Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mansion Iturbe 4 stars

Portal Morelos 59, Plaza Vasco de Quiroga, 61600 Pátzcuaro, Mexico

#5 of 31 hotels in Pátzcuaro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was off-site, but there is no way around that in colonial towns. Restaurant closed at 6 pm.

    Comfortable and spacious. The updating of this building was done so thoughtfully, shelves in the bathroom, wall hooks where you need them, sufficient electrical outlets, three way light switches. Pretty special for a building hundreds of years old. Restaurant is good. Staff was helpful. Nice garden on the ground floor, terrace-hallway on upper floor with comfortable seating with coffee and tea service in the morning, overlooking garden, rooftop terrace. Lovely spot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds can be more comfortable.

    The hotel was meticously designed and decorated. Every detail was well considered. The place itself is a piece of history.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Clean comfortable stay in a beautiful colonial style hotel facing Patzcuaro's main plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was very happy with the hotel.

    Place was beautiful, very clean with a classic colonial style. Felt very cozy, but not cramped, with high ceilings and spacious room. Its central location facing the main plaza was convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Best and most memorable hotel I have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The historic charm and the decorations around every corner is amazing. The location is very conveniently located in the center plaza and there is so much to do and see once you step out of the door. For US$70 we paid per night including tax it's extreme value for money. The room is quaint and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is small but you have to realize that this is an old building and they have done everything to accommodate. If you like arts and crafts you would enjoy wandering around the hallways and the library/reading room to appreciate every piece of decorations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    A nice, quiet, moderately-priced hotel right on the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby is somehwat dark, as are the halls. A little more lighting would help.

    Great ambiance. Excellent location right on the main square but still quiet. Great value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    It does not happen often that as soon as you enter the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the time when I visited, it seems like the hotel did not have permanent reception staff so it relied on the help of waiters and cooks from the adjacent restaurant. Still, this solution worked rather well.

    It does not happen often that as soon as you enter the hotel room, it takes your breath away. Here, it did. The room was just fantastic, with an exceptional blend of traditional and contemporary just in the right proportions. Both the room and the common areas are beautifully decorated and would win my personal prize for interior design if I ever had one. :-) The windows overlooked the main square so the location cannot get any better either. Interestingly, even if it is so central, there is no noise at night as the town enters into the sleeping mode.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    It was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security box did not work, though the hotel staff tried all possible to get it fixed while at my short stay, including promptly offering me to get a different room

    The property is beautiful, the staff always with a great attitude to help out. It was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    This is a charming historic small hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the street noise. Ask for a room in the back.

    Charming hotel on a beautiful square. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. Our friends rooms were closer to the street and they were bothered by noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The location is amazing, staff helpful as always, rooms are cozy and properly dark during the night (I don't particularly like light sources when I'm trying to sleep). Internet is good considering it's a small town with good wifi signal strength.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in one of Pátzcuaro's magnificent colonial homes
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was off plumb. It squeaked horribly and wouldn't close. Water pressure was poor, although the shower temperature was excellent. The shower door wasn't sufficient to keep water inside, so I had to mop water off the bathroom floor every time I took a shower.

    The location of Hotel Mansion Iturbe could not be better for anyone wanting to experience the sights and sounds of Pátzcuaro's colonial center. Breakfasts in the hotel's restaurant are delicious. The staff was very accommodating and kindly delivered a bowl of excellent chicken soup to me and my rocky stomach (street food) after the kitchen had closed. Our room was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful classical house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the main square's musicalization from the room but that has nothing to do with th hotel but with the village's recent sound system.

    Huge room and a very friendly staff. Breakfast was good too, go for the Huevos Tarascos!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    An old style delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we stepped through the heavy doors we felt a sense of calm and peace (it was semana santa and the town was crowded with revellers). The courtyard is charming and our room was delightfully furnished in a traditional way, in keeping with the entire hotel. Don't go there expecting modern luxury, but if you value a sense of place and old-fashioned courtesy in a charming town then this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.3
    This was the fourth time I have stayed in Mansion Iturbide and I always like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The free parking is two long blocks away. But this is little inconvenience. When you check in your car can be temporarily parked in front of the hotel. The staff will take your bags in and you just have to drive two blocks to the parking.

    The staff is friendly and helpful and will help to solve any problem. The hotel is in a perfect location. The hotel is in a very historic building and has beautiful ancient wood floors that are rustic but comfortable. It is very tastefully decorated and just being in the building you feel like you have stepped back in time but also have modern conveniences. Good heat is available on nights that get very cold.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Fit for a Grandee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant so-so. Staff helpful enough when approached, but didn't make any special effort and often nobody at desk. I speak Spanish, but if English is a factor, it's not spoken much here (or anywhere in Patzcuaro).

    Beautiful antique furnishings, nice balcony with view of Plaza, heavy shutters to keep out street noice, spacious dresing area, ample storage space. Don't miss the carnitas place a few doors away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    This hotel has Santa Fe style in Mexico.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was free but a bit inconvenient. Long walk from the hotel.

    This hotel has Santa Fe style in Mexico. Very clean and very nicely laid out room and big bathroom with lots of hot water. Also a nice roof top patio. We will definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not well staffed,so,it was hard to get service.

    This hotel has made every effort to please, the room was spectacular, bed was comfortable, the shower was good. There were many extras, Magnifying mirror in the bathroom, tissues, basket with toothpaste, shampoo and hand cream. There was a radiator heater, and an alarm clock. The hotel corridors were filled with tasteful artifacts and art. It was great value for money and I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    If in Patzcuaro please give yourself 3 to 4 days - there is so much to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is absolutely nothing we didn't like.

    What an incredible property. Comfort, cleaniness and water pressure in the shower. When in Patzcuaro we checked the other hotels and nothing compared to the Mansion Iturbe. When we travel back to Patzcuaro we will be staying at the Iturbe.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    9.2
    Location, staff, ambiance, wifi/internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived at the hotel they didn't have my reservation in their system eventhough I had called twice before arriving, and also sent them an email. One of the balconies of one of the rooms I reserverd was full of pigeon droppings.

    Location, staff, ambiance, wifi/internet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff was great, charming property,great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great, charming property,great location. Complementary coffee in the morning and evenings was a plus! Well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    the hotel suits the historical environment of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ungrounded electrical outlets.

    hotel is like a museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good place to stay for enjoying Patzcuaro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a large comfortable room with a little balcony. The included breakfast was very good. It was very enjoyable to stay in such a building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Loved the character, the staff, the comfy chair in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved the character, the staff, the comfy chair in front of the balcony overlooking the square. Would return to both Patzcuaro and Mansion Iturbe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway in a gorgeous city, lovely hotel with super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trip too short

    Perfect getaway in a gorgeous city, lovely hotel with super friendly courteous staff very nice indeed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    The beds were very comfortable and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilet room were a bit small

    The beds were very comfortable and the staff were very accomadating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    View, location,shower and heat in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, coffee pot in room

    View, location,shower and heat in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Good experience. Would consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little worn down. Overall a good experience.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed, huge bathtub, lovely old world charm right on the Plaza. Helpful, friendly staff. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Such a beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful hotel! Huge gorgeous rooms around a lovely courtyard. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed. Excellent shower. Very helpful staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Loved mansion Iturbe and Patzcuaro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Lovely location and great, comfy rooms and beds. Very quiet, a relaxing place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closes very early in the evenings!

    Lovely location and great, comfy rooms and beds. Very quiet, a relaxing place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The staff is very helpful and cordial!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The staff is very helpful and cordial!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Historic building in the main square respecting old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic building in the main square respecting old furniture style but adding confort of this century

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Pillows
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    The staff was friendly and the food at the restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and the food at the restaurant was excellent. Overall excellent service!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    View of the Plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of the Plaza. Restaurant at hotel was good. Very old and impressive building but tastefully updated showers etc

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.9
    An air con unit that doubles as a heater, a must for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An air con unit that doubles as a heater, a must for Pátzcuaro 'S chilly nights

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Old elegant and charmingglory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English speaking news channels. For instance no CNN

    Huge rooms.excellent staff.Great location. Excellent wi-fi in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, right in the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right in the main square. Beautiful arquitecture and design. Large rooms with a great decoration and attention to details.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel for the ambiance and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very knowledgeable

    Pillows not very soft

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    An old mansion tastefully restored with all the mod coms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Given the likely number of gringo guests, there could be at least one English language TV news channel.

    An old mansion tastefully restored with all the mod coms, perfectly located on the main plaza. There were three of us in three different rooms, all very comfortable. Next time I'd like to try one facing La Plaza Grande -- despite the likely noise. Very reasonably priced especially if breakfast (almost anything from the menu - no buffet!) is included.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    5.4
    Great location, big room, massive shower, stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's hard to say anything was bad, but for the cost it just wasn't quite there. Whilst the room was great, in general the facilities are quite basic, the breakfast poor, the wi-fi didn't work in the room, I think for the price we just expected a bit more, perhaps that was our unrealistic expectations.

    Great location, big room, massive shower, stunning views.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel structure itself shakes (quake-like) when a big truck drives by, making it a bit unexpected and unpleasant specially when not notified about it. The restaurant didn't have a lot of the things offered in the menu. Some of the staff kept saying I had a double reservation for a day on which I did not arrive, and that I was going to be charged for it (made me feel like I was being prosecuted).

    Great location. Stayed in room 11 which had a balcony view to the main plaza. Staff was very attentive. Room is pitch black when all the doors, and windows are closed. Free parking in a separate parking lot in a town that is a bit difficult to find a parking spot.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    10
    Location and charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and charm

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    9.6
    The room was just perfect, With a balcony overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was just ok.

    The room was just perfect, With a balcony overlooking the street. Great bed, and a heater to take care of the cool night.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: