Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monaco 4 stars

Avenida Guererro 12 Colonia Buenavista, 06350 Mexico City, Mexico

#218 of 372 hotels in Mexico City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 229 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Very good location and value of money, but the stay can be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There weren't any facilities in the room, either a coffee maker or even a plug near the bed. There weren't any airing facilities either a fan or an AC, you should depend on the window which when it is open you will be facing the other rooms and corridors. It was some bit noisy when you open the window as the sounds coming from the reception reaches you clearly. In order to get only hot water you have to pay 10 pesos (= $0.5) to get a cup!. I think this hotel deserves 3 stars not 4.

    The location is great, it is few minutes walking to the downtown park, 15 mins to Zocalo and 45 mins walking to the central park and the museums. The room was clean and comfortable. The place around was safe till the late night with multiple shops very close to it (there was 3 branches of a famous chain of the shop called OXXO)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was an awesome place with reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is extremely helpful, exceeded to my expectations. Especially I would like to mention the name of Karina Lopez, she is excellent in customer care. I am highly pleased with the professionalism of your staff.

    Very helpful and cooperative staff. Understand and communicate in different languages which feels comfortable to a customer who does not communicate in Spanish

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Me and my sister felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not that I didn't like it because I am used to the traffic noise, but please bare in mind that the hotel is located in the center of the city, so you should expect some traffic noise.

    Let me start by saying that the members of the staff are so friendly and helpful that it's impossible not to feel good while staying at this hotel. I would mention especially Rosy from the reception. She is so amazing! Very kind and helpful and funny! My sister and I wanted to take her home with us! :D The location is PERFECT! You are right in the historical center of the city and you have the Hidalgo metro station and the metrobus to the airport at 1 minute walking distance. The master suites are HUGE with great facilities. They clean your room everyday and they also change the towels and offer 2 small bottles of pure water everyday. They also have a restaurant which is really good with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't so nice and they didn't help. Transport to the airport is not included as their profile on booking states and for being a 4 star-hotel ir was disappointing. Small bathroom, almost no lights and unhelpful staff at the reception desk

    Nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.4
    The over-all experience in Mexico City was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small like a 10X10 and the bed was so hard it was hard to sleep and to get a good night sleep at night. Rooms above and below you could hear everything from other residence.

    The over-all experience in Mexico City was great. Had a good time and would travel back to the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Great place near downtown Mexico.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    About its surroundings, some guests do complain about homeless people and prostitution nearby but they are not dangerous in any way, you just go on about your business, they don´t even address you. In the hotel, the waiters in the restaurant are helpful but they do get upset if they believe what you tip them is not enough. I thought it was just a one thing situation but it actually happened several times to the point that it becomes annoying. It´s not like breakfast is included, you´re still paying for it and having your coffee served to your table is not that big of a deal (later on we realized, in other hotels, restaurants, and bars, that everyone is expecting a tip of actually more than just 10%, otherwise you could get a complaint from them). Closet doors do need some maintenance since they tend to get stuck.

    The best thing about the hotel is its value-location. Although not very modern, the facilities where o.k. since we just went there to sleep, we where not picky about all other features. The bed was comfortable and even though the room did not have an a/c unit, during this time of the year it was not needed. The hotel is half an hour drive from the airport and it is so near downtown and Paseo de Reforma! (20 minute walk to Zócalo and Plaza Garibaldi, 3 blocks from El Caballito and 15 minute walk to Monumento a la Revolución), a Metro station just half a block from the main entrance, 3 to 4 convenience stores just across the street. The taxi fare from the airport to the hotel is 230 Mexican pesos but they even have their own drivers who would charge you even less (120-150) and it is totally safe. There was nothing that we visited that was too far away or could not be reached with the transportation near the hotel. The staff is friendly and they are always willing to help you. Breakfast buffet has a lot of variety and the food is quite good. We checked out other hotels near the area and they are either too expensive or not as good as this one. If we were to visit Mexico City again, we would definitely stay here again, perhaps even upgrade the room to a suite. It is really a bargain for your money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    5.0
    4* for nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's situated on some "love-road" and in the night its not so pleasant. A hairdryer you should ask on the reception, that don't speak English (4* hotel). Rooms are very small and even for 2 people not comfortable.

    It's ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.9
    I'm a regular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds & bedding could be upgraded & soundproofing is needed.

    I love the location. It's across from a park & a great colonial church, 2 blocks from the alameda, & within walking distance of many attractions. There's a metro entrance on the corner, a constant stream of taxis, & plenty of busses.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.1
    Bring earplugs!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real loud, doors constantly slamming and people talking throughout hotel and lobby There's only about a 2-3 hour window at night when it's quiet

    Clean room and great price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Arrived very late, but that was no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived very late, but that was no problem. The staff fixed everything so I could get a nice night of sleep. I will return here for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    beds were very hard not able to sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds were very hard not able to sleep well.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.2
    No more than one night
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark and closed room, and moaning...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside looks some unsafe but just try to be careful

    For the price was good, nice area, closr to metre station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big room for a good price. Hotel is near the historic center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, well managed hotel. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Calle Guerrero too busy, noisy night traffic.

    Clean well designed hotel, size of room, staff, restaurant. All Very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Bargain Hotel in the Heart of Mexico City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff are amazing! The master suites are a bargain & the location is hard to beat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.8
    Only 20 minutes walk to the historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bed was way too hard. My room was too hot - there is no air-conditioning and no fans. There is no noise insulation - I could hear every conversation at reception, I could hear my neighbour snoring, and I could hear my other neighbours enjoying 'afternoon delights'. Most of the staff spoke only one or two words of English - not sure why they fly an American flag.

    Only 20 minutes walk to the historic centre. My room was clean. The restaurant is open for quite a long time and the food is quite good.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Location, staff friendly and helpful, the room was small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't let them do the laundry! They mark it up 300% and it is very expensive. Go down the street toward the big yellow monument and there is dry cleaner on the right. Other: no place in room to sit besides bed, rooms not very sound proof.

    Location, staff friendly and helpful, the room was small but adequate.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.9
    Great value for facility and location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location not to everyone's taste. Fine during day, but evening it becomes a prostitute zone. There's no hassle, just the ambiance. If that would bother you, pay more and stay further in the center.

    Great value for facility and location; on edge of Alameda, same block as Hildalgo metro entrance; great if you plan to spend in centro

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.5
    lovely location, safe feeling with safety box in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    smelly rooms probably due to old carpet, hard and uncomfortable mattress, no bathtub, breakfast not included, prostitutes lined up outside on the street every evening (though perfectly harmless), lack of well stocked grocery stores in the vicinity, floors not level but sloping, traffic noise in rooms on street side. But none of this should deter you from staying, it is a perfectly feasible option.

    lovely location, safe feeling with safety box in room

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    8.8
    Great location, clean facilities, friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, clean facilities, friendly staff,

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    Location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is superb. Very close to the historical center.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    Nice rooms, good maid service, nice restaurant beneath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception only speaks Spanish. Not in the best part of the city

    Nice rooms, good maid service, nice restaurant beneath

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pilows were awful none of us could use them.

    Location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: