Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MayaFair Design Hotel 4 stars

Kukulcan Boulevard Km 8.5 hotel zone, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#117 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1417 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    No coments
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is old and no ac in the allway And the room thosent have a door in the sanitary., I dint have no choose to late

    That is near the store and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were new and renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was high compared to the overall situation in the hotel. It is an old shopping center turned into a hotel. Outside the rooms is extremely old and unconditioned. There is no elevators or escalators. The one there are turned into normal stairs. The breakfast was ok but could be much better.

    The rooms were new and renovated. Everything there was great. The hotel is very close to downtown Cancun. The breakfast was good, but not great. The personal were great and very friendly. Very close to the beaches as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    Horrible, horrible, horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was the stinkiest, run down hotel I've seen in a while!! It was nothing like the pictures online. They had to be photoshopped!! It appears to be an old mall that they tried to turn into a hotel. The broken escalator is covered in green grass carpet. There is no door on the makeshift bathroom. It's a toilet in the middle of the room with a partition wall only. There are no windows in the rooms. There is no air conditioning in the common areas; only in the rooms. The place stinks of sewage. The list goes on and on. I don't know how this site is calculating my review as a 2.5 because it's a big fat zero!! Do not stay at this hotel!!! I refused to stay there. I requested to cancel without penalty seeing that I had not yet checked in. Lili, the front desk receptionist, complied and I got it in writing. We left there and went to the Grand Bahia Principe Luxury Resort in Rivera Maya which was a 5 star all-inclusive. My vacation was great from that point on.

    Absolutely nothing!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the buffet-style breakfast should have a little bit more variety overall it was good food the cooks are very good weight stuff most of them are pretty good the only thing I did not like was that some do have an attitude when you do ask or request for things

    The customer service cleaning crew they were all very courteous very helpful very attentive to all of our needs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Abandonaded Shopping Center, not a Hotel.!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a Hotel is an Abandoned shopping center, the rooms in this place used to be shops, they need to change that fuuny look as we felt like we were sleeping in a abandoned shopping center, decoration is good but they need to make the atmosphere look like a proper hotel, not a 4 star hotel at all, i would say 2 stars..!!! no windows in the rooms, smell funny in some rooms, flor bloken in some rooms, personal opinion I wouldnt recomend this place at all!!

    Rooms are funny decorated.!! location is also great, breakfast for 11 us dollars excellent!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    NO WIFI!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO WIFI! When it clearly states free wifi. The room STUNK like chlorine and bleach! Tiles on the floor were filthy dirty. The bath had a giant hole in the side of it with tiles and concrete just sitting up against it. Definitely not worth $115 aud a night. Shower didn’t heat up even with only hot tap running for five minutes. Only good thing was the aircon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    I had a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great for the price.

    It's a great price for its location, the breakfast is great. The rooms are spacious and clean. Recommended hotel, for day trips, if you'll be out all day, this is a good way to save $.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Our stay at the mayafair
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled like mildew in our room, and it was very stuffy as well.

    Staff are friendly, and really quick at getting things fixed when problems occurred. Very close to coco bongo area , within walking distance. Saved lots of money on taxis.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.5
    Terrible. Do NOT stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this location is a joke. It is a barely renovated old strip mall. This is not hyperbole. Think of a small indoor mall, with 3 floors and businesses like footlocker and dentists offices etc., with escalators at either end, and a big opening in the middle where you can see down to the bottom floors. This is EXACTLY what this place is. It clearly used to be a mall not too long ago as most of the rooms haven't even been converted into hotel rooms. The majority of rooms either have closed businesses in them (multiple "rooms" were clearly abandoned restaurants as they still had restaurant tables and chairs left over but no operating business), building materials, or just boxes of random items. The "rooms" are NOT as advertised. The outside wall is nothing but clouded glass so light pours in and you can totally hear everything that happens outside including someone just walking by in flip flops. Additionally, there is a tub in the room for no reason at all other than to take up space. I've read the other reviews on this property and somehow they describe the rooms as spacious. They aren't and the tub that is randomly in the bedroom makes sure of that. Additionally there is nothing that separates the bathroom from the bedroom, it's all the same room. the toilet is literally in the shower. Not an exaggeration, the toilet is in the shower. You could pull the curtain closed on the shower and if you are sitting on the toilet, your knees will hit the curtain. There is no tub for the shower so any water from the shower will wet your feet as you are sitting on the toilet. The walls are paper thin. You can hear everything going on outside in the mall area to outside your window. Which is a major problem because as I mentioned, most of the rooms are still under construction so there's tons of noise. ALSO BUGS were in the room as well. Nothing big, but small gnats flying all around.

    Nothing. I CANNOT believe this property was rated 4 stars by booking.com. It makes me question ever using booking.com again. It is clearly a 1 start property at best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.6
    Reception Staff try getting extra money from guests at every opportunity! will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Housekeeping didn't wash our sheets and tried to charge us 70 dollars for 'stains' we then had to travel with our sheets, pay for them to be washed, we returned the sheets to the hotel with zero stains in them , the staff at reception were very rude and trying to get extra money from guests at every opportunity! will not stay again

    restaurant staff were lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    It gets the job done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its one of the furthest hotels from the airport.

    not much parking, Rooms are spacious all with a different layout since each room has a name based on a fashion designer or actor. We had to ask for extra towels both nights we were there. We used this as a quick stop before our flight the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionists were not helpful at all. They gave us the wrong room, didn't match the description on our reservation. The rooms didn't have windows and smelled dump, and our bathroom door didn't close all the way. The shower was leaking, the fridge wasn't working and the air con made a horrible noise.

    The breakfast was good and the staff serving breakfast was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not pleased with the restaurant or buffet food however. But the staff are great and they make good drinks.

    Hotel is great value for the price. I was happy with the condition of my room and the staff was very friendly. I loved that unlike the rest of the hotels in cancun....friends can visit with no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin, so you could hear everything outside of your room.

    Staff were very nice, room was huge and clean, great location, and the $9 breakfast buffet was a steal! We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this hotel except watch out for men out front selling excursions. They do not work for the hotel. They will try and talk you into going to a presentation at one of thier hotels and will offer you lots of "free extras".

    The staff are friendly and the rooms are beautiful. Perfect location. Everything you need is walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    2.5
    Eveything short of Discusting would not recommend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As written above overall NASTY .

    2.5 of your calculated overall is much to High ; Nasty ! should be 0.0 or less. Room Was a Very musty Smell. Upon arrival Door would not open with keyless card ; Waited over 1 hr for door excess. only opened once and additional 1 hr to reset. Staff could not verify pre-paid for 2 night stay; So I incurred another transaction for payment; Still waiting for proof of reimbursement for overpayment. Do Not Recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    The quality of the hotel ultimately reflected the low price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchenette facilities. One of our rooms did not have a separate bathroom and the water from the shower leaked into the bedroom. The hotel has no access to the beach so it is a long walk to the public access area and then you can only use small portions of the beach as the nice areas are reserved by the other hotels.

    Great price. Big beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Was fair enough for one night, wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it looked very old and like it was still being rebuilt in some areas. there was soo much light coming into the room when trying to sleep, lucky I had a sleep mask. could hear people going up and down the hall outside the window they had as the front wall.

    it was good enough to stay for one evening before I had to fly out. was cheap so thats why I stayed. good size, large room. Buffet breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi doesn’t work properly. You need to go to the lobby to get a connection.

    Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Very well located. Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Okay, so we read the MANY and VARIED reviews of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Read the GOOD below, first . . . then come back up here and read this. They had us write the review with the "What did you like?" first and then put that last in the review. Well, now for the BAD. Your reservation is in U.S. Dollars, so they convert it to Pesos at their less than favorable exchange rate and process your charge in Pesos, so your room ends up costing you about 8% more, because of this unfavorable exchange rate. I asked if they could charge me in U.S. Dollars, but their credit card machine doesn't allow anything, but Pesos or at least that's what they claim. Yes, the check-in desk is a bit weird, located outside the hotel. After checking in the bellman took us down an alley and around the back of the hotel to enter through a back door for our first floor room . . . if you're on a higher floor you enter through the front. As I stated we started out on the first floor, BUT after being gone from the hotel all day after our first night's stay (we took a day trip to Chichen Itza which is a MUST DO) we returned to our room at the Mayafair to find our hotel room flooded . . . YES, there was about 3/8" of standing water on the floor. There's no phones in the rooms to contact the front desk, so out the back door, down the alley and around front to the outside hotel front desk to report the problem. They got right on it and maintenance was there in minutes, but it was determined in pretty short order we'd have to move rooms. The only rooms available were on the 2nd floor near the breakfast set-up area, so we prepared for a noisy early morning like we'd read about in the other reviews. We put a towel on the floor to fill the gap under the door and this was helpful. And, yep about 6:30 A.M.

    Okay, so we read the MANY and VARIED reviews of this property BEFORE BOOKING IT. The price was right for the Cancun Zona Hotelera. It is walking distance to the main club area (a bit of a distance, but very walk-able). Overall our stay here was GOOD. But, it that's not to say that there weren't some complications. We were looking for a place to lay our heads at night, knowing we would NOT be spending much time at the hotel beyond that. The rooms are spacious and the beds were comfortable. We were originally on the first floor and the noise from the breakfast set-up others have complained about was not an issue as the breakfast area is on the 2nd floor. The staff overall was friendly and helpful and while the various front desk staff speaks English quite well, the other employees, such as the breakfast folks, maids and maintenance staff do not, so if you're not Spanish speaking this could mean a lot of pointing and smiling to get your needs across. I speak a little Spanish and got along quite well as they're eager to help. Yes, it is a converted shopping mall and it makes for a bit of an odd, though not unpleasant room arrangement. The breakfast was good and they had a decent, varied selection of choices, but this is no stunning buffet, so make sure your expectations are properly aligned. The rooms were clean, but despite being recently done, they have a worn and tired feeling - I think due to the use of less than commercial grade furniture and fixtures that are showing wear fast. Wifi was decent on the first floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for short business stays, close to everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One more table for breakfast could be a plus at time there are more people. Music in the sleeping areas corridor is not useful. Taxis are expensive and may ask 150 pesos to go 4 kilometers away, prefer take the bus for less than 25 pesos. Note: the shuttle reserved through Booking.com did not exist, and never showed up, so I lost 90 minutes looking for it asking everyone for it - don't use the booking shuttle reservation.

    My first time there. I would come back. The hotel is built following an interesting design. If you take the time to visit it, it's impressive. The rooms are decorated with youth fashion design motives. The rooms have diaphanous windows (you cannot see through), which gives light and a sense of intimacy, and these rooms are huge, with a broad shower and a beautiful bathtub. Staff will clean at the time you want, so post it. The Mexican breakfasts are more like brunches with a buffet, I appreciate it a lot. The room's wall are thick so you don't hear much noise even on Saturday night with a wedding. The bed has a good mattress, all the room looks slick and new, with a large tile floor (careful when getting out of the shower). 10 minute walk to a beach that Mexicans use, unless you move through the hotel across, which is not recommended. Better use the free shuttle of the hotel that will lead you to the hotel's beach club. Personnel has been very nice and helpful, always cordial. You feel quickly at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    - breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room smelled like mold, because there wasn’t any windows - you’d smell like eggs and bacon after visiting breakfast area - had to use the back door to get to fhe room and the entrance door would stay open and with no one around all the time - no door in the bathroom area

    - breakfast was good - well located - quite room - staff was very polite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in nice part of hotel strip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had soaker tub but no hot water (ran the water for 10 min, nada) Dining room dinner nice but poor service, waiter had a bit of an attitude

    Room was very nice & comfortable, nicely cool upon arrival Check-in clerk friendly & helpful Buffet breakfast has good selection & reasonably priced Staff very helpful upon checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to a private beach but a little public beach located around the hotel.

    Great location. Close to the main street (restaurants, bars, shops, etc...are located around). The rooms are nice and they all have a different theme.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.5
    The place was clean and staff was friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above . It's not a party hotel and people pay good money to stay there , I was not happy . To be woken up to a party that sounds like it's at the foot of your bed every night is unacceptable when paying what we paid to stay there . If the staff put a stop to it it would have been a perfect hotel . But we will not be staying here again due to this

    The place was clean and staff was friendly . However . With Its location being so close to party zone , it became a party hotel . It's not a cheap hostal and people pay good money to stay there .we had the Donna Karan room and we're there for three nights and paid 500 dollars for those 3 nights and never got sleep . The tables for the breakfast buffet are right out side our room so as soon as 12:30 rolls around all the parties roll in after the clubs and are partying right outside your room until about 4 am every morning . And staff does nothing about it . I heard multiple rooms complain about it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice cozy hotel with nice people working there and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal is very very nice and professional and ready to help you any time . Location is excellent. It's very cozy place for Very good money . I would stay 2nd time . Only one thing negative . Breakfast is poor and lady who runs it even worse . She looks like pissed of that you came to have a breakfast she must serve you :) we have been there only one and last time for breakfast . Close to hotel are 2 excellent breakfast places . Both are French and you can have excellent food with excellent service there . We went to la brioche several times . And had wonderful breakfast for 105 pesos /person . And another wonderful place , little more far is called 100% natural restaurant.. its life time experience. 😊🙏🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    2.9
    Worst experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is basically an abandoned mall which former stores have been turned into “rooms”. We didn’t feel safe: door didn’t lock properly and anyone could get into the hotel as there is neither security nor doors at the entrance. Rooms (we tried 2) were not clean, there was hair on the floor. We didn’t spend the night as we checked out 3 hours after checking in and moved into another hotel. We had a very bad experience and we would definitively not recommend this place.

    Staff was helpful and they accepted our request for a room change. Besides that, nothing positive to highlight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    No window in the room what was strange.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the room what was strange. No separated bathroom in the room. During check in we got only one bracelet to open the door not both of us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in hotel room or iron no window to look out of it faced the inside of the hotel which was like a dome. Clean hotel and safe area

    I liked the fact that the hotel was near all the restaurants and party locations. Clean hotel and safe area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    The last day was just terrible. The front desk guy messed up everything and made me missed my flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel made me miss my flight to Cuba on the last day and waste a whole morning’s time and a lot of money!!! After I checked out, they asked a taxi driver “friend” to send me to the airport. After 20 min we left the hotel, the hotel called the driver because they thought they couldn’t find my payment record!!!! (Which is ridiculous, I prepaid all my room fee on Booking.com and they already confirmed that at check-in) The taxi driver drove back to the hotel WITHOUT MY PERMISSION, which wasted me 40 min. And the driver also tried to overcharged me!!! They are super unprofessional, irresponsible and never considered guests’ need. Don’t stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Value for money and friendly front office staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise made by the staff when making preparations for breakfast. You need to move the breakfast area to a place far from the rooms!!

    The front staff was amazing, the front office manager and 2 people manning the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    We stayed for one night which done the job after a long flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confusing hotel which is also a hostel the room was very cramped with a bath at the end of the room which was a waste of time

    Breakfast was good plenty off choice and fresh p

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    My huge recommendation for this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a very good hotel, in the best zone of Cancún, the staff give you enough attention to have a good experience, the rooms design is so cute, a good combination between price and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfy bed, good price and location if you can find the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really weird hotel layout, didn’t see a restaurant and the reception is downstairs outside. Anyone could walk up the hotel steps and go to your room door so didn’t feel particularly safe. And everything’s all in one room which is fine as I was travelling alone but you’d need to know someone well to share and use the loo in front of them, there’s a kind of screen but it didn’t hide much.

    Really, really comfy big bed, great to have separate bath and shower although it offers no privacy if you were sharing as its all in an open plan room. Modern clean room with fridge and good air con. Central location at a good price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    Very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms don’t have windows. Very depressing and dark when you’re sick the whole time. Even when you’re not sick. I’ve never stayed at a hotel that doesn’t have fresh air . It’s all inclosed . Had to switch rooms because of plumbing and the first room we had , the toilet was in the shower separated by a current. Never again.

    Nothing but the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.3
    Horrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was part of the room every time someone took a shower it made the whole room puddle with water

    Nothing was like the description on booking.com when booking the hotel if anyone is looking for a nice hotel with housekeeping and room service PLEASE do not get it. The bathroom is in the room with a very poor room design.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.4
    great location. that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a store turned to a hotel room so there is no noise cancelation for the hall. The bathroom is sharing the same space of the bedroom. No light in the part of the bathroom and shower. No windows in the room. The bed was not comfortable for us, too soft. We didn't have hot water to shower

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.3
    Help no Windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms without windows and daylight are depresssing. The hotel is a refurbished shopping center. So no windows in the room. No fresh air except aircon....not really good. Design theme is horrible. I was Lucky to be in the Candice Swanepoel room. Would have commited suïcide if it would have been the David Beckham or Versace room I guess.

    Very central location. Cheap by Cancun Standards. Better than being downtown I guess. If you have no car in Cancun this might be the place to be.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice room, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a little slow

    Reasonably priced, huge bed, great shower and only a 15min walk to the beach and busy bar and nightclub area. Quiet and parking right outside

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.0
    I'd never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is an abandoned mall that has only half been converted into a hotel. There are still old jewellery stands from the mall left in the lobby! The rooms dont have windows and so there is no natural light. Many rooms are open plan, meaning that the toilet and the shower are in the same room as the bed. I'd never stay never again. The rooms are also strangely decorated...ours had semi naked pictures of Candice Swanepoel everywhere along with bizarre quotes about nudity and fetishes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are very pleasant, nicely decorated and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have no sound proofing, so any noise outside of your door you can hear in the evening and especially in the morning at the breakfast buffet. Very difficult to sleep. Plus it would’ve been nice to have a bottle of water in the room, or small. But a nice thing to do.

    The rooms are very pleasant, nicely decorated and large.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    This is great value if you get real room as shown as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we reached over there, they gave us a small room without the bathtub.(the only reason we booked this hotel was for bathtub! But there wasn’t!!) It was really bad as there is no window and bathroom door. We were so angry that the room is totally different from the profile picture and we complained. Once we get profer room which we booked, the room is really big and beautiful. But we felt they are doing some fake business because we couldn’t find any pictures of the small room on booking.com(they should provide the exact details and the price must be different according to the room) The room which we got at first time was so bad and it didn’t value not at all. Should be careful for these things.

    This is great value if you get real room as shown as the picture. The room is clean and spacious. I like bathtub and the design of the room. Also the staff was kind as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The best place for the price in Cancun.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be any better.

    This is a brand new place, adding new things. Excellent service. Restaurants on site serve some of the best food in Cancun at reasonable prices and you should explore many restaurants in this area too. The rooms are very stylish!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    2.5
    Scammers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff lies to you and scums you without blinking an eye. What happened: I arrived late in night. They asked to pay at arrival I tried to pay with my credit card. They sad there was an error and asked to pay on cash. Good that I contacted my bank and my bank confirmed that the transaction succeeded. Good that I asked to see a manager. The "manager" arrived, talked to someone over the phone, and, surprise-surprise, the transaction was cancelled! Then I asked, where is an ATM with pesos. The receptionist without blinking an eye gave me directions, and, surprise-surprise: the ATM produced USDs only with an outrageous commission! 10% I was cristally clear that I am asking about ATM with pesos, and they lied to my face. Un-ac-cep-ta-ble scam. Avoid for any cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 3 in one room and we wanted 6 towels 2 for each one for our hair and the other for our body and they would only give us 3 The breakfast buffet does not have a good variety of food and my friends asked the chef to make omletes for us and he got all of our orders wrong he only had one job and he screwed it up

    Comfy bed and big shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.8
    Deceiving and disappointing. False advertising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The clerk who checked me in was terrible, I walked to the desk and had to ask for his attention, no hello, no welcome ( yes he speaks English ). Never explained how to get to my room, I had to return to the desk to ask for a receipt for the key deposit. I was advertised too as free coffee was available but nothing was explained or offered to me. The room door dead-bolt did not engage, there is a frosted glass pane above the door that does not allow the room to get dark for sleeping. The breakfast buffet was neat and available but was the same as any other fast food joint so I didn't touch anything there. I preferred to do to the supermarket around the corner for breakfast. The mini fridge was old and beaten and empty with out any mini bar contents as were advertised. There is no telephone in the room yet you advertise wake up service. The room key required a deposit but the key card I was given is from a facility in Fort Lauderdale , Florida. The internet did not work in my room, I had to sit out in the hallway if I wanted any decent connection. My final night there was a huge disturbance in the room next to me which went on from approximately midnight till 4 am and involved the police. I was scared for my life with all the screaming and shouting both in English and Spanish. The people involved were using names like El Chapo, and having just been arrested by the FBI in NYC. I didn't know what to do, I couldn't call to the desk as there is no phone in the room and I could not walk out at the risk of having to go through all of it. I could not sleep. The clerk the next morning could not care less when I told him about it and my request for a partial refund of that night was met with a basic no. (the manager was not there) This hotel has the capacity to be so much more, I know this as I am a General manager for a small hotel in Alberta. I have been in the Hospitality business for 34 years.

    The room was nice and bright and large, loved the soaker tub ( never used it) loved the shower and toilet all separated. The housekeeper Jimmy did an amazing job all through my stay. I was never dis-appointed with the cleanliness of my room. The presentation of the room was great, The public areas were clean and bright, I Loved the location which is so accessible to the heart of the hotel zone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.6
    Horrible we left early
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights were on the hostel was right next to us in the same building the staff was horrible and rude their cars machine didn’t work so I had to pay cash

    The rooms were nice but we had no windows and the lights where always shinning in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to hang your clothes. No coffee/tea machine. The water from the shower went over the curtsin and made the tiles around the bathroom very bery wet. The water also felt to the towel rack so no place to put the towel except on your bed. I had reported this issue to the receptionist when check out.

    The room size is very spacious. Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    cheap and good location - but little sleep in the cave-room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the rooms were sooo loud! the cleaning personell started pushing their carts around from 6AM onwards, breakfast was prepared, you could hear people talking - no chance to sleep well. the stands on the bed were so loose, if the other person moved it felt like on a boat. we had no window in the room, the room looked like recently renovated, but apparently with cheap materials - e.g. the metal in the bathrooms was all rusty, the faucets dripped and hung quite loosly on the shower wall. the hotel felt like a construction site - half of the rooms were under construction

    The breakfast was good and included a lot of fresh fruit. Good value for the price. the personell at the reception was helpful and spoke english well. the room was rather big and had a shower and a bathtub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    4.2
    Dysfunctional to the extreme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy, things broken and dysfunctional, they also couldn't even get to accept my credit card payment and it turned into a complete shambles, Whatever you do don't stay at this hotel however you get what you pay for sometimes

    Nothing it was awful, no privacy for the toilet and then the door also didn't work properly to the hotel of our room as it looked us out and then on the nights before we were due to leave they deactivated our room keys, unbelievable!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    4.6
    Avoid. Unless you want a cheap place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bathtub support, sealed window, a/c not working, credit card terminal likely not working to have the room payment in cash, ridiculous breakfast with old pastries. Old mattress

    Shuttle Service to the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    There were plenty of mosquitoes in the room when I got there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were plenty of mosquitoes in the room when I got there, in the morning there were problems with water, so I had to wait to take a shower.. It looked like half of hours the rooms were on renovation... Also the fridge didn’t work. I stayed only one night, so for me it was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Perfect solution for a quick and cheap trip to Cancun for young people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel in general needs maintenance. In some point there was water sinking from the ceiling. There is no elevator, only stairs.

    Perfect quality-price ratio. It has all the necessary. It lacks of maintenance. My room had no window. Breakfast not included in the price but you can pay there for the equivalent of 7 USD. Overall it is a good solution for people who does not want to spend a lot of time in the hotel but wants to stay outside the majority of the time. The beach is very close to the hotel, walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Great option !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old shopping mall turned into a hotel. It is still under construction/remodel. The layout is a little weird.

    The staff were very nice. The room was bigger than expected, comfy bed, the bathroom had a shower and a bathtub. The breakfast buffet was good too and housekeeping did an excellent job. Great value for the money! Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Overall ok..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked including breakfast via Booking.com but the staff said it would be without breakfast. We had the discussion three times.

    The price for this location was good and so where the rooms in regard of beeing clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Interesting place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything going on outside. Cleaning crew are loud. Knocking on neighbors doors sounds like they are knocking your own door.

    Interesting place. Looks like it used to be a shopping mall. Store fronts turned into bedrooms. Interesting and different.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    3.3
    You should try another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything..too dirty rooms..too much money for nothing!!!there was everywhere water from the roof..i killed more than 10 mosquitoes in the room and guess what..there were no window..the only good was they boy at reception who help me with everything that I need

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    So cool!!!! Worth it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower comes out and the floor is wet all the time.

    Good location near all the most important places. Clean and confortable. Good AC. Bed so confortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Unusual hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    You are in a mall after all, so it feels kind of weird when you go out to a big open space. The shop window has been painted so that you cannot be seen from outside, but there was still lots of light coming into the room even at night. The strong emergency light in the room did not help either.

    This hotel is not an usual hotel. It is an old mall with the shops turned into hotel rooms. The concept is interesting and it is mostly ok. The rooms are clean and well equipped. My room had a nicely working fridge, a good AC unit, and a nice TV. Very good wifi connection. I would say this is a good hotel for you to stay if you are open-minded, and would like to save some money on your stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Spend a little more and book at a nearby resort with proper facilities, you will not regret it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room had no window yet was infested with mosquitos and little bugs. No pool or beach access. Constant hassle from the tour operator at the front of the hotel.

    The guy on the front desk was friendly and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.8
    The worst and more expensive hotel I have ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst and more expensive hotel I have ever been. The guy in the front desk was very rude for the check in. The Room is disgusting. We país 142 dollars for 2 nights and there wasn't even a breakfest. The price in the booking.com wasn't the final price. There was a Lot of taxes when we did a check in. There was nothing in that hotel. I would never stay there again.

    Near to Coco Bongo, hard rock

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    Lots of things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of things. There were mosquitos in the room and I was bitten all through the night. The shower does not have suitable drainage or an edge that keeps the water in, therefore it flooded and then subsequently flooded the whole room, under the bed and out the room door. At 8am construction begun just outside the room door, not allowing for a relaxing stay at all. When I discussed this with the staff at reception they said they couldn't do anything, they weren't understanding and couldn't care less.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was very big, with two king size bed (and we were only two!!). I was a little bit suprised by the absence of windows, but the whole structure was "open air" so it was enough to open the room door to be outside. We also had a continental buffet breakfast for 139 pesos and it was good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Stay at your own risk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone from the hotel went in my room and went through my stuff. My door was wide open when I came back to my room. I could tell my stuff had been looked through. Nothing was stolen. This incident happened at night so it wasn't the room cleaners.

    Very good location! Very close to all the clubs, shopping, and all the action. The rooms all have different cool themes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    This hotel might suit the party set as the location is right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not for someone wanting a good night's sleep or any facilities of a regular hotel including light and decor. It really is an old tumbling down shopping arcade and my room felt like the hairdressers with posters abounding that could have suggested 'dodgy hairdresser'.

    This hotel might suit the party set as the location is right there amongst it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Affordable and great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Awesome place! We got more that what we expected and paid for. They are slowly renovating the rooms and our suite was brand new. Huge and very clean. Walking distance to downtown and the public beach.Starbucks is down the street. Local bus is across the street. Love this place...can't wait to comeback.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    Not bad, but Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room doesn't have a window, table, and safety box. That was terrible, I just needed fresh air every day. And When somebody chatting or walking while drinking laughing in the lobby (lounge), That is so loud !! Especially midnight and early morning. Cuz It's the lobby just in front of these rooms, also The walls of guest rooms of this hotel are very thin, That's just what I don't like about it. I didn't get enough sleep every night. Actually it was deeply stress for me.

    Good location, and nice price. There is a 24h open small store near the hotel. It's easy to get a bus, and taxi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Simple, met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were so thin, we struggled to get sleep as people who came in from their night out congregated in the communal areas singing, talking and playing music. The bathroom doesnt have a door (and you can see the person on the toilet when you're on the bed, via a mirror on the wall) so not romantic! It feels like a private room hostel rather than a hotel to be honest.

    Room was large, clean and with facilities eg. cheap mini bar stocked daily, water, tv, toiletries. Near the major hotel resorts, which you can walk through to the lovely beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning inside the facility. Shower was too close to the toilet. The hottub in the room is irrelevant because there's only cold water that comes out.. no one wants to take a cold bath in an air conditioned room. Also there is no where to get ice..

    Staff was nice. Room is decorated cool.. close To grocery store.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Cheap looking hotel, don't stay here waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff extremely rude. Would not stay again. Far too expensive for a really cheap looking hotel. Air con doesn't work. Strange clientele if you have good taste and are drawn in by the seemingly attractive pictures, you're wrong it's not what you imagine.

    Very strange hotel. Cleaners rude. Staff at the front desk nice. Far too big and strange customers who stay up all night listening to weird music. Wouldn't stay again but then wouldn't recommend anyone going to Cancun

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    3.8
    NOT WORTH IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room 2 King Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rusted bathroom sink. Broken showerhead. The in-unit AC broke down. Fridge didn't work, it wouldn't cool down. Ran out of toilet paper and the frontdesk said I should have some left, instead of aurguing with retarded people I just simply used paper towels. Jacuzzi was broken.

    The price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    2.5
    This place sucked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge didn't work, the shower flooded our room and soaked all of our cloths. The front door wasn't secure. We got put in a room that I could have rented from the hostle downstairs for 35 a night. The google address was wrong so it was impossible to find.

    They had ac and that's about it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    4.6
    Could be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was not working well, the drain was totally clogged, our bathroom was flooded. After speaking about it at the front desk still they did nothing. The bath flow was also really poor.

    The property has a really nice and totaly other design.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    i really enjoyed this place
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a funny smell when you first get in. Thats about it

    The key to the room, the size of the beds, the themes they do, location, price, the other guest, everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was extremely difficult to find this hotel in the first place, and also hard to access the beach.

    I loved the coffee, the staff, and the ease of access to the city. The bldg. was beautiful and unique as well!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MayaFair Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: