Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hacienda El Santuario Hotel Boutique 5 stars

Terraplen 42 Colonia Centro, 37700 San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

#19 of 126 hotels in San Miguel de Allende

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 662 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.8
    Pretty courtyards and planting everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dark and basic. Building works were being carried out during the day near our room so not great if you want an afternoon siesta!

    Pretty courtyards and planting everywhere. Close to the centre. Room was well decorated with a seating area outside. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Hotel Santuario will have a permanent place in my heart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms only have ceiling fans, so it can be a little warm in the afternoons buts it’s cool in the evenings and mornings, almost chilly at night. Don’t be fooled by the plain exterior. That is true of most of the luxurious haciendas in SMA. You can book directly at a savings of around 20%.

    The historic old convent is amazing. The staff is friendly and attentive. The Santuario transports you to a simpler, happier more peaceful place. Convenient to all parts of the old Centro. Delicious breakfast from 9 to 11, or later if necessary. The passageways, gardens and hidden parlors are great spots to read and reflect, and on Friday and Saturday mornings the live harp music makes its way to them from the courtyard. Local food choices are wonderful. Try a local, seasonal (fall) favorite: Chiles en Nogada (not spicy at all). Good Wi-Fi, but I think that might be a drawback. Every possible place is full of art. Come here to get away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    4.2
    Do Not Stat Here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible dark and airless room was made even worse by the loud and smelly, arc welding, and hammering etc... construction work going on right outside the door. We had stayed here once before and it was good. The hotel has, evidently, only a few rooms that are pleasant like the one we stayed in before. Louis at reception, who had been helpful the first stay, had said he would do his best to put us in the same room, he did not. We complained about the room we were in immediately and asked to be moved, that room was just as loud and smelled very bad and musty. To make matters even worse my wife and I were sick with very bad food poisoning for which we had to call a Doctor, who came to our room and gave me an injection. So we were to sick to go out and just had to put up with the horrible place. We feel that we deserve a full refund. The mosquitoes were so bad that we could not sit outside on the patio of the room, which was also even closer to the construction work. My wife is covered in bites. I could go on but you get the idea.

    The rest of the staff was just as pleasant and helpful as before. The hotel is an old and attractive building, in certain areas.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard for my liking.

    Exquisite decor. Something unique snd wonderful around every corner. Your photos don’t do it justice. The staff was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel/Hotel Hermoso
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive early to San Miguel de Allende make sure you notify them of your early arrival with time. I had to wait for check in till 3pm. Not good if you have an event or are tired from a red eye flight. Other than that this hotel is highly recommended.

    This Hotel is Beautiful, clean and the location is great. Looks like a small Hacienda. I got Suite ( Sandia) and it was more than what I expected. Breakfast was delicious, staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It could be a little pricy but totally worth it. Also its walking distance to everything. Fun Fact: This Hotel used to be a Covent back in days.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Great trip, not so great beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were awful. They were hard as rocks. Didn't get much sleep the two nights we stayed.

    The location was perfect, service was great. The rooms were beautiful and very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    The decoration is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They still put for the shampoo and lotion plastic bottles. They should try to be more green.

    The decoration is amazing. You can find all the Mexican handicrafts in one place. The pieces are exceptional. The hotel is really cozy and very well located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic, would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Initial communication with regard to the room and it's sizing - how large the room was; how big the bed.

    The room was well decorated, spacious and comfortable. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The included breakfast was savory and plentiful. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful place and stunning experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It`s just a beautiful perfect and pleasant place. The rooms are distributed along different floors which provides perfect privacy. The decoration is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Unlike the new development, this hotel has the charm and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unlike the new development, this hotel has the charm and it is blended into the town. Great location to go anywhere but very quiet inside of the hotel and relaxing. Staffs are very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    The central patio for having breakfast is fantastic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needs to be improved with a new shower head and better water pressure.

    The central patio for having breakfast is fantastic and the breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility for a late evening drink in the patio.

    Very comfortable bed. Nice breakfast, served with a smile. Truly a sanctuary. Liked the herb and vegetable garden on the roof.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful centrally located, yet quiet boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was a little too firm, but nice pillows and bedding overall.

    Good hot breakfast included, with a fruit plate, whole grain toast, homemade marmalade, choice of breakfast meats and eggs made to order. The rooms were very quiet, a bonus in San Miguel, even though centrally located. Beautiful local ceramics and artwork were displayed. And there is a lovely large shaded courtyard where breakfast or lunch is served. Very friendly, professional and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Very attentive and nice staff, nice and clean property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they didn’t have any desserts for breakfast even if we have to pay extra for it, we asked for the dessert menu and they said that they don’t have any

    The staff were very attentive, helpful, the breakfast was very good, very clean property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Great place. Staff need proper training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was clueless at check in and check out. no loading zone at arrival. Locals were yelling at us and beeping horns. Some of the staff were great. Some were totally clueless, and some were downright rude.

    Nice vibe. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Awesome place & Awesome staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. It was perfect

    Just came back from this beautiful & enchanted place. My hotel stay was awesome. Everything perfect but the most important thing to note here was the professionalism & friendliness of the staff. Everyone was super courteous, friendly, professional & ready to assist us at anytime. Always with a smile. This has been my best hotel stay ever anywhere. Beautiful hotel, awesome staff, and delicious food. Special thanks to Luis for all his help. No matter who you encountered they always had a smile & knew exactly how to assist.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location, nice place and great view from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a wake up call at 530am and never got it. The receptionist lied saying the phone was not working. Very bad experience

    Good location, nice place and great view from the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely delightful, colourful and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a tad expensive.

    Absolutely delightful, colourful and beautiful. Luis at front desk was very helpful. So were the other staff. The hotel is just two blocks away from the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Hacienda El Santuario is a nice boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately we had a couple of issues getting in touch with reception both via the phone and via email. However the staff were kind and quick to reassure me that they were aware of the issue and were fixing it. I would also like to mention that although the majority of the staff were kind, friendly and helpful, others were less so.

    Hacienda El Santuario is a nice boutique hotel. The bedrooms are spacious and the internal courtyard is a beautiful place to have breakfast. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely colonial surroundings, some disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are advertised as having air conditioning and ours did not, nor could they change us to a room that did. The reservations and front desk staff members seem confused and don't provide clear answers. They need training or a supervisor.

    Most of the rooms are lovely. The breakfast was very good, and the waiters and waitresses are extremely willing and helpful. Very good location for San Miguel Allende sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels and bed sheets are not very soft.../the pillows are hard.../ the room doesn’t have a coffe machine...

    Staff extremely kind/ good light in the room/very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    It was an absolute delight Andy perfectly located with caring good natured staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, given my limited Spanish, more bi lingual staff might help. But everyone tried .

    The bed was perfect but most important to me because of a crisis was the kindness and helpfulness of the staff, from the security guard to desk staff. And the waitstaff in the restaurant were lovely. The hotel was more beautiful than I knew.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Our room was pretty nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No place to meet up with friends for a drink. Breakfast was redundant, Staff spoke some English, hard to assist with problems, like lost or stolen items.

    Our room was pretty nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    The issue mentioned above rather spoiled our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel blocked a night’s stay as a deposit, and in spite of my paying for our stay in full as soon as we arrived they still hadn’t unblocked it when we left. Not good.

    The breakfasts were good and the staff serving it, especially Abraham, were excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place and location for a nice retreat in SMA!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undergoing some renos at the time of our stay.

    Nice facility, great location a few minutes from the major sights, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent coffee!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The atmosphere within the hotel was quiet and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    None. Our first experience was excellent!

    The atmosphere within the hotel was quiet and relaxing. You could here the soft music playing in the background while eating in the center of the hotel. The garden was beautiful with the birds singing. Food was excellent. Excellent customer service, they were able to anticipate our needs. Overall, a great experience! Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff is a bit clueless and needs better attention in following through on requests or offers to help. Not sure if this was due to language barrier.

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff really was super and the location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a room with a very noisy air conditioner that made a loud noise on and off all night. We also felt the amenities or lack thereof, (No Bar) were not commensurate with the price.

    Breakfast and staff were great. The staff was helpful and made reservations for us. The property was very well located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Would stay here in a heartbeat next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful to us. We had to drop off our bags as we changed hotels and were going on an excursion and they were wonderful about it. They were in our room when we returned. The location is very close to the center of town and easy walking distance. The room was very comfortable and the lobby/restaurant area was beautiful. The birds were a nice touch. Finally, we had to leave before the complimentary breakfast and the staff offered to make us breakfast early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, and quaint surroundings, but needs maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms off of courtyard. Maintenance is an issue. There were light bulbs in the bathroom not working, and a drain in the shower that was not draining well. Despite telling staff about the problems, they were not addressed.

    Quaint facility with open courtyard for sitting, and breakfast. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, beautiful room and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too firm for me and internet was poor in our room. Breakfast was good but changed little throughout our stay.

    Great location, beautiful room and grounds. Very quiet and relaxing. Bed was too firm for me and internet was poor in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Charming place about 10 minute walk from the main square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming place about 10 minute walk from the main square along old cobblestone streets with colorful homes and boutiques. Garden outside our room and lovely patio on lobby level where drinks and breakfast are served. Staff was delightfully helpful and welcoming. Excellent choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Would love stay there again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and sinks did not drain well. But that is all, the rest was charming.

    The staff was lovely....friendly, helpful. The location is wonderful, close to main square but a few blocks away - enough to be quiet. Breakfast buffet was delish’

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed San Miguel. A little touristy for us, but a nice spot for getting away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had a shower which did not work very well. It was not well lit and to use the shower you had to reach in through the curtain and set the water temp, then get in and hold the shower button on the faucet to get a shower. Not easy and it kept going off. There were no handrails, which would have been appreciated since it was a tub/shower combination. The water from the tap in the sink smelled and I wasn't sure it was purified or not so I didn't drink it. Breakfast was sort of boring and not worth the money spent on the room.

    The bed was fine. The location was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Room was super-quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Your suggested limit of recommended length for reviews of 200 characters is inane. This is not Twitter.

    Room was super-quiet. And dark at night. Great for sleeping. Insulated from any noise, but very close to everything. The breakfasts are wonderful - fruit and juice and coffee to start, and eggs etc as you would wish. The staff was very professional and extremely helpful. This is a wonderful spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    This is a great spot to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at front desk could have been more helpful with questions and general information

    Beautiful grounds, spacious master suite, nice breakfast on patio, excellent location to center of town, quiet street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed this hotel, would definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I'd say is that the breakfast was good but not amazing. I got spoiled by some other amazing breakfasts on this trip elsewhere, so I guess my expectations were high! The eggs at the hotel were fresh and good, but it didn't wow me.

    I actually thought the room was even nicer than how it appeared on the website. It was huge; the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and had high quality soaps/shampoo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had two floors, the staircase leading to the second flier was too narrow...

    Location was great! The hotel is nicely built, very quiet and good place to relax and rest..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Charming property in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Sometimes communication was an issue as the best English speakers were not always available. Staying as long as we did, it would have been nice to change the breakfast menu a bit, also felt it was an overpriced feature.

    Nice breakfast with lots of variety: fruit plate, yogurt, granola, cereals, sweet pancakes, scrambles eggs, chilaquilles, and black beans. The staff was all greatly helpful and friendly. The entire property was charming inside the room and with the rest of the property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was a bit dark and the bathroom needed fresh paint.

    Staff were extra hospitable and the breakfast was very generous. Loved the home made granola and yogurt. Quiet, convenient location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful small Spanish hotel with great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would struggle to find something wrong.

    Great location and beautiful courtyard. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast in courtyard. Quiet and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.4
    Balcony Becomes a Basement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a junior suite with balcony and received a petite suite in a basement with a foot level view of 2 motorcycles for 2 of our 3 nights. We did not receive the room type we booked and even after being brought up with the Luis the manager, nothing was done but lie to our faces. Booking.com is not being supportive either even with pictures to prove the basement and reservation showing different room type reserved. Paid for a certain room type, received a lower valued room type, brought it up with the manager and Booking.com and nothing was done. Beware booking this hotel through Booking.com because when the property does a "bait and switch", they won't help you. Beware of the Gardenia room as it's the only room at the property in a basement.

    Excellent breakfast and great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic convenient location to all in centro. Perfect blend of quality and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were there in January with temps dipping into the 40's and 30's at night. Some rooms have modern HVAC others have a space heater. Breakfasts outdoors can be really cold even with heat lamps.

    Lovely breakfasts on the outdoor patio. Some rooms with very high ceilings and exposed beams, others more like regular sized rooms. Staff was great. Good quality towels and sheets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    A true sanctuary in San Miguel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The showerhead in our room shot out needles of water and was almost painful. Also, we prefer a much softer mattress.

    A beautiful, quiet hotel in a perfect, central location. Our room was very spacious and decorated in a way that is both stylish and relaxing, a true sanctuary. In fact, the decor throughout the hotel is really lovely: Around every corner are hidden courtyards, welcoming patios, beautiful sitting rooms, and Mexican folk art and fine crafts decorating every niche and nook. The staff are lovely and helpful in every way, and the breakfast is generous and delicious--don't miss the chilaquiles. Definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable. The were hard as rocks. The food was very mediocre and the only place to eat was outside where it was very cold with no heaters. The staff was very nice however the were not knowledgeable about events in the town.0ver all it was good. The property is well located to the downtown area.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Memorable first visit that I hope to repeat in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food selection for breakfast could be expanded. Oatmeal would have been a great addition

    Location and hotel atmosphere was just what I expected-colonial. And the service was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    The manger, Luis, was not only personable but very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manger, Luis, was not only personable but very professional and efficient. Our room, Le Roble, was spacious and light filled. The breakfasts were delicious and the coffee was strong. We loved everything and would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Wish there was a restaurant/bar on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or bar on premises. Check out the nearby Rosewood Hotel rooftop bar for drinks.

    Quiet location just a 5 minute walk to centre. Lots of small restaurants and things to see here a little south of the main square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    We wanted to stay in a unique hotel and this exceeded our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to stay in a unique hotel and this exceeded our expectations. All the staff were professional, warm and friendly. Beautiful hotel with lots of charm and comfortable rooms. Great central location, we rented a car at the airport but during our 4 days there we didnt use it once! We were also suprised the included breakfast each day was auctually a big full breakfast with great coffee, fresh juice, eggs, chilaquiles, omlets, fresh fruits, homemade jams, etc..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay in San Miguel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff is a bit disorganized and aloof. Would love to have warm water in the bathroom sinks.

    The hotel is incredibly well located in town, walking distance to every destination in town. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice and comfortable the rooms were (we got the suites, which have a nice seating area and one had a kitchenette) and by the value for the money (we've heard they are increasing prices in 2018). Breakfast was excellent and included in the price of the room. The restaurant patio is beautiful as are other outside areas of the hotel. Staff was very nice, except perhaps front desk staff, who was a bit indifferent to our needs. We only found out that there is a massage area in the hotel on the last day. In general, incredible stay. Although the street was very quiet and there was very little street noise, be aware that the hotel is a block away from the church and that the bell tolls anytime day and night. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs. We got used to it and were not bothered by it after a while. San Miguel de Allende is a pretty magical place. We highly recommend a visit. Fine dining around town was incredible as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    The location is amazing and the place is super cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The location is amazing and the place is super cute. My room was a bigger room in the back yard, I wouldn’t like it as much if I was in the rooms around breakfast area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very good value for money with stylish Mexican flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time could be more flexible - starting at 08.30 only is too late and when I had an early departure at 07.00 at least some fruit could have been offered

    Very pretty courtyard Very nice Mexican typical design touches Friendly staff who helped me arrange for an emergency dental appointment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous common spaces, make sure to explore them all no matter where your own room is located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the last room, so we didn't get the best room there. Named "Capulin" on the ground floor, it was comfortable, but I would recommend trying to snag some of the other rooms that had amazing views and/or patios!

    The property is gorgeous. There are so many sitting areas both on ground floor level as well as upper level. Do yourself a favor and explore every doorway and go upstairs. Lots of semi-hidden areas including a little library with a mini-fountain! Beautiful arts, crafts, and plants to appreciate no matter where your room is located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Almost very good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled like sewer really bad. The four Bed pillows were tall and hard.

    Great staff. Attentive and helpful Nice decor and feeling. Above the average breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    One of our most favorite travel experiences ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!!

    This hotel was amazing!! Luis Calidad spoke perfect English and gave the best restaurant and activity recommendations!! He also arranged for all of our car shuttles from the Queretaro airport and to Guanajuato. The rooms were lovely! And the breakfasts were delicious! All the hotel staff were very accommodating. This hotel is a lovely boutique hotel set in a old historical colonial building with all the updates, yet keeping the historical feel. Walking distance to most restaurants and activities. Would highly recommend to anyone desiring a wonderful San Miguel de Allende experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Loved our visit, would stay there again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work being done on the facilities daily which made it a bit noisy at times (ladders clanging and people walking on the roof above our bed). The shower heads could be better (stinging water spray). And the wifi was poor, which we don't know if it's the local internet, the hotel router, or our room location, but it was basically useless.

    The staff were great...Polite, helpful, and always available. We stayed in a petite suite and we're very happy with our room. We were sorry that we had to leave to change hotels due to lack of availability for the entire length of our stay. It was wonderful having hot food available for our included breakfasts, and the Saturday buffet was a nice surprise. We really loved the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Quaint Hotel in walking distance to all the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quaint Hotel in walking distance to all the sights. Accommodating and friendly staff. The breakfast was wonderful. Ample hot water was a problem, if they fixed that, the hotel would be 9.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    The people were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The shower/bath combo was a problem because the hot & cold waters were separated. Can't quite remember details but was a problem several times. 2. The lighting was terrible in the room.

    The people were wonderful! Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully served in your lovely courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Good grief!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Watch you step. Cobblestone streets!

    Good grief! I just got back to Portland OR. Traveled with three other women. We found it safe, the breakfasts were good, it was clean and the people working there helpful and intelligent. Would go back. They hired a driver to get us to and from the airport -a hour plus drive. Gregory was our driver. He was knowledgeable, polite, educated. We hired him for a whole day to take our out to the country. I have to say I felt safer there than here. Go figure. Such a surprise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    A gem that should be tried again and again. Dont walk past this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small issue with the hot water but fixed immediately

    Great location, great facilities. Staff were really helpful. Would definitely stay again Breakfast was a highlight - Homemade breads and jams

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A beautiful and comfortable hotel in an amazing city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints other than the hot water.

    The hotel was amazing, every time you walked through the front gate it was like entering another world. We had the Membrillo Suite which was the highest suite in the complex. We had an amazing view. We had some trouble with the hot water but that was taken care of. We will definitely be back and would encourage anyone to stay here when visiting San Miguel de Allende

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car stoped on the narrow street is s risky.

    The room is perfect to couples. The location is really great! Walking distance to the historic area. The service and concierge helpful and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Charming and Cozy Colonial Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was right in the courtyard and since there's no AC (we didn't need it) we left our window open. So, in the morning we would be woken up by the sounds of the staff getting breakfast ready on the patio. There was also construction going on which was kind of noisy. I don't think you'd want to stay here during the hot part of the year since there was not air conditioning. I know, though that there's another part of the hotel which might have more modern rooms with air conditioning.

    The staff. location and breakfast of El Santuario really make it worth staying here. The hotel is located a perfect distance from all of the action of the plaza. The beautiful narrow, colonial cobblestoned streets are the best part of San Miguel. The staff was so kind and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. We loved eating breakfast in the traditional colonial courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    Could have been great, but wasn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful experience checking in. Lady messed up our room assignments even though I told her multiple times I thought she had it wrong. Made for lost time and mess moving things around. Several small issues added up to a bad overall experience: someone started sawing wood on the roof at 11 pm. Beds and pillows extremely hard (ok, subjective, but all on my family felt the same way). Shower wouldn't stop dropping. Bathroom door had a loud groan. I'll stop there. But there were more.

    Beautiful hotel. Great location. Many in staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Hacienda El Santuario rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of one thing

    We were in SMA for my sons wedding. This hotel was FABULOUS....they were so great to the bride and groom, it was a great location, everyone was so nice and helpful, the rooms are gorgeously decorated and the breakfasts are yummy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Enjoyable Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice size rooms with comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet was delicious! Location was perfect for walking to restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great wedding hotel
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of one thing

    My son got married in SMA and my whole family stayed at Hacienda El Santurio and it couldn't have been better. They were so sweet and accommodating (even of a very stressed bride!) They totally went out of their way for the wedding party and put up heart decorations, decorated a white car to drive the bride and groom to the church and were just fabulous, every way you look at it. I highly recommend this place whether for a wedding or other purpose. The location couldn't be better either. It is a beautiful, authentic Mexican hotel with delicious breakfasts and great staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Quiet and Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one morning they forgot to wake me up but it never happened again after I told them how important it was to wake us up since we could miss a flight and ruin part or our whole vacation.

    The hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff is friendly and efficient. I like the location too, it's quiet and more residential. Not far is a big park and the Villa Santa Monica, which was the residence of a famous Mexican tenor/ actor who became a Franciscan priest in the late 40s. He was the first prominent resident and responsible for attracting other personalities to San Miguel. The hotel is walking distance to the main square. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit. I felt at home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay at a wonderful location close to all the sights in San Miguel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water never got hot even though we ran it for a while. The mattress in one bedroom was rather hard.

    The location of the Hotel was excellent. Walking distance to everything. The rooms were large and very nice. Rooms had Mexican Decor which we all liked. The staff was very accommodating and professional. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast which was served every morning. We especially liked the waiter who served us. The Hotel is very beautiful with many interesting areas and patios.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    The rooms are very nice and have a personal touch, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately you can't take your car out or drop it off after 10 pm as it is valet parking, but parking in San Miguel is difficult. If you have trouble with stairs make sure you let them know as ther are several staircases involved in getting to most rooms.

    The rooms are very nice and have a personal touch, breakfast is good and is served on a very pleasant terrace. Location is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Charmingly delightful
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms are air conditioned but we were moved to an air conditioned room upon request

    Friendly and personalized service! So clean with unique features at every turn! They anticipated our every need.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy in the morning

    Comfortable and spacious room, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, great location and incredible value. Get a massage while you stay here! We found this to be a very charming place to stay and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel , well located, very expensive for what I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hired the presidential suite and it wasn`t what i expected, my husband couldn't believe it was the "presidential suite" it was far very expensive and water at the shower and lavatory didn't go away it flooded. it claim to have an spa and it wasn`t but a very tiny room with two not confortable massage beds, service was ok , but it has been the smaller and simplest "spa" if you could call it that way, I've been to.

    The property is beautiful, very well located, staff is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    GREAT BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room off the main patio, although it was a great room, I had to keep my curtains closed for privacy. I would recommend a room in another location on the property; especially if staying more than 1 night. Since the breakfast is served on the patio, and mornings are chilly, I would recommend heating lamps to get the chill out on cold morning

    Great boutique hotel with a lot of charm. Worth while to discover quaint and serene gardens on the property. Breakfast, which is included, was ample and delicious. Staff was very helpful. Would recommend this property. Short 2 blocks from the main square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    A hotel with great charm and very hospitable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The staff is just wonderful - thoughtful, cheerful, helpful, pleasant. The hotel is in a historic building on a quiet street. We were there for two weeks to we stayed in two different rooms just for the fun of it. I also peeped in other rooms and can report that all the rooms are different (no cookie cutters here!), and comfortably furnished with a real Mexican flair. The location is very convenient and close to many restaurants, shops, museums, etc. And be sure to take advantage of the spa services at the hotel; they are reasonably priced and my masseuse was very skilled. We especially liked going to the rooftop bar at the Rosewood Hotel for margaritas and a delicious menu. There's a lovely Veracrusan restaurant just around the corner which has a beautiful and romatic courtyard.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hacienda El Santuario Hotel Boutique traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: