Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown core 4 stars

Avenida Corona 243-Historic Downtown, 44100 Guadalajara, Mexico

#7 of 166 hotels in Guadalajara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1080 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Best Hotel in downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, some days the housekeeper forgot to leave a face wash towel, but other than that the room was always impeccable

    The hotel is really clean, Staff is always caring about the guests and their needs. The restaurant is the best. They fix our breakfast the way we wanted. The 2 females waitress are the best, their services are outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was decorated in an old Spanish royal style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed has been the worst one we've ever had during our trips. It was overly soft. 2 people lying on it will make the middle part of the bed sink significantly. Also, when one person moves a bit in bed, the other one would feel like there is an elephant moving, which woke me up several times during sleep.

    The hotel was decorated in an old Spanish royal style. The lobby looks awesome, with a nice fountain in the center. Breakfast is very good as well. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Time travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful place, remarkable how they have keep the architecture of the place and add the innovaciones of time, without making them clash. It´s perfectly close to the historical center and offers tours outside the city central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Amazing stay and breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    An oasis of relax and style in the middle of busy Guadalajara. I loved the place! a pity i could not stay longer in this property. Best breakfast I had in my stay in Mexico

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The buffet is excellent! Fresh food and a good variety of fruits, omelot and waffle station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the noisy side at night due to a wedding next to the hotel, but next time I'll bring earplugs.

    The bed was super comfortable and the room was superb. The staff is very attentive and nice. I will definitelystay here again. It is rooms are much nicer than the Hilton near the Expo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    It was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi was absolutely awful, but that did not affect too adversely on our overall enjoyment of the hotesl.

    The staff, particularly the dining and bar staff were wonderful. The food was well prepared and presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    One-night business trip in the center of Guadalajara.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time, surprisingly, the bathroom wasn’t very clean, with a lot of hair on the floor. Also, the chair at the desk in the room was not comfortable enough to sit on for a long period time in order to do work. I also struggled to connect to the Wi-Fi and ended up relying on phone data package.

    I’ve stayed in this beautifully decorated colonial hotel before and usually do if I have the chance. The rooms are spacious, it’s quiet, lovely staff, the food is good and there is parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Hotel staff couldn’t have helped us more on what turned out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff couldn’t have helped us more on what turned out to be a very difficult and few days in Guadalajara! Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful place for families or a romantic getaway. Super location in the Historic District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike, NOTHING!

    I LOVE this hotel and the staff. We stay there every time we go to Guadalajara. Everything about the hotel is wonderful. It's become our home away from home. Love the location, the friendly staff, the yummy breakfasts and enjoying the pool after exploring the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Definitely has character and style, but too noisy and, at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely has character and style, but too noisy and, at least in my case, the room was quite dark. On the second floor you can hear every sound from the courtyard where the restaurant and bar are located. The worst part was that there's a piano player that plays every day from 9am to noon. The morning when the piano sound woke me up, the guy played the same insufferable theme (with few alterations) over and over again - for straight three hours!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Expectations were exceeded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a bigger size bed

    I liked everything. Was not what I expected for the price,hotel is beautiful hacienda style our room was clean , the street s look a bit ruff, buts it's downtown so there's alot of people never felt unsafe plenty if restaurants and shop within walking distance to me the only downfalls. Was they only had a queen bed. Available...pool was nice next to the lttle gym. With a massage room also..I recommend this place to anybody

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Probably won't stay if find other better choice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Too old. Long history should not be equal to old facility and equipment, need improvement. 2. Room was quite small than expected, same with bathroom 3. Breakfast was just fine

    1. Good location for tour though there were many roads under contruction. 2. Reception service was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved staying at Hotel Morales and highly recommend it!
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool towels and when I called they did not come. Otherwise everything else was wonderful.

    The beautiful interior of the hotel, lovely clean pool and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    I am in the hotel casino plaza now l, everything is perfect and more cheaper the morales hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner did not work properly and they did not fix it after i told them. Wifi is terrible you have to change your place in the room to find a good signal. There are a lot of noises in the corrideor and is not possible to have a good rest in the room.

    The only thing I really likeed was location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The rooms are very clean! The hotel is beautiful. The staff is welcoming, informative and friendly. The breakfast is delicious. Overall, it exceeded my expectations and i will come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Very Colonial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. There is lots of construction going on so it was hard for taxis to drop off in the front.

    Very Colonial. Represented the Mexican heritage. Staff were great, friendly and very attentive to the guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything we’re definitely coming back !!!!

    I really loved how beautiful the hotel is and clean excellent breakfast staff on top of their customer service and what a bargain location close to shopping and historic areas to visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    We were treated like if we were the only guests. Best hotel I have ever stayed at.
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was construction around the hotel and part of downtown. But that is not the hotels fault, we found our way around that!

    Beautiful hotel, very clean and comfortable, The staff was very professional and pleasant. The free breakfast buffet was delicious with several options to pick. The pool in the top floor was beautiful and relaxing. Location was great , They had on safe and friendly on demand-taxis outside the hotel for 24 hours. Which helped a lot when we had to be at the airport at 3:30 a.m. overall the best hotel I have ever stayed at!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The only place to stay while in GUADALAJARA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Colonial architecture with modern comforts/updated modern rooms. Third time staying here, this time with a family group of twelve people. To no surprise, everyone commented with a pleasant compliment of the Hotel. The only place I would recommend knowing that the outcome of their stay will be positive. P.S. stayed at their "Suite Imperial"...I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    1
    • Family with young children
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was to hard Shower was clogged call but jus send towels to map We have to get out and shorting our time in the hotel

    Nice area to walk and visiting all the historical places stores and good restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great upscale property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much construction in the area.

    The property was beautiful. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The location was good. Walking distance everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    The always fine accommodation at the Morales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The usually spacious and comfortable lounge area was inaccessible except for a quadrangular walk around the edges of it because of repair to a ceiling fresco some three storeys overhead. The usually available billiard balls and cues at the pool table were not immediately available.

    Breakfast is buffet style with lots of variety. Waffles and egg dishes are prepared to order by a charming young-ish female chef. Fresh juices (including the popular "jugo verde") and Mimosas, fresh fruit and yogurts, breads of various kinds, American types of cereals, and four or five warmers containing Mexican-style breakfast meat dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the hotel due to the appereance, but when we arrived we found out that it was under construction, therfore we couldnt enjoy the view. It will be good that they inform in advance about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Very dirty area of town. Lots of noise. Hotel was lovely, but they were renovating. Most staff was wonderful. Always got what we needed when we asked. Breakfast buffet was worth the extra money, but did not serve eggs daily. Also, the room did not get cleaned one day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful hotel! Staff super friendly and professional, very delicious breakfast accompany by live piano music. Get the Café de Olla for breakfast, it's very good! Beautiful and clean pool at the terrace where you can relax and get a massage at the spa next to it. Hotel is in the historic district close to everything. You can walk to the Plaza, Cathedral, Teatro Degollados and other touristic places. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The best Guadalajara experience I could of asked for in my first visit to the "tapatio pearl" of mx.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They got some construction or reconstruction going on inside the building but I'm sure it will be over soon and there will much more beauty to see in the future.

    The waiters were very attentive at the breakfast buffet. They offer you all the options you may have when ordering your eggs or chilaquiles. The entire hotel staff always greets you and talks to you with great enthusiasm. Well responsive to any request you may have when asking the front desk or calling them from your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    A one-night business trip in the center of town in a beautiful hotel with free parking and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a nasty smell in the bathroom when I arrived but it was well over 30 degrees C so it was probably because of that. And I didn’t notice the smell after that. I could hear the TV in from another room at night.

    Lovely staff - the valet parking gentleman, reception desk, the restaurant staff - all were very helpful and polite. The room was large and clean. Nice furniture, comfy bed. Decent shower. Big TV. Great, hot breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed Hotel Morales. We will be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is customers should be advised about construction surrounding the fountain area. Prices should accommodate the inconvenience during construction. I especially chose this hotel for it's architecture and was disappointed not to enjoy it's beauty.

    The size of the room is great. The beds are very comfortable. Staff is wonderful. Ladies at front desk can be friendlier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay, had a large room one the first floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 22 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is pretty poor and was one of my main criteria for a long stay. At the end of the stay, refurbishment works started that were were not made aware of (although didn’t really disrupt us).

    Enjoyed the stay, had a large room one the first floor. Great space for a long stay. Staff were very good. The property is a lovely building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For such a beautiful hotel the bar lacked atmosphere , just a little room off the lobby.

    Beautiful old hotel with large rooms . Staff was very helpful and attentive especially with arranging an eye doctor for my husband. Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved the rooms and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was inadequate and the pool was average and the bar wasn't great but minor things really.

    Rooms were generally a great size, one of the rooms was very small, we asked to be moved and they accommodated us without an issue. Furnishings were lovely and it was very clean, the overall hotel is very pretty and the location is excellent. Breakfast selection was very good and you could order eggs and bacon which were freshly made.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Could be a good hotel with some estar effort.
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too short, gym equipment not functioning and construction work in process. Lots of construction noise.

    Pool nice but a little short for swim workout. Gym had a good weight machine, but the elliptical machine does not work properly and both stationary bikes need adjusting as the flywheel either goes too easy or too hard. Unfortunately, the repairs in progress made for uncomfortable dining.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, attentive staff, good breakfast, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st night, air conditioning malfunctioned and we were uncomfortably hot for many hours before transferring to different room. Suspected this was known to staff.

    Friendly, attentive staff, good breakfast, and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet hate too many unnecessary cushions on bed. Shower gel would have been nice.

    Good friendly service. Good breakfast. Has somewhere to print off tickets. Pool was a bonus, small and limited so might not get a lounger but can cool down as was hot when I was here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the cost. Beautiful hotel, centrally located, average amenities, and great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The laundry service (one large load) was expensive $55 USD, given the cost of other things in Mexico. We stayed for 8 days in Room 228. The gym is right above our room, which affected our sleep and woke us up two days in a row. The hotel offered to move us, but it was our last two days, so we were already unpacked and settled into the room. Sound proof the floor more in the gym? The pool area had directions to call the front office for towels but no phone to be seen. Weird. Also there were no lights inside the pool, so one night (before closing time), we actually were swimming in a dark pool. Also the pool was difficult to enter and exit with the ladder. Felt like the steps were going to break or that I might fall.

    The breakfast selection was excellent, and we ate there everyday. I appreciated how willing the staff was to help us with anything we needed. GORGEOUS hotel. Loved the chairs that were outside our room. It was a nice way to wake up or to wind down in the evening. Having a pool was a nice touch. I would have used it more if it had been bigger. When kids got in it, it was not fun. We also loved how inviting the lobby was to hang out at night if we didn't want to go out, but we wanted some interaction. Treat yourself to a massage if you stay here. LOVED that. Ps. Gabriela in the restaurant is wonderful and offered great service and warmth.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    If you’re looking for a great place to stay in Guadalajara, book this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could’ve used some extra pillows and hand towels, but then again I didn’t ask. I’m sure the hotel would have accommodated the request.

    Absolutely beautiful and clean hotel with great staff! We loved everything from the breakfast buffet (with mimosas) to the salt water pool, to the game room. The rooms and bathroom were very comfortable and clean. There are some great taco stands across the street from the hotel and it’s about 4 blocks from the Cathedral and main shopping area. We really appreciated the two free water bottles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    both of the elevators didnt work part of the time. Twice I saw people trapped inside and waiting for someone to get them out, so I began taking the 4 flights of stairs to my room.

    Excellent location, less than a 5 minute walk to the cathedral and plaza de armas. I loved the architecture, it looked very classy. Breakfast buffet was good and open until noon which is nice if you want to sleep in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Beautifully restored historic building with respectful helpful service staff. Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool location (on the roof) was excellent and the water was warm but not particularly clean and the water level was rather low. I was surprised there was no lifesaving equipment and the pool phone wasn't working. Very loud mechanical noise was coming from the on site spa.

    Excellent location for being able to walk to historic colonial buildings/museums. Service was excellent in every way from concierge to restaurant. We were welcomed and treated as respected guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Decent location...beautiful buildings. Great rooms. Jose makes good margaritas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jose the bartender was fantastic...a couple of not so cheerful bellhops/doormen could have been more helpful...reception answered questions well!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Exceptional staff, great location, tasty restaurant, clean, comfortable bed, A/C. I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just a tip. Turn on the water & set temperature before you get in the step up shower/tub.

    A classy walk back in time, with modern features. Live elegant piano music at breakfast. English speaking staff. Safe convenient location. Several other restaurants in the area. Strong Wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Charming old building in the heart of Guadalajara blocks from cultural sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice for the patio on the terrace to have been open at night, but maybe that's a seasonal thing.

    This charming hotel is located just blocks from the main historical sites and is lovely inside. The rooms are situated around an interior courtyard or open into an indoor atrium with lots of great spots to sit with a drink. The included breakfast buffet was very nice and included mimosas. Room service was prompt and the dinner food and margaritas were excellent. Pool was good and did not use the gym but was glad it was there. Staff was very helpful and I especially enjoyed talking with Bernardo. Great place for hanging out in the evening even if you are alone like I was.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Beds and pillows are very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels, they need a replacement. They were very hard and didn’t look white anymore

    Beds and pillows are very comfortable Staff were caring and very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Ideal location in historic center of Guadalajara
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really no complaints.

    Great value, location, very comfortable.. We wanted to rent. a car and concierge was very helpful. Some of staff speak English. Shuttle available to and from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice location for sure.Staff helpfull. Only wish the water features worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the water fountains were working. I love water fountains it would have made so much more of a difference. And maybe better pillows. The palm trees where full of dust make the lobby look dirty. The palm trees need to be shinny and clean it would definitely make a difference in the appearance of cleanliness

    History of the building the staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    We would return in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath/shower is a little tricky getting in and out of as the tub is on a pedestal. Potential danger for disabled guests. Also, our room was on the street side and we do not like to sleep with AC on so the street noise can be a problem.

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Morales. It is situated near fabulous sites in the city that are within walking distance. The employees were very friendly and helpful with our check-in and in the dining area as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was an excellent value. Situated in a perfect location to explore historic Guadalajara. The hotel has been restored beautifully and the buffet breakfast is extensive (chiliquiles were great). Didn't use the pool but it looked lovely as did the view from the terrace. We will be back for a longer visit next time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellant
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    smell of breakfast cooking in our room when window was open

    The employees were very accommadating especially Irene in restaurant Lisi, at front desk also Mario the bus boy. Conseaerge, everyone were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful. My sisters were very satisfied and enjoyed their stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows could be better. They seem a little hard. But I still enjoyed my stay.

    This is a great hotel in the heart of Guadalajara. I always feel very secure in this hotel. The staff seems to get to know you very quickly, and is always at the entrance of hotel checking to see who is coming in or going out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable and clean hotel close to the center of Guadalajara with a helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location for the center of Guadalajara and the staff will help with transport to Tlaqupaque, Tequila, etc. Good food, nice rooms, friendly staff all made for a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    A real bargain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    We loved it! After 30+ years of being empty and unused, a group of investors gave the building new life in 2004. Very lovely. Rooms are clustered around 3 open areas. One is the lobby and was noisy. We were in the second courtyard/sitting area with 2 windows to the smallest open area that was behind us. Lots of historic tiles, arches, woodwork. Just lovely. Staff was great. Breakfast was excellent. Great location for easy access to the sites in the historic center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Very elegant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    There was a small bar, pool table and sitting area and a nice restaurant in the hotel. The historic district downtown location was good for walking around. The room was very nice and decorated well, there was coffemaker, iron, ironing board and also a safe. Would stay there again if I go back to Guadalajara.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    We left with smiles on our faces and a warmth in our hearts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I still have a pending charge for holding the room on my credit card. Plan to call the hotel and have the charge removed as I have paid the bill for our stay.

    Professionalism, friendliness and helpfulness. We enjoyed the cleanliness and functionality of the rooms. We dines in the hotel 3 times, which is unusual for us. We also used the gym, pool and massage service. All were excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely colonial hotel with comfy beds, great shower room -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t need the AC the first two nights and unfortunately when we did it turned out to have a broken fan. Reported it but as it was a long weekend it wasn’t fixed. I’d still stay there again so it wasn’t a deal breaker.

    Lovely colonial hotel with comfy beds, great shower room - best one we’ve had in 2 months of travelling around Mexico, and a coffee maker in the room as a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place for comfort, privacy and access to all cultural & local events.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Most well appointed hotel we have stayed in. Mattias, the Manager, Lisse, Adrian, Rocio and Mario were superb! Room was extremely comfortable and lighting well designed. Close to everything. Piano player in main level gave it an extra special bonus. Very classy all round.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    It was adequate, would have changed rooms if our stay had been longer,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was much smaller than the first time we stayed there and did not book through booking.com, it was off in the back area.

    We liked the old world charm of the hotel, location is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Altogether a very good stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room cleaning very late, 5-6 pm . At that time, we skip it .

    Location, staff very helpful, easy to book tours, safe area , sag in rooms, good quiet AC . Good to limit water wash sheets and towels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    When it was good, it was very very good; but when it was bad...
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffeemaker in our room was cheap and didn't work; it sprayer water around. The air conditioner, clearly added recently (and w appreciated having it) blew directly on the bed, giving us a choice of either having the room too warm or having one of us chilled. Th bedspread was too heavy, the blanket too light. We weren't warm enough with just the sheet and blanket, but w felt weighted down with the spread added. We enjoyed going up o the terrace, but it was always deserted except for maintenance staff. Having chairs and tables spread around and a waiter coming up from the bar occasionally would have been nice. Th general ambiance of the hotel was that of a place that was discreetly on the market. Everything seemed freshly painted yet somehow neglected.

    The historic character of the public spaces. The comfort of the bed. The obliging staff. The location, which was ideal for exploring the historic center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous, looking forward to doing it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C first night didn't work had a portable air brought in but it was hot n stuffy. Elevator was not working had to use stairs to the 3rd floor. That was a challenge since i have bad knees. But overall it was great.

    Location, cleaniness, cost, staff was very helpful and polite. Front desk had English speaking personnel that made it easy for clients.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed it and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom vanity had very little space and there was no dresser in the room we had.

    Close proximity to the center and a lot of good places to eat within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    The hotel restaurant was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurant was very good. The area is ideal for walking to see the main square, the opera house and cathedrals. We were able to walk from the hotel to the Los Angeles bus terminal to take a bus to Ajijic and Chapala ... a great days outing to see more of the area. A taxi to Tonala was 200 pesos, 140 to return. The hop on hop off bus is in the city square a couple of blocks north of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    A real treat - a marvelous introduction to Mexico!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, we're still here so I can't comment on breakfast, but the room is grand & gracious - much more luxurious than you get in the States for the same money. The atrium is impressive as is the mural of clouds on the ceiling 5 stories above you. The open-around-a-central-space concept with the balconies in front of the rooms harkens back to the Spanish colonial style, and the water feature outside our room was a real plus! I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    An excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs better lighting,

    Grand old building that was extremely comfortable, rooms were very large, had a games rooms for kids (and adults!), great location, had a good restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location! Can walk very short distance to beautiful downtown and multiple gorgeous churches, squares, restaurants, etc. Appealing lobby / area for hanging out. Wonderful staff. From the desk to concierge, to dining room staff, to door people - everyone was fabulous, welcoming, helpful, and kind. Booked a day trip. Bought ETN bus tickets. Very easy stay. We spoke Spanish as much as possible AND many of the staff do speak English (and probably other languages!) if that's something of interest/concern. Extra points for when we departed at 4:30 in the morning, our ride was there and waiting and we were on the road within 2 minutes!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Guadalajara, a metrópolis that never sleeps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Beautiful historical hotel, centrally located near everything. All is walking distance. Wonderful hospitality, friendly staff, easy access to everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    It was overall a fairly comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Imperial
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My relatively low mark was because we had originally booked a suite which happened to be on a busy and noisy street. The mattress was also worn out. We asked to be moved and ended up in a very small room, but fortunately with a more comfortable bed, and as it was an inside room, it was quiet. Because it was considerably lower priced we managed to get them to give us free transportation to the airport (they didn't offer any compensation, we had to ask). Ask for a quiet room if you decide to stay here.

    The staff was overall friendly and the building is stately. Families appeared to enjoy the game room and the pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall the room was quite comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner was not easy to keep at a consistant temp. The remote is set to celcius temps. So that was not easy to convert. The towels could have been better. They either need a water softening system or use some fabric softener in the wash.

    The breakfast buffet was awesome. I liked the cafe de olla better than the house coffee. I loved the proximity to the Historical district and the restuarants down the street. Taxi's were available at all times outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    I booked the hotel due to its location and price, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a funny misunderstanding soon after my check-in, but the staff apologised and managed to solve it quickly. Such a behaviour while coping with unexpected situations shows utmost professionalism and flexibility, which I can only admire.

    I booked the hotel due to its location and price, and somehow at that time I did not notice it was actually a 5-star hotel. The truth is that it is, and it does feel like one. The value/price ratio was therefore amazing. In addition, I could enjoy a very spacious suite, which was an unexpected but very welcome upgrade. The hotel is in a beautifully renovated building and well-located, as it only takes a few minutes to reach the Cathedral on foot. My stay here was very comfortable and I could only recommend it. If I ever come to Guadalajara again, I would gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    An elegant hotel in the historic center exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant inside the hotel offered an excellent buffet breakfast. The room was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bellmen were exceptionally nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only could spend 2 nights there!

    Historic building, balcony, breakfast, massage therapist, pool, gym, free parking, good free WiFi, location, staff, everything!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Great Historic Hotel, Delicious Dinner, Book Early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't experience it this time, but if you're a light sleeper, be aware that rooms overlooking the hotel lobby and also the streets can be a touch noisier than interior rooms. Nothing horrific--just a heads up for light sleepers like me.

    I stay here regularly, and have reviewed the hotel many times. It's a great place, historic, beautiful, comfy, close to good restaurants, and this time, I stayed in my new favorite quiet room. Notice that I am not sharing the room number, ha ha. I don't normally eat at the restaurant in the hotel. Nothing against it--I just normally don't dine at hotel restaurants when I can go exploring the local restaurants a city has to offer. Made an exception this time around and had a lovely and delicious light dinner of calamari, salmon, and wine with a beautiful view of the central fountain all decked out for Christmas. Great evening! The food in the restaurant has never disappointed when I have chosen to not go out of the hotel for meals. And whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner, the view into the hotel lobby with some soft piano music accompanying is always a treat. Don't miss out on this place!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the air con worked in the room, we did find that during the night it was too cold. So, in the end we had to switch it off before going to sleep but found that it got incredibly hot!

    Quiet, great central location, friendly and helpful staff. The Concierge was able to book our ETN bus tickets for us at no extra charge (instead of travelling to booking offices or the new bus station). We found this to be really useful and saved us having to waste time trekking to get the tickets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    We enjoy staying at this hotel because of the location to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with the air conditioner- water spilled out of it all over the floor when tried to use it in the middle of the night.

    Internet had good signal. Restaurant in hotel has a good stuffed avocado with tuna salad.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    This is our 2nd stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though our room was large there was no dresser to put clothes except for one drawer under night table. Bellboys should log cab numbers of people arriving by taxi in case of misplaced items.

    This is our 2nd stay here. Location is perfect, breakfast delicious as were other meals we had in restaurant . Staff are iextremely accommodating . Our room was comfortable with large windows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, but sometimes there are loud events here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a party going on in the hotel, it was way too loud, well past midnight. I didn't think the historic center was that great, would have stayed in Zapopan centro next time.

    Nice hotel, beautiful interior.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful place, terrible non-existent sleep for all 3 of us due to noise of voices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep a wink. It was so noisy and people's voices traveled up and into the rooms! The bedding was old and not of great quality.

    Beautiful Spanish colonial property. Jaw dropping. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown core traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: