Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of La Tortuga Hotel & Spa - Adults Only This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida 10 esquina Calle 14, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#47 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 726 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    3.8
    We booked for 2 nights but we can't stay for 2 nights in the same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked for 2 nights but we can't stay for 2 nights in the same room. The staff could not give us a clear reason why we had to switch rooms (apart from 'high season Sir'). Further, we had to check out before 12 and could not check in before 3pm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    4.2
    We booked for 2 nights but we can't stay for 2 nights in the same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked for 2 nights but we can't stay for 2 nights in the same room. The staff could not give us a clear reason why we had to switch rooms (apart from 'high season Sir'). Further, we had to check out before 12 and could not check in before 3pm.

    Location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    5.0
    Great location but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Employees, service in general was poor, amateur.

    The facilites are ok, and the location amazing. However, they need a little more maintenance and a little more of care.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent, beautiful place, would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were really glad we had a view of the pool, some of the other rooms looked out onto the street. The only icing on the cake would have been coffee for the coffee machine in the room.

    Beautiful hotel and pool. Restaurant and bar good, staff very helpful and friendly. Get a room overlooking the pool. Near but not on the main drag, very close to many restaurants, shops, bars. Lovely decor, far exceeded our expectations. And unbelievably quiet,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Love this hotel! Would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was too small, specially the shower, but still manageable to take a shower. The hot tub wasnt working. The hotel was no-kids allowed, but when I was on the pool with my partner, kids where sudently there looking at us because the restaurant has access and view to the pool, which I don't like.

    The staff was awesome! They were all really friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was great. The pool was really nice. The location is awesome. They even left a small gift at my room on the last day for staying with them. I'd definitely go back to that hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Lovely boutique oasis in the best location in Playa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were absolutely no deals to be had on food or drinks. Expect to pay exactly what you would at home. The hotel bar does offer happy hour, but only for drinks that are listed on the board. Unfortunately for us wine drinkers you are still going to be paying $10usd min. per glass everywhere. If you want to save cash on lunch or dinner, go to any taco stand or cart. The other issue is mosquitoes. Bring bug spray or buy some ASAP when you arrive. It’s tropical and they are everywhere including the beach.

    The hotel is in a perfect location. You have a parking garage or a small open parking lot across from the hotel, both are reasonably priced if you have a rental car. We only used our car to go back and forth to the airport and to drive down to Tulum and it’s surrounding areas. The hotel is one block away from the busy tourist shopping and dining of 5th ave and you are 2 blocks from the largest nightclub “Congo Bongo” in Playa, which means you can easily walk to it, but not hear it when you are sleeping. There is a small storefront Oxxo minimart across from hotel for convenience and you can walk out the door to any shopping, atms, grocery, restaurants, beach clubs or ferries to Cozumel or Island of Mujeres. The only time you would even need to use a taxi in Playa is to cart back beverages that you might have bought in bulk like we did, the rooms do come with a mini fridge. Most tourists either walk, or ride bicycles around (which are very inexpensive to rent). The hotel has an onsite restaurant and breakfast is included. The food is very good and dinners there are reasonably priced. The staff is very friendly and courteous. The hotel has partnered with several of the local beach clubs so be sure to mention where you are staying when you visit them to get a special rate. The hotel also offers laundry service and it is reasonably priced or you can walk to a local lavateria and do it yourself. The grounds of the hotel are lush and appear exactly as in the photos on their webpage. The only complaints we had with our particular room is the shower set up. It was a humongous tub that was difficult to get in and out of as there is no step and no non slip pads inside of tub. It was awkward and I was scared of slipping everyday I had to get in and out to shower. I’m not sure why they didn’t just put a walk in shower since you could walk out your private rear bathroom door and walk up a flight of steps to your very own private jacuzzi tub and sun bathing area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent ambience inside the hotel pool area as they kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking available from hotel. You have to find public pay parking.

    Excellent ambience inside the hotel pool area as they kept many big old trees. Very nice relaxing area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    8.8
    Nice oásis steps from 5ta Ave
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel boitique but needs maintenance.

    Staff was great, Manuel at the bar have us great service. Location is superb. Nice pool to hang with friends. Breakfast is included and very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    It’s located in the center of every shop and restaurants 5...
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water sometimes would come out brown to take a shower I booked the superior junior suite in which came with a spa tub on the roof but didn’t use because it was rusty and really dirty other than that I was very satisfied with the hotel and the customer service very friendly they answered all my questions! The room was big and the hotel is very tropical feeling take bug repellent many mosquitoes I rate this hotel a 8 out of 10

    It’s located in the center of every shop and restaurants 5 min walk to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff, location, breakfast - but broken hot tub still
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I was upset about was the lack of a hot tub. I had read some older reviews saying that the hot tub was broken and would be fixed soon. I assumed months later it would be working but was extremely disappointed to find out that it wasn't. I have severe back issues so I actually pick my hotels based off of them having a hot tub. Had I known that there's wasn't working still I would not have stayed here.

    Had a great stay here! The room was comfortable, the daily breakfast was incredible, and the location was perfect! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Make sure you stop by the bar for happy hour - the bartender Manuel was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.2
    Away from the glitz and noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was cleaned everyday and maintenance teams always working, however the pool had a few bits of algae on the steps and corners.😙

    Lovely, shady pool area, lovely staff (although I don't think I saw a single female member). Beds are super comfortable and team very quick to respond to requests. Very conveniently located to mall, shops, restaurants.. and has a cosy vibe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Bed is really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no shade with the Jacuzzi on the rooftop of my suite. But that is first world problems for you!!

    Bed is really comfortable. Great relaxing atmosphere around the pool and close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and cosy hotel, ideal for couples. Beds are very comfortable, and staff is really nice and helpful. Ideal geographical location and also very quiet. Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.9
    Nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool bar was a bit expensive.

    Rooms were pretty (we loved the colours) and the hotel had a great pool and garden area and a good location. Breakfast was good too. Parking option close by was a good plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Warm and welcoming staff, beautiful pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front desk staff, especially Reuben, was so warm and welcoming! They helped us with every question we had about Playa del Carmen and excursions, and someone is available 24/7. The waitstaff at the restaurant where breakfast is served each morning also is so friendly, as well as the bartender Manuel. The pool area is a little oasis in the middle of this beach city if you want a quiet place to lay in the sun, and the beach clubs where you get a special discount for staying at La Tortuga are no more than a 10 min walk away. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant boutique hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the deluxe junior suite and it was not all that. The private pool had been floored over and the outdoor loungers were always damp and soggy, so it was just kind of a semi-private courtyard behind a pole fence. The king bed was smushy soft. The wi-fi was intermittent and the thick walls blocked cell signal.

    The hotel is in a fabulous area but quiet despite being a block from 5th Ave and a block from Coco Bongo. The common areas, pool, outdoor living room areas,are lovely and the bartender knows how to throw a party during their twice-weekly happy hours! Clientele was international, mostly vacationing couples. The entire staff was friendly, and the room was immaculate. The giant jetted tub (caution: no grab bar!) was heaven! The included breakfast in the attached restaurant, Como Como, was a la carte and very good. They give nice-sized beach towels to take to one of the many beach clubs on 5th Ave, and they offer tour, entertainment, and shuttle bookings as well, though we didn’t use these.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice property, great location, very quiet for how close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    their was a very hard clash between the staff being either extremely friendly and helpful, or being short, unhelpful, and annoyed.

    Very nice property, great location, very quiet for how close it was to everything. The breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.6
    Location is absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is absolutely fantastic! Just 500m from the Uxmal maya ruins. In the evening one can hear the amazing and comforting jungle sounds, just by sitting on your own terrace overlooking the garden en swimming pool. Really great hotel and location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.9
    I would probably return if they fixed the pool/jaccuzi area and make it useful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In room 117 the water didn't get warm enough in the shower or roof top terrace jacuzzi. The jacuzzi needs updating with jets that work better. The room was so dark in there with all the lights on even for dressing or putting on make up. The shared outdoor pool jacuzzi still was not working and is in bad need of remodeling. The pool water is very cold, probably from all the trees around it blocking the sun. I am sure it will be better in July or August when it gets real hot.

    We stayed in room 117, with ground floor pool view & cozy roof top terrace on it with jacuzzi and a little bed/seating area overlooking pool below. The king size bed and pillows in our room were comfortable. I liked the table and chairs on our ground floor patio over looking the pool. The workers went above and beyond. Excellent location to everything and did not hear loud noise from Coco Bongo. The added free breakfast was an extra plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.8
    Over priced
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Restaurant & Breakfast was mediocre, The pool is lovely but doesn't get much sun. The view from my balcony was the top of a palm tree, not what i expected for $140 a night with tax

    the bed and the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is always something not to like.. but.. it was nothing big.. I did not liked the fact that I had to switch rooms and there was another thing but they found good solutions and I have nothing to complain about!

    Love the garden!.. For a place like Playa del Carmen this is really nice! I say: place to go!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    3.3
    "Ripped off at LaTortuga
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The escort ladies, the trashy drunk guests, the pool bartender was dishonest, pockets the overages from guests. They gave me a king bed, when i was told I would get 2 beds. My gf and I are not lesbians. It was noisy and nasty. If you like walking in filth... great. Way over priced. Free breakfast was ick. Find a better pla ce!

    Comocomo was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.1
    Great place but try to get a bigger bed for the price of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed, the room size were much too small for the price.

    The staff we're all amazing and the bartender Manuel* is top notch. The court yard/pool area is beautiful. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful place with best staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish view was better. But location to downtown playa del carmen was excellent.

    Staff is excellent. Front desk and especially porter named Abierto. We got injured while on vacation. (Motor scooter) and Abierto ran to pharmacy, got us prescriptions, gauze, water, etc.. and kept checking on us. Really appreciate this hotel. They take care of you. Also room maid always prepared room and added pleasant towel animals which were delightful to return to each day after exploring.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    3.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool & Spa were nothing to speak of. Location was super noisy at night and the hotel felt slightly run down.

    Good breakfast. If looking for central location - this is a good place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    10
    Our stay was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room looked very clean and nice, the extra king size bed was awesome and the pillows were very comfortable. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel staff went above and beyond to service us, they even greeted us with a champagne bottle in our room. The premises are incredibly beautiful and the colonial style of the hotel and rooms is really nice. Mexican style breakfast at the Como Como Restaurant is delicious and the waiters are very attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    6.7
    Good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room did not have good ventilation and had very stale smell. Shower only had luke warm water. Not a very cosy layout.

    Convenient location. Good staff. Nice internal common layout. Spacious rooms. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was outstanding - helpful, kind, welcoming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise from the neighboring nightclub made it difficult to sleep each night even though we were given a "quiet room" in the complex.

    The staff was outstanding - helpful, kind, welcoming, hardworking. We were so impressed with all the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    9.2
    I am so pleased with my visit on La tortuga and I will definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was pretty cold and there was not a lot of sun in the area but it did not bother us since we went to the beach almost every day.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Cozy rooms. Good breakfast. Great location. Quiet and relaxed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.2
    A trip to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location close to everything a block from all the fuzz and buzz. The staff was fantastic! The room was just perfect for us overlooking the pool, breakfast included was a bonus! Overall great experience at La Tortuga

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    7.1
    Central location, but a bit overprised. The barkeeper (Manuel) made it worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The initial booking offered us a room with not a single window and close to the hotels entrance. Next to that was the room very smelly, this could be the airconditioning but it was not a pleasant smell. After asking there was a possibility to get a room closer to the pool area, upon extra payment. The hotel is working in collaboration with beachclubs to offer a discount on beds and facilities at three beachclubs. Pretty expensive such a day at the beach.

    The location of this specific hotel is pretty central. Close to the big shopping street and only a 10 minute walk to the closest beach. Big plus at this hotel is Manuel! A bar keeper every facility would wish to have! He made the stay very nice with lots of fun and laughter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    5.4
    Deception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities in general, very expensive for what the property offer, Jacuzzi broken poor maintenance shower faucet loosened........

    the service and the fact that is only adults

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    4.6
    This place used to be a gem. Has gone downhill. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water turned off sometimes, couldn’t shower. Pool like ice, too cold to use. Hot tub broken. Thumping from nights club next door all night. Free breakfast used to be good is now bad. Roof construction being done, lots of hammering.

    Front desk guy nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    9.2
    Great, romantic and relaxing hotel with beautiful rooms centrally located in Playa del Carmen, MX
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With so many trees, I did see 2 cockroaches, outside. The large ones. Never inside the room. The water was not hot enough to use jacuzzi in room. Coffee machine in room, but no coffee or filters. They sell coffee on site. WiFi didn't work inside room only outside in common areas. The facility is beautiful but a little rusty in some areas.

    The Bartender is the heart of the place. He's very nice, accommodating and friendly. Happy hours were pleasant and relaxing near pool. The free breakfast had options and was abundant and delicious! The restaurant was very good, romantic and great prices with discount. Some waiters friendlier than others. We had dinner there 2 nights in a row. Very presentable, delicious and fresh. The concierge was very helpful with any information. They offer many excursions. The hotel location was great! One block from main drag (5th Ave.) and very accessible to everything we needed: beach, souvenir shops, Frida Khalo museum and other museums, inexpensive restaurants, stores, bars, clubs, bike trail in Playacar, pharmacy, Atms, banks, Walmart, grocery store, convenient store to buy water for room is across the street. Three short blocks from bus station that goes to airport. Always request taxi from hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great bed, staff, restaurant, bar (Manuel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The blinds were broken in our room as well as the huge window so anyone literally could have climbed in BUT the property was safe so we didn't feel worried about it. Water takes 5+ minutes to get even a bit warm from the taps but maybe this is standard?

    Great bed, staff, restaurant, bar (Manuel!), hot tub, location, layout & style - so beautiful. Peaceful oasis in the business of playa.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    6.7
    great location, but not great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom was a bit tiny and not so practical. the room didn’t have hot water when we arrived and the cardkeys to our door didn’t work, but all was fixed on the next day. breakfast was a bit disappointing. if you don’t want to pay to park your car, ask in the repecption where is permitted, it’s mot hard to find parking spaces. :)

    location is really good: close to beaches, clubs and 5th avenue, but not in an overcrowded noisy spot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closet in room was too small. Breakfast was repetitive, but OK.

    Good value for money. Staff was nice and friendly. It was very nice to have a welcome drink :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    A gorgeous and friendly boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen which is also a great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have anything negative to say about our stay at Tortuga!

    This hotel is lovely and a great value which exceeded our overall expectations-- from the friendly and helpful staff such as Omar, to the gorgeous garden/pool area, and to the very tasty breakfast of eggs Mexicana. Our room was lovely with a balcony looking toward the garden and pool area. The location is primo for being near to the playa, restaurants, cafes and shopping. Also, the staff helped prevent us from getting a parking violation when we accidentally drove into the bike lane in front of the hotel entrance and were nearly given a ticket by the police.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    8.3
    Great little property: I'd recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wasn't too happy about the strange noise in Bathroom or the non-opening windows but they did their best to resolve the issue

    Location was great as were the staff; great breakfast at Como Como!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel -one of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are beautiful and clean. The location is very convenient and the staff are amazing, always there to help. Was one of our best experiences (and we travel a lot). Thank you for the nice memories. Yehonathan and Dana

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.2
    The place really tropical and with the lot of places to seat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool not so clean. So we didn't get in (and no other people to) its bummer because we take the hotel for the swimming pool!

    The place really tropical and with the lot of places to seat and chill. The staff are awesome! The air-conditioning are super frize. Really good hotel. Goot location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved everything about this place. It was my second time staying there. The staff is really nice and the environment is awesome. I don't have anything bad to say about this place. It will definitely be my staying place from now on every time I go to Playa Del Carmen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location in the heart of the 5th Avenue but to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location in the heart of the 5th Avenue but to quite and intimate, amazing garden, amazing staff, breakfast is awesome, good value for the money. The beach is very near, everything is for a few minutes walking. We were on a honey moon and they have prepared room decoration for us. The view from our the balcony was amazing! It was so sweet. I recommend this place for your stay in PDC!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent staff & perfect place to chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was far above expectations, so I have no negative comments!

    The staff were amazing! We booked here for my husband's birthday and they completely went above and beyond for us to make it very memorable and special . I can't thank them enough! It was a far better experience than some of the more expensive hotels we have stayed at. I strongly recommend them - you will definitely not be disappointed! Further notes: really tasty breakfast, very close to all the action, but completely silent at night, great beds to sleep, beautiful pool with staff that bring amazing cocktails, front desk staff willing to help in any way they can & very spacious bathroom!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.7
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The basic rooms look better on the photos on the website than they actually are - they are quite tatty and in need of modernising. Some of my friends got upgraded to rooms that were of the standard I thought I had booked because their original rooms had problems with plumbing between the toilet and the shower drains. Some of the reception staff were not particularly friendly or smiley - on a couple of occasions I was promised a response which I never received e.g. about airport collection of one friend who was arriving separately. Alejandro was the exception on reception - he went out of his way to help us. The pool is lovely but doesn't get much sun because of the surrounding trees, so you need to use the sun terrace to get late afternoon sun.

    The location is perfect The staff at the adjacent restaurant which has a breakfast deal with the hotel The cleaning staff. The resident raccoons are so cool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel in a good location but skip breakfast.'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant staff was aweful at breakfast, they saw you were a hotel guest and gave you food then ignored you. Not to mention it's American breakfast nothing ethnic about it, second day we left and went down the road to have a more Mexican style breakfast.

    Very nice staff, clean comfortable room good location. Sexy bartender Carlos was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    6.3
    Good staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast options are terrible - no food for vegans or those that are lactose intolerant. They don´t even have a non-cow´s milk option for cereals or coffee Also very little vegetarian/vegan food in restaurant No bottle opener in rooms No drinks in fridge or on premises after evening

    Staff were helpful Hotel is in main entertainment district. Pool is nice to relax but difficult to swim in Great late breakfast option

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The staff were fabulous and the hotel was peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of Playa del Carmen. Also, it was a great central location and easy walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    4.6
    Terrible experience!! Very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed at this hotel From April 7th to 12th. As the hotel didn’t accept my debit card payment as invalid, my boyfriend made a reservation for me using his credit card.  And he gave me the card, along with a letter of approval for me to use it along with a copy of his passport as I was travelling alone. However, when I was checking in, the hotel wanted me to pay in cash and said my boyfriend’s card was not charged but was just a pending charge to hold the reservation.  However, they charged him and me.  A double charge.  I spoke to the manager before I departed.  They gave me a letter and promised me and my boyfriend over the phone that they would refund my boyfriend the charge on his card once a bank dispute come along. It took almost 3 months for him to get the money back.  Even then, it wasn’t the hotel that paid him but Booking.com He wrote a review on Tripadvisor, but the hotel has gotten Tripadvisor to remove the review stating he didn’t stay at the hotel, which is true. But I did.  Thus, I am writing this review since I did stay there.  Not only did the hotel get Tripadvisor to remove but the hotel owner had sent a private message to my boyfriend on Tripadvisor calling him a scammer for paying for me, saying he doesn’t understand why he used his card to pay for another person.  And he is accusing my boyfriend of getting paid twice.  Booking.com and my boyfriend tried to get the hotel to refund the money for over 2.5 months.  Finally Booking.com agreed to pay my boyfriend and deduct money from the hotel. The hotel owner’s accusation not only proves they had no intention to pay but scam us and it also shows the caliber this person.  To accuse another when they did nothing to rectify the situation and refused the two bank disputes my boyfriend requested. The following is the review my boyfriend wrote on Tripadvisor.  I have also attached some of the emails (most relevant) sent from Booking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awsome location cocobongo is on the opposite end of the block and all the shops bar and restaurant are all walking distance. So close to everything and still Nice and quiet. Good pool area and room was clean and bed comfy. Definitely recommend!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    9.2
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swinimg pool a little rough, but nice to cool off in. Staff tried to get us to do a excursion ,but we had our plans and took the ADO buses to Cancun then ferry to Isla Mujeres.

    Room 307 was away from the main street & great!, On arrival the electricity was not working in the bathroom and plug in next to bed, the staff their is great! and we went out for the day and itwas fixed when we returned. Free Breakfast with your stay. This Hotel is next to Quinta Avenue and corner of 10th street. In the center of Playa del Carmen . Great! staff,nice hotel, and nice wading pool. Swim up rooms are great .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds stiff as a board. The hot tub was not working. Staff unwilling to reimburse or negotiate for a late arrival. Night receptionist was unfriendly and unaccomadating.

    Was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi not available throughout and the massage I had wasn't the best I have ever had.

    Amazing location, lovely pool, friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast. Some reviews suggest it is noisy, however I did not find that at all although she works taking place at the pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    7.9
    over night stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't really have much time there. I arrived very late. Luckily there was someone at the lobby. The place was quiet once you got inside the room. I would have liked to have fresh air, but that wasn't possible due to noise on the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lights in hallways a little dim (tripping hazard with the many levels)

    The pool access directly from room patio was wonderful. Loved the pool and the bed was soo comfortable 😊 Front desk was very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    9.2
    excellent hotel in playa del carmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff is very helpful, going beyond their duty to help the guests. the structure is very good, with a nice garden with pool in the middle. the pool is not big but it's ok for an evening bath after dinner. the position is just perfect, right in the center but not on a busy road. wifi signal in the room was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    10
    Debs 50th
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a couple of minor issues shower cubicle was a bit tired and some street noise can be heard but not to the point of it being a problem

    All the staff are very good reception are very helpful rooms are cleaned everyday clean towels beds made food and drinks in the bar restaurant was excellent Carlos the bar man is very good clean beach towels everyday the pool and gardens are really well maintained a great value hotel would not hesitate to recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    5.8
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy room on the 10th avenue. Should have been mentioned in the offer. I would not have booked this hotel if I had known

    The staff. Very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    10
    A big surprise for such a small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It could have had some drawers instead of shelves for clothes. It was a very pleasant surprise to walk into the courtyard.

    Pillow top mattresses. What a treat for a mexican hotel. Staff sweet and friendly. Property quiet and close to everything but yet very private!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    10
    Great girls getaway oaisis from 5th Ave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They built a new mall right behind the hotel instead of block of little restaurants ect but not hotel fault ....

    The service at hotel is excellent! Hotel right off 5 th Ave but a peaceful oasis from 5 th Ave ....the included breakfast is good and the guys working at restaurant and hotel are so accommodating! Go you will love it perfect for girls getaway:)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    The most authentic five-star hotel stay in Mexico. La Tortuga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We really felt like we were in Mexico at La Tortuga. All of the front desk staff were great!! Always very professional and helpful. Rafa, Alejandro, Eduardo, Alberto and the others went out of their way to make us comfortable and give us advise. The restaurant staff was equally great, particularly Jose and Giovanni, who really made us feel at home. We have never felt so comfortable at a hotel. The spacious private verandas overlooking the lush tropical gardens and the pool are outstanding. A great place to have your early morning coffee or wine in the evening. The housekeeping is spotless. La Tortuga is a in the middle of everything..the beaches, the tourist district, and just a few blocks from the local shopping area, which has many large and small stores, and very friendly people. They even have Walmart, or even better... their competition, Mega or Chedraui.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    5.8
    Good hotel, but insist on requests prior to booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at the front desk and restaurant was overall friendly, however not responsive to our requests, we wanted to change rooms since it was very noisy and they've given us a ridiculously small room (for 170 usd a night) with one bed. One advice do not book anything (taxi, or activities) through the hotel, their prices are way too expensive and have no added value, hotel charges 100 USD for a one way airport ride, whereas any taxi on the street (and there are more than plenty) charges 30 to 35 USD....you get the idea

    Cozy hotel, wifi is a plus, would have strongly recommended it, if it wasn't for the very noisy and extremely small room we were given.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    If you are staying for more than a few days you should absolutely consider going for one of the higher-priced rooms. The 'entry' ones are not flawed, but may begin to feel quite small over a two-week stay.

    We stayed for two weeks over the end of February and start of March. We were greeted by the exceptionally friendly Rafa, who would be of great help for our entire stay. Checked in with no problems and given a tour. The hotel is quiet and all staff are of great help. Joanna, the Manager, listened to our concerns about the room we were initially in and was able to move us. There was not a problem with the room itself, but the 'entry' priced room was not suitable for a two week stay, they would be completely fine for a few days though, so do not be put off by that. You get breakfast included at ComoComo, with a great selection of three menus. We are both vegetarian and were well-catered for the whole stay (more choices for those without dietary restrictions). Again, the staff in ComoComo matched those of La Tortuga for friendliness and assistance. The front-desk staff can help book tours or if, like us, you rent a car and want a more personal tour of the area can advise on great places to visit. Rafa, again, was of brilliant help in telling us beautiful places to see. The rooms are cleaned daily and, again, these staff were a pleasure to deal with. Same again for the maintenance team. You get free towels for the beach and can get these on a daily basis (possibly several times a day, but we never did). La Tortuga is quite likely the best hotel I've stayed in, anywhere in the world. They will do everything they can to ensure your stay in the Yucutan will not be forgotten, and I cannot thank them enough for their help.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    Latortga is the place to stay in Playa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to share

    Beautiful boutique hotel, not far from the beach or 5th avenue. Pool and courtyard are beautiful..Would like more variety for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    10
    Oasis of quiet in Playa del Carmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Non-happy hour drinks were too expensive.

    Everything! The hotel restaurant, Como Como, was an extra treat. The food and the service were fabulous! The hotel is a quiet oasis in the middle of busy Playa del Carmen.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    6.7
    Good location but can do better for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast was very small and bread of inferior quality. Room was ok but hotel is dated with issues with hot water ( for a couple of days we barely had any hot water to shower with) ans electrical issues. My partner got an electric shock turning on a lamp by the bedside as there some exposed wires. When we told the front desk staff, they just laugh. We were not impressed.

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and a comfy bed to return to after a day at the beach!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was hard not to get water on the floor while taking showers. Wine was not included in the Happy Hour 2 for 1. You have to supply your own coffee for in the room.

    The bed was very comfy, the patio was nice for morning coffee and evening wine. The rooftop whirlpool tub was unique.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    9.6
    Comfort and peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have no complaints.

    The breakfast included was excellent and all staff was really pleasant everyday. The surroundings were very lovely and peaceful. The bedding was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    9.5
    Fantastic place in Playa del Carmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was very challenging and the front plate of the car was taken away by the cops even though the area/sidewalk was not painted yellow. We had to pay 580.00 pesos to get it back and it took us about 45 minutes to find the transit office.

    Staff members are very helpful and attentive. This in itself will make your stay a very pleasant one!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    10
    A bit of paradise in a very busy place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking garage is located about one half block from the hotel.

    This lovely Italian style hotel is located in a perfect spot. It is one street away from very busy Avenida five but very quiet and isolated once inside. It is easy to get to shops, restaurants and the beach. The staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    10
    Great experience and a great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel like I would be nitpicking to say anything negative.

    We found you online and decided to give it a shot. It was the perfect place for us. Everything was outstanding. Our room had a balcony overlooking the amazing courtyard. Clean, great service/staff, great location. Adults only was great for us too. It was a much better experience than the big resorts. Very close to the beach, all the shopping, and more outstanding restaurants than you can count!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    7.1
    Decent 3-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel itself is located on the west side of the block and is surrounded by taller buildings so the sun couldn't reach the hotel area that well. Due to this our junior suite was rather dark throughout the day and we had to use light when ever we were inside. Ofcourse if you want to enjoy the heat without the sun (reading a book or perhaps using your laptop) then the area is optimal, having an small office under the palm trees by the pool. The chairs and sofas outside were covered partially in smudges and had some stains which gave a slightly dirty look to the outer parts of the room. The room we had, hadn't been used for a while so it took some time for the damp smell to clear out and the small flies left with the smell.

    The staff was helpful and really nice. Breakfast was easily sufficient. We had to check out at 12, but since we had an later flight we were allowed to stay at the sun deck for couple of hours and they were kind enough to arrange us a possibility to have a shower before we actually left the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2017

    9.2
    the bed was the best, room comfortable the staff amazing we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    just English chanel but not big dell they have ccn .afternoon I like wach sam movis

    the bed was the best, room comfortable the staff amazing we stay the room 204 ...... little space but the terrace was big....enough for relax we love you la Tortuga .the bartender fab and the como como restaurant simply the best thank you for bean amazing m

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    8.3
    Great place for walking downtown, going to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed and pillows were not to my taste. Pillows too bulky (neck ache) and bed is not a pillow top mattress. This might be fine for other people. Pool and hot tub were unheated while I was there - I don't know if this is standard.

    Staff was incredibly helpful. Rooms were spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Location was great for walking everywhere. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2017

    10
    If we do ever go back to Playa Del Carmen definately this place is where we will be staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff went up and above being helpful and friendly. The spa was great enjoyed a really nice massage even though there was a big rain storm outside

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Tortuga Hotel & Spa - Adults Only Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: