Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only 5 stars

Carretera Federal Chetumal, Km 299, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#40 of 211 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    9.2
    We arrived before checking in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The seaside and the water of this part was not so very beautiful. Many fat people :)

    We arrived before checking in time. We were hosted very friendly with access to the property, to use the bar and restaurants to have lunch before. It was very nice. The whole place was fantastic, friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    10
    One of the best vacations i ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best vacations i ever had! Was supposed to stay for 4 nights and it was so great we stayed for 6! Everything was great, the stuff is amazing, very nice and welcoming. The food is good, the restaurants Blue Moon and La Dolce Vita is great! Really enjoyed our vacation! Thank you all!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    5.8
    The staff themselves were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They catered to seniors a lot I also didn’t like the privileged part they only served cheap liquor to the regular guest and I also felt segregated

    The staff themselves were excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything about Ocean Maya! We got an amazing room: big, clean, really comfy bed, amazing shower... Just loved it! All the staff at the hotel is SUPER nice, very welcoming and helpful. Amenities are great: amazing swimming pool, good gym... They also have lots of activities going on - Loved the foam party! Finally, all the food in the restaurants is great. Lots of variety and I absolutely loved the Dolce Vitta restaurants. Thanks for a great stay!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    Potions are small and the hotel activities are expensive. Most of the staff are friendly if you tip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeper went into our draw and took some stuff. When we reporter it the staff laughed on the phone. We immediately gave them permission to search our room for the stuff and they couldn’t find it. When they asked the person who cleaned our room about what was in the draw and if they had taken anything they denied it and said nothing was in the draw. Instead of trying to make the rest of our stay better they disconnnected our phone so we couldn’t get through to reception or other parts of the hotel and said “we should have used the safe” which the “hotel offer free of charge”. Beyond disappointed and embarrassed for this incident especially since they spend close to an hour searching the entire room and our personal belongings for the missing stuff.

    It’s hard to find something positive to say due to our bad experience. But to pick something here it is: Japanese restaurant, variation of food and drinks, activities the hotel offers and the way the hotel itself is set up. Very clean and lots of cute animals.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    The food here far exceeded my expectations given that it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not a huge fan of their pitch regarding timeshares right when you check in. Not the best way to start our stay. I would recommend maybe a sign or banner with "Ask us about ..." and then a guest can decide to go down that route of their own choice. This is a bit of a nitpick. We also did not get the correct room the first day we arrived and had to ask for a replacement which they provided the next day.

    The food here far exceeded my expectations given that it was an "all inclusive". Would highly recommend you make a reservation at Hakka, as it was such great experience. The staff were all very friendly and did anything they could to make us comfortable and taken care of. This place is better for people looking for a more relaxing vacation rather than a huge party scene.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    Staff were great, so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet choices were limited, breakfast is the same every day and the evening meals are on a weekly rotation so it was a little repetitive

    Staff were great, so friendly! Hotel is lovely and clean, beach is beautiful. Restaurants were a great alternative to the buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.0
    Good party resort but as I like outdoors activity, water sports etc disappointed for healthy options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere is fun if you Like eating and drinking copiously. Some more heathy activity options for entertainment would be good. The activities staff are all very commission driven and try and sell you constantly which becomes a bit tiring. A long way from town with limited transport. Taxis are fairly costly and the driveway from resort to highway to catch the cheaper options is quite a trek ( handy to walk off The overindulgence though). The market stall night was full of rip off merchants with far cheaper product ( same items) available in town.

    Nightly entertainment was a fun bonus with some very good acts. Some of the restaurants offer excellent food and friendly service ( especially to well behaved sober guests!!) Love the team at the Mexican Cantina for dinner. Great staff with really good casual feel. Likewise the finer dining was well done.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Great staff - they really make the experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated. Room was tired. Sofa smelled musty, only the one mirror in the room. Fridge not stocked up like a hotel mini fridge. House keeping was hit and miss at times. There was a squashed bug stain on the wall and little spiders crawling on the bedside cabinet. Hotel rules included dress code “casual elegance” that we were made to sign upon check in were never enforced. Many a times people came to restaurants at lunch with wet clothes, topless (men), and at dinner there were men with open shoes and sleeveless shirts. Food was hit and miss. You get what you pay for!

    Great staff - they really make the experience! Friendly and chatty but sometimes a bit slow with getting drinks. Great wild life - deer, coati and iguanas roaming around! Only bother with Blue Moon restaurant if you’re going. It’s the only place with decent food and service in the evening. But please read the other reviews’ negative points too - wish I had!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Best Mexican experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    They were doing some work in the loby area and sometimes it was too loud to sit there.

    My husband and I loved our stay at OMR. It completely met our expectations. We loved how clean the rooms and facilities were. The staff was more than accommodating on arrival, all speaking different languages to suit our needs. We had a Double room with sea view and it was an amazing experience to wake up every morning with a spectacular view of the sea. We loved the fact that the property was always well kept. They cleaned everyday and there was no mess anywhere. The entertainment staff was the best. Marco, Javier and Adrian were amazing, always taking the time to sit and have a chat with me and my husband. Mr Adrian the pool area bartender was so awesome and accommodating as well and it was nice that we both shared almost the same birthday. The food was to die for. The buffet restaurant had always very tasty food, my favorite was the day they made all seafood. And the Italian restaurant Dolce Vita had the best food in the entire place. Overall we loved our stay and we will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems & bed smel from toilet/ some plumbing issues.

    Great entertainment. fool of life. sweet animals arround. wonderful pool area. Good food in all restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon our arrival we had to endure a talk from the sales team about the hotel's loyalty program, which I did not enjoy very much. The swimming pools were okay but I did not find them very clean and sometimes the music from the pool party was too loud. The staff in general were polite and friendly except for the fact that they often asked us if we were a couple, I found that a bit disconcerting.

    The all inclusive package was a great deal for us, there were plenty options for food and beverages. I highly recommend the Bluemoon restaurant for dinner, it was romantic and cozy. My favourite though was the Italian Dolce Vita, right by the ocean. The resort facilities were great and comfortable. They offered a wide range of activities, but we spent most of the time relaxing on the lounge chairs on the beach. Our room was clean and modern, no complaints there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Heaven on earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is just the best! Me and my girlfriend spent a week there and were sorry to leave! The staff is great, very clean hotel and the food is great. Be sure to check out the mexican place near the pool, El Charro. That really has great mexican food, way too many people were eating at the buffay place near the lobby (although it is great during breakfast and lunch), just don’t miss the mexican place. We ate there every night, so many great dishes. Will defenitly go again and tell all my friends and family to go there!! Btw VERY LGBTQ FRIENDLY! We loved that!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff was exceptional and very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a plumbing issue in our bathroom. Besides this issue, the room was amazing.

    The staff was exceptional and very welcoming! I cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Top service, food, staff, room and night shows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktails could have been better but after all, al inclusive hotels are not great in cocktails

    Great service, food, night shows, staff n location inside a jungle that we had a lot of animals (coatis, gazelle, iguana)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    1 night only
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that one of the rooms was different to the other one. We paid both for the same price.

    I like the variety of food was amazing and the drinks were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The Food was Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beach water was not as great as Cancun.

    The Food was Great! Everything was well worth the money. The staff were polite and the people visiting were too. Unfortunately this is not a great beach water area. But Jet Ski's on the resort and other water sports made it worth the visit! Definitely will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel - good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more sunbeds by the pools, we were staying for 10 days and almost never got benches even though we were out by 8 am. Tell the staff to bring the things they say they are going to bring, very boring having to call 2-3 times for the same thing. Shows at night could easily be much better. Food could be better.

    Clean rooms but the furniture needs a facelift. Very nice staff. 100% worth it to be Privileged, we ate breakfast at the privileged section every morning. Very good food at the privileged restaurant. We recommend walking to a beautiful lagoon nearby the hotel, takes 10 min. Nice entertainment by the party pool. We loved the honeymoon suite - building 34 room 3403 - very nice location but does not have seaview. Very quite at night. Overall very nice hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    The food is incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room with an ocean view, but it was right near the pool which could get a bit noisy at times.

    The food is absolutely amazing! This place is lovely and such great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Loved the staff, the service, the resort, pool, lagoon close by, the food and the adults only!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault but beaches were covered in seaweed meaning you couldn't swim and the smell was horrible. At least they were one of the only resorts to try to clear it daily

    The entertainment is good meaning you don't have to leave the resort much if you don't want to

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Perfect adult get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaints I have are the excessive seaweed at the beach and the natural sulfur smell. The beach isn't useable despite workers trying their best to keep it clean. These two things are entirely out of the resorts hands.

    We LOVED our first adults only all inclusive vacation. Very friendly staff, delicious food, great entertainment, clean rooms, etc. I could go on and on! Our expectations were exceeded and we are already looking at future dates to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beach and smell was terrible! But we did find a beautiful lagoon down the beach. The resort seems more for for older travelers. My friends and I are in the 26-29 age range.

    The staff was so nice! Never had a bad encounter with anyone. The resort is beautiful and the wildlife is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Get what you pay for.. Don't expect luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The beach was disappointing to say the least. The sulphur smell of the mangroves was actually disgusting. The pool area was constantly loud which was ok some days, but as you can imagine gets annoying. The variation of restaurants on an evening was a bit rubbish. The food in some places was quite bland.

    The bed was huge and really comfy. The entertainment team were great fun. The staff could not do enough for you, they were all so friendly, happy and accommodating. The grounds of the hotel were nice and well kept. We loved the variety at breakfast .. the hash browns were amazing. The lady who makes the omlettes for you - again very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Good place for an inexpensive, adults-only getaway - great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach itself was small and unusable due to seaweed. I know the seaweed is an issue and sometimes more so than others - as of June 2018 it made the beach area somewhere you did not want to be. The pool was nice but did need some cleaning at times, but overall not bad. Our first room had air conditioning issues, but the hotel moved us and ultimately made things right. The mini bar was not that well stocked compared to other hotels I'd been at in the area - no liquor, just a couple beers, two waters, and few soft drinks - not bad, but not great. Food quality overall was hit or miss. Some experiences were great (Japanese, Italian), others not great. It tended to be a bit too hot and muggy in the restaurants, and several were open air and could be overly hot and stuffy (Italian restaurant, Mexican restaurant near the pool). Pool towels required a card to turn in, just a bit odd at an adults-only all inclusive. Getting reservations for the Japanese restaurant was difficult unless you were Privilege - they are are same day only and you have to go line up at the restaurant well before 5:30pm to get them. Overall hotel quality was more like a 3.5-star, it was nice but not indulgent. The value was really good, but don't expect a true 5-star experience, which costs significantly more.

    The resort was a very good value considering what we paid. Privilege was nice, we got an upgrade due to some issues with the hotel. The drinks were good. Pool vibe was fun, especially at pool bar side (though there should be more seats in the water). Overall quality of food was good at dinner, less so at lunch. Could have been more variety in the lunch service in particular. Food at the Japanese restaurant was very good - but reservations are hard to get unless you are Privilege - be there well before 5:30pm for reservations (only on same day); Privilege can reserve seats by phone in advance. Steak in Italian restaurant was great as was caprese salad and bread. Mexican night at the buffet was very tasty and fresh. Tomato duo with risotto at Blue Moon was excellent appetizer - get two.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    All in all it was a very nice trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the nightly entertainment did not end so soon. Did not like the fact that there was a privilege offer which we were not aware of upon booking. Lots of seaweed on the beach, but they work very hard to clean up.

    We had a beautiful view of the ocean. The pool bar service was phenomenal. Adrian, Jose, and Armando were excellent servers. We enrolled in the privilege package that’s the only way to go if you like more service attention and top shelf drinks. Food was great at the Mexican restaurant as well as the Japanese. Buffet was good. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some problems with the door and mosquitos but it was fixed within a couple of hours of reporting it. The cocktails are all very syrupy and taste quite sweet.

    The block we were in was a great location. Miguel at the pool bar works so hard and deserves some definition! The animation team also work very hard and the foam party was fab! Love that it's adult only and the price we paid was amazing value for money. The Asian show cooking restaurant was great too x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff we’re really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes everywhere. I mean everywhere even in our room. Even while eating dinner in the restaurant.

    Staff we’re really friendly. Clean environment. Love the food selection. The pool was great, didnt have enough time to check out the beach unfortunately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    How everyone was friendly and was willing to help you make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet closed early. They need one food place that closes at 2am at least

    How everyone was friendly and was willing to help you make you feel comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great access to all the amenities within a reasonable walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fine dining restaurant felt more like a banquet room than a restaurant, not much charachter. They were working on upgrading sewer lines when were were there so there were several trenches dug up.

    Great access to all the amenities within a reasonable walk. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    We took our adult children and they had a great time. All in all it was a good value and nice resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The privilege section was a waste of money. No separate pool or pool bar. Rooms were the furthest away from the beach, pools and all activities. No bathtub in the room. Mini fridge was never cold and no real extras for the extra money. Called to request a fan and extra blanket and never got a call back and never got either delivered. Otherwise it was a good value for the price, but not worth upgrading.

    Staff was fantastic and friendly, especially wait staff and bar staff. Fun activities at the pool. Food was good. Rooms and common areas were clean and grounds were well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Good not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the food was good. Not great. But what do you expect from the price of this resort?

    Staff was great! People were right that tips don't matter, because staff was great from the get go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Not sure it deserves a 5* rating sadly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite secluded therefore you have to get a taxi they offer or a shuttle but both are slightly over priced. Occasionally bombarded by staff to go to a “10 year promotion” during which you have to sit through 1.5 hours of being told about their “exclusive” brand priority which is like an upgrade.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful! We hired a car during our stay and they offer a car hire service in the hotel lobby and we got a car upgrade for free plus he did a promotion for us. We also liked the restaurant options in particular Yokosoo the Japanese and the Mexican restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great place for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is not as nice as in other resorts but I would still repeat.

    All went absolutely great. Restaurants were super good, staff great and friendly (Thanks to Alan the concierge for being so welcoming). Entertainment was really impressive with great quality on the evening shows. Dolce Vita food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Resort Through and Through!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally did not care for the dinner food at the buffet restaurant; however my husband did, and all of the other restaurants were super delicious! The bar service both at the beach and at the actual bars were lacking; very slow, and we often wouldn't see any server around for quite some time.

    We loved being right on the ocean! The beds they had out for Privileged guests right on the beach were so comfortable. The grounds as well as our room were always clean and beautiful, and our "Butler" Azucena could not have been nicer or more helpful! If you like to do excursions, you have to see Margarita at the Dive In! stand by the pool. She gives you little discounts on each trip, and each one is SO much fun! Otherwise, for a more relaxing atmosphere, definitely go to their spa. It was so peaceful, and the couple's massage was just what we needed after a long day of travel. All in all, it is a wonderful place to vacation!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst places we've ever stayed. Rooms outdated, food below average, drinks in plastic glasses. Beach was full of seaweed and sunbeds around the pool / beach were all taken every morning. Evening entertainment was terrible. We tried the a la carte restaurant Blue Moon, had to wait 30 mins for a table - service was good but food was average & was extra $ for wine. We picked this hotel because it had great reviews but it was a huge let down

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t appreciate all the people trying to sell us things while we were trying to relax. It seemed excessive. Also didn’t like the fact we were not allowed to get on the beach due to the seaweed.

    Everyone At the property was so kind and courteous. The blue moon restaurants staff was amazing. Also the bar staff and bar was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn’t as nice but the resort itself makes up for it.

    The resort is beautiful and has everything you need. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Lost $400 in thrown away property by cleaning crew
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleaning lady threw away retainer (post-braces) and property would do nothing to reimburse or help. Beach is non-existent. Staff gets glowing reviews from lots of posters... unclear how or why. Impossible to get a drink on the beach. Had to call the desk multiple times a day for issues and had to follow up a minimum of 2 times to get action on items needed. They took us to our room when we got there and SURPRISE! there were people in it. No apology, etc. The name of the game here is it is a cheap resort, you get what you pay for. So set your expectations low and bring your own booze to spike the weak drinks and you'll have a fine time. Just don't expect great service, a beach, or swimming in the ocean.

    Food was generally good for this type of resort. Beds and linens were comfortable. Property is gorgeous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good , relaxed and enjoyable stay with minor hiccups here and there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The number for the reception after the booking didn't respond most of the times. - Even if they responded, were very rude and not at all polite - The one night stay in Ocean Maya Royale was to be in a Honeymoon Suite which was way below our expectations. - Very less options in Chicken. - Ocean Maya Royale is a bit boring compared to its other one - Ocean Coral

    - We were greeted very nicely by all the staff - They offered us a 2 night stay at Ocean Coral with free Privilege upgrade, which was excellent and exceeded our expectations - The room at Ocean Coral was outstanding - The restaurants were really good, esp Route 66 in Ocean Coral - Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxingk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were piss poor everything tasted like artificial sweetener

    Staff was amazing. Security staff handled the obnoxious drunken Canadiens qutckly and efficiently

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    A week of sun, fun, excellent food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mexican reataurant was a bit disappointing. The food wasnt spicy or authentic despite the location.

    Bed was very comfy. Party pool was great craic during the day. Staff were so friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Average place. Wont go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on our honeymoon and put into a room with 2 beds which were tiny (and we are small people). Upgraded after a few days to a bigger room which was much better. Sunbeds always had towels on there and no one sitting on them or on the pool They need to manage this more. Silly to have to sit near the beach when no one is at the pool except the towels reserving the beds. Tacky entertainment. Very far from Playa Del Carmen town if you plan on visiting.

    Good food options. Teppenyaki restaurant was hard to get into but worth booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Great resort for the price, fun activities, but say no to the pitch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we arrived we upgraded to privilege due to the availability of our favorite beverages. I dont think the value of the upgrade met the perks of privilege. There was alot of seaweed that washed up on the beach everyday. I know this is not the resorts fault, but they were not very efficient on removing to make the strip of beach useable. After arrival we were given a 5 minute sit down to the resort that included a "chance to travel for free plan". We agreed to meet for the orientation that we were told would take 90 minutes or less. Over 2 hours later being pressured to buy a timeshare we had to walk away. I dont think this should happen on our vacation. Make sure you say no to this orientation, grab a drink and explore.

    Our room was a beachfront 1205. Many times when they say beachfront, you can see the beach in the distance over the resort. Our balcony was 50 yards from the water, and the beach practically came right up to our room. Staff were very helpful and you always get an Olla' from all. Restaurants were good, breakfast buffet was incredible. Francisco at the pool bar is entertaining as well as great at what he does, give that man a raise! Facilities were maintained and baths were updated. Overall great place to stay and layed out just right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.0
    The rooms were gorgeous, large and VERY comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beach access was pretty limited. Also, sales people around the pool are a bit relentless. Food left a bit to be desired but all together sufficient for an all inclusive price.

    The rooms were gorgeous, large and VERY comfortable. The wildlife in the back yard was so fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Can’t wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beaches at the resort were disappointing as there was a major seaweed problem. Walk about 15 minutes north for an awesome lagoon.

    All of the staff was excellent, specifically Tila in the lobby bar, Jose at the swim up bar, and Alberto at Dolce. Food was really good across the board. Highly recommend upgrading to the privilege status. Entertainment staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property, excellent staff, wonderful food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room bathroom was very small - one sink and one mirror only. No other mirror in the room. The breakfast buffet was not that great - undercooked, greasy bacon, poor selection of pastries, but very good eggs. Restaurants do not enforce the dress code - do not turn away men in shorts or t-shirts and open shoes.

    Great entertainment staff, lots of fun at the pool everyday. The Dolce Vida, El Charro, and Blue Moon restaurants were excellent. The evening shows were very entertaining. The bars served great drinks and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    First experience at an all inclusive has set the bar high to compare others to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was the seaweed that workers cleaned away constantly. Some days were better than others and we could take a short walk down the beach to find other swimming areas... but the pools were always great.

    This was my first experience at an all inclusive resort and it exceeded all my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Service was above and beyond, definitely worth every $ spent. Upgrade to Privilege!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the Privilege amenities/extras were well worth it, we found it odd that the main Privilege buidling is as far away as possible from the beach. Maybe to be closer to main building and restaurants, etc? Some of the areas felt dated. Towels could be softer.

    The staff were amazing! Everyone said hello in a genuine way, from the maintenance team to the housekeepers. The bartenders at the activities pool had great personalities and were a lot of fun. The Dive It team in charge of all day activities (they work long hours) did a great job. Especially Scarlett, Luis, and Jose. Go seek out Margarita for any excursions, outside activities, etc. She was a pleasure to deal with. The Privilege upgrade is definitely the way to go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    This all inclusive resort made vacation very restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is not appreciated f.rom this perspective that upon arrival we were asked if we knew what "privelege" was. We were bothered from the time we got there to purchase more. Once we said we were not interested, it stopped, however people that we met said it was continuous. Staff came to their room and called them to try to get them to meet up to purchase something.

    Loved the choices of food available. The pools were great and the beach is right next to them so where ever you want to be, you can be. Staff always had smiles and were willing to do whatever they could to make you more comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall it's good value for money, I would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower was leaking (room 3107). The food at Blue Moon restaurant was horrible. Lunch at the pool restaurant is bad, the other option is very restricted in time. Cocktails are horribly sweet.

    We rented the car so the hotel was perfectly situated - about 20 mins away - from Playa del Carmen. The hotel is visited by various cute tropical animals. Great show of Israel in Japanese restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Fun and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to ocean was restricted due to design

    Friendly staff, very welcoming from the start to departure. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Pool area was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    THE STAFF WERE VEREY HELPFUL, WE WERE GREETED BY CARLOS WHO...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE STAFF WERE VEREY HELPFUL, WE WERE GREETED BY CARLOS WHO TOOK CARE OF US. THE BAR STAFF DON'T NOW WERE TO START LET JUST SAY YOU WILL ENJOY. THE UPKEEP OF THE RESORT WAS GREAT, THE SPA STAFF THOSE HANDS WILL MAKE YOU GO EVERY DAY.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Overall we had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to incorporate Mexican music and involve more of the culture .. it was very Americanized.

    The staff was absolutely amazing estepecially Carolina from the Mexican restaurant..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Loved the courtyard area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach, seaweed was piled by the open air Italian restaurant so was difficult to enjoy our meal due to the stench.

    Loved the courtyard area. All food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Get your money's worth with the all inclusive, would recommend to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bit more romantic. It is very much an adult playground which is fun but not for those who want a quiet romantic experience. The hotel can organise your return to the airport smoothly but has not mastered travellers moving onward to Cancun or Tulum, can be quite expensive. Try contacting Playa Xpress to come get you or flagging down a collectivo on the highway outside the hotel, although sometimes the collectivo won't take you if you have heaps of luggage.

    You don't have to think about anything,the resort thinks for you. They have activities running all day, there's free shopping tours to Playa, there's 5 restaurants to choose from. The pool bar was good. The crowd here are friendly. The rooms are clean and the shower water is hot with good pressure. Good balcony views of ocean if you get an ocean front view. Lots of wildlife on the property. The staff are helpful and entertaining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and enjoyable vacation thanks to delicious food and drinks and an wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish more wine options would have been included with the all inclusive package. Only one white wine was available without an extra charge. It was delicious, but would have appreciated a few more choices without having to pay extra.

    Food and drink options were extensive and delicious. Staff was very happy and friendly. They made our experience even more enjoyable. Our favorite restaurant was La Dolce Vita, Italian cuisine on the water with many options. Crispy salmon at the Blue Moon restaurant was amazing. El Charro Mexican restaurant by the pool was perfect for casual dining during the day while out by the pool and beach. Drink options were plentiful and every drink we tried was delicious. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and each have their own balcony. Overall a wonderful resort and would recommend to anyone looking for a great all inclusive vacation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Great food! A lovely place to spend vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not go the restaurant called Doce Vita, or something like that. We waited a century for our food and it was not that good as we expected. Although the view was quite nice.

    The breakfast was great! My room was clean and had a very nice view of the swimming pools. There were awesome Mexican shows at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My parents' room was a bit musty smelling, and the air conditioner rattled.

    The resort is mostly made up of small villas with 4-6 rooms each, so the grounds feel relaxed and you only share walls with 1-2 other rooms. The food and the service were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall very satisfied with our stay. I'd love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the beachs in the area of the hotel currently have a major seaweed problem. God bless the workers trying to keep up with the mess.

    The staff are very friendly and the property is kept very clean. The food was delicious with good variety. The Privilege program offered many advantages which we appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    really beautiful grounds and vegetation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was all great.

    really beautiful grounds and vegetation. we had been staying at a condo in playa del carmen, and wanted to get away for the night, away from all the noise of the city. this was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, just what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was in building 5, bottom floor. The bathroom (area with toilet and shower, had a sewage smell) Zero pressure in the shower, however all was very clean. We opted for the privilege package, which we felt was worth it. The more comfortable padded beds and chairs as well as the better dining options made our stay perfect! The poor waiter in the privilege lounge worked his tail off. They really need more help for him. He was running running running to help with all the guests. I hope the management take good care of him.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    The resort is very clean, the staff is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are people trying to sell you packages and such all the time. The resort is mostly for couples and older adults I would say.

    The resort is very clean, the staff is very nice. The entertainment staff, Hamlet, Octavio and the crew are the life of this resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, organized and beautiful place, great staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is missing. Too much seeweed.

    Very clean, organized and beautiful place, great staff and great variaty of food and drinks in all inclusive service (recommend privillege club).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no beach! photos of beachfront are photoshopped and look nothing like that. water was black with seaweed. hotel grounds ok but definitely not a 4-5 star, more like 3 star.

    buffet food was lovely. rooms nice and big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean facilities. Uncrowded, friendly, fast and easy service in and out of restaurants, great food displays & choices. No waiting in lines for the specialty restaurants. No Reservations required for these. Rapid service at the bars. Upgrade to Ocean View well worth it. Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Loved Privilege class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The beach is not the greatest but it is nice.

    We loved the food. The resort is very clean. We appreciated the Privilege class with all of its amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    there are 5 different restaurants where to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel agents will harass you to sell you deals and packages during your stay.Almost each day we had people coming over to talk us into something. If you are assertive enough with them , they will leave you alone. The customer service wasn't great, many occasions i ordered few option from the menu and the waiter looks at me and tells me " OHH, ALL THIS? " well i am sorry if i am a big guy and i can handle that, plus i paid for all inclusive+ privilege so i can drink and eat what i want. The only one person that actually impressed me with her professionalism, social and customer skills was ASUZANA and she is usually at the privilege lounge, so thank you for that. I have been woken up a couple of morning with a fence construction noise or tree planting in the yard opposite my room. Would have been more convenient to do it in the afternoon/early evening hours.

    there are 5 different restaurants where to eat. At least 3 of them were my favorite ( 1-Italian restaurant DOLCE VITA / 2- bluemoon / 3- Japanese restaurant Different pools with different vibes : If you want fun and drinking and water activities there is an option for that and if you want calm quite chilling pool , you have that option too. The Privilege package makes a huge difference with regards to drinks, there is a privilege lounge where you can make your own drinks. the privilege suite was massive, plenty of room, clean , and with a balcony in a calm area of the resort so no loud drunkies late at night. had 23 hrs room service included in our package. The bar was always replenished and the room always clean / they even had a turnover service at night. plenty of things going on to keep you entertained. my best part was the magic show at the theater and the salsa band playing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    It was a great stay overall. A bit far from downtown if you want to visit other places, though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sea was not that great to be honest. The water was a bit dark compared to other areas in Playa del Carmen. The resort is a bit far from downtown Playa and the taxis from the resort are way more expensive.

    The room was super nice. The food was great (except for the desserts which were not that good). Staff was super friendly and nice. Everything was clean. There were shows every night and the pool was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff was extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were several restaurants on the property, but they close at 10:30. Very annoying. So you can def go hungry if you’re a night owl or just coming back from an event . However they do offer snacks all night by the bar .

    The staff was extremely friendly. Make you feel very welcomed . The buffet was good a lot of options. Many activities on site . The Drinks were ok , I’ve had better .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    All of the newest renovations to the property were clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All of the newest renovations to the property were clean, beautiful and modern. The entertainers and staff on the property were excellent. The food was much better than many other all-inclusives and the near by cenote is stunning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Nice short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have to dig deep to find a negative - the decoration in the buffet restaurant La Hacienda is a bit too neutral. It would be nice to have bright decorations on the walls. That is the only thing negative.

    The food was EXCELLENT. It did not matter which restaurant we tried, the presentation, the quality, the taste exceeded are expectations. We really enjoyed having upgraded to Privilege, for us it was worth every cent we spent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Although the property is a bit more antiquated than others,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, this was an excellent resort!

    Although the property is a bit more antiquated than others, the staff more than made up for it with absolute friendliness!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Buffett breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was SO bland (NO Sprice, the don’t even have fresh jalapeños). The food temperature barely any warmer than look warm. A lot of weight staff had poor English which made it challenging to communicate especially for a “5 star”. Swimming pool NOT heated. I went with my mom (ages 34 and 60) so it’s a nice relaxing resort. No disco so NOT a resort for friends in their 19-35 looking to party. Great for couples or older family trip. I’ve travelled a lot internationally. Based on international standards of a 5 star resort, I’d rate this a 4. If you want a 5 star I’d suggest Secrets Capri by AMR next door.

    Buffett breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. Grounds were kept clean. Italian restaurant and Blue moon were yummy. The Privilege beach area by the Italian restaurant was great and service on the beach was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay at Ocean Maya Royale
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This resort probably had the friendliest employees out of all the resorts we have ever stayed and along with that came fantastic service. The employees bottom to top really make Ocean Maya Royale what it is, a great place to getaway and relax. Size wise the resort is on the smaller side so it is easy to get around and never had a problem finding chairs at the pool or beach(we were a party of four). With this being an adults only resort it was quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Great time and looked after very well
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food might become a bit repetitive if you are there for longer than a week.

    Good location...not too far away from playa del carmen. And resort has plenty of natural wildlife which keeps the day interesting.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ocean Maya Royale - Adults Only traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: