Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Reve Hotel & Spa - Boutique Beachfront 4 stars

Fraccion 2A, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Review score

Based on 14 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Stayed 5 nights, Only one saving virtue: the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Size Bungalow Ocean Front Swimout or Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel provided nothing beyond a bare room, a restaurant, a view, a pool. spa and very small gym. No maps of the area, no wine opener, no tv listing sheet, no list of places to dine. No coffee machine in room. I thought the hotel was upscale. But 2 star hotels offer more room amenities. there was no shop for purchasing snacks, toiletries, etc. I asked at reception and was told the nearest place was several blocks away. I asked for a wine opener and was told i must go to the restaurant to get my bottle opened. Why? Because the hotel had only two openers. I asked for bar snacks. They had none so one was forced to wait until dinner or lunch, The restaurant dinner menu included only seafoods, meats, fish. No vegetarian options. We had a rental car and had nearly all our meals elsewhere. Felt sorry for the guests without rentals. The nearest restaurants were miles away. All properties nearby were exclusive and did not allow non guests to dine at their restaurants.

    The view from our room, The beach area with tables and lounge seating very near the water. Breakfast was excellent with several choices. The restaurant itself lacked warmth, basically boring. The bar outside was closed at 1730. Why?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.3
    the staff at the front desk was increbidly sweet and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot of small ants in the bed and everywhere in the bathroom. wifi not working in the room. very slow service for breakfast.

    the staff at the front desk was increbidly sweet and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    4.2
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Ocean View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilets continually blocked. Cards / Key continually did not work to open door, needed to go back to reception to renew. No credit card facility at bar or restaurants, staff needed to take to reception to process...very long wait. Condensation in rooms, airtight / building not constructed correctly. Timeshare meetings in restaurant taking up the best seats in house. Felt as though hotel was locking you in to take advantage of your money...I needed to call reception from my room, give them the local number I required for them to connect me to whom I wanted to speak with...not professional.

    Room 4 & 5 were located wonderfully on hotel property for easy access to beach, restaurant and bar. Quiet location, great snorkeling.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Terrible internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Ocean View with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible internet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    The hotel policies are set up to overcharge their guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel policies are set up to overcharge their guests. As an example, taxis are charged a commission for picking you up from the hotel which is passed onto the guest. A trip into Playa should cost 230 but the taxi will charge you 300 pesos due to the 80peso fee the hotel charges them.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I feel that we spent more than we got in value. They charge for WiFi and put a premium on top of the standard taxi charge into town on top of everything. The restaurant is lovely, but the acoustics are terrible - it is very loud due to all the hard surfaces which does not fit the small, quiet feel for this resort.

    The staff were very friendly and professional. The food was very good with appropriate portion sizes and beautiful presentation. The location is removed from the craziness of downtown Playa, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.3
    Nicely secluded hotel outside of Playa del Carmen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Charging for WiFi + 50% extra for a taxi to center of Playa del Carmen (300 pesos, official taxi company price is 200 pesos) - The beach just in front of the hotel is rocky, making it difficult (but possible) to walk out into the water

    Nicely secluded hotel outside of Playa del Carmen. The hotel is relatively small giving plenty of space for guests, e.g. by the pool and on the beach in front of the hotel. The hotel is ideal for staying a couple of days in a quiet place. - Nice restaurant, great waiters - Quiet and away from city center noise

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Carlos, Roberto, Jesus, Ishmael, Martina, they all made our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carlos, Roberto, Jesus, Ishmael, Martina, they all made our stay a dream! The location is idyllic and the amenities are pampering, but the kind and ultra-attentive staff are what make Le Reve paradise.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    5.5
    small, quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hard to find it, sandy beach but stones when you walk into the water, if you don't get the right waiter you will have to wait for everything for ages

    small, quiet hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    6.7
    The restaurant and bar staff were fantastic and the size of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, it is way too far away from Playa Del Carmen, approx $15 taxi ride. The concierge staff we less than helpful, I asked on numerous occasions for a mini fridge for our room was promised a follow up with maintenance but never received a response. The same thing happened with laundry we requested and requested that this be picked up, it was delayed by over 24 hours and as a result we received it 1.5hours before departure.

    The restaurant and bar staff were fantastic and the size of the resort was great, small and boutique.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.0
    Far from the action of town and over priced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from the action of town and over priced for what you get

Showing 1 - 11

Guests also reviewed these properties: