Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows 5 stars

Avenida Principal 1, 97751 Chichén-Itzá, Mexico

#2 of 8 hotels in Chichén-Itzá

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1539 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Superb!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved everything! The hotel was beautiful and the room, facilities and view were superb (we could see the observatory). The bed were very comfortable, bathroom had a corner jacuzzi tub and a rain shower, and the room even had floor lighting. There were free bikes to ride around the site and three swimming pools. Everything was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location within the Chichen Itza compound.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi is only available in the lobby area. They sould develop it to all the rooms.

    Great location within the Chichen Itza compound. The best thing is you can enter into the ruin site by a private entrance at 8am in the morning, when there is a very less crowd and the the heat is also tolerable. Because, usually crowd from Cancun arrives after 10am in the morning. The property itself is very beautiful with a huge green area and several good pools. A peacock wanders around the property, which is a bit surprise! The ala carte restaurant serves excellent foods. The lunch buffet around the property is also good. Staffs are very well behaved.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, right next door to Chichen Itza pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should be included in the room rate as the hotel is so isolated.

    Great location, right next door to Chichen Itza pyramids. Spanish castle style buiding with big garden where you can wander around peacefully in nature. There are no restaurants nearby, so we had both dinner and lunch in the hotel. Dinner was carefully cooked, we enjoyed the food so much and, most of all, the singing and music performance. But the buffet lunch was so-so and crowded with tourist groups coming back from the pyramids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was poor

    Location, was excellent. Had our best meal so far in the a la carte restaurant. Every interaction with staff was caring and positive. Superior rooms were very clean, loved the bathroom and balcony with the observatory view. There is a historic feel to the hotel with pictures of famous guests over the years.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is phenomenal, the pool nice, the rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked for tip in cash when you want to pay with card is somewhat weird for a so-called 5* hotel. All in all it is a nice 4*, but never a 5*. What bothered me a little was the fact that the “official rack rate” of the room was less than what we paid online. Maybe it’s because I am normally used to getting very good rates at booking... unfortunately forgot to take pics of the rates.

    The location is phenomenal, the pool nice, the rooms are nice and big. The bathroom is good and clean. The amenities are just the necessary ones. You get water in the room, which is great. Staff is friendly and also helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Totally loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we did not like.

    The environment and location were excellent, our room was fabulous. The restaurant is wonderful. Parking was included. Staff went out of their way to please.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Mayaland Hotel is the perfect setting for exploring the nearby ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The chairs in the room were very hard.

    The hospitality of the staff was very impressive. Everyone was very professional, helpful and efficient. We loved the open spaces, ancient trees, wildlife and food. Chef Miguel and his staff do an awesome job!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    HIghly recommended. We stayed with two kids ages 6 and 9 and they loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't figure out how to control the AC, but there was AC! I actually got too cold at night and couldn't figure out how to turn up the temperature. Maybe i'm just inept.

    The location is isolated, since it's literally on the grounds of the Mayan ruins. However, the onsite restaurant surprised us with excellent food, so that wasn't a problem! There were three pools on site. We only tried out one - my kids loved it but my 6 year old wasn't able to stand up in the shallow end. We brought a floatie for her so she was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    - Location is preferable as close to archeological sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Check in team / front desk unhelpful and untrained in dealing with feedback - Mass tourism frequents the resort during the day - Hyper touristic approach - Inflated F&B pricing

    - Location is preferable as close to archeological sites - Nice gardens - F&B team and Head Chef are awesome - Experienced resort director

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    We will be back within 2 years with our other Grandchildren.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better to visit for 4 or 5 days rather than the only 2 days for which we visited.

    The staff very attentive and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Restaurant menu selections very impressive, delicious, typical, and served very attentively. The view of the "Observatory" from the balcony of our room was awesome. The 'Private' entrance to Chichen Itza was only 250 feet from our hotel lobby, and permitted the opportunity to see parts of the Mayan city that few "tour bus travelers" ever get to..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, location, restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a superior room, but had to pay a extra 50 dollar to get a view on the Observatory. The hotel feels a little bit outdated.

    The staff was the best! They work hard and always with a smile. The location next to the ruins is also great. The restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Charming night inside of Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pity, that we stayed only for one night. It would be better to stay 2 nights and enjoy the atmosphere of this place more fully.

    One of the best experience in our life that we stayed in this historic hotel, inside of Chichen- Itza. Yes, some equipment is older, but think about the history of this place. We tried to eat dinner in this ala carte restaurant and that was very nice experience. One time we were only one guests in the restaurant. Very intimate and charming place. Staff was nice as well. The food was delicious. We had superior room with the view of garden and we liked it. Beds were comfortable. In the morning we went to Chichen Itza through the private entrance, that was very nice advantage - we felt like VIP persons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Great relaxing hotel with charm and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in rooms but it was built in 1926 so cant really expect it but it is a pain when you work online while you travel.

    Loved everything, staff were great. Hotel was historically significant and retains all its charm. Thanks to Roberto going above and beyond when we left our baby's shorts behind and he arranged to send them to Playa del carmen. Also Alex, Solomon, Marco were great as well as one waiter whose name I have forgotten but he made the Caesar salad at our table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the room because of the tiny and non tight doors communicating with the adjacent room

    Facilities Staff kindness Private entrance to Chichen Itza

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Everything has been absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything OK

    Everything has been absolutely perfect. Very nice place with a wonderful atmosphere close to Chichén-Itzá archeological monuments with their private entry to see them. The restaurant and any services were also excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great value for money!

    Great hotel! Very cute bungalows, several swimming pools, beautiful green park with hundred years old trees and remains of old Mayan roads. Private and not busy entrance to Chechin Itza site- no need to go through the busy and touristy hectic main entrance. Book your personal guide for 8am- the best time to see the site when it’s not too hot and too busy. The food in the hotel is great! I’m still dreaming about that cold avocado soup.,.:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Room quality varies but the hotel is beautiful -- and you can't beat this amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms. One of the two rooms booked was a bit depressing, with very little light (natural or artificial). It wasn't a major issue for one night's stay but didn't make me want to spend much time in the room. Also, note that the hotel's entrance to the Chichen Itza is amazing for daytime visits but you'll need to go to the main entrance for the nighttime light show.

    One of the rooms on our reservation was very nice and bright with a view of the observatory (and the hotel driveway below). Rooms were very clean. Common areas in the hotel were absolutely beautiful. There were a few choices for food onsite; the buffet wasn't great but the sit-down restaurant was excellent. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We loved the location and convenience of the hotel's private entrance to Chichen Itza.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect option to visit Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for dinner and breakfast are quite expensive. A little bit noisy at night.

    The room was comfortable, the food was good and the location of the hotel with the private access to Chichen Itza is just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    The ability to walk into ruins meant we were the first in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 28 was above the restaurant, the rooms havw slatted windows so noise travels up and into the room, not such a problem for us but if younted to sleep in breakfast starts at 7 and some guests seem very chatty at this time of day.

    The ability to walk into ruins meant we were the first in with our guide at 8. Our room was big, bathroom needs a bit of updating but good hot water. We were met in the car park by a porter with a golf buggy to transport our luggage which was very helpful as the temperature was 37.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel were the likes of JLo and Pavarotti have...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel were the likes of JLo and Pavarotti have stayed, not to mention Kings and Queens. You will have a private entrance to visit the Ruins right on site. The rooms are big and well appointed. The planetarium movie is a good prep before visiting the Ruins. I would love to visit again. The chicken tortilla soup is very good in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location. Room needed updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Observatory view room is quite tired, in one of the older wings of the hotel, and is not as spacious or well appointed as the pictures might suggest. Staff are friendly but often quite slow. Avoid the lunchtime buffet or get there before the Cancun coaches arrive - the food looks good but it gets packed and noisy, changing the atmosphere of this otherwise relaxing, if large, hotel.

    The location is unbeatable for a visit to the ruins, with access direct from the hotel grounds which are extensive and well looked-after. Staff are attentive and good with children (if rather slow). Horse riding available from the hotel is gentle but fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Don't look further, that's the place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just to make a point, we had a room with view on the Caracol, which was beautiful, BUT there is road whith a turnaround just in between, which spoils a little bit the magnificence of the view. (And to offset some reviews about the prices at the restaurant, it's very affordable for an hotel of this range. I've been afraid by some reviews, but it's not expensive compared to Europe or Northern America)

    That's the place to stay when visiting chichen itza. The back entrance of the site is on the property. Wonderful rooms, comfy beds, pristine bathrooms. Lush gardens and great staff. You feel like in the beginning of the 20th century, when travel was for the happy few. Except that now, you are one of those !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    A superior Chichen Itza experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't reach the rooms

    Stayed here for the location and easy access to the park and it provided much more. Great food. Great facilities, great staff. Getting onsite through the hotels private entrance at 8am and beating the heat and crowds was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good choice to relax and visit the ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much chlore in pool created irritations on skin of daughter. Service at restaurant was badly coordinated: not clear who was responsible for which table, many service people standing around but nit attemtive when you want to order something

    Location is excellent. Garden is beautiful. Room is huge. Good massage. We were able to order dinner very late after the light show

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    This is an amazing hotel set in the most beautiful well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing hotel set in the most beautiful well maintained gardens. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. We loved the restaurant overlooking the pool and sat outside whenever possible. The meals were well priced and delicious. The building itself has such character with wonderful old wooden furniture. Excellent value for money especially as you can get into Chichen Itza really early before the crowds. You really need a car but taxi to the main Chichén Itza entrance was 80 pesos and you can pick up an Oriente bus or ADO from there and hotel staff will organised taxi. It was such a privilege to stay in such a beautiful hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has a private entrance to the Chichen Itza site...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in the middle of a forest, there were many insects and mosquitos in the room.

    The hotel has a private entrance to the Chichen Itza site which is very convenient. The location is excellent. The Bungalow has a private feeling and is rustic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A truly wonderful highlight to stay at the Mayaland. It was our last night in Mexico after 3 weeks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault this place.

    Location, exactly adjacent to the ruins complex was superb. The ambience of the setting, manicured gardens and colonial style building quite fabulous, professional English speaking staff so helpful. PLUS we had an outlook to the observatory ruins from our room. Highly recommendable, it was a 100 % fabulous experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient, but not cheap, place to stay for your visit to Chichen Itza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite small, poor location right over top of the restaurant with music. Although the service in the restaurants was very good, the food itself was mediocre (tasteless).

    Great location! Very friendly personnel! Nice grounds - very pretty. Good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    The bungaliw was really nice in close proximityto the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was pretty poor. The food below average and disappointing.

    The bungaliw was really nice in close proximityto the pool. The garden with beautiful trees. The access to the site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    The perfect location for exploring Chichin Itza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property has amazing sunset views of the Chichin Itza observatory and fantastic access to the archaeological site. The property was designed in the 1920s so it has beautiful stained glass and period features. My room was very large and the bed was super comfy. I also swam at a beautiful cenote that was a short taxi ride away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    The building and room are rather grand and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe, which really applies to everywhere in Mexico, is i wish staff would at least hide their astonishment at a woman travelling alone!

    The building and room are rather grand and lovely. The photos don't do it justice. Excellent food and service. It's worth staying at least two nights to make a relaxed visit to Chichén Itzá and a local cenote and spend some time just enjoying the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Historical and meticulously maintained property , fair value, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer credit card payment for documentation purposes, but this is a minor issue.

    Best part is the historical importance and graceful appearance of the property along with very good restaurant staff. Menu is okay, but atmosphere is very good. Property can arrange tours conveniently walking to Chichen Itza 3 minutes away. I recommend you ask the front desk to choose a guide specific for you, since the quality varies. Be aware they generally demand cash payment for hotel stay , but ATM is magically 10 feet away from front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Loved our brief stay. Best place to stay for visiting Chichen Itza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing if you’re visiting chichen itza, you can’t stay in a better location. Full Stop. And as an added bonus, the facilities are just lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location to ruins, be expected to be squeezed out for every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was priced way over it's actual value. We asked for a refill of the three small water bottles in the room and the front desk begrudgingly gave only half the people in our group one. The town nearest the hotel is very dull. We asked for a recommendation for a local favorite restaurant and got sent to an empty restaurant with one other table with Chinese tourists. We also ordered cocktails at the hotel bar in the evening, the waiter brought me the wrong drink and when I mentioned that I had ordered the mango daiquiri, he asked me if the wrong one isn't good enough?

    The location to the ruins were the reason we stayed at this hotel. The grounds and the hotel itself were beautifully manicured. The breakfast was pricey but was good. They did try and charge us for things we didn't order, but the staff walking around with coffee was very sweet and attentive. The breakfast terrace was stunning and filled with morning birds at breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the rooms large and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.4
    Would get full marks if beds were bigger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too small for 2 people, minor problem with meal where there was no avocado for an avocado sandwich.

    location was fantastic, good breakfast, staff were friendly. Balcony was huge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to say here, they even did my laundry!

    Everything was excellent. The property was paradise. The staff was extremely friendly, the entire property was super clean and the food and store was excellent. The landscape is out of this world. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff was extremely accommodating and you can't beat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely accommodating and you can't beat the location! The back entrance to Chichen Itza allowed us to get in right at 8 AM, steps from our door! It was so wonderful to be able to see the ruins in the morning and then take a dip in the pool before check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    The lady at check in was very helpful, especially with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was dreadful and at a top-class resort hotel, I expected better

    The lady at check in was very helpful, especially with a banking issue I was undergoing at the time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    perfect location for visiting the ruins and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if you come with bus its stop at the other entrance which is 8 km by taxi. 100 pesos. not a problem but nice to know.

    dirrect entrance to area achological. planteria. beatiful garden, 3 very nice pools.not to many people

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    The jacuzzi with a view in the superior room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The jacuzzi with a view in the superior room was amazing. The direct access to the grounds. I think the hotel isn’t being advertised enough. The service was awesome and easygoing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    The rooms were nicely appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pricing for the buffet breakfast was different than what was provided to us in our quote.

    The rooms were nicely appointed. Better than the pictures. Loved waking up to the birds in the morning. The location next to the Archeological site was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Best decision to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be early for getting your ticket for the Chichen Itza entrance.

    Best decision to stay here! The hotel and room is beautiful. The restaurant served delicious food even for vegans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous oasis in the middle of the jungle! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the facilities are superb! The hotel has a private entry to Chichen Itza, thus one can be there early in the morning when there are still not so many tourists... and as soon as it starts getting very hot and crowded, one can go back to the hotel complex and cool down in one of the pools with an exotic cocktail :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Historical hotel that has kept its high class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool surface was full with insects and leaves in the afternoon and some of the sunbeds had bird excrement on them.

    Historical hotel that has kept its high class. The hole hotel area is park like and so nice with all the birds. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location is perfect with it’s one entrance to Chitzen Itza. So lovely to directly being able to take a cool bear and a swim in the pool after a hot day by the ruins. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    better enjoy all the service and the hotel and park (forget the ruins)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we travelled with an infant we missed an elevator up to our room but this is really a minor issue. Not much else you will miss there!

    The hotel is indeed a remarkable place! It almost looks like a park and sending pictures home will make everyone jaleous (^_^). We stayed for 2 days in the main building and enjoyed our spacious room and all the great service. I never ever in my life had such a great bathtub! Meals were naturally a bit more expensive but it is worth every pesos as you get high quality food! We really loved the breakfast and lunch buffet! Some other good reasons to stay here: direct access to the archaeological site (even though I would recommend many other sites over chichen itza), personal greeting note at entrance, luxury pools, free parking on site, pet peacock strolling the hotel, courteous staff (some can be a bit snobby though),...! All in all: best thing you can do: stay here and enjoy the hotel and all the services, forget about the ruins (you may find better ones somewhere else anyway). Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Slow service, room no more than average, but to be fair excellent position for the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow reception, promise of extra towels but not forth coming. We were sure we had breakfast included via our ebookers reservation but were told no. We were not the only guests with a booking issue, waited 15 mins in reception for checkout whilst the guys in front of us were dealt with, and not a satisfactory conclusion it has to be said. The staff dig their heals in and are totally inflexible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Perfect !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect ! Staff was extremely friendly ! Our special thanks goes to Luis from reception staff because he solved our problem when we lost our rental car key while swimming in Cenote Ik Kil. He even arranged that we could keep our room until the rental company brougth a new key from Cancun. Thank you for our wonderfull stay in this awesome hotel !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    😊 coming from a totally different time zone I didn't like the fact there was no room service... But this is not a custom in Mexico. There is no fridge in the room to keep your food either.

    I loved the nature and the stuff. Is beautiful nature with loads of birds and iguanas. The stuff is friendly and super polite and helpful. All stuff wore remembering my name right from check in and my entire stay everyone was adressing me by name, I wasn't just a room number.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! One suggestion I would like to make, as a vegan couple we wish there was an option for beans cooked without animal products. Other then that the staff was very professional and was able to accommodate our dietary choice without a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    The only place to stay in Chichen Itza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the place to stay if you are going to Chichen Itza and even if you're not. Great rooms, service, food, pools, facilities, and direct access to Chichen Itza from the hotel grounds. Charming hacienda style 1923 hotel, and all the facility and gardens (3pools) are beautiful. This is the only place I will stay if I come back to Chichen Itza!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect but not worth a 5 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet restaurant is not worth the money ( food is not very good + a lot of noise) The staff in the restaurant do not hesitate to intimidate you for the tips Is not worth a 5 stars hotel

    The location is perfect for visiting the archeological site of Chichen Itzà if you don’t have your own car! The breakfast in the terrasse is very pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel from the moment we arrived the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this hotel from the moment we arrived the location for this hotel was perfect. It has to own entrance to chichen Itza which saves us a lot of time and that itself is breath taking. Over from the garden to the room and the people of this hotel was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Industrial tourism
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too big, too impersonal. It was also very expensive (food, drinks etc). The service was good but I was annoyed to be told after every meal where I could add the tip to the bill. The buffets were terrible though the expensive restaurant served up an excellent steak.

    It’s difficult to review this hotel because everything to do with the facilities was excellent! Great room, spotlessly clean, the grounds were expansive and immaculately cared for, really helpful staff and perfectly located. But... and it’s a big but, the hotel is soulless. Bus’s loads churn through every day. It felt to me a bit like a giant cruise ship.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location to explore Chichen-Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel is just perfect. Really nice room, super friendly stuff, good food, perfect location. It’s worth spending a little more money on this great hotel to have an early start exploring Chichen-Itza.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel and best way to discover Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was almost not working in our room. The restaurant a la carte was quite good but expensive. We took the breakfast and didn't regret, there was plenty of choice and it was tasty.

    Our room was amazing with a view on the observatory, a Jacuzzi and it was very big, elegant. Great swimming pool. Mayaland is fullnof history and finely decorated, with a strong Mayan culture, We really loved being there, it's very special. The highlight of our stay was the private guided tour the hotel provided - Our guide Isidoro was excellent. Don't miss the Kulkulkan light show at night, it's magic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Don't pick a bungalow unless you're an insect lover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a bungalow. After we got in, my husband got mosquitoe bites and saw kind of moth. We asked the staff for mosquito repellent. They did come to do the spray but refused to leave it for the ridiculous reason that it was the only bottle they got. After complaining about it, the staff offered another room in the building which we did accept. The room (superior room) was very nice - no mosquito and with a jacuzzi.We did enjoy the room very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Be careful when you pay for the dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service. The bill for dinner was 2400 something, but the camerero wrote me a paper which was 3800 pesos. What happened, when I checked it again, he confessed that he made it wrong. What the hell is it?

    Location, 10 minutes walk to Pyramids. Rooms very clean, quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend his hotel. It might be nice to inform guests about tickets for the Light Show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but tell guests about the Light Show before they arrive. It is worth seeing. I didn't see any information in the hotel about this and no email about it. I bought independently.

    The location, can walk directly to Chitchen Itza. Beautiful grounds, helpful staff in booking an excellent guide.Golf cart for delivering luggage. Clear communication. Good food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Ideal to visit Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner too expensive, but cheaper restaurants in Piste. Air con was not working well.

    perfect located to visit Chichen Itza. Wonderful garden, nice pool area, breakfast on the nice terrace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Unforgettable. What a find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast as rushed because of unusually slow service. However, had I had time to relax and finish it, it would have been perfect. When it did arrive it was delicious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for sightseeing of the Mayan ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy as you could hear people speak on the floor or kids shouting in the early morning In the middle of nowhere. So if you don't have a car you can't just go out and have restaurants and bars to go to.

    We were upgraded to a junior suite which was recently furbished and it was amazing We even had a view on the Mayan Observatorium 10 minutes walk to the Mayan ruins which is perfect for sightseeing. Hotel also helped organize a guide. Romantic outdoor eating area. At night Mariachis were playing for the dining guests

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the restaurant, we only went once, service was not that great and the food was not worth the price we paid. Some of the fellow guests with children thought they own the space around the pool, leaving all their toys strewn around the pool, even a nappy. Poor staff who had to clean the mess.

    The gardens, the many pools are wonderful and the back entrance to the ruins. The lunch buffet was very good value and the possibility to try many different options of local foods.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stay to visit Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had a bit of a touristy feeling with all the dancers and musicians at the restaurants, and souvenir shops, but for a one-night stay to visit Chichen Itza it was perfect

    It is a big complex but quite nice still thanks to very green surroundings; nice swimming pools; just next to Chichen Itza; good breakfast options; very spacious room; fantastic bathroom; calm; great staff; lunch buffet was great and had a lot of options even for vegans

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The best possible location, the view from the bathtub to the observatory is fabulous, the staff is awesome. The food is pricy tough and not the best, you can find better food in local restaurants for the fraction of the price. The breakfast is the same but costs 10x more than in a local restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Tropical Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff who helped with setting up a great tour of Chichen-Itzá with Juan, an exceptionally good tour guide. Staff were attentive and friendly. Our room was tastefully decorated and had a lovely balcony. Our meals were most excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    We would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked about Chichén Itzá opening times as we wanted to get in as early as possible. It was a shame we were not informed that there are sunrise and sunset Chichén Itzá tours. Anyone coming to stay at this hotel is there for Chichén Itzá so this might be something worth informing customers upon checking in.

    Staff were friendly. We booked a room with a view. Definitely recommend booking with a view. 3 Minute walk to the Chichén Itzá entrance (not main entrance, a smaller one). Hotel was clean. We liked it a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful historical landmark in its own right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (in the main building) had wood slat windows which didn't stop any noise, at night from the restaurant and early morning/all night screaming birds. sleep was difficult. Bungalow recommended if you're sensitive to noise.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and eager to please, quality of food and drink is high. Waking up at the gate to the site is a real advantage, Chichen is a completely different experience at 9am opening time vs 11 when all the tourists and merchants are in full force.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Mayaland , your best entrance to Chichen Itza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mayaland is just the best way to experience Chichen Itza with its own private entrance. People working here are friendly and the buildings and gardens are very nice. We just stayed a night, but we could not pass Mmayaland, being in the area and having visited before.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room - Mayan Observatory View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is advertised as a top 5* hotel; the last meters of road leading to the hotel are in a very desolate condition and the first things you see when driving towards the hotel is an ugly wall next to some run-down half-finished building. We felt at first like driving into a somewhat dubious neighbourhood and asked ourselves if we had come to the right place. The wall you see when arriving is the somewhat neglected side facade of the"modern" wing that hosted our room. Of course architecture is a matter of taste, but combining this nice colonial building with such an ugly annex was not understandable to us. One has to admit that you have good views from there but that was it (you have the same view from the hotel entrance). The room was pretty loud- next to the staircase and sandwiched between the back and the front of the hotel you heard the noise from the below restaurant as well as from the stairs, corridors and entrance area. When trying to sit on the balcony you have to put up with waiting buses that keep their engines running for ages. So if you are noise-sensitive, opt for a bungalow or choose to stay in the nearby Hacienda Chichen.

    The room was spacious with 2 beds and a big bathroom; we had opted for the Mayan observatory view room and had a very nice view both from the room as we'll as from the bathroom, but ....(see what we did not like). The garden setting with the bungalows is very nice as is the historic part of the hotel which already hosted lots of celebrities. The food was nice. One of the entrances to the Chicen Itza archaeological site is behind the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Incredible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is unbelievable. A must stay if spending a night in Chichen-Itza. The building is beautiful, and the gardens are superb . It’s dated but it adds charm to this places. The view, the stained glass wndows, the size of the rooms everything is grand. This place have seen what seems like every major celebrity of the 60-70th. And it feels like one of those grand hotels past its prime, filled with history. The location is Unbelievable, minutes to line-free hustle free private entrance to the ruins. The food is decent, but at a price. The rooms are comfortable, though dated, with incredible views. The bathrooms are slightly musty, but clean and functional. Ours had a gigantic jacuzzi, but we didn’t use it. Overall, it’s an attraction in its on right and a must stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    the perfect place to see chichen itza, and even better than the pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was just so/so. Other than that...it was really great!

    Location, location, location. If you came to see Chichen Itza this is the place. It's literally a stone's throw away from the ruins and you can see one of the observatory towers from the hotel...pretty breathtaking. The overall atmosphere of the grounds is beautiful as well. We only stayed for one night but we were very impressed with everything while we were there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Do yourself a favor, stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little confusing to get to the main building if you use the wrong entrance.

    Great facility, beautiful, close to the Ruins, you will love being here. Lots of shops coffee bar and food on location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Happy for the five night great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cool so a heated pool would have been nice.

    The setting was lovely and the service excellent ,staff very accommodating and friendly. The food was wonderful . I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. The hotel tour guide was excellent. Transportation to and from the airport, while not inexpensive , was excellent. I intend to recommend to our tour company friends in Toronto Canada. STS Tours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location next to the histirical site (own entrance,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bungalow itself is a kind minimalistic, lack of basic facilities (luggage stored in a corner on a floor, lighting needs some renovation etc). The noise from the pool and the restaurants is a bit boring.

    Perfect location next to the histirical site (own entrance, away from all these tourist buses). Very good breakfast, good dining options at the protperty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful refuge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet service could be stronger.

    Beautiful property right at the entrance to Chichen Itza. The meals were great, the room was comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: