Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Las Brisas Huatulco 5 stars

Bahia de Tangolunda, 70989 Tangolunda, Mexico

#8 of 11 hotels in Tangolunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Superior - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -The check-in staff weren't the most friendly. -Two taxi drivers dropped us off at the wrong location and didn't help us and charged us 80 pesos to go from Brisas to Crucecita. -The restaurant food was not good quality. -Beaches and pools could use more shaded areas. -The lobby needs an ATM!!!! It was difficult to withdraw cash since we had to go to Crucecita to get cash.

    Really nice and clean rooms; cleaning service was excellent. The shuttle service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I reserved a couple of Deluxe rooms. The beds/mattress were super hard. Like never experienced before. My back was hurting so bad that I had to do an upgrade and moved rooms.

    The property and the beaches were very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Desayuno Buffet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds not the most comfortable, lighting in room was dim, mini fridge not cold. ALOT of walking and climbing stairs - be prepared. Not all restaurants open early Feb. Gets very busy and noisy. It is a HUGE widespread resort.

    aside from some of the issues with lighting, refrigeration, a/c being old system (and musty smelling at times), the room was big and clean and comfortable. Service was EXCELLENT all around. Food quality varied. Property is lush and GORGEOUS. Beaches beautiful. People amazing. Shuttle service continuous and excellent. Easy taxi in and out of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BBC Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were excellent but the rest of the staff seem tired and unhappy. The resort has a problem with its septic system and septic odors are prevalent in many places. The gym staff were especially unfriendly.

    Very clean resort in beautiful setting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the feeling of being confined in a compound . Resort is basically for couples or families .. not for singles . Have to take a cab from the resort just to explore Huatulco etc . I thought is was quite pricey ( paying for two basically ) plus meals were additional No snorkel gear to rent . Or very limited supply

    Great variety at the buffet .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BBC Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many guest for size of the beaches. Very crowded beaches. Property too large, way too much walking.

    Rooms were very large and comfortable. Staff was wonderful. Food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not part of an all inclusive package so we did not have an orientation about what was offered, did not know about reservation for dinner or attire, or the LA Brisas app. The app was great once we found out about it. There was no information left in our rooms about the facility or the out lying areas until the Second to last day. It was a great experience though. We only ate breakfast twice. Also thought breakfast was included with my booking which it was not.

    Bed were comp view great rooms clean. Grateful for the courier service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredible. The food was great. Disappointing that we couldn’t see view without standing up. We were in 4104. The beaches were perfect. We enjoyed the snorkelling. Could have more palapas so that we could find shade when needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Desayuno Buffet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't bother asking for Genius perks, but you're not coming for these anyway.

    Resort occupies surrounding hilly area of a private pay. Water activities were excellent, so were the restaurants and the bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BBC Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Everything exceeded our expectations. It would have been nice to have a spa onsite,and bar b q at the beach.

    We have traveled to many destinations in Mexico but have never experienced the service,cleanliness,and value before. Every staff member we encountered was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    About Huatulco: You need to take a taxi everywhere. Hotels are far out the city center and when you get there it is small and there is a limited choice of cuisines. It seems like hotels are designed so you consume everything there, which is not only expensive but monotonous. I wish I would have booked in Puerto Escondido or Mazunte instead. About Las Brisas: The hotel carried guests in little golf carts around the hotel, which does not seem very sustainable. Besides that is was loud and a bit dangerous since the carts use the same paths where guests can walk (they drove rather fast). Food and cocktails were underwhelming and overpriced. You can not order any snacks at the beach, only drinks. Hotel bar was too loud, it was very annoying to hear other guests yell "tequila!" over and over while trying to have a romantic dinner.

    About Huatulco: It is paradise, weather is perfect and nature is beautiful and impressive, offering amazing views. About Las Brisas: Staff was super friendly, kind and very professional. Room service was very nice and also the

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a little uncomfortable to have to travel from/to your room to the pool, beach and restaurants area in little buses because the rooms are up in the mountain, even so the hotel has this logistic perfectly covered.

    I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very welcoming and nice. It has all types of sports including basketball, voleyball, yoga, tennis and even snorkeling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior - Desayuno Buffet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shuttle bus from the hotel as I believe was announced by booking.com. There was alternative transport though. We weren't very happy with the bar, the barman who attended us wasn't up to scratch, neither the cocktails. This was a pity, but no big deal.

    The staff were great, always friendly and helpful and the choice of restaurants was very good. The site is interesting with lovely beaches and not at all like your typical hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were early by 3 hours for check in so we were invited to leave our bags in a secure lock up and go and enjoy the hotel grounds. We were told by the desk staff to come back in two hrs to see if our room was ready, we did and after a lot of phoning and talking she said it would be another 25 min. We went back and sat under a palm tree to wait and when we returned 25 min later the same lady then made us wait another 15 min then we finnaly got our room. The food: The buffets all seemed to have the same food and the same food every day. The quality of the food was 5 out of 10. The chicken I tried was way over cooked. Other food items were cold when they should be hot and warm when they should be cold. Some of the restaurants are open air and the food is left out to have all the bugs, sneezes and coughs land on them. The staff are slow to take away empty plates and to ask you if you want anything. The sidewalks and stairs are uneven in places which poses a tripping hazard. The cars they use to shuttle people around are loud and stink of exaust. We were getting exaust in our room when they came by our room at night. These cars are ripping around all day and late into the night be carefull you dont get run over. Minibar, I told the minibar guy to remove all the stuff out of the fridge on the firs day and he did so only on the first day. When we left they tried to charge us 650 pessos in minibar charges of which i only drank 130 pessos. Whatch out for this scam if you are not all inclusive. Over all im not happy because of the problems. The only thing i will say i liked is the grounds and beaches. They claim to be for the enviornment then get rid of the gas carts and go electric. The place is looking a little old and tired its time for some reno.

    The good: we got a free upgrade for our room which gave us a separate bedroom and a balcony. We could not see the ocean from there but we had a view of the jungle and mountains behind, prety sweet. The beaches are nice, the grounds are fantastic with lots of places to discover. If you like walking like me its great. Very very big and spread out. Lots of birds and wildlife around. We did not go all inclusive we had breakfast only and it was a good thing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of hills & steep stairs. Carts were needed to access property for seniors like myself.

    Beautiful scenery, staff, ocean & some restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food at the buffet and the three restaurants that we tried was not very good. Very poor selection of fish, shrimp and beef dishes, and those that they had were not very good. Been to quite a few resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean, and we rated this one having the worst food we have encountered thus far.

    The snorkeling at one of their three beaches was fantastic! The live nightly entertainment at the lobby bar was great and created a good environment for dancing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only improvement we would recommend would be more engilish speaking attendees in Reception (front desk) as some of our questions did not fit into their usual dialogue.

    The beds were extremely comfy & service all over the resort was very friendly & helpful. The restrooms were very clean & the attendants diligent with their work. We recommend this resort to all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    need to check with service about up coming events, it would have been better if they gave a listing of events they have on hand, we found this out afterwards while strolling at night

    The view was absolutely awesome, loved every minute of the stay, Staff was extremely helpful, live music, shows where awesome !!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not good and the ac was awful

    Employees were beyond nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellent hotel, very handicap friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consumer service

    Pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going hime

    All matters mentioned above.@

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Desayuno Buffet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large need vans to get from place to place food ok breakfast nice but restaurants subpar

    Nice beaches

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior - Desayuno Buffet (2 adultos + 1 niño)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, beach access, activities and food were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mexican Restaursnt is very poor.

    Gorgeous. Beaches are great, good all inclusive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Desayuno Buffet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap water is drinkable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was great and the facility was very noce

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • BBC Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Food that was to be served hot was constantly cold.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super Saver - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cart shuttle to the rooms or to the lobby will sometimes be a 7 minutes wait in the heat...

    Beautiful beaches!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Plan Europeo
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Mexican restaurant on the premises does not have good cuisine

    I loved everything about the place! its a perfect Vacation spot!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super Saver - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the water sports available for use at the beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alacart food not so good. Buffets excellent.

    Excellent Beached; Friendly staff..great views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Group
    • Deluxe Super Saver - Desayuno Buffet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very gracious staff and beautiful environment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing that was below average was the food at the dinner restaurants . The buffet restaurant was always great (you can eat dinner there too) but the 3 'special' restaurants were extremely mediocre at best.

    Everything! Fabulous buffets, perfect beach, top notch service.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was dirty. With dirty glasses and the air conditioning was not working 100% Food sucks.

    Excelente location and hotel amenities. We enjoyed the beaches.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Someone tried to break into our room at 10:45pm at night while we were in bed. They had a key and walked in without announcing themselves and did not apologize when confronted. Management apologized and said it was turn down service. There was no turn down service the night before and friends who have stayed there stated they also did not receive turn down service; certainly not at 1045pm.

    The view

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Their were no elevators and lots of steps to climb to get around the lobby and restaurants. Not good if you have mobility issues...

    The staff and service were beyond excellent !! The breakfast buffet had many good choices but found the customized omelette my favorite!! The proximity to La Crucecita was an added benefit. Their day excursions were reasonably priced and well executed by great tour providers.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Distance between room and beach/restaurants. Quality and price of food in restaurants. Price of drinks. Too geared toward "all inclusive" US and Canadian package tourists. Hotel's private beaches too small. Camino Real across the bay looks much better, for the same money.

    OK for a long weekend.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    las playas y las activided s

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cost of my room was too high

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La comida del room service terrible

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Even though staff was friendly, the service was horrible. Facilities looked run-down. One of the worst managed hotels I have ever stayed at.

    Location

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Las Brisas Huatulco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: