Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mision Palenque 4 stars

Periferico Oriente, 29960 Palenque, Mexico

#23 of 50 hotels in Palenque

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good.

    This hotel, although a short cab ride from the center, is really an oasis from the craziness that is downtown Palenque. The property is an eco/bio marvel and is extremely clean, well lit and well maintained. Beautiful pool and the room air conditioning will keep you cold in the Chiapas heat! Most importantly, there is a vigilant security guard at the roped access monitoring all activity serving as incoming and outgoing gatekeeper. I recommend this hotel over ANY in city center Palenque!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was only available in the restaurant, not in the room. The pool is kept far too warm for my liking. The restaurant is open air, which is nice, but it’s hard to escape the tiny bugs.

    My husband and I enjoyed the most wonderful Sweedish massage at the spa - glorious! I loved the resident iguanas! The staff worked very hard to provide extremely good service. I loved walking around the massive hotel grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms themselves were underwhelming--a bit too small and lacking in decor for a "hotel + spa" experience. I also had mixed encounters with staff. Some of them were very nice and attentive. At other times, I felt ignored or that I was not a priority when I went up to reception to speak to staff.

    The grounds of the hotel, along with the hotel restaurant and pool staying open late, made for a very relaxing stay after visiting the ruins of Palenque. I booked a temazcal while there and it was quite a unique experience, especially when the howler monkeys came out in the evening. I'd definitely recommend guests take advantage of the spa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps due to weather the WiFi and Internet connections were a quite slow... but then we truly unplugged!

    Affable staff, top-of-the-line cuisine, unique services. The temazcal (mayan steam bath) and spa message left us rejuvenated and with baby soft skin. The concierge made recommendations based on the weather and provided information to schedule reliable taxi-tour services.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small. They didn't look that way in pictures. The food was NOT good.

    The outside of the property was beautiful! The complementary drinks were delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff members were very nice and kind and then there was this incredibly rude man that stopped us on the way to the pool carrying juice boxes , water and ice. In a very very inappropriate way all he said was "NO, NO, NO, YOU CAN'T" trying to indicate with his primitive communication skills that there are no alcohol glass bottles allowed by the pool area. Needless to say WE WERE NOT BRINGING ANY!!! I was really surprised they allow their staff to talk like that to people. Breakfast pastries should be a little more fresh and now a few days old.

    The location was lovely and green. Very close to the Palenque ruins which is the top attraction there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small. Furniture is really old. Food and cocktails are awful. The pool for the kids was dirty. Really not worthy for the money you pay.

    My wife liked a lot the spa center cause it's inside the jungle. Beside that, not too much really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we left drama started. We had to catch a bus to Merida and were well in advance at the lobby to pay our bill. It turned out she (the lady was called Luvia) could not find the right reservation. I asked here to speed up, and after 15 min she came with a bill. Then the payment machines appeared to be without connection. I tried for 20 minutes and then told her I had to leave for the bus and asked her if we could arrange the money in another way. Here I think they she should have been a lot more customer focused, as it is not our fault that machines doesn't work and reservations are mixed up. But all she did is saying 'you can't go without pay' and the fact our bus was leaving didn't seem to bother her at all! There wasn't any cooperation by her at all, which I found very disappointing. In the end I arranged to get a guy of the hotel joining our cab passing by an atm in town. We catched our bus on the minute, but this stressful situation ruined my stay. Without speaking Spanish they would have just hold you there resulting in you having to reschedule your holiday due to their faults. This is not how things work...

    The location is nice, prperty is spacious and the cleaning is well done. Many Mexican groups here when we were there, which gave a very fun and lively atmosphere. Some staff really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Whether they were busy or we are unlucky, but reception, barman and waiter weren't friendly. For ashtray, cocktailes- i have to go to the bar by himself. During more than 1.5 hours we couldnt wait for the waiter. Its not a problem for us, because we stayed only one night, but in other cases it might be a little unpleasantly. Another question-wifi. VERY SLOW

    Rooms were spacious and very clean. Hotel is big, not far from the center (20 min) in the park. Nice variant for one or two nights staying, all amenities are very very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too expensive. We spend there our nye and decided to dine there too. The dinner was very poor and too much expensive (~40$ per person)

    The hotel is a big one, with many rooms and and a swimming pool. Rooms are spacious and quite clean. Bathroom a little bit small but ok. Breakfast is very good and with a great variety of food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was damp and smelled. Food and ambiance not good. We recommend that you eat elsewhere. TV reception bad and no internet in the room.

    Room was nicely decorated but we wxperienced problem with dampness. Pool was nice. Laundryservice quick.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not very convenient. Took quite a long walk to the town.

    The hotel has well maintained lawns and vegetation. It's good to have a walk around. The restaurant serves good food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool to warm.

    Well situated, near the ruins. Very nice staff. Our boy was sick, someone at the reception called a doctor, who was in our room after 15 minutes. Rooms are clean but a bit small for 4. Nice park, we saw howler monkeys.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Algae needs to be removed from walls of pool

    Big comfy room. Large quiet gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old. Thin doors. Broken shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good hotel & restaurant. very nice garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    Walking distance from the city center,tranquil,clean and comfortable room,nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nobody speaks english

    Big room, nice location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad food.

    swimmingpool and tenniscourt

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Structure needs to be restructured

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice trees in garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy in pool and dining area. Awful cocktails. Very dated interior.

    Great staff and amazing massages in the spa!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If more staffs can speak English

    Location and surprisingly the food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing food at the restaurant, freshly prepared mole at your table. Friendly and very professional waiters.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent setting. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit Spartan for a high lebel

    The kindness of all stagg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NA

    Best hotel from Palenque slightly away from city which gives its tranquility. The hotel has a very good well-ness facility with loads of different massages, tezmacal and pool. Nice room with excellent service at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All ... Maybe the fried tortillas with the salsa was the only good thing

    Nothing ... Service it's terrible , pool its dirty , the rooms have a humidity smell , the hotel over reacts with the prices , the variety in the menu is so poor and the kitchen is too slow etc etc

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A perfect location in a secluded area and close to everything worth seeing in Palenque. Good restaurant and friendly staff. The best place to stay in Palenque

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was bellow acceptance, a large buffet full of ugly and unapetizing food

    I loved the huge property, the pool and the gardens

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved hotel, location, staff - bueno!

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Mision Palenque traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: