Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum 5 stars

Main Street 1, 97844 Uxmal, Mexico

#3 of 4 hotels in Uxmal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 673 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Unbelievable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cheaper food option would have been nice. They have their restaurant on-site, but if they could have some cheaper snack food at the bar or restaurant that would have been nice.

    The Hacienda Uxmal is one of the most beautiful, peaceful, and serene places I have ever stayed! I am already planning a return and am recommending the location to friends and family alike. We only stayed one evening and we wish we would have stayed more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Very beautiful hacienda converted in a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the check in was very impolite. The room was suppose to have a jacuzzi(for which we paid more) but it was just a simple bath (pretty old and very small). Rooms are very noisy. Overall prices are too high for the quality of the rooms and the service.

    Very beautiful hacienda converted in a hotel. The room was big and had a very charming view on the garden. Beautiful (but small) swimming pool and good restaurant (not many options outiside).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    We had a fun time with our daughter and granddaughter, who went horseback riding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at the Hacienda Uxmal 3 times over a number of years. It is consistently well-run. It has a great location within walking distance of the Mayan ruins at Uxmal. It has a nice pool for cooling off after a hot day of trekking around the ruins, as well as a full bar and good restaurant. They have a really good breakfast menu, and we usually linger on our check out day for a full Yucatecan style breakfast. On our last visit we walked through the Hacienda property visiting its orchards of exotic fruit trees.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful 6 days at hotel, great facilities, staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would have liked it even more if the beds weren't so firm; however, the rest of my family (3 others) were happy with the firmness of the beds.

    we liked everything about Hacienda Uxmal. The rooms were a great size, on the second floor of main building. Juilo at front desk was great and William, head waiter at breakfast and dinner, also wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Should offer continental breakfast for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should offer continental breakfast for the price. Staff was not as helpful or as friendly as staff at Chichen Itza resort of same company, but the food was better at dinner. Swimming pool was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    near from Uxmal, nice pool and restaurant area, food in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit older hotel, but still good.. nobody speak english

    near from Uxmal, nice pool and restaurant area, food in restaurant was really overpriced, but very tasty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hacienda in walking distance to the amazing Uxmal ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jacqueline Kennedy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tend to warm up quite a bit due to the glass ceiling.

    Beautiful rooms filled with historical charm. Good food. A lot to discover on the premises (bicycles are available). In walking distance to the amazing Uxmal ruins!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Visiting Uxmal archeological sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room description indicates that safe box is in the room. But it wasn't in our room. When I asked receptionist about the safe box, he offered us to leave our things in reception safe :( Bad and noisy air conditioner, we couldn't sleep because of it, so we switched it off , it was stuffy, so we woke up without any rest. Some of reasons why I booked this hotel were working air conditioner and safe box in the room. Spa center didn't work.

    Location, outside has a lot of plants, very nice exterior, calm place. Excellent breakfast. Amazing bathroom and toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    A transport back in time to the early days of discovery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no towel holders in bathroom to hang towels. they had to go on the floor or counter. no lamp on the corner table in room made it dark, not a place to sit and enjoy

    Staying here adds to the feel of history experience when visiting Uxmal. super close to the ruins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Location and history!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All fruit and ingredients of restaurant are delicious but the quality of food could improve.

    It has one of the best locations, right besides uxmal. It is also a hotel full of history!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Very disturbing that they charged for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast advertised with other included amenities- not included so it does not belong there. Poor maintenance- tub does not drain. Windows do not close AC over window - not eco friendly Large gaps around mosquiteros - room full of mosquitos Super hard mattresses - impossible to get comfortable Fridge compressor super loud - unable to sleep with the noise Windows do not close so birds wake guests in early am Supper a la carte was bad - filet minon over cooked and second steak had a strong taste like stable.... Receptionist at night said breakfast was included as on previous stay in am staff charged for breakfast

    Beautiful architecture, garden, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel, great staff, close to a maximum rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we got a nice upgrade the beds were very hard. The staff were great but the food was only ok and very limited choice for vegetarians

    The staff were all very friendly, the location was excellent and the pool was nice, clean and well looked after.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place close to the site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Good stay close to the site. The personnel do their best to make your stay pleasant. The equipments are first class and the gardens are beautifull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is beautiful and perfect to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is super expensive and very poor quality. The hotel takes advantage of customers by charging water excecively and not even putting some in the rooms as all hotels do.

    The hotel is beautiful and perfect to rest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Take a bike and go check out the ruins of the original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Listen UP, everyone and especially tourists from Europe! It is ILLEGAL to add a mandatory tip onto restaurant bills in MEXICO!! I am all for tipping the servers but I tipped them in cash only to find a big added tip on my bill--very much NOT ok. The restaurant fare is mediocre and overpriced, to be expected as they have you hostage.

    Take a bike and go check out the ruins of the original hacienda, say helo to resident iguanas, and by all means do the Sound and Light Show at the ruins, even though it probably has not been updated since the 80s--worth it just to be in the site at night, especially close to full moon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    A historical hotel with perfect location that could improv
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were large and had a Jacuzzi situated in a toilet area with a glass roof. Very nicely done but the drains were dried out so the hole room stank. You would assume that the cleaning staff should have noticed. We had to change room and the second one was slightly better but still the toilet area had a bad odor. The pool was dirty and some of the sunbeds full with bird excrement. Further was the hamburger served in the pool bar one of the worst we have ever tasted.

    The Hacienda has a long history shown throughout the buildings. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the entrance of the Uxmal ruins. The dinner and breakfast buffe’s were nice and offered good value for money. The service was excellent and for breakfast we got a pair of complementary tasty omelets without any hesitation or extra costs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Magical place , go to Muna and the local cenotes if you have time !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Birds in area just wonderful . Very lovely pool area , close to ruins . As there are no restaurants nearby best to do American plan ie all meals included if possible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in morning was bad.

    Beautiful hacienda property 2 minutes from the pyramid. Grounds are gorgeous and very relaxing. Pool is very nice although cold. Staff s excellent. Great restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole area seems to be owned by a single family and is designed as a literal tourist trap. Leaving the area requires a car, the next taxi service is 20 minutes away. All services are provided by the same company (Mayaland) at exorbitant prices, even though they draw personnel and resources from cheap local markets. However, little of that money is reinvested. - Due to a badly designed drain the bathroom reeked of foul eggs. - WiFi and Internet connectivity were spotty at best. - The food was ok, but nothing to write home about. A local restaurant in Muna (La Finca) offered better cuisine at about a 5th of the price. - While the building clearly had been impressive at some point, current repairs are often lacking or of low quality. - The main attraction, the Uxmal ruins, are largely being reclaimed by vegetation. A lot of the restoration work does not deserve that denomination. With a little more effort and saner prices, this could be a great place. It's a shame, really.

    The building has an interesting history and tastefully furnished. Staff was competent and friendly, service was good. When they did not have the desired type of bed available they upgraded us to the Jacky Kennedy suite for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Lovely building, great location for the ruins, visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive food and drinks, bad service - set up for tour buses

    Lovely building, great location for the ruins, visit the chocolate museum - great for the chocolate and animals

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    We spent a whole day in Maya ruins and in CocoStory park. A birthday plate of fresh fruits was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The Hacienda has a rich history well presented on the walls of hotel corridors. The location - close to Uxmal Maya monuments is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely garden and swimming pool, large room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant quite expensive, average food including for breakfast

    Great location, lovely garden and swimming pool, large room, quiet with nice view at the back, good staff as usual in Yucatan

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting and the smell in the bathroom.

    Nice hotel built as a traditional hacienda. Rooms are quite big and the jacuzzi enjoyable. Restaurant and breakfast are good as well. Do take a tour in the domain to visit the antic hacienda (bikes available for free).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    Decent place but find other places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was pretty rude. The food / drinks are tremendously overpriced. You are better off eating elsewhere unless you have no transportation. Unfortunately, there are not too many options close by. Our best option was to eat at a restaurant in town. The other restaurants at the adjacent hotels are just as expensive.

    The location was excellent. You are just a short walk to the entrance of the Uxmal ruins.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hacienda Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resuarant is expensive, but there are other resuarants in the area that are reasonable and good.

    Very nice hotel, good spacious rooms, comfortable beds, very clean rooms. Great pool. Good location for visiting the ruins. Wonderful place to stay. Great rates, good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful slice of paradise in the Mexican countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This hotel was the nicest place we stayed in Mexico.

    Beautiful hotel on a real working farm. Polite, friendly staff who spoke English. Walking distance to Uxmal. Delicious food. Clean, large rooms. Beautiful pool. We loved our stay at the hotel, we arrived earlier than expected and was greeted with a refreshing and delicious welcome drink. We were upgrade for free to the Jacqui Kennedy suite and allowed to access the room straight away. The hotel and room was immaculate, beautifully presented and idilic. The food served in the restaurant and fresh juices and jams are all made from the fruit and vegetables in the plantation, which are fresh and delicious. We were able to walk into Uxmal in 10 mins from the hotel (entrance to the park is 400 metres), 5 mins or less to the Choco Story museum (its right next door) and we used the free bikes to cycle around the plantation. I couldn't recommend this property enough. We loved every minute.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    The place is near the ruins of Uxmal and you can feel that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have expected also to see the plantation of caco as is in its name ... but if you do not pay extra is not accessible ( visible). Personal is nice ,but the TIPS are on the bill... like obligatory , part of the bill... we are not used to that and we did not liked. A tip , for us, should remain the choice of the client......Compared with Chichen and other haciendas the buildings are not so nice.

    The place is near the ruins of Uxmal and you can feel that you are in the trace of explorers. Nice swimming pool and garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    The place is amazing and the staff super kind. Our experience wasn't so good cause it was a very co
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience wasn't so good cause it was a very cold night and there is no isolation in the rooms. We asked for an extra cover for the bed and they didn't have one... We couldn't sleep all night. A small detail makes the difference. the staff was very kind after this inconvenience.

    The place is amazing and the staff super kind. We loved the special maya breakfast with Luis. Totally recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    A great place to stay in Uxmal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit old and spilled outside the tub (so-called jacuzzi). Wifi was intermittent in the rooms. Restaurants on the expensive side -considering the area, you do not really have other options within walking distance.

    Beautiful place, the buildings, the bedrooms, the terrace, the plantation. Very nice staff. Within walking distance of Uxmal site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant setting and swimming pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast and dinner buffet can be improved, both in terms of food and organization of the staff and facilities. They are quite expensive and there are not really other options in the surrounding area. Extremely strong smell from our bathroom. The staff was helpful, but in any case such issues should be solved.

    Perfect location to visit Uxmal and the ruta Puuc. Nice swimming pool and pool bar/restaurant. Staff always smiling and willing to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    A beautiful hacienda style property with great amenities and staff, short walk to the pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a beautiful property that is a 10 minute walk to the entrance of the Uxmal pyramids and ruins. The Chocolate Museum is also right next door (definitely worth a visit). The hotel has a central courtyard with a great pool that is lit up at night. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast and dinner, and there is also an a la carte option from the menu. Lunch is available at the poolside bar, where we spent our evenings sipping tequila and enjoying the balmy weather. The food is excellent. I highly recommend the chicken stuffed with squash blossoms, my favorite. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, decorated in a colonial style. The property is located on a working hacienda which we didn't have time to explore unfortunately. But we had a wonderful time visiting Uxmal and some other Mayan ruins on the Puuc route. William the manager was especially helpful to us, making sure we had everything we needed and looking after us. Special mention also to Reina our waitress in the restaurant who was so kind and attentive. I highly recommend staying here. Catch the sound and light show in the evening at the pyramids if you have a chance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Repeated visits to location do not disappoint....will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Food and bar prices a little high for location and resort.

    Great location...super friendly and professional staff...quiet and lovely grounds and pool. Special thanks to staff and ownership for making visit a home away from home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    incredible place, great lighting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the room, since it is a winter thought

    It was perfect location, outside the Uxmal park, on a walking distance. The swimming pool and the whole lighting of the place is incredible and make you feel that you are living hacienda life. Definitely one of the landmarks of our trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Great for a single night stay to enjoy the history and ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of variety and choices for food at the restaurant. Meals expensive. While service was adequate it was not overly friendly nor special.

    Lots of character and history. Well located close to ruins. Little choice for food closeby so ate at restaurant. Very expensive and unremarkable food. Pool nice and rooms spotless. Good for a night but we stayed 3 and felt overall not great value. Having a car meant we could explore the area and eat at other places for lunches. Uxmal itself the most amazing ruins in Mexico. It’s well worth the effort to get there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Our stay was exactly what we hoped for, Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was genuinely interested in making sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. The grounds were immaculate and the room comfortable and very clean. It’s was definitely a place for some much needed R & R. My husband and I had a wonderful stay here and would very likely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Definitely worth staying here to visit the Uxmal and Kabah Mayan sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticisms.

    This property is an elegant, historic Spanish Colonial-style set of buildings with historic and current artistic artifacts on display. Breakfast outdoors by the beautiful swimming pool is delightful. The separate restaurant offers indoor and outdoor veranda dining, as well as serenades by local musicians, upon request. Very delightful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property, BUT.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    FOOD: Poor quality and overpriced food. We had dinner and breakfast and in both cases very much disappointed. They really need to improve their food quality. SPA: 1 female masseur only for both huge Properties hence you must be very lucky to find a free time slot. We were not able to have a massage. When I asked the receptionist why there is only 1 masseur versus over 200 rooms the answer was "nobody wants to work in the jungle".... Ridiculous.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Charming Hacienda next to Uxmal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool is not very nice.

    Best location to stay when visiting the ruins of Uxmal. Traditional and charming Hacienda with very grand scaled rooms and bathroom. Comfortable beds and pillows. Highly recommended to try the very delicious cocktails and food there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable room in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is too expensive. No wifi inside the rooms. But wifi is available just outside the rooms, so all you have to do is open the door of your room and get out of it.

    Nice and comfortable room in a lovely setting. Excellent position, few steps from the archeological site (which is wonderful). From there it is also very easy to visit the sites of the "Ruta Puuc". Kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel, good restaurant & also & good snack bar by the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con was too cold & it didn't regulate as it should have.

    Breakfast outside by the pool. Good size swimming pool. A must to visit is the Choco-museum next door which includes an animal sanctuary.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Location , 5 mn walk from Uxmal ruins .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant , prices are very high and food is just standard . If you have a car go to Muna village ((15 Mn drive) and eat there , tacos are ten times cheaper than at the hotel ! Breakfast is also not included in the room rate.

    Location , 5 mn walk from Uxmal ruins . Room was spatious The pool is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    An oasis amongst the jungle and the ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a remote location so the only eating options are the hotel restaurants, the food was delicious but quite pricey and very similar in the two restaurants available. But most people likely only stay for one night so this wouldn't really be an issue!

    Beautiful building with a really interesting history and very well placed for the ruins. Lovely staff, grounds and pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel recommended guide Jorge Mex who dumped us at the door of Uxmal to guide some german tourist since they pay 100 mxn more! a true lack of professionalism and manners!!!!

    location. across from Uxmal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was beautifull, a nice room with a big window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the food, it was expensive and we ( but perhaps thats personal) did not think it was good.

    The hotel was beautifull, a nice room with a big window. Lots of animals wich makes it real natural. When we arrived it was 12:00 o'clock, but the room was ready so we could go in. I did the massage en the maya ritual with the sweattingtipi, performed by Maas Viktor, a maya. It was super, we really enjoyed it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    The vicinity to the Uxmal temples and ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too expensive. But probably due to the big premises...

    The vicinity to the Uxmal temples and ruins... A very beautiful place, but the building is old but well maintained. The environment was beautiful, when we left we were surrounded by thousands of yellow-orange butterflies that started their migration from the tropical rain forest of Uxmal - Yucatan to the north of the USA (I looked it up on internet), awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Magnificent but eat elsewhere...in town across road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notice stating if we bought our own FOOD OR DRINK we would be fined 50 US dollars and if we put any clothes outside they would be removed.The food and drink is crazy expensive...a simple meal with one course and a couple of cocktails cost 2000 pesos...ouch.

    Physical beauty magnificent pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    excellent location next to Uxmal ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant on site was of poor quality and significantly over priced. It was a big disappointment at an otherwise wonderful Hacienda.

    excellent location next to Uxmal ruins. Wonderful facility.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay Right Next to Uxmal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Actually we were booked at the Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & when we arrived were told a huge group of high school students were coming in & it was going to be noisy....So they offered to move use to a nicer, quieter, upgraded room across the street at the Lodge at Uxmal right next to the ruin site...And, a much nicer property. We were very happy with the room, the grounds, and the service there....and would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.1
    A great lodge but a place of missed opportunities and a restaurant that should be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was not worth being called one. Breakfast was expensive and bad and buffet had the quality of cantine food. What a missed opportunity for that location in Uxmal. Uxmal site could easily be done out of Merida (1h drive)

    First we were moved to the hotel next to the site, Great room in a typical design (thatched roof) but it was virtually impossible to cool this place down. Great view - could actually see the fortune teller pyramide from our window. This place could be absolutely marvellous with a different service attitude in the restaurant and an adequate restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Monumental building, large room, green garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is beautiful and very close to the archeological site, but isolated. You cannot switch to a near-by restaurant. The hotel restaurant serves only a small variety of dishes for dinner, but is extremeley expensive. The exchange rate USD/MXD is extremely disadvantageous. The price for the room is tendered in USD and quoted in MXD. The price for meals is tendered in MXD, but can be paid in USD. The difference between those quotes is enormous.

    Monumental building, large room, green garden

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hacienda that is a destination in itself..100% recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no issues with the hotel

    Beautiful garden, swimming pool was so refreshing and a fun place to hang out and meet with other hotel guests, rooms are clean and have a unique charm , staff were friendly and professional...wonderful experience staying at this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous place to stay near Uxmal ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish breakfast would have been included, like it was for all the tour group folks.

    Very nice hotel, large clean rooms. Very comfortable beds. Lovely pool. Very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous location for Uxmal archaeological site preferred Uxmal site to Chichen Itza less commercial
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Location across the road to Uxmal site - beat the queues! Beautiful pool and grounds. Great restaurant. Large room with 2 double beds. Car Parking on site. Would highly recommend and I would have happily stayed a second night for a lazy day by pool but we had a road trip to complete!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Belongs to Mayaland Report but is not that luxurious but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food overpriced, eat the Tacos for dinner that are not on the menu (8€) and delicious. Toilet/drain smells heavily (or the canalisation at all). Keep the door closed!!!

    Belongs to Mayaland Report but is not that luxurious but lovely Hacienda Style. Jungle feeling because of beautiful birds Sounds. Shower curtain, no glass front,in the bathtub, bit old fashioned. Nice big sink area. Beds comfy but a bit short. Sanatory feeling because waiters wear all white. Nice staff. Pretty clean. Choco Story Tickets 20 Pesos cheaper here than on site. Nice pool and ceramics. Breakfast we had a la carte, price and quality okay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Best Deal at Uxmal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was good but a little spendy.

    Elegant old style grounds and beautiful, stately rooms. The staff was excellent and the pool was perfect. Very reasonably priced, too,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic hacienda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, could have moved in.

    Fantastic Hacienda with an old history. Great room overlooking the pool which was a real plus after a hot day at the site. Restaurant was good, waiters kind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Charm and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a slight smell of mold and sewer in the bathroom.

    Lovely place, a lot of unique character and old charm! The surroundings are beautiful too: great yard and pool area, and when you take a stroll on the plantation area, you get to see all the fields of citrus and cocoa trees, chiles, tomatoes etc. The staff was very hospitable and friendly all dressed in the Yucatecan national outfit. The cocktails were good and huge! We are vegetarians/vegans and although there were nearly no vegetarian dishes on the actual menus, they always had something tasty to offer us off-menu, all you had to do was ask. There was a unique ambience at the dinner on the candle-lit balcony, when the bats flew over our heads and two guys played Mexican guitar music for the guests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Historiens vingslag på vackert hotell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Barpersonalen var butter och inte så snabb. Tvättservicen var dålig. Våra kläder ströks men hade inte tvättats alls.

    Hotellet är vackert och man känner historiens vingslag. Trevligt med gungstolar utanför rummen så man kunde sitta på kvällen och titta ut i det tropiska mörkret.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late Check in time and early check out time

    Facilities: swimming pool, common area Room: spacious and well manteined Location: very close to ruins area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    A first class hotel that makes you feel a welcome guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin? The hacienda is easy to access and a five minute walk to the Uxmal site. Although beside the road, once inside the hotel you are unaware of it and there is no road noise. The overall design makes you feel you are staying at an old but beautifully cared for home. The open corridors are shady and full of comfortable seating at each room's door. They surround a beautiful garden and good sized swimming pool with easy step access. A bar serving drinks and food all day is immediately adjacent as is the dining room that has a shady outdoor terrace. The corridor walls and main staircase display very interesting photographs and text that tell of the archaeologists that have stayed as well as the many famous guests. The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds, lots of hot water, good air conditioning and opening windows have screens. There are many rooms that are fully wheelchair accessible with lovely views. Our reservation with Booking.com was for room only, but before we left England we booked breakfast and dinner for each night direct with Mayaland. This was fantastic value. Breakfast was extensive and served at the table. There was a different four course menu each night with choice of main course and dessert. On Friday a non-meat starter was happily offered when requested. Portions were ample and the food very well presented and served. We were told to ask for any non meat alternatives that would be cooked to order. There was an a la carte menu too. Service overall was fantastic. Dining room staff were always attentive; the maid who cleaned the room was prompt and thorough; gardeners were clearly proud of their work and a porter exceptional in his delivery of many bags to our room following a very welcoming reception and early check in. We did not feel staff behaviour was forced and smiles and greetings false, but rather there was pride in a job well done and a real desire to please visitors. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.3
    Needs more love or cheaper prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big window which doubled the cost of our room was quite dirty. The towels were small and very hard and the towel swan was frayed all the way round - it looked horrible. The tap for the bath leaked and squirted water upwards and I had to hold it down to make the bath work. The internet did not work in the room and the television only had a few channel which worked. The food in the restaurant was extremely expensive and not that great. The whole place felt unloved and dark with scrubby little plants and strange arrangements of pillars - not really as the photos suggested. I was surprised by the high rating as usually the reviews reflect quite accurately the hotel. Other guests I spoke to were equally underwhelmed. If the price had been lower I would not have been so bothered by these things but I felt totally ripped off (this was probably getting on for my 20th hotel in the Yucatan)

    I paid extra for a room with a big window and view of the plantation which was very nice. Right next to Uxmal site.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Hacienda Uxmal has seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lunch and dinner food is mediocre, at best. (Breakfast buffet is better.) Restaurant staff are completely incompetent-- slow, disorganized, mistake-ridden. It took nearly an hour for us to get a bottle of lukewarm white wine for premium price. Big decline in service from my previous visits in 1989, 2003 and 2014.

    Excellent location, very close to Uxmal Archaeological site. The buildings and grounds are beautiful. Staff are courteous and respectful. Wonderful old-world feeling.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Very nice hotel on grounds of old hacienda
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, right beside the turnoff to Uxmal. Comfortable room, very well landscaped pool area for relaxing after a long drive and/or seeing the archaeological site. Delicious dinner with a good bottle of chilled Mexican white... Super sweet, attentive service at the bar later and Maya lessons! Dios bo’otik!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is so so. Breakfast is average. No buffet. We asked if we could have our breakfast outside and we were told "no". After a while a party of four arrived and asked the same question to a different member of staff; they were directed to a table outside near the pool.The staff in the restaurant is not great. It is better to pay with a credit card in the restaurant or to open an account with your card at the reception.

    Very nice Hacienda, close to the entrance of the ruins. Nice pool and garden. We were 3 adults and we had only 2 proper beds, the other bed was a roll away bed. The receptionist helped us to get that bed replaced by a proper bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel at the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully appointed. The restaurant is good, especially when they have buffets which happens only when they have a large number of guests. The pool is very nice. We traveled by bus from Merida and the bus stops directly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, with a door separating two rooms..I guess our neighbors suffered more from it...besides that, was great

    The hotel is amazing, the breakfast was tasty, the guy in the front desk was super friendly and let us check out at 15:00 after having a shower after the ruins..the shower was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Jacqueline Kennedy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Relaxed and great pool , staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Class act beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Class act beautiful place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    The history of the (old) hacienda is interesting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say here. Only a shame the old hacienda is practically a ruin.

    The history of the (old) hacienda is interesting!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.0
    tyhe grounds were beautiful corner room great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not enough TV channels

    tyhe grounds were beautiful corner room great food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    The food was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing. Great location, being within walking distance of the ruins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beautiful and perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and restaurant were not brilliant.

    The room was really nice. The hotel was really beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful surroundings and the interior which definitely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful surroundings and the interior which definitely keeps its historic touch

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: