Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lunata - 5th Avenue 3 stars

5ª Avenida Entre Calle 6 y 8, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#33 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little bit noisy If you have a room facing the 5th Avenue

    The price is really good! It is very clean, cozy, very well located and the staff was the best! I definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot drive up to the hotel, so you have to haul all your luggage from the closest street to the hotel. On the weekends, there is a lot of loud music, so it makes it hard to fall asleep if you're not wanting to participate in the night life. The reception on the television was horrible and the staff couldn't figure out why.

    The rooms were very nice and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great, location was very convenient, only one block away from the beach. We got a room to the inner courtyard so it wasn't so noisy despite it being located right next to some concert areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no ground floor rooms & no elevators. Stairs are concrete and steps very high. We stayed inside in evening as would not chance falling after having a few drinks. Not recommended for older folks.

    Decor was lovely, very authentic. Shower was great, lots of pressure and hot water. Courtyard was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I couldn't stay longer

    The staff, the staff, the staff! Exceptional service and kindness. We have stayer here before and always come away happy we chose Lunata. Gorda, the house cat, makes us smile as well as she takes sun in the morning. The breakfast is extremely generous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there is a disco nearby playing extremely loud music until 4am in the morning. You can't get a fair amount of sleep.

    Architecture of the building, service and cleaningness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast selection is way too small for the money paid. If music bothers you during the night, this is probably not the place to stay. The music from the clubs and bars can be heard during late evening and night. It did not bother me, however those who are noise sensitive should reconsider.

    The location is excellent, right at the fifth avenue. The design of the hotel is good looking in Mexican style. The staff is really friendly, especially Yodantzi who helped around a lot with information and excursions that take place in Playa Del Carmen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it was located on such an active street, the noise went late into the morning and made it difficult to sleep. It didn't help that it was the Saturday of Dia De Muertes (Halloween) and extra celebration activity.

    The room was very nice! The hotel was close enough to the ferry to Cozumel and our car rental that we could walk to both 6 or so blocks. It was right in the middle of all the activity. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the hotel is on the 5th avenue where all action is happening during the night, you have to consider noise before you decide to stay here. We didn't mind it and there is nothing that good ear plugs can't handle.

    Upon arrival we got an upgrade without any additional charges, which was very nice. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel has Mexican traditional interior, which we really liked considering that it was our first time in Mexico. Very friendly and helpful staff. Basic continental breakfast but it is nice and included in a price of a room. Location is great, just on the 5th avenue and beach is 3 minutes walk, many restaurants and shops are around. Since it's on a 5th avenue, which is a walking street only, none of the hotels has parking space including Lunata, however there is a parking lot on the parallel street behind the hotel, where we parked our car for 200 peso ($10) per day. We asked hotel to send us the location of the parking lot before we traveled and they sent such comprehensive instructions and it was pretty easy to find on Google maps. All in all thanks Lunata! It was a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sleep at all. It was too noisy from the 5th Avenue but we got used to it. Then there were building works next to the hotel. They started 3 AM every morning. If you wish to have some rest then better go somewhere else. Breakfast is very basic.

    The atmosphere of Hotel Lunata is gorgeous. The beach, all the restaurants are in 5 minutes walk. Our room was perfect sized, clean and comfy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish I would have requested a lower floor. We have bad knees and the 40 steps up and 40 down gave us quite a work out. But it was good exercise for us.

    Very nice stay. Did not hear any of the noise from 5th avenue in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money around New Year was rediculous - you can't charge such rates! It ruins any trust to booking.com.

    Excellent Location, staff was helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Facing the 5th ave strip was the only thing that was a bit much. If someone is looking for a quieter part of the hotel, go for the courtyard view.

    The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The style of the hotel I saw on line was what drew me to stay, on arrival, the hotel was better than what was shown online. The complementary breakfast was a great way to start off the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful, serene property with beautiful décor, wonderful garden atmosphere, yet part of the Playa Del Carmen 5th Avenue vibrancy. Staff incredible, breakfast very special.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I loved the garden view from my balcony, the whole facility was great for my short stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise at night

    perfect location, comfortable bed. great atmosphere, loved the shower. relaxing yard and breakfast area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect location

    What was a very nice and clean place to stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrible breakfast.

    Needs to improve breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful oasis of tranquility on 5th Avenue in vibrant Playa Del Carmen. We keep coming back!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Location staff is very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get a garden room. Street rooms are noisy.

    Staff the best!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing the street gets some noise but no a big deal

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but few things you'd expect from chain hotels like pools, gyms etc

    One of the best rooms we've stayed in!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food variety

    Lunata boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen pretty area, located in a very vibrant avenida quinta with calle 6th and 8th :) ... staff are so helpful, caring and friendly, we felt home and above all the serenity of the view from room Ofelia :) .. Thanks to Raquel and Sergio for the amazing support and friendliness during our stay, also Carmen for her delicious food

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Earplugs recommended ;)

    The hotel is located in the main promenade so it is close to everything - shops, restaurants, pier, etc. Very nice and helpful staff, tasty food and nice rooms (and the roof).

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

    Wonderful place! The staff was very very friendly and helpful. For example, though we were only there for 1 night we could check in prior to the check-in time and they offered towels for the day after checkout. The room was beautiful, spacious and had a view over the main street. The location is perfect, walking distance to the ADO terminal and the ferry to cozumel. The breakfast was served in the garden and was good! Overall, i would very much recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is quite a nice building with a lovely garden area and nicely tiled bathrooms. Unfortunately, the surrounding neighborhood is mostly souvenier shops and bars with bass bumping late into the night. If you happen to stay in a room over looking 5th avenue expect the noise level similar to bourbon street or times square. It isnt much better in the interior since the avenue connects to the lobby area of the hotel via an open walkway. Playa del Carmen seems to be best for people looking to shop at chain stores or party spring break style. We were on our honeymoon so we decided to cancel the remaining two nights and head back to Tulum. We were refunded one night which seemed reasonable since we left mid-afternoon. In PDC i would recommend the food carts by the walmart, and that's about it.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    With the location on quinta comes party noise which cannot be avoided.

    Perfect location and very well maintained place. Breakfast with fresh fruits on the patio.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not imagin the level of noise even with other review this is very loud and from morning till late

    Nice hotel, room was clean and spacious, staff is helful location is good

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could be loud until late at night. Wish they had stated there would be major construction directly across the street...

    Right on 5th, a block from the beach! Authentic style Mexican boutique hotel. And an extremely helpful, smiling staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very loud noise coming from the outside into the room at night, breakfast was extremely simple. too expensive for the hostel feeling you got.

    good location

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast has limited options even the coffee is decent and tv has no foreign channels.

    The location is perfect along with the nice decor of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is an old building and there is no elevator. there is no 24 hour desk staff. there is no phone or intercom in the room.

    great location, righ on the main street. comfortable room. nice helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even on the top floor, we could still hear noise from the street. I would strongly recommend brining ear plugs. The bed was a little hard and the pillows were a bit flat.

    Conveneient location to the beach, 5th avenue (with all the restaurants, bars and people watching you could desire), quaint courtyard where breakfast is served, free purified water available from a 5 gallon water cooler near the lobby, staff was very kind and even willing to watch out luggage after checkout so we could spend our last few hours at the beach before heading out of town that evening.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think the pillows could be a bit more comfortable. Maybe some Peanut Butter & Nutella for a breakfast option :)

    We loved the friendly helpful & happy staff :) always willing to help! They provided answers to all our questions in regards to restaurants, shopping, wine stores etc. The rooms were very comfortable & clean. Great decor and wonderful rich detail. We especially enjoyed the garden setting. The location was awesome! We will definitely come back! Gracias....

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location & staff was awesome. We enjoyed a perfect breakfast each morning.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not to par with the outstanding overall experience: need fruit and yougurts.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, and excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved that it was in the heart of restaurants and shopping! Walking distance to everything.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Hospitality of the staff

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Couple

    Never

    My best choice hotel lovely color design and middle of 5ave

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super staff, clean rooms, fun location as long as you know what downtown Playa is going to be, noisy.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing wrong.

    GREAT TEAM , !! 100% recommend this hotel. location right on 5th avenue !!! love the fresh coffee , fruit and orange juice!!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Hotel Lunata - 5th Avenue traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: