Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm - All Inclusive 4 stars

Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio, 2699, 48310 Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

#65 of 111 hotels in Puerto Vallarta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rundown, pool was freezing, no hot tub, our room screen was hanging out of sliding screen door, we were supposed to get a king and they gave us a double, beds super uncomfortable, shower nozzle kept falling off left knob, shower door kept sweening open, water pressure awful in shower, and smelt like sewer back up.

    Staff was super friendly, food was great, housekeeping cleaned great, location is great, it's right next to the beach, they have great entertainment at the hotel, and the staff-provided service was great all around the hotel. This hotel just needs major renovations and a hot tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Check in and out experience was not great. Not friendly, didn't give us the king room we had booked and gave us a hard time when we checked out about not paying for our laundry when we did. Our room did get changed with another staff who was great! Wifi was not great.

    The food was very good - lots to choose from. Pool was very warm and lovely. Beach area was also nice. Was pleasantly surprised by this resort and thought it was great value. Walking distance to the mall with Walmart, a gym, and the marina terminal. You can also walk to the marina (40 minutes). Across the street from a good market. Easy to take the bus to the Malecon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs some updating and the WiFi was a bit slow overall.

    The food! The daily breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet was always delicious. We never grew tired of eating at the resort and they would change up the menu a bit on a daily basis. The location was also spot on for us as it was walking distance from the maritime terminal where many tours depart from from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Disappointing that the hotel isn't right on the beach.

    Charm, liked the specialty restaurant - eating outside in a very pleasant setting- couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not maintained well. Light over sink out, shower drain stopped up But maintenance man fixed them.Room freshly painted and had bad chemical smell. No screen on patio door so we could not open door to vent because of mosquiitos. Bed sheets look like they were not changed when we got there. Noisy.

    Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds were hard, the bathroom was uncomfortable and not as clean as it could be, they came to put poison in the room while we were in the room, we had booked three rooms and one of the three rooms had a leak and we were moved to another room and then that rooms a/c was not working, they sold us a ticket to the club were they claimed they would take you and that it would be all you can drink (what they forgot to mention was that they dont take you they only order the cab for you and you must pay and the drinks are not all you can drink it's the bottom shelf drinks and they provide a bottle of cheap tequila for your table with soda). the majority of the events they had scheduled were cancelled.

    the bartenders around the pool were very attentive and made great drinks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was mostly friendly,as was the front door staff. The pool, beach and restaurant staff NOT friendly. I will not stay there again because of the unfriendly staff. Compared to other places I have stayed (4 trips to Mexico) this is the only one I wouldn't return to.

    We had a room in a corner which was great! Very quiet after 10:00pm when the pool entertainment stopped. If you needed to get to sleep before 10, bring good earplugs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See sbove

    The pool was nice, as the grounds. My first room was back in a tingy corner that was small, barren and smelled of mold. I was changed to third story room, far from everything and 3 flights of steps. The bar served litterally a half inch of alcohol per cup. The food was not good. I did get 2 free fried eggs in the morning and they were ok. Air conditioning was poor. I did get a room with view of courtyard but loud music played until 11pm and then a few guests talked till 130 am, so I couldn't open my patio door. Advertisement said on the beach, it was 2-3 blocks on a bust street. Also airport shuttle. They did not. Also in all I tried to like it but couldn't Sorry

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Toilet by La Troje bar shouldn't exist - it's old, blocked and disguisting. Music by pool and especially at beach club is too noisy and annoying. In my opinion should be more quiet and kind of chillout via better quality speakers - now it's pain! Food - big choice but where is sea food, where is mexican cuisine? Bell boy didn't take our bags to room (there is no lift!) as we were said at reception desk, just told us at the bottom of steps that our room is at second floor. And the most important - managers are walking and checking service all the time but it shouldn't be visible how they are giving advices to staff, it is not professional when they are doing that in front of customers (it happened with entertainment guy during his aqua aerobick exercises, with lady from SPA, and with one of the waiters during breakfast) and not fair with staff. Should be more respect for their hard job. Rooms are old and should be renovated. There should be access to tea nad coffee or in the room or in common areas all the time. Too many staff members clearly looking for tips for basic job like waiter bringing you coffee - we believe this is part of their job and they are getting salary for that.

    Great staff at reception and most of waiters (but only those ones are great not focused mainly on getting tips for their normal, basic job but focused on giving great service for customers like mr Ivan). Highly recommend SPA - hot stones treatment one of the best I ever had. It is difficult to be hungry at Hacienda, food is practicly served all the time. Own beach club, entertainment, themed evenings, nice pool. Flexible staff at reception giving us possibility to pay separately for treatments or rooms which was very helpful. Taxi service just in seconds from order.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms and furniture in the lobby need updating. Door to room did not feel secure roof leaking in our room. Called maintenance on 2 separate occasions to fix. Although they attended to it promptly both times it appears to be an ongoing issue. The beach club was not desirable based on plastic chairs, small area, and very limited food service.

    WiFi included Price was similar to chain hotels in the area however this hotel was also all-inclusive The dining room was all buffet-was fine given the price Friendly, conscientious staff Close to Marina Vallarta which is a delightful area filled with restaurants and a few stores

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are very dated--chipped tiles, drain open to open water, step down into tub is hazardous. On opening the door, there was an unpleasant sewage odour. Linens were thin due to being washed out. Very unreliable internet in room.

    All staff were fantastic--serving, housekeeping, desk. Quite amazing. Beds were comfortable. Food was very good quality with lots of variety. Theme nights and entertainment were fun, and were talented groups--both classical traditional and pop. Grounds are well-kept with lovely gardens. Pool area is beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the charm of the hotel. The staff are amazing and always there to answer all of our questions. They made you feel like you were at home. We are already planning our next visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room can seem musty but very clean

    Staff are amazing !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the buffet not fress

    ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same food was used over and over again everyday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only these grand tours are offered that are overprized.

    Staff was extremely friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel zone in Nuevo Vallarta is a little bit far from the old centre of town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wine was awful!

    Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds we had a nice and relaxing time

    It was close to home

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything was fine

    everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi can be better.

    Since the moment that we arrived we noticed the beautiful hacienda style architecture of the premises, the staff is so nice you feel like you know them... such a nice experience we will come back again

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds are not comfortable. A booklet in English with hotel information should be available. The hall outside my room was an echo chamber, so it was often noisy at all hours.

    Lovely staff. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A long wait after long travel is not the way you want to start off. At first we were told it would take 2 hours to sort out our booking.com reservation! Then we got the wrong (worse) room.

    After the room situation was worked out we had a great & very relaxing time. The staff were very attentive once we were checked in.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ugly, old, dirty room and bathroom. Broken tiles and sink, MOLD! in the shower. The shower had a leak that will drive you crazy, specially at night. Bottom line, no maintenance at all!! All rooms are facing to the pool area, they play very loud music since very early in the morning, not a pretty way to weak up everyday in Puerto Vallarta, specially if you are hungover.

    We got a very nice rate for 4 nights, the rate included all the drinks on New Years night. All the staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The spa is wonderful! make sure to make an appointment and get at least an 80min massage, you wont regret it, the spa facilities are pretty, with a very relaxing environment, professional and kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quality of wine red and white

    food selection,friendly staff, promt service and manager that cares about well being of the guests

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: