Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Panama Jack Resorts Gran Porto Playa del Carmen All Inclusive 4 stars

Constituyentes No 1, 77780 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#40 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 344 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt swim in majority of ocean on private beach due to seaweed and sharp rocks (I can get over seaweed but the rocks sucked). Drinks were very inconsistent with a few being undrinkable or tasting like perfume. Shower took about 4 minutes to come to temp and was very hard to regulate. Restauarants mostly uninspired with a few having vague attire requirements (resort casual means no tanks for men but for women its ok? Confusing until you walk from the room to the restaurant and are told what to change)

    Amiable staff helped with suggestions of local restaurants and were consistently polite. While the food was uninspired it was consistently good enough to eat and feel happily full and a few items stood out as actually pretty good. I reccomend getting a room here that allows you to use the facilities at "The Royal" next door as the food and drinks and pool are markedly better in my opinion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room near the pool & it is really loud at night time, it echos through the hall & from the bar near the pool so bring ear plugs if your a light sleeper

    Nice property prob best if you have kids, it was nice on the water & the pool is good. Service from staff is lovely too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was really disappointing about this location, and the city in general, was the beaches. They were over-run with seaweed and Panama Jacks access to the beach is really poor. The hotel itself was wonderful and the staff was great.

    Gorgeous views and wonderful pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sushi bar takes a considerable long time to serve.

    The breakfast buffet is incredible! The staff is very helpful and nice, they also gave me so many recommendations for my trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms because didn’t get a ocean front first night like we paid. Then got a ok room. Hard to make reservations to Italian restaurant but not busy so got in. Time share people nagging us. Can’t take no for answer.

    Beds were comfortable. Got a ok view. Staff pretty friendly. Food pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cheap looking hotel (doesn’t look like in the pictures) 2. TV and WiFi didn’t work 3. Cheap drinks 4. Horrible food 5. Extremely loud. You could listen everything going on inside and outside the hotel. 5. Totally overpriced More like a “fancy”, old Hostel... Don’t waste your money by staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property isn’t a time share but sells a vacation type of package that resembles a servey. The people who try and snag you are in blue shirts. If you get sucked in it’s about a 3 hour deal. Just keep telling them no no matter what. They will bug you every time you go to the lobby but be assertive. If you want a package to stay there multiple times a year for a lot of money go for it. If I had known this a head of time I would still have stayed but the heads up would have been nice.

    The food was amazing and so was the room. We stayed in the suites what had beach access and a private cabana.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't great not a lot of options at the buffuet. The only good restaurant was the Mexican one.Our bathroom had a leak and the resort had a horrible smell like sewage imagine trying to having lunch while breathing this all in. Simply horrible

    Resort is in a great location near the town's main strip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a mix up with our room on the first night and we did not get the room type we had reserved and paid for. And on the last morning had some people walk in to our room with luggage while we were still sleeping!

    Food was good, most of the staff was pleasant. GREAT location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Basically everything felt safe the cleaning lady was amazing her name was Irma morales ,the pool I absolutely loved the staff food I was spoiled.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some construction going on in the lobby area & outdoors, but I believe this is due to Panama Jack recently taking over the resort.

    The location was perfect! The staff was phenomenal & the food was outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not bright enough. Needs better lighting

    The buffet system in Albatross was amazing! The shows were pretty cool around the bar area. The staff were really nice and always greeted.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the pool could have been more clear cloudy the whole stay! they ran out of redbull drink and you have to pay for it

    they had a lot of choices for food it they did not have it just ask and they try there best to get it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Problems with our initial reservation which was resolved but an unpleasant beginning to our stay.

    Nice casual atmosphere but very clean and fresh feeling. The buffet restaurant was especially good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location right in the centre of everything, which was perfect for walking around without the need of a taxi service. Staff were very friendly and the photo department were great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    After a few days, we got a little bored with the buffet, but otherwise, everything was really nice.

    This is really a wonderful place. Even though there was construction occurring, the fabulousness of everything really overshadowed the construction. I will say, the rooms were smaller than I had original thought, but you aren't in the room long enough for that to matter. Carlos and the Entertainment Team truly made this a wonderful holiday getaway!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was amazing. The resort is right on the beach and is at 2 mins walking from the main bars and restaurants area in Playa del Carmen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations every day - noise of saw and different directions each day fur services. Seaweed smell could not be avoided but magic location anyway.

    The website should have advised that renovations were taking place during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite Booking.com giving my overall review I would give this property a 2. It is on the beach but going through major renovations which we were not made aware of. It is a construction site not a Hotel. The paint fumes were overwhelming. It is also not a place to relax and seems to attract the loud, drunk, party people.

    Nothing about this property. The staff transferred us to The Royal across the street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was undergoing renovations which closed the lobby area and made getting around a bit difficult. The food was average at best. The beach area was sort of narrow and is near where some fishing boats park, which may have caused a very fishy smell.

    The rooms were very nice and clean. The hotel is beautiful but the renovations were a bit of a hassle. The pool isn’t nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet was terrible, location was “on the beach” but the beach was awful and NOT clean. Covered in algae and stank like dead fish, even in the lobby.

    Comfy bed, great staff, and the pescatore restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food option. Drinks were weak. Construction on property. Walls are thin, you can hear people on room next door

    Food is disgusting. Not fresh. Food sat under heat lamps.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beach area was a little small. The excursion solicitors in the lobby were friendly but very persistent. We get enough of the sales push on 5th Avenue -- we don't want to deal with it at the hotel, too.

    Staff is extremely friendly and obliging. For all-inclusive, the food was surprisingly good. Although we had our own agenda, there seemed to be a lot of activities for the guests. The rooms were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed the all inclusive but were a little disgusted at customers taking more food than they could eat and were always leaving food on their plate. The quality of the drinks varied throughout the facilities.

    nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we had a reservation for an ocean view and we got a standard room instead and paid the ocean view price. We didn't like that we lost a day because Gran Porto moved us to a sister chain The Royal for the rest of our stay at 12 noon the next day and had to start the check in procedures again. We didn't like not getting our ocean view Gran Porto said we would get at The Royal with a balcony from the main street. Instead we got a view of the sub driving pool, roof top and path ways. I was very sadden and spent about 3 months of my salary to enjoy an ocean view. We ask if a room were available with the ocean view for the rest of our stay on 7/24 and we were told we had to pay the difference. And finally we didn't like booking emails us saying we agreed to it,to wich we did not. It was a bait and swich. What I wish is to be made whole for booking as urine us a room with an ocean view and not getting it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the same with all resorts, but sometimes the seating area in the restaurant was very hot and humid. Marble floors and kids don't mix that well...

    Extremely attentive staff that seemed like they really enjoyed their job. Buffet style restaurant had a very wide variety of tasty options including kid friendly foods.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was shockingly poor. When I arrived the receptionist ran through the hotel facilities so quickly I didn't understand her as she talked so fast. I wasn't shown where anything was. The staff didn't know where I could collect a beach towel. The next day my air con broke. I complained to the manager and was moved to The Royal - wish I had booked there. Don't stay here the staff are rude and service is poor.

    Room decent size. Good location near fifth avenue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food quality was poor: especially the Mexican restaurant (shameful in country). I ordered the stuffed fish and couldn't tell what or which the fish or the stuffing was (golden corral quality). My wife added a lobster tail and we were charged 600 peso ($35). Italian was good but very limited menu (ate their twice and had the same thing). In room service bar is a scam, things you should know; 1. It is not premium liquor: 1st room we stayed in had <$10 bar liquor that would never drink. 2. they will not accommodate requests to custom or change selection (requested absolute and dark versus white rum, and was told they could make any changes. 3. They do NOT replenish ANY of the bottles during your stay. We were there for 8 days, 7 nights and only drank vodka. Half way thru the week we asked the bar to be refreshed and was told by the manager (Maracruz) that they did not refresh any bottles during the stay. She was gracias enough to "comp us" one bottle but we would have to buy any additional bottles. We booked the room for the view and the in room bar. View was great, in service bar sucked.

    Beautiful resort. Outstanding staff. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great but if could suggest anything it would be a better way to grab something to eat 24/7 the main restaurant Albatros closed in between main course times so we had to rely on something else and the 24 hour snack room wasn't too great. And the food by pool also wasn't that great. There should be more food options. Maybe even an ice cream station where you can get soft serve etc

    Staff was very friendly, pool always had activities to keep guests intrigued. Our best advice for the younger crowd two words: Coco Bongo! So amazing heart pumping and a sight to see. Simply amazing. If you go, pay the extra and get the gold member package. You won't regret it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay upgrade of $450.00 for ocean view room. Food was mediocre and bland. Not enough restaurants to select from. Meals were limited to 3 a day. Snack bar had limited food selection.

    Evening entertainment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach is rocky and would be difficult for kids and those unfamiliar with how to navigate rocky waters. I would have liked a nicer beach area.

    Being a smaller property compared to other all-inclusives I have been to, this one had excellent food and the staff were all VERY friendly and helpful. It was nice not to have to go on a hike anytime you wanted to eat or do anything. It is also only a walk to shopping. One of us went out deep sea fishing and caught some beautiful Mahi and the chef was more than happy to cook it up for us. Delicious! Also the Mexican Restaurant, Maria's had possibly the best tenderloin I have ever eaten. The spot is nice and breezy, which helps keep the mosquito population down. The pool activities were a blast, and they keep the drinks coming. I noticed that there were a lot of activities for the children and arts and crafts. The whole experience was top shelf.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room wasnt available the first night so i had to stay at the much nicer resort next door then move all my stuff after the first night. The room i got for the rest of my stay was nowhere near as nice and had no windows. It also faced one of the smaller pools with a bar so i was woken up by people filling ice machines at 6am daily. Food overall wasnt great. The italian restaurant was ok, but the menu was very limited. We also tried the brazilian rodizio which was better, but many of the selections were tasteless. The buffet was good for breakfast, but i wouldnt recommend it for dinner.

    Location in relation for 5th ave was great. Staff overall was excellent, esp Cesar who runs the activities by the pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many other reviewers were correct about the beach: it is not the greatest, but not the resort's fault by any means -- simply a fault of erosion. We saw staff out there every morning cleaning up sea grass that had swept up over night to keep the beach as nice as possible.

    The Gran Porto is a wonderful, smaller resort with friendly courteous staff that made our mother-daughter "milestone birthday year" trip one for the record books. Cesar lead the pool-side entertainment all week, and he is hilarious! The restaurants were excellent, going above and beyond our expectations. The chef at S'padas, the Brazilian streak house, even grilled up a garlic shrimp dish for one of our family members who does not eat meat. The enchiladas at Maria's was my favorite meal; other members of my family thought their meals at il pescator (Italian) was to-die-for. We loved the bartenders at the pool-side bar, and they have a great menu of specialty tropical drinks you must try. Our ocean-front rooms were huge and comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Even the evening show we watched, the "fire show," was amazing. All four of us enjoyed relaxing massages at the spa, and we highly enjoyed use of the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi before and after the massages. Also, the resort's convenient location only two blocks from Avenida 5 made it so easy to walk into "town" a couple nights for a local meal and some shopping. I highly recommend this resort!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was soft, I prefer firm beds. Some water leaks with the sink/faucet...but manageable. Bring water shoes for the beach, very rocky, it has receded quite a bit which is too bad.

    The Junior suite walk out rooms are amazing (booked 3 rooms side by side)...with it's own beadh bed. We were in a quiet area away from the pool/reception and away from the ferry dock. Well worth the extra cost since we were also able to use the facilities at The Royal resort next door! That is a huge resort, much nicer I think to stay at Gran Porto. The staff are all very nice, friendly and helpful, it makes a big difference to the quality of service. Also, the location is great! So close to 5th Avenue, tons of shopping, bars, restaurants, you'll never get bored. Much thanks to the Asiana restaurant staff for singing happy birthday to my Mom, who celebrated her 80th birthday there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism is the terrible coffee, filtered/american coffee is awful. They have every facility available except a decent espresso machine.

    Great selection of food and drinks. Something for everyone. Beautiful pool area, very relaxing to sit and have a drink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Negative: We were extremely disappointed in Gran Port's "all inclusive" package since my wife only drinks wine (myself, beer or wine and Mojitos when in Mexico). Let me qualify this by saying that we are not wine snobs and we generally drink box wines such as Bota and Black Label. When we purchase bottled wine, we are in the $10-$14/ bottle range, thus we are relatively easy to please. Having said that, the only red and the only white available in the all inclusive plan, at Gran Porto, was absolutely rot gut nasty. The white is a very bland Sauvignon Blanc, which tasted like flavored water (no Chardonnay or other varietal whites available). And the red was a Merlot that tasted like vinegar. In the room they stock 4 different spirits which are just ok (we don't do mixed drinks), and the only bottles of beer, supplied in the room, are a Mexican brand, called "Superior", which is passable, and they only stock 2 bottles per room (although you can call room service and they will bring you more, upon request). BUT, there is absolutely no wine stocked in the room, along with the all inclusive liquors. Come on...if the hotel is willing to provide 4 bottles of rum, tequila, vodka and whiskey, which we did not touch but could have poured down the drain, how costly for them, would it be, to put an inexpensive but drinkable bottle of Chardonnay or a Red in the room. You have to order room service to get wine in the room, by the glass, which does not include bottles. Cheap skates, when it comes to wine in the all inclusive package. Next door at the Royal, they at least had drinkable whites (Chardonnay) and reds (a couple of varieties) in their all inclusive package. Second, don't eat in the 24/7 all inclusive "snacks and drinks" lounge. I am a former restaurant owner and I would not be surprised if there have been cases of food poisoning because they do not keep hot foods hot, nor cold cuts cold.

    Positive: I will say that the Gran Porto staff was absolutely outstanding and the overall cleanliness of Gran Porto was excellent and the grounds and facilities maintenance showed great pride by all. We found the beds to be very comfy but had to order softer pillows and extra pillows, cheerfully provided. So I have nothing negative to say about the overall property itself or its staff, which is outstanding, except for the negatives noted below, mainly relating to the cheapness of the all inclusive package and the lousy beach. The negatives left me with the overall thought that, if i had to book Gran Porto again, I would not, considering the quality of our experience. I would find a property that did not discriminate against easy to please, wine drinkers sensibilities. We upgraded to a Gran Master Suite Walk Out Beachfront on our last 3 days of our honeymoon, and supremely glad that we did, because it gave us access to all of the far superior amenities of the Royal next door, especially their pools, dining, and night time lobby entertainment, which were basically stage shows and live musical entertainment. Note: you are not even allowed to walk through the Royal unless you are a guest there or have the clear wrist band that we were given when we upgraded our Suite at Gran Porto. In order to see their amenities, you have to take a "timeshare" tour with a staff member, which many complain about being pushy and eating up too much of your time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach right in front of the hotel is not good but if you walk 500 meters to the left it is great.

    The buffet food was really great! The Mexican Restaurant was great too, the Brazilian was fine but not great and the Italian was good too. The staff was super nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food and drinks. Not all drinks are all inclusive, certain brands are not included. The food options were the biggest disappointment. All-inclusive buffet (breakfast-dinner) did not vary day by day and food was often cold. Would have been nice to have a greater variety and wish they would change out their food more often. Italian restaurant was good, but didn't like the Mexican restaurant very much. I didn't try the Brazilian restaurant side but that looked the fresh and good. Disappointing when you pay for all inclusive and food is not so great.

    Friendly staff, great location. Ramiro Juarez was awesome in the serving area for the buffet restaurant. He tried to accommodate us with options for food or had the team fire up something hot. He gave 5 star-service and if weren't for him we would have left the hotel. He was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they could have made change in US dollars for the purpose of being able to tip their staff more frequently

    Beds were very comfortable, sushi bar was fabulous, staff was awesome, their Italian restaurant was a favorite with our group

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first trip to Playa. Loved the smaller size of the complex! Everyone who waited on us from the chambermaid to the bartender was exceptional. The food was very good. We enjoyed sitting on the beach rather than the pool. It was peaceful and serene. We will return to Gran Porto Real.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service food was pretty disappointing, but it was free so you can't complain too much! Not too much to not like!

    The staff was so amazing and could tell they had a passion for making people happy. The area is perfect and the hotel was very clean. The room was cleaned every day and cute towel arrangements on the bed are always fun to see. People complain about the sandbags by the beach but if you just walk a little down there isn't any! Lots of places to lounge and staff walking around getting you more drinks. The bartender Phily became our best friend! Very good food! The buffet was phenomenal for breakfast, lunch and dinner! It had a little bit of everything. All-inclusive also included other restaurants like an Italian one and a Brazilian steakhouse. They also had nachos, hamburger and burgers available by the pool every day. We talked to some friends and they said out of all the resorts near, this was their favorite and the one they keep coming back to. The resort is right next to 5th avenue where you can walk to the mall, other restaurants and all the local shops! I convinced my boyfriend to get a "minnow pedicure" with me and it was so fun. We went on two excursions where we got to go to the Mayan ruins, ziplining and snorkeling in caves and a reef! An amazing experience. I was the first to wake up everyday so I'd read a book on our deck on the hammock. Made good friends and good memories.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you got your key the Platinum Service team was there to sale time shares. We weren't in the hotel 5 minutes before the bounce. Received an upgrade for extra cost at check-in then when we checked out got hit with additional cost because the person checking us in didn't convert dollars to pesos correctly . What a sham! Construction noise, dirty hall by elevator, lobby women's bathroom not clean. We won't return. If you go take extra money with you. they will get you at the end and ruin your trip.

    A lot of staff to ask questions, The staff was friendly,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whenever something was done for us, they said to go on trip advisor to tell them about it and to use their name. It got to the point where every time we sat down to dinner they would single us out and ask us how the food was and how we would rate it. Neither of us felt like we could give an accurate review to their faces, and we genuinely just wanted to eat, tip, then run on to our next activities. We would have reviewed the hotel either way, it was annoying to be pressured so much. ALSO, if they offer you something that sounds like a time-share package for future visits, it's not worth your time. We listened to the whole spiel, and because we didn't buy something, they said that we weren't entitled to the "gifts," they promised us for just listening. Wasted valuable time as we were there less than a week.

    We loved the location! It was right in town and we felt like there was always something to do. We also loved that the staff was so helpful and friendly, BUT we both felt like they had ulterior motives.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the beach. Lots of sandbags due to erosion. Very windy & wavy so were unable to try kayaks & stand up paddle board.

    The staff were the friendliest that we've ever encountered! Food was great - lots of variety. The resort itself was beautiful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was pressure to go to a time share promotion almost every day from one staff person.

    The food and drinks were great, as well as the attentive staff.first

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not so good, especially in the out of rush time, they are not ready to prepare the best meal as much as possible they could. Besides the hotel room was not impressive at all, like a very ordinarily. The staff was basically nice, but some are not effective to work.

    The location is the best part of this hotel, and unfortunately that's all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was dirty and still in used condition at check in. Room was extremely noisy. Water activities were not free as in the web site. Very few water activities included. Jacuzzi was cold and inoperative. Overcharges for extras at dinner when resort coupons were used, but not credited.

    Room was large. Staff was helpful and friendly. Food was delicious. Pool and most facilities were in very good condition. Great location in town. Great beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My reservation was for three people which means the room should have been setup to accommodate that number. I had to call the front desk 4 times before a roll away bed was delivered to the room. Upon arrival the room mini fridge was not stocked and we had to call for someone to come stock it. The hotel is extremely outdated with old furniture and decorations. The food was a huge disappointment as well. Not many options and what was there was either stale chips or fried foods. The buffet was not too bad but always a mess and not organized. I had dinner in the buffet once and found this great shrimp dish only to find out that one hour into the dinner time which is 6-11pm that there were no more shrimps. I'm not sure how at 7pm they ran out of shrimp. Definitely not the 5* resort I was expecting.

    The location was the best part since it was a few blocks away from the Main Street which offered lots of shopping and restaurants. The spa service on the beach was nice but in a place where there are lots of kids so not great. The staff was friendly and helpful which was also a plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Takes while for hot water in shower, but it's Mexico. Beach chaise lounge chairs need upgrade.

    Staff were incredible and very attentive. Samuel Bellman, Arturo Front Desk, to maids...all were very welcoming. Perfect location and food was wonderful...had only one meal out of seven days that was just ok: all the others were very good!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not to have the option to have diner at their sister hotel The Royal, on the other side of the street .

    Location and service is great Perfect for family

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Master One Bedroom Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If anything, it would be the grill that was damaged by the weather that was cordoned off with safety tape, but as that happened only shortly before we arrived, I can not fault the resort!

    Visited here Nov. 12-18 and had a great time. Possibly the most comfortable bed I've slept in. It was huge. We stayed in a grand master suite ocean front. Well worth it. Beautiful view and 3 balconies in 257. Lovely sitting room with table and chairs for dining. We did room service (included) for breakfast and pulled the table over to the double sliding glass doors to the balcony and it was wonderful. Food was very good. My husband fished and brought back Amber Jack and the chef in the Albatross cooked it to order and it was the best meal we had there and probably the best seafood dinner we've had ever - all included, as well! Shout out to Alexi who served us that wonderful meal!! Casino night was a blast, shows were great, service top notch. We had access to the Royal, but never used it. The buffets were good and the a la carte meals were very good at the Porto. The location can not be beat for 5th Avenue shopping, Cozumel ferry, and fishing boats. Don't listen to the negative beach comments. There was plenty of beach for walking and volley ball and laying out and kids making sand castles. Also, the lay out of the resort allows for quiet areas for adults as well as active areas for kids. We are glad we didn't pay extra for adults only. There is a pool on the roof that is adults only and we did go there to swim on a few occasions, but that was more for the shaded areas up there than for the adults only atmosphere. It was quieter than the main pool most times, but on one occasion a group of guys from Europe were up there and were leaning over the rail hooting and hollering at people on the street and we didn't stay. So kids are always the loud ones! TV choices were good, too, with English language programming and movies available. Plenty of bottled water available - just ask if you need more. We drank lots of water with meals served by the glass and plenty of ice in drinks and it was all good, if that worries anyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vary the poolside music

    The location was great for someone without a car. It had everything , good choice of restaurants, Internet was strong and you had the choice of beach or pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been much better. Especially in the 24 hrs lounge. The beach needed some work. Lots of sandbags. And rooms are a little noisy. All in all it was a good stay.

    Staff was excellent! Maria the concierge, Pascuuala Baak the turndown service, Alafonso the bartender and Victor at the dive center. All did whatever it took to make my vacation great!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had a 5 star ratting , but wasn't anywhere near that . Alcohol was cheap and nasty , beer was warm and flat , The food was ok , Mexican was terriable for being in mexico meat was very poor quality chewy fatty rubbery I was room 321 hallways very nosiey from 7am onwards cleaners walking in try to clean rooms way to early Speaker from pool very loud all afternoon Front desk lost my partners license as sercurity for room not a good look for your hotel very disappointed . No excuse for that If u want to call yourself 5 star u need to go stay at a few hotels around the world and see what 5 star is

    Loved the location , the staff were excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Beds uncomfortable. Not as clean as we thought it could be. Beaches not great. Royal hotel next door had a much better and cleaner beach.

    Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description of what was offered as opposed to what was received as in the case of sea front when were provided with a small view.To us the price seem not what was paid for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach has no sand, yo have to walk a couple of minutes north.

    Excellent food, wide variety of restaurants. Location is excellent, Near shopping malls, bars, everything. All the tours pick you up at this hotel. Service is great. Spa and massage is very good also.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the beds.

    Hotel staff, rooms were nice and clean, true to their pics. Even though the beach was not swimmable, inhere was a beautiful view. Watching the lightning storm from our balcony was a real treat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No A/C in common areas, Beach was not swim able, no swim up Bar in main pool and strong unpleasant sewage smell by main pool and bar, also by sushi bar...

    Overall food and drinks were good and all staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately and due to natural causes the beach was not that good as we thought. They are trying to recover it however at the moment was not the best beach to swim in the sea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach is extremely private, in a bay without waves. This could be a positive for many - no one trying to sell you stuff, very little non hotel guest traffic, perfect for very little kids. More activities, people and small waves are a short walk next door either way- but you lose free wifi and drinks when you leave the property!

    The food is incredible, especially for an all inclusive hotel. There is a 24 hour snack bar well equipped with fresh fruit, muffins, dessert, warm snacks, sodas, coffee/tea, beer on tap and full self serve bar. The restaurants are fabulous. Room service, minibar and almost a full bar are included in the room. The service could not be better! The location can not be beat.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach a little dirty

    Friendly staff. Great poolside atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was just okay, but thats to be expected.

    It was clean, in a great location, and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great location and value for money. Frequent traveller and will recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 7 nights

    beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is not for swimming since it is not deep enough and it has rocks at the end of the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food Ave drinks

    The view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gran Junior Suite - Beach Front Walk-Out
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sewer like smell when the wind came up

    Beautiful ocean view, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet.

    The staff was amazing and very hospitable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy bed and stocked refrig.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel was OK but not great, plus we stayed in the middle of a renovation, so workers everywhere, not ideal

    The people working there is amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was under remodeling and our room was loud.

    Everything was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything but location

    Location and nothing else

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View 2 kids stay & eat free
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome stay. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful making our vacation extra fun. Can't beat the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Poor service on arrival, strong armed into upgrading room

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Panama Jack Resorts Gran Porto Playa del Carmen All Inclusive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: