. I loved being able to release sea turtles. Such a great thing you guys are doing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    FREE WIFI WOULD BE NICE, ALSO IF THEY HAD SOME REFRIGERATORS IN THE ROOMS WOULD BE NICE.

    THE STAFF WAS SO VERY NICE AND ACCOMIDATING.WE WOULD GO BACK. THE FOOD WAS GOOD,EVERYONE IN THE RESTURANTS AND THE BUFFET WAS SUPER NICE.LOVE HOW YOU DON'T HAVE TO WALK A MILE TO GET TO THE BEACH, IT IS JUST THROUGH THE ENTRY AND DOWN STAIRS TO THE POOL AND BEACH.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi should either be included in the price for the room, or if it is an extra fee, it should be for unlimited devices.

    Service was amazing. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful and 100% accommodating. They made our stay a blast! Also, room service was unlimited and free, and that was a very nice aspect. Rooms were kept clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This resort is not ideal for a guys trip in their 20's and 30's. Activities during the day are geared towards older crowd. One staff member was rude telling me to "pay for the hotel or leave", the first time he asked, when I was ready to pay whenever asked. Also wifi was sold in 1 day or 3 day packages and though I was staying for three days, they did not offer me the 3 day package when I asked for wifi on the first day, and ended up paying more than I should have.

    Staff was friendly with the exception of a couple members. Food was above expectations. The restaurants open for dinner were fantastic. Amenities were great. On-site bars were pretty fun as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY thing I could say is the air conditioning didn't remove the moisture from the air. We laid out clothes to dry every night and they were just as damp the next morning...

    It was a great stay. Good value and extra friendly staff...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff were quite rude and sarcastic

    Fantastic resort with great atmosphere! Loved the buffet and food selection. Bar and restaurant staff were lovely. Pool and beach is so clean and nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is the best I have ever see anywhere before

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge 15usd per day for internet. Even the worst hostel has free internet in mexico.

    Staff nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi and the bed was small

    No car

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is too old

    The hotel is next to the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    not user friendly, extra charge for everything, no manager on premises when needed, would not take my group back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watered down drinks. Noises hallways

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shallow pool, everything is old, not much upgrades

    Location right on the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be updated

    Staff was excellent !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi, no mini fridge in our room

    Excellent staff. Good restaurants. Great cocktails

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food and the price

    food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor condition and in bad need of an upgrade. The staff saved the day

    good location and great food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food and staff exellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No magnifying mirror in the bathroom to do make up. Needs a pool bar.

    The staff were friendly and food was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no free wi-fi. either make it cheaper or include it in the package.

    cleanliness, friendliness of staff, good food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wifi.

    Friendly staff! Alfonzo and Jose are great! Excellent restaurants! Awesome tiki bar with great view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the elevators was broken

    Staff was super friendly and helpfu, always had a smile on their face.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lagoon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food! The beach! The staff! EVERYTHING!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would be lying if I didn't say that this hotel is in need of refurbishment. Bathroom lighting is poor and rooms are a little tired. But it is the staff and the people that will help you overlook this everytime. Anyway, who spends a lot of time in their room when the sun is shining?

    5th Time to GP. I love it and it is the best holiday ever. The staff and the people you meet are absolutely amazing and you will have so much fun. Seek out Fonzy, Jose, Carlos, Fermin and Moses who are truly the most amazing barmen you will ever meet.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish there had been more Mexican food

    Great omlets! Oscar was absolutely amazing!!! Bar staff were very attentive and courteous. Many restaurants and never had to wait in line

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Front desk staff (attitude/arguing w. us) 2. HUGE cockroach in our room / bug shell in our bed / dirty floors w. hair / empty shampoo bottle in our closet (previous stay) 3. Staff thought we lied about bugs / asked if we took pictures of the bug 4. I hung my red silk robe in the bathroom - it was gone & never recovered 5. Room change at 11:00pm 6. Restaurants closed early 7. Only 2 bars open, one closed early 8. Front desk staff lied about giving us our upgrade money back in full (in pesos) & didn't fulfill our request to have it in American dollars. 9. Dirty plates in the hallways from room service 10. Something fell through the ceiling in the lobby late at night. 11. Female Expedia representative wouldn't refund our one excursion and assured us that taking the public bus alone was okay. For someone that has never been to Mexico, it did not sit well with us.

    The bartenders were amazing! The food was okay but there weren't enough options.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No need for the new "for pay" tiki Hut beds. They do not fit this resort's friendly all inclusive approach. Put some regular lounge chairs in the huts and get over that goofy idea of charging extra to sit in the shade.

    Staff were attentive and attentive as usual.Been there many times. Service on the beach begins nice and early. Always like the omelets to oder. Also like the crepe station. The poolside "entertainment" was less noticeable which was appreciated. Was upgraded to ocean side.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The worst reception staff we have ever experienced. Rude and indifferent would describe the young lady who checked us in. She did not provide any information about the hotels facilities and we had to approach the desk to ask for maps etc. Three requests got us a TV that worked properly and the hotel was extremely noisy.

    Nice beach and pool area.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish a little more light in the bathroom in front of the mirror. It's dark

    We have been to this same resort 8 times in the last 4 years and feel like part of a huge family when we are there. Staff and other guests are always so kind and friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    having no wifi in my room, going to the lobby is a huge pain.

    All the staff made you feel very welcome. the hotel is clean and really enjoyed the Spa as well.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible Wi-Fi , if you pay for Wi-Fi , you can use only one point in the lobby . Sun beds are nightmare, if you want sun bad, you must wake up all night..,

    Sea, beach,

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi is expensive and unreliable. Building is showing some signs of age, but staff keep it meticulously clean. The shower was anemic. The hotel can be kinda noisy due to the tiled floors, open atrium and wind from the beach. We brought ear plugs but never needed them

    Staff are amazing, friendly, funny, hardworking, you never have to wait too long for a drink. Lots of activities. Food was pretty good and lots of variety, enjoyed having so much fresh fruit in January. Absolutely stunningly beautiful beach; we watched spectacular sunrises from our balcony every morning, coffee in hand! Beds are too short but comfy enough. Almost all of the guests are there to have a happy, friendly time, we've never laughed so much on a vacation!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - all towels are old and not fresh - no any place\device to dry Your wet beach swim-wear in the room or balcony - thanks to sale, we got it for less money, it would be a big fail to pay full price - for those, who like luxury rest - it's not 5*

    -beach is perfect - rooms with sea view and lagoon view are both good - after check out You can still use beach and have food, waiting for your departure

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not enough activities and way short on beach and pool chairs

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How the staff is now so stand offish due to management

    Seeing all the friendly faces that are always there. The staff that we love just like family!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner at some of the restaurants were very disappointing. Buffet was good and so was the Shangri La

    loved the resort and the staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need to pay for the WiFi

    The sea view is awesome

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't really enjoy the beach party atmosphere that was always happening

    beaches

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to complain. Everything was amazing especially the entertainment staff... Carlos and Elias made you feel like family.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wished it had entertainment at night or at least music.

    Liked the size of facility, location, staff, and cleaniness.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Construction looks very old

    stuff are well trained and enjoying entertainment

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa - All Inclusive (Adults Only) traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: