Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mesón De Leyendas Breakfast & Downtown 4 stars

Bocanegra 405 esquina con Peñuelas, 51201 Valle de Bravo, Mexico

#5 of 43 hotels in Valle de Bravo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, huge room, quiet and peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason, the staff at the restaurant was unable to operate the espresso machine at night, so they could not prepare coffee.

    Friendly staff, huge room, quiet and peaceful place. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and has an excellent menu. They have their own traditional pizza oven. Located just a 10-minute walk from downtown Valle de Bravo.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.0
    Great weekend in Valle de Bravo
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly noisy (we could hear every car passing on the street and when a bigger truck passes by ,the whole building was shaking).

    The staff was extremely polite and accommodating. There was a private lot across the street where we could park the car for free. We had the biggest room (actually 2 rooms as there was an upstairs one with 2 more beds), as well as a jacuzzi (which we did not use). The breakfast was also great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the fact that the entire property had retained features of its historic past. The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished. Staff were helpful and informative. The food was delicious. Many thanks Meson de Leyendas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location in the heart of Valle 2 blocks from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms street side can be loud on the weekends but silent on the weekdays. So if sensitive to noise request something towards the back.

    Excellent location in the heart of Valle 2 blocks from the main square. Lots of restaurants and stores around to get whatever you need. Lovely clean hotel with AMAZING breakfast. Seriously you may want to stay here for the breakfast alone. Killer. Eco friendly touches everywhere and tons of perks like hot tubs, sauna, massage, etc on site. All taxis know where this is for extremely easy to find and very central. Awesome staff, very attentive an kind and helpful. The manager even drove us to the bus station herself when our taxi didn’t arrive. Also, fantastic on the wallet!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Loud music, dirty towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Hotel is on a loud main street, the first night our bed shook from all the passing cars and the second night there were two parties with loud music until 3am in the neighbouring buildings. The staff gave us earplugs but seemed unable to offer any other solution. 2) Some of the bed linens and towels had stains and were dirty. 3) the shower was a joke. The head was so small it felt like barely any water was coming out. Overall, very poor quality for usd150/night. We will not be coming back.

    Breakfast in the yard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    This place is really nice, very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative comment I could have is that my room (#15) was located right next to the restaurant and therefore was a bit noisy. But it didn´t affect the quality of my overall experience at Méson de Leyendas.

    This place is really nice, very well located. Rooms are clean, spacious and the jacuzzi inside the room is perfect after an exhausting day visiting all that Valle de Bravo has to offer. The garden is beautiful and peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Great little cozy Mexican hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the advertisement in Booking.com it looks like the breakfast is a big part of the hotel, but when we went down for breakfast they informed us you have to pay extra for the full breakfast (otherwise only continental breakfast). No big deal, not so much extra money, but its a matter of principle.

    As I said, it is a very nice cozy hotel, the building is amazing and it is beautifully decorated, loved it! It is also very well located, we walked everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful property and very nice overall stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a bit weak, but my room was all the way at back.

    A beautiful property and large room. A good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Outside garden area very tasteful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Excellent place to enjoy typical mexican ambience and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An oasis with a peaceful garden, well designed rooms, teraces and balconies, attentive staff, very good restaurant, very good included continental breakfast with an option to upgrade to eggs, tortillas, quesadillas & co

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Nice and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At certain times wi-fi was very slow

    It is very near downtown, comfortable beds and room. Breakfast was good, if you want quesadillas or chilaquiles you must pay extra for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in Valle de Bravo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction at the hotel during the day to make two new rooms, but this was likely scheduled during the time of our stay which was low season. We were not there during most of the work time anyway so it really didn't affect us too much.

    Staff was amazing. The hotel is rustic, colorful, and full of exotic greenery, providing a very comfortable and authentic ambiance. Breakfast was quite good, with simple and fresh options ranging from continental to eggs and fresh quesadillas. Location was great--short walk to the town center, mercado de artesanías, etc. and centralized to get to surrounding sites by taxi. On-site spa services were also great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Incredibly helpful, warm and welcoming staff, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only criticism, which according to the staff is an uncommon occurrence, was the bar across the road which made it difficult to sleep on the second night. pre-booking i'd find out if there are any events planned and ask for non-street-facing room.

    Incredibly helpful, warm and welcoming staff, food to-die-for (excellent Italian chef who clearly knows his stuff), excellent facilities, well located close to almost everything in the centre as well as the accessible surrounding Nature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    beautiful, very good location. The staff very friendly. We really recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, two of the Jacuzzis were not working, and we have to wait one hour to warm it up.

    Friendly staff, nice and big room, rustic style, free jacuzzi and complementary te and ropes. Delicious breakfast and it's include in the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Rooms facing the streets are a little bit noisy - We booked a boat ride that had to be cancelled because the boat owner never appeared at the meeting place.

    - Great breakfast - Large rooms - Comfortable - Private jacuzzi bath

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel with the best staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is amazing. The food is great, the Chef Eduardo and Mariana are great hosts. The staff can arrange a horse trip to a near by ranch where Carlos takes care of you like family. This is the best place to stay!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful and charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is both beautiful and charming. Lots of special little touches in rooms and throughout the property. Great location to enjoy all of the restaurants and near the town's plaza. Staff was absolutely welcoming and spoke ,English. Breakfast was wonderful and do enjoy a massage or facial while you are there!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    What a jewel!!! Amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not get much better than this!!!

    The hotel was absolutely charming... a real jewel!!! I would go back without question!! The staff went above and beyond and were so friendly.. made us feel so welcome and treated us with such care and took care to every detail regarding our stay! It has been a long time that I have stayed in a hotel and had such an enjoyable stay! Excellent!!! We hope to return may times!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    A WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL RETREAT!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about

    Everything! What a magical place! Eduardo, Carlos and Esmeralda make sure you have a great time. We felt well taken care of; food was excellent; really relaxed in their beautiful garden; and Eduardo and his lovely wife Marianne educated many of us in wine pairing and Mexican food. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Meson. Penelope and Arthur Rose, San Francisco CA

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    I love it!! Totally.. Very homely, clean and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was excellent!! Sincerely, I do not think i would have stayed anywhere better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great hidden gem in the center of Valle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Decoration, cleanliness, nice patio area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A great place with friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find fault

    The garden surrounds are spectacular the peacefulness of the place,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Location and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Location and rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel arranged for a private tour of the Monarch Butterflies which was very good !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was about four blocks from plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtyard was cluttered and had to make reservation to use jacuzzi.

    Double beds in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Charming Hotel with fabulous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly staff and very professional

    I got a fabulous room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice garden atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi weak in my room at the back.

    Nice garden atmosphere. Good restaurant on site. Friendly staff. Responsive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful property, delicious food and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, delicious food and excellent service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Great job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service and great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Service, meals, the room, everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, meals, the room, everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Love the Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Breakfast was most wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything

    Everything Bonus a personal jacuzzi 😳

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    SERVICE,ROOM,FOOD,LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SERVICE,ROOM,FOOD,LOCATION

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Great for the family, excellent location, awesome Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet

    Beds Excellent Breakfast Decoration Garden

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    The food was good, the garden is beautiful and the...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not friendly.

    The food was good, the garden is beautiful and the rooms/beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bigger bead please!

    Excellent breakfast buffet, fresh made granola! Location, location!! All the amenities in a quaint setting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    8.3
    Very nice little hotel, located at walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a big deal but we didn't have any towels in our bathroom and had to ask for them.

    Very nice little hotel, located at walking distance from the main square. Very nice breakfast and friendly staff. The items provided in the bathroom were particularly nice. Beautiful and colorful garden.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    8.3
    Delicious breakfast with good variety, and a very soft bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately a marching band from the school next door starts their practice early in the morning during the week. But nothing the hotel can really do about that... Just be aware you may not be able to sleep in Monday-Friday.

    Delicious breakfast with good variety, and a very soft bed. Plus it was awesome to have our own jacuzzi tub in the room with jets of hot water.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    Meson de Leyendas uses local art and artifacts to great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Checked in with a friend who got a superior room for about 700 pesos less than my standard room. When I asked how this could be, I was told that the difference was the fee charged by Booking.com (my friend booked directly with the hotel and thus got a much better deal). Sorry, but I'm not going to use Booking.com again.

    Meson de Leyendas uses local art and artifacts to great advantage, decorating both private and common spaces. Lovely courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.5
    The rooms was very nice, the people was very kind, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was some cars noise outside the hotel that make me not to sleep as well as I wished.

    The rooms was very nice, the people was very kind, and the breakfast delicious!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable beds, clean room, nice breakfast buffet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First impression was not so good. The room had a musty smell, but it was an older hotel.

    Comfortable beds, clean room, nice breakfast buffet, fireplace in the room was a nice touch. Also had a small bar area with a pool table for recreation.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    7.5
    Cute B&B in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not great for little kids; much better for couples. Very loud at 5:30 am with dogs and roosters

    Cute B&B in the middle of the city. Food was great. Very nice room. Very romantic

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    9.6
    We are a family of three with a baby so location was a must...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We are a family of three with a baby so location was a must and this hotel is just walking distance from downtown, the hotel looks very Mexican is so beautiful, the rooms are spacious and personal has excellent service, we had such a great experience that we even extended our stay. We definitely recomend you to try.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    4.6
    I´m very upset .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I´m very upset ... i always use "booking" to obtain the best relation price/quality in my reservations, unfortunately this time were different. This hotel offer packages (hotel + food + massage, etc.) at lower rates that the prices offered in "booking". And the worst: when i asked the employees if i they can offer me that packages (one of the packages had the same price that i had payed) they told me that i can´t because i had used "booking".

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    great breakfast and unique middle of the jungle feel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some maintainence going on (hot tub) and there are lots of barking dogs nearby that barked all hours of the night.

    great breakfast and unique middle of the jungle feel to property. parking cramped but secure. room was big, slept six of us, and had good satellite TV selections

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    3.3
    decoration is nice and food was good,
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I found a scorpion in the bed under the pillow, and had to move out at midnight, parking is across the street and not for a car maybe for a 4 wheel drive, phone at the room did not work

    decoration is nice and food was good,

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    7.1
    I liked the rooms, they were clean with attention to details...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they put us in a room the smelled of mold and humidity on the bottom floor. the first night i requested a change of room and the front desk manager said we could change in the morning. in the morning he told us he did'nt have any rooms available, but we noticed that there were empty rooms. so once we told them we were leaving the next day, they finally changed our room on the third day. but I have allergies so i got sick anyways by the time they let us change rooms. when we had to cut our visit short in Valle de Bravo they charged us another night for cancelling early. the front desk manager was not helpful at all. the hotel manager took advantage of us also and did not have to charge us another night as they still had empty rooms. If you stay there make sure that you request a room on the upper floor because not only are the lower rooms have a problem with humdity but you can hear every step the guest above you take, including draging their luggage across the floor.

    I liked the rooms, they were clean with attention to details, like a safe in the room. the garden is very nice, and the breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds with a great room, a crib available for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's on a one way street Away from the centre square so it's a little complicated to get to.

    Beautiful grounds with a great room, a crib available for our kid, delicious freshly made breakfast included and close to the centre square. Free off street parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.9
    Everything around me was convenient, easy to meet my family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything around me was convenient, easy to meet my family and friends.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very nice¡!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was old, and I think it is overpriced

    The staff was very nice¡!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    Nice facilities and excellent attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very noisy at night due to street noise.

    Nice facilities and excellent attention. Breakfast was great and location was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    Humidity in romm 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Humidity in romm 3

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful room, lovely breakfast, hottub, wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room, lovely breakfast, hottub, wine... Everything we asked for and more!

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Mesón De Leyendas Breakfast & Downtown traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: