Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Mexico hotel reviews
  3. Oaxaca hotel reviews
  4. Puerto Escondido hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido

Reviews of One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido

Tamaulipas, entre Baja California Sur y Norte, 71980 Puerto Escondido, Mexico

#1 of 73 hotels in Puerto Escondido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 485 hostel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    8.8
    A little paradise, beautiful settings and little bungalows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water but you don’t need it anyway, the location means you have to taxi or walk a fair distance to decent food places etc, but the restaurant on site was really good anyway! Have to pay 5 pesos for water refills

    A little paradise, beautiful settings and little bungalows. Roof terrace was so relaxing. LoLo is a friendly approachable person who gives off great vibes!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    10
    It was excellent, it was my third time there and I can't wait to have my fourth !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like that it is a clean , safe and with a zen environment. I like that you get personal attention and if you have any questions, you will get the best tips to move around in town. The food is great and the location of the hostel allows you to stay away from all the crowds, but still within reach if you decide so participate.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    10
    super nice hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hostel owner and staff were extremely friendly, the beach is right down the street, the terrace is a highlight as well and you can get super nice juices and food in the restaurant. you’ve got your own bathroom in every dorm and everything is super clean and beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2019

    10
    Relaxing and blissful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    Went to One Love after a few nights more in central Puerto Escondido. It was the perfect place to relax for a couple of nights. All the staff are really welcoming and happy to help with anything. The food was also great! Spent a lot of time in the hammocks on the terrace, and you can walk 3 minutes down the road and be on the beach for sunset. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay to switch off and relax.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    10
    Nice and peaceful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the WiFi didn’t work that well within my room. However, the WiFi always worked perfectly fine on the rooftop.

    The hostel is really nice and peaceful. Its definitely not a party hostel, but the hostel is perfect for chilling and relaxing. I spend a lot of time in the hammocks on the rooftop. I also really liked that the hostel felt like a hotel, since I got towels and since the rooms were cleaned every day. Furthermore, the location is nice since the hostel is located near the beach. Bars and small supermarkets are within walking distance. I would recommend this place!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2019

    7.1
    Nice property, pay attention to the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from the main beach/center (but quite easy to reach with taxi, which are not very expensive), internet not working, price of taxi to airport was 1.5 more expensive than agreed when arriving at the airport (150 instead of 100)

    Friendly staff, refill of water bottle for 5 pesos, deals to offer tours for good price (dolphin and turtle tour is recommended), property felt safe

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    9.2
    A Fantastic Stay with Great People
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked about our stay.

    - The check-in process was extremely quick and we felt welcome immediately - The bar/restaurant is great, offers really high quality food and well priced beers/drinks - Nico is a joy to be around, full of positive energy and really helpful Staying at One Love felt like staying with family.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2019

    10
    I went for few days, if I new I would have been longer, like twice as much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no complaints. I had the best room that was quiet and uberclean. No complaints at all.

    It's just paradise on earth. I am a female solo traveller and this was just so welcoming, beautiful, safe and friendly. I met amazing people and Nico is just the perfect host. Try the sitting pool, and socialize with the other guests, to see what I mean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    8.8
    Paradisiacal vibes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostal is amazingly decorated and cured in details, there are many plants, trees and flowers that make it looks amazing and cool down a bit the temperature. Rooms are big enough and showers are very well working, big and even if there is no hot water, the temperature is perfect for the climate. Staff could have a better attitude and being more pleasant and less lazy but the manager is genuinly caring, helpful and nice. She gave us good tips and recommendations and she made us feel the good vibes of the place. The location is perfect if you want to hang out in “la punta” (10 minutes walking) but to zicatela (where there are more restaurants, shops and ATM) it is 30 mins walk (not advisible at night because there are no lights) and 10 mins by taxi (50 pesos). In all Puerto Escondido they rarely accept cards; everything needs to be paid in cash. Yoga classes are amazing and located in the huge terrace of the hostal, with good view over the beach and nice windy weather.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2019

    10
    Very nice and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and friendly staff! We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms and the food is awesome! You can book day trips at the Hostel (e.g. Dolphin tour - one of our best experiences so far)....There is nothing negative to say and we really recommend the Hostel!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2019

    10
    Perfect stay in Puerto Escondido
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, todo bien!

    Everything was perfect - the location, the atmosphere, the dorms. The staff was very great and helpful. The yoga lessons were a dream!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2019

    9.6
    Great hostal with tropical garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were able to check in already at 9:00 which was great after overnight journey! Many thanks for that! Rooms was very comfortable, we enjoyed hammock on the terrace and conversations with a very cool staff. Unfortunately hostel was booked out and we just spend there one night but we wish to stay longer! Patio is full of tropical plants,we even saw a humming-bird! Roof top terrace is great for chilling in the hammocks or enjoy daily joga classes. Location was great for us - 20min walking on the beach to restaurants on Zicaleta Beach and less than 10min walk to Punta Zicaleta, but you can also just walk out of the hostel, walk 200m and you are already on the beach. Punta Zicaleta is nice location for evening, way much calm, cool and cosy than Zicaleta beach.. If you visit Puerto - go to the Carrizalillo Beach - great if you want to rest from waves a bit ;)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2019

    9.2
    wonderful ambiente - feels like in the jungle, nice 4-bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there's not enough space for personal belongings, for example-some hooks around the bed would help

    wonderful ambiente - feels like in the jungle, nice 4-bed room for girls with nice bathroom the location is quite! it's close to La Punta- with nice Cafés and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2019

    10
    great location - clean and comfy hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One Love in La Punta/Puerto Escondido is one of the most beautiful and cutest places I ever stayed in. The owner Lolo and everyone else at One Love is ultra nice, welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean and cozy, a hammok on each terrace and a great bar/restaurant (the fresh juices were outstanding)! You will get directions and recommendations for places to go. Dont forget to enjoy a sunset or join a yoga class on la terraza. The hostal is in a perfect location to both La Punta and Zicatela beach. Muchas gracias por todo <3

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2019

    10
    Really peaceful stay, a welcome beach side hideaway away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really peaceful stay, a welcome beach side hideaway away from the main tourist strip and a great place to chill. Beautiful outdoor spaces with balmy trees and a cool water dipping pool to cool down in after the sun - and some fun are running around!! Amazing upper deck/yoga shala with fab views of the beach and sunset filled with hammocks for reading which are tucked away for yoga every morning - all types, Hatha, Jivamukti, Vinyasa. I stayed in the 4 person dorm - the rooms have high roofs which keep the rooms cool and have roof fans so aircon was not missed! Other cool stuff - a restaurant, great guac and $5peso water refills... What I like the most though was the amazing staff, super welcoming and helpful and even invited us out on their Saturday night out to Zicatela (Mucho Gracias 😘😘😘)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2019

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay at the Hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like is that you have to pay to refill your water bottle.

    I really enjoyed my stay at the Hostel. The staff working there was really nice and helpful and the one-site restaurant serves great food and has vegan options. The Bathroom was very spacious and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2019

    10
    Stunning hostel with lovely staff and amazing facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I absolutely love this hostel! Feels more like a retreat than a budget accommodation. The stunning yoga deck, the lovely staff and the amazingly clean / comfy dorms - One Love is an amazing place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    10
    Great location in Puerto Escondido
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was a little dark, it could probably benefit from some more lights (maybe bed side lights attached to the bunks) and replacement of bulbs.

    The hostel is really beautiful. There is a great on site restaurant, lovely garden area and great terrace. The location next to the beach and within walking distance of many of the bars and restaurants is also great. The room was comfortable, and the beds nice. The bathroom inside the room was spacious. Would definitely recommend a stay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    10
    The hotel is so beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is so beautiful. it's barely a hostel, really nicer than most hostels. The details are just lovely and the staff was great. The owner Nico greeted us at the reception and was super nice and funny. There was a yoga workshop happening when I stayed with a really amazing teacher named Brigitte Longueville, that I participated in. The room was really unique and we also loved Raymond, the dutch guy working behind the bar. Such a fan of this place!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    10
    Really clean and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean and nice rooms. Hammock outside the cabaña to chill on, lots of plants giving a sense of tropical forest but as well privacy between rooms. Friendly staff and Nico (owner) is the best. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2019

    10
    Simply perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the only but is that you cannot walk on the beach when it gets dark (general issue) but you can walk via the main road to la punta or take a cab to the city.

    - located a 5 mins walk from the coolest part of puerto escondido, la punta (a laid-back hub for international surfers, with excellent food options) - the friendly owner and staff who provide excellent advice - offering of an excellent selection of activities at very competitive prices (which you realise especially in hindsight) - bungalows with outstanding amenities and high ecofriendly standards - we took the beginners' surfing class with Godo at La Punta and it was superb, unforgettable!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    8.3
    Hippie hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wasn't aware that I couldn't pay with my credit card (cash only) and the hotel staff insisted that they had informed me. This meant I had to go to an ATM several times to withdraw several thousand pesos (we were staying in the most expensive bungalow because everything else was sold out) which was annoying, stressing and potentially dangerous (walking around with a lot of cash). On a positive note, they were patient and allowed me to pay on the last day. The cold water was OK in the end but it wasn't pleasant.

    The location, the hippie vibe of the place, their fantastic mezcal, and the fantastic comfy bed. The staff were very laid back and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2019

    10
    This is hands down one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff are amazing and the rooms are
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is hands down one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff are amazing and the rooms are so clean. The bathrooms are are the best I’ve had traveling all of America and Europe. This is truely an amazing hostel with very caring and easy going people. Would highly recommend staying here. It is 1 min walk to the the beach and a 5 min cab ($30 mxn) to town. The restaurant at the hostel has cheap beers and really good food for the same cheap price as town. If your staying in Escondido this is the place to stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    10
    Yoga treatment and wellness
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont know.

    Located next to the beach in the quite area of the town. Perfect for yoga treatment and some relaxing days. The owner and the staff were super helpful and amazing. Would strongly recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    10
    The Hostel is really beautiful and the perfect place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hostel is really beautiful and the perfect place to stay when you are in Puerto Escondido!! The stuff is super friendly and helpful and also the food in the restaurant is very delicious. The beds were comfortable and the rooftop is amazing. You also can get good Yoga lessons in the morning for just 80 Pesos.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    10
    This is the best place to stay in Puerto Escondido!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One Love is a special place. Impeccably clean rooms, a beautifully maintained garden, the friendliest staff, and a genuine community feeling of travelers and explorers. I didn't want to leave, and can't wait to be back!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    10
    Nico’s casa su casa
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was only decent, but you don’t go to a place like this to watch Netflix anyways.

    A good vibe hostel! The place is a norwegian rock throw from town, which is good, cause you will sleep like a baby at night. No noise from bars and cars. If you don’t like walking, the cab fares are next to nothing in this town anyways. The accomodations are clean as they can get and they even make ur beds every day. Restaurant and bar is great also. I wouldn’t hesitate spending some more nights at this jungle-beach-love-rockstar hostel next time I’m here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2019

    10
    Comfortable rooms, warm and inviting space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more storage space in the dorm rooms would be helpful (eg shelves). As well as more plugs for charging devices.

    Comfortable rooms, warm and inviting space. good beds. Nico the owner is super nice and helpful in setting up everything we wanted to do. Has great contacts for surfing and tours etc. Lovely breezy terrace area for yoga, laying in hammocks and relaxing. Restaurant is good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    10
    Homely, friendly and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything about staying at One Love Hostel. The property is beautiful, so uniquely designed and very peaceful. It has everything you could want - clean rooms, plenty of space to relax, jacuzzi, roof top terrace and a restaurant that serves delicious food. Everything we wanted was in walking distance or a short cab ride away. The staff are exceptional and very attentive to ensure you feel at home and are taken care of. We would love to stay here again and will be recommending One Love to all our friends and family.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    I initially didn´t want to write a review because I´m afraid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I initially didn´t want to write a review because I´m afraid the hostal will become too popular in the future, but let me tell you this: from the first day I felt like I was in a hotel. It´s very relaxed, clean, friendly staff and great owners who created this place with a lot of love and attention to detail. Gracias Nico y Lolo, nos vemos pronto :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls and the couple fighting next door kept us awake longer than expected

    Great place with nice host, bar, beautiful garden and amazing yoga terrace

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    9.2
    I really loved the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not about what I didn’t like, but just remarks to consider - I think it’s a bit too expensive - even though it is that amazing - because it doesn’t include anything. Most hostels in town at least let you refill your water bottles for free. I was a bit disappointed that you also had to pay for the yoga because it was definitely one of the main reasons for me to chose that hostel (even though Yoga with Sophie was really great!) Also, you will have to calculate that you’re quite far from pretty much everything except one surfing beach - the other swimming beaches are at least 15 mins by taxi and so is the actual town (and apart from its own restaurant, food is also 10-15 mins walk away). If you’re here to meet many people, it’s not the place to be because people don’t really hang out together/there’s no activities where you could meet them (I loved the tranquility though).

    I really loved the place. It’s absolutely beautiful and very clean! I felt very comfortable here. Everybody was really nice and helpful, there’s a guard at night, there’s big lockers, there’s good food and not to forget the amazing rooftop with its hammocks to relax.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant is closed on Mondays and that cut into my cozy evening Chelada routine, but that's the only thing :)

    The place is amazing, it's like a little piece of heaven hidden a walk away from La Punta. The staff is always very helpful and friendly, the restaurant serves delicious food and the terrace is great for relaxing in the afternoons. And if the sun and heat gets to you you can cool off in the little pool with a drink. Next time I'll visit PE I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    10
    Amazing location close to the beach, secluded comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location close to the beach, secluded comfortable rooms, fun and helpful staff. Definitely recommend staying here if you’re in puerto Escondido!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    It is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in a great location. The roof top terrace is amazing with stunning views. The Staff and Lolo the owner are so welcoming. The beds are super comfortable and the food is delicious 😋Highly recommend staying here. Would definitely go back ❤️🧜🏿‍♀️🧜🏿‍♀️🌈🏝🏝

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, great location and the best facilities in Puerto Escondido!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can honestly not think of anything that could be improved on. They have literally thought of everything.

    One Love is one of the best, not only hostels, but overall accommodations that I have ever stayed at in Mexico. The staff was extremely inviting and helpful, they became friends within only a few short days. The owner, Lolo goes above and beyond to makes you feel at home and make sure that you have everything that you need. She even helped me carry my bags and waited with me out front for my taxi to the airport. The restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Puerto Escondido. I ate at least one meal a day there by choice, not only because it was convenient. The beach that is only a short walk from the front door is absolutely beautiful and totally private. I witnessed one of the most beautiful sunsets that I have ever seen from its shores. Their surf instructor is top notch, and brought me to the next level of my surf game in only two sessions. The hostel is extremely clean and they offer you a fresh towel everyday. I will definitely be coming back to Puerto Escondido just to stay at One Love again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    9.6
    Nico and the staff were so helpful, not only in Puerto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nico and the staff were so helpful, not only in Puerto Escondido but on suggesting a plan for the rest of my trip. Definitely above and beyond. The hostel is beautiful and leagues above most hostels I've stayed at in terms of quality, design and comfort. I would absolutely stay again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    Best value for money. It felt like a boutique hostel and everyone will make you feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is honestly nothing that I didn't like.

    I've traveled a fair number of countries, stayed at a number of amazing and horrible hotels but I was surprised to find somewhere that looked even more incredible than photos. Very amicable staffs and the owner will make you feel at home and they'll make things happen for you. Just name it and voila! I felt so at ease during my five days stay and the restaurant at the hostel has a surprisingly good food. It's close enough to the center and beaches for your daily activities yet distanced enough to avoid any noise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    I will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect, staff was amazing, the food in the restaurant was super good. The garden was beautiful, everything was nicely furnished and super clean! If I ever come back to Puerto I will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nico the owner was very helpful in facilitating everything I needed. Was quiet time of the year but the hostel was still full. A testament to the place nico has built. Beautiful yoga/loft area!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    The whole hostal concept, amazing staff, nice restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Al though for people who doesn’t like to be in the middle of the party like me it’s fine, it’s a little bit far from la punta snd Zicatela beach, also it’s a small walk to get to a beach where you can swim

    The whole hostal concept, amazing staff, nice restaurant and yoga classes!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Little slice of heaven perfect to chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was perfect.

    Felt like a boutique hotel. Gorgeous clean rooms. Bonus of having a plunge pool to cool down. Lots of greenery making if feel like a jungle. Perfect location for La Punta and Puerto Escondido. Friendly staff. Amazing food. Always ready to help, even letting us use the pool and shower before our night bus. We stayed a week in total.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Wow! Where do I begin? From the second I entered this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow! Where do I begin? From the second I entered this beautiful and magical place, I was greeted by amazing people and received service that exceeded ALL my expectations. The property is immaculate and like a dream! The staff is SUPER helpful and beyond kind, especially Nino! Had the best time ever and when I return to Mexico, I will 100% book there again! And this time, I'll win at Chinese poker :) Seriously. Probably one of the best places I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Little treasure in Puerto Escondido
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s seriously nothing I didn’t like. This place is goals!

    The staff welcomed me with open arms right away. I immediately felt kind of “home”. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well-equipped. I’m definitely coming back at the end of the year for some surfing sessions and I’m going to stay at this place for sure! I love love. One love.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are big and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is somewhat in between town and La Punta. But you can walk to La Punta by the beach, and grab a reasonably priced cab or the collectivos to town. So really, no biggy.

    The rooms are big and cozy. The facilities; cool off pool, restaurant and upstairs balcony with hammocks are perfect. The owner Nico made sure everyone was comfortable. He speaks three languages which can be Very helpfull. Try his home made beer - the IPA is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I’ve been to hostels in countries across the world and would definitely put One Love in my
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved every minute of my stay

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff with excellent knowledge of the local area. The food was also delicious!! Stealing the recipe for ‘Give Peace a Chance’ (daily catch dish on the menu).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great stay surrounded by the beach and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly with most of them volunteering from different parts of the world. Very involved with the guest and offered amazing tourist information.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    If you're into jungle-style and a laid-back atmosphere, that's the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Best Hostel ever! The little bungalows are so cool and comfortable. Hammocks everywhere! Lolo, the owner is super nice, has super recommendations for restaurants and beaches and helps out whenever you have a question. Also the restaurant attached to the hostel has amazing food and drinks. We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    A gem in a paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is a gem in a paradise. Nico was very helpful and recommended the best things to do in the area, he also brought us out of town to relax on a private beach on one day. The staff was exceptionally friendly and welcoming, Sabel even fixed my broken bag. The place was clean, comfortable and I felt really safe there. Staying there was the most relaxing part of my trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice restaurant on site with a few options nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk to La Punta and the center beach, but collectivo and taxis work it you can't be bothered. Close to the beach though.

    Nice restaurant on site with a few options nearby. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Perfect accommodation! (In every way)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top Hostel in Puerto Escondido! Super clean and nice! Every bungalow has their own hammock! The staff is amazing and helps you with everything you need! :) we highly recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Relaxed fun vibe. Perfect place to stay in Puerto Escondido.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We absolutely loved One Love! Perfect location in between La Punta and Zicatela right by the beach and great restaurants. We also loved the chill out area where you could relax in hammocks. Nico (the owner) is awesome! We would 100% recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The hostel itself is very clean, comfortable and quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I had to leave.... allow plenty of time here, it steals your heart!

    The hostel itself is very clean, comfortable and quite fancy for a hostel. Each room has it's own bathroom, cleaned every day, comfy beds and fans. The restaurant on site has lovely food and there is a pool too. But the staff are the best part, they are just so lovely from Nico the owner to Sabel Fabio and Enwen on reception and bar. About 15min walk to Punta and a 40$ cab to P.E. stay here you won't be disappointed! I booked 4 nights ... stayed 14!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    An amazing spot in Puerto Escondido.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing spot in Puerto Escondido. Great rooms, warm hospitality and a fabulous hammock balcony! Good yoga too. (Plus - walking distance to Pepe’s Fish tacos!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Little paradise in Puerto Escondido
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything - its a perfect place, beautiful, super clean, super friendly people - especially Sabel, she knows everything and has the best infos and tips. the food is as amazing as the place - whatever you try its delicious. Will go back for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The One Love Hostal is one of the best hostels we have ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The One Love Hostal is one of the best hostels we have ever been to, and we are frequent travellers! It is built with love for the detail and looks more like a resort than a hostel with all the palm trees and flowers, the nice decoration etc. Besides the great facilities, it is especially the lovely staff who makes this place unique. We were very warmly welcomed and felt like a little family during our 6-night-stay. Nico the host and his team spread an amazing positive energy and always have a smile on their face! They are very helpful and always there for you if you need something, they arrange trips, motorbike rentals, no wish remains unfulfilled! We highly recommend this place and we‘ll be back soon! Muchas gracias Nico and the team y hasta pronto! Besitos from Jasmin&Dominic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I really liked One Love Hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a tiny thing, the pillows were way to huge for my taste but I managed without. Also, be aware that it’s located a bit away from busy areas but both Zicatela and Punta Zicatela are in walking distance and in general, getting around by taxi is easy and cheap.

    I really liked One Love Hostel. The place is beautiful with a garden and palm trees around a small pool (more for dipping), as well as the amazing rooftop terrace which invites you to chill in hammocks and enjoy the breeze and offers daily great yoga classes for little money. The restaurant has delicious food and the staff is outstanding. Great value for money! Thanks for the nice stay! :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Awesome place to stay in Puerto Escondido!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is like an oasis. The staff and owner are extremely nice and go out of their way to make your stay special. The food is great too. All made fresh to order! They offer yoga as well. Everything is super clean and there's lots of love in the details. 420 friendly as well. The people you meet there are from all over. The owner and staff have great tips for everything Puerto Escondido! Gracias!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Tropical Paradise, superb breakfast and very close to the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing! would definitely go back.

    Fantastic hotel/hostel in the heart of Puerto Escondido. I loved the design and set up of the bungalows, it really feels like a hidden gem. Local management was very helpful and fun, willing to show you all the nice spots in Puerto. Moreover, very clean rooms and a delicious (and vegetarian) breakfast menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Best place for a relaxing get-away in Puerto Escondindo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had the best weekend here! I was travelling solo and as soon as I arrived, Sabel and all the staff at Puerto Escondindo made me feel at home. I was looking for a relaxing weekend which is exactly what I experienced. The hostal is beautifully decorated and feels like a natural oasis in PE. The terrace is serene with hammocks and the ocean breeze-, the perfect location for daily yoga class which I took both days! Sabel also arranged a massage for me with Dylan Tucker, which was a 100 min 4 hand massage on their terrace- the definition of bliss! The onsite restaurant is also amazing, make sure you got the Oaxaca cheese starter. The hostal is also close to La Punta beach/Zicatela. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The hostel is in a great location (steps from the beach).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nothing to complain about

    The hostel is in a great location (steps from the beach). The quality, design and cleanliness of the structure are superb. The staff (and the owner Nico) are very friendly and on top of things. The restaurant/bar serves great food. Everything was great, definitely more of a hotel than a hostel! Already planning to stay again during our next trip to Puerto Escondido

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a very lovely place. Very quiet and relaxing, 15min walk along the beach and you're in la punta for plenty of bars and food. Staff were excellent, friendly, professional and very welcoming. Dorm and bathrooms were excellent condition. Not a 'party hostel', much more quite, so depends what you are looking for. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place, really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    The hostel has loads of nice activities to offer, like yoga...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel has loads of nice activities to offer, like yoga sessions in the morning, surfing classes, etc. The ambiance is relaxing, peaceful and creative with the hammocks, and the garden. We had a chance to eat in the restaurant one night and we really enjoyed the food and environment. You can try the breakfast places which are 20 mins by walk - around Brisas de Zicatela. Also watching the sunset in the beach was a great experience :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in One Love !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could be a bit bigger.

    It was such a plaisure to stay in One Love. The owners created an unique and beautiful place. The plants gave us a lot of privacy, the tarrace with yoga is a cool place. The restaurant offers really great food (breakfests but also dinners). The rooms are bid, and have all you need in.The owners are really taking care of guests and the place. From One Love to the beach is just few steps, really close (10 minutes walk) to La Punta. Super close to One Love are: laudry, and shops with cold, fresh coconuts. One Love is a small paradise in Puero Escondido. Small - , the bed could be a bit bigger ;) Thank you Nico, it was really great, hope see you very soon :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    I fell in love with One Love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, the hostel kitchen could be a bit better equipped.

    I fell in love with One Love. Beautiful dorms with en-suite bathrooms,all set in a lush garden. Everything was very clean, new sheets and towels every other day! Especially loved the hammocks on the roof terrace :) The restaurant is very good and the owner Nico was lovely, thanks for making my stay such a nice time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Just perfect. Would definitely come back with more friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This property is the best. Right next to the beach; clean, organized; the staff and the owners were amazing, offering all sorts of activities, such as surf, yoga, meditation, wildlife sightseeing, etc. This hostel (if you can call it like that) is excellent for groups and perfect for couples. Superb atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Clean, friendly and close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One Love Hostal was wonderful to stay in, it was clean, friendly and close to the beach. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved every minute of it, I can’t recommend it highly enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was a dream, I loved the vibe and the design of the whole place- the owners have created a really beautiful place with lots of attention to detail. The colours, materials and wall art are beautifully considered and put together creating an inspiring local, beachy and comfortable atmosphere. Every need is met and although it calls itself a hostel it’s of an incredibly high standard more akin to a boutique hotel. The dorm room I stayed in is spacious with lockers for valuables, mosquito screens on the windows, a fan and a really good amount of sockets. It’s got an ensuite bathroom and a patio with a hammock and some seating so perfect for hanging out. The landscaping is lush and beautiful and gives the whole place a really tropical feel whilst making the individual huts feel really private and secluded. There’s a kitchen with a fridge should you want to keep your own food or drinks so it very much feels like home. The roofterrace (and yoga deck) is a great place to hang out with it’s hammocks & floor cushions and there’s also a table & chairs if you need to do some work. If you’re into yoga the classes are 1.5 hours long and offered at a reduced rate of 80 if you’re staying so a good deal and in the perfect setting with the stunning view over the ocean and the pleasant sea breeze. The location is nice and quiet but is also only a 10 minute walk away from La Punta for lots of restaurants and bars and also only a few minutes from the main road where you can catch a collectivo. An added bonus is that the dorm room comes with towels which are replaced every two days, just like the sheets. Additionally the food is really good at a decent price and all the staff super lovely. The host Nico was incredibly helpful and is able to give lots of recommendations and advice so the perfect person to chat to to make the most of your trip. I honestly can’t recommend the place highly enough, I spent two weeks there and would have loved to stay longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    One Love for the One Love Hostal <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling with mu best friend and we booked the suite, the room is spacious and the bed super comfortable! The balcony with the little table and the hammock made our stay even more comfortable as we would chill there before going for dinner. The Hostel is located between Zicatela and La Punta, so you cannot hear the noise of the parties at Zicatela nor from La Punta. All you actually hear are the waves breaking. We only ate breakfast there two times and it was delicious :)) So I can imagine all the other dishes must be worth trying too! The staff is very friendly and helpful, if you need anything just ask them ;) We had the best time staying at One Love Hostel and we will definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    My favourite stay in Mexico so far - thoughtful architecture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My favourite stay in Mexico so far - thoughtful architecture, lush gardens, a short walk to the beach, delicious food at their restaurant, clean and comfortable room, beautiful and friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    The best!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really beautiful cabana and the most comfy bed and bedding. The communal terraza with a wide open view to the sea. The restaurant is airy and offers great food and drinks. And the staff goes beyond service. I was met with delicious care and high vibes. Will return without a doubt!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hostel almost directly by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Beautiful hostel almost directly by the beach. The rooms are spread over the property in bungalow style, each with a musical theme. At the center are the restaurant (great food) and terrace with hammocks. Staff take excellent care of their guests and rooms are kept clean on a daily basis. I fell sick during the stay (nothing to do with the accommodation) and was supported in the best possible way (doctors visits, shuttle service, check-ups, etc.).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    I would love to come back ones.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen could be better prepaired with more needful stuff to cook like spices, knifes... but anyway, everything worked!

    The breakfast is very fresh and delicious. You can also cook the as well! I liked the shower the most! There is a service to wash your cloth there. The apartments are really clean and designed by musicians from the 60th. The everement is beautiful there You can refill your bottle with waters for a lite donation! Save water, it's the world!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great people, great staff, great garden, clean, beautiful place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden. WiFi everywhere. Super clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night. Great water pressure. Staff are super friendly and made me feel at home immediately and every day of my stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Best hostal I have stayed in yet. No exageration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fancy hostal, the place is cool, comfortable, and super clean. It has a chilling spot on the roof with hamacs and an incredible view that makes you want to stay in the hostal all day. The staff is awesome and will tell you everything you have to know about the activities and the places to go. The bed is incredibly comfy, the towell is amazingly soft and they have the best hostal shower. It’s worth more than the price you pay.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: