Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador Margarita 4 stars

Felipe Flores No 39, 29200 San Cristóbal de Las Casas, Mexico

#12 of 106 hotels in San Cristóbal de Las Casas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Big room, big and clean shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi in the room. They said they will upgrade our room but didn't.

    Big room, big and clean shower. The staff were very nice, but not all of them know English. Location is good, a few minutes from the center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Best value for money hotel in San Cristobal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eventhough very polite and helpful, most of the staff are not English speakers; The room and bathroom had a moldy smell - we were oferred a different room, but the change time (until 12am) didn't fit our tours schedule; Construction noises during the day; No air conditioning; The room was a bit different from the description in booking (No fireplace).

    Great value for money; The room was big and well decorated; Very good breakfast, with fresh ingredients; Away from the noisy center, but still close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    People are very kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors close after midnight so if you go to a bar, you have to wait a little when coming back to access to the facilities of the hotel, because it’s closed.

    People are very kind. The price is low and the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is really nice, we arrived and it shortly started...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really nice, we arrived and it shortly started to rain and the front desk manager gave us an umbrella to walk in the streets of san Cristobal. Really kind from the beginning to the very end..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Stunning San Cristobal de las cassas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lovely room, king size comfy bed, great linen & towels. The staff were super friendly & efficient, they really could not do enough for us. The city is just achingly beautiful - definitely returning, thanks to all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom/shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom/shower. Staff was cleaning all the time. Professional staff. Good location in quite street, clean street. Best stay in San Cristobal!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Really cool room with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super cool place that made us feel like rockstars after staying in Cabanas in Palenque. What a deal on a very nice room. We ended up coming in super late from a tour, the staff was waiting for us and got us our room right away, The manager was also there and was very helpful in arranging a private taxi to the airport and was just all round a friendly guy who we ended up hanging out with and sharing some laughs. The Room was very nicely decorated and everything was great about our stay there. Cool location off the street with a great view was also a plus. Definitely recommend if you want a nice place to stay in San Cristobal

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    The value was excellent (after overpriced Oaxaca)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been more helpful with information about the town, other facilities, but minor detail as I was not dependent on getting info. from the staff.

    Location very good, property very attractive; good value. Good breakfast with choices !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect position and staff very, very kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two little things, towels seemed not so clean and in the room there was a strange smell, a mixture of wood and humidity! But please don’t worry about it... I however spend beautiful time in this hotel!!!

    Perfect position and staff very, very kind! Nice breakfast and private parking (essential in San cristobal)! For this price I raccomend it a lot !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    A homely esablishment near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The decor and the attitude of the staff. The hotel is at a 5 minutes walk from the Zocalo (center) and all the main restaurants shops and main attractions in San Cristobal. The staff was very helpfull with solving problems with external touristic suppliers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise every morning. Although we had lots of blankets the room was often cold. At a particularly wet time of year we would have benefitted from a heater. Our clothes stayed wet the entire time.

    Welcoming helpful staff, rooms set around a beautiful lawn, big clean rooms, huge comfortable bed, clean bathroom, hot shower, great location, would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous Stay in San Cris, Walking Distance to Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are super comfortable and spacious. You cannot beat the value for this price. We had an awesome stay. One of the mornings some construction woke us up absurdly early, but when we went to the front desk they were happy to move us to another room right then. The rooms on the back end of the property will likely be affected by the noise of the construction for awhile (we were in 16). The little restaurant and bar are nice to have nearby and the green quiet space is a wonderful area to relax and recharge before heading back out into the bustling little streets of San Cristobal. Amazing stay! Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful but a little loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. Or ask for a room on the third floor. The walls a paper thin (we were in a room on the second floor next to the stairs).

    The hotel is beautiful, and the rooms clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel staff was very welcoming and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff was very welcoming and accommodating. They were quick to answer all our questions, help us book tours and even store our excess luggage while we were away. It's in a great location--close enough to the center, but walking distance away so you can meander down other side streets. The rooms themselves were very spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Asked for a 18% surcharge when paying by credit card! A lot of options for breakfast, but not the most flavorsome.

    Central location Very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in San Cristobal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)If you want to sleep late ask for room a bit further from the breakfast area which gets naturally a bit busy in the morning

    1)Excellent staff with a customer oriented approach 2)First time seeing a hotel giving you the best exchange rate in town,I wanted to change outside to realise what fair rates the hotel has 3)The breakfast included in the price is offering great choices, all very delicious and prepared for you fresh on the spot 4)Great location close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Clean, cozy, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They use very smelly cleaning liquids, which I personally don't like and makes breathing difficult. No way to properly weather the room.

    Clean, cozy, well located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    fantastic hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was very friendly and helpful, however spanish skills might be helpful

    fantastic rooms and a beautiful courtryard/garden. Very spacious rooms and fantastic breakfast included for very reasonable price. Location just 2 min to the main plaza

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    lovely, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room did not have a view. But did not bother so much, the view was 2 steps away. Little bit dark room, but good facilities. Construction on the back side of the building but did not hinder too much.

    Excellent breakfast. Nice garden to sit in. Good Wifi. Equipped large room, hot shower. Great location near City center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    A very good choice, well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and a bit cave -like.understand that it's partly the nature of the architecture ( keeping the sun out), but it was quite gloomy. People sometimes being loud in the shared garden, despite signs asking for consideration of others.

    Step through the door from street into haven of flowers and plants. Immaculately kept. Attractive building. Mostly peaceful. large very comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel a short walk from town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not have credit card facilities and requested us to pay cash which when you're travelling is inconvenient.

    Lovely courtyard, friendly staff, comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful basis - my second home while I was in Chiapas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful basis - my second home while I was in Chiapas for 11 days. I loved the clean rooms, shower, and the beautiful courtyard and hacienda garden that greeted me after my big days being out and out about. Wonderful value for money (it is not 5 stars resort) but felt like my home away from home. The staff were helpful, breakfast good, a clean small bar to relax in the evening, very comfortable bed. I will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the facility and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The outdoor courtyard was lovely. The rooftop restaurant and seating area were lovely. The hotel staff were very accommodating after we had check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    It is quiet, from the breakfast room you have a nice view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quiet, from the breakfast room you have a nice view, and the rooms are also clean, nicely decorated and you ahve a look into the patio. the central Plaza is not far away, and you can reach restaurants and bars by foot walking more or less three to four cuadras. it is for a quiet stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very nice stay. I would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a construction site next door and they start working at 7:00 a.m. Once that construction is over should be ok.

    Nice garden, very relaxing. The friendly staff. Great location.Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location but Hotel Docuemetos looked better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upper terrace rooms probably better. I was on the ground floor in a corner. It was very cold at night and the room got no natural light. The lights in the room weren’t bright either leading to a gloomy ambience

    Central terrace very pretty. Big bed and bedroom. Powerful warm shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a big issue but they only accepted cash for payment which meant going out to get the cash.

    Bed was comfortable. Location was good. Property was well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The smell of naphthalene in the toilet was very very strong. We were annoyed from it.

    + location + clean + garden is really nice + the staff were great + keeping the luggage until evening after checkout

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice, clean hotel with a lovely garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We, and the staff, had to drag the suitcases upstairs for 3 floors.

    Clean, big room with a nice bathroom. All the rooms are coming out on a patio, where you can relax and enjoy the serenity. You can park on the inside of the gates of the Casa Magaritha.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    It's a nice place, with the rooms facing a pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay, there was a surprisingly noisy family at the hotel which made our stay very uncomfortable Staff took no steps to quiet them down

    It's a nice place, with the rooms facing a pretty courtyard. Rooms were good size, double bed not so much, we are used to sleeping on a king size bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic; i would stay here again and recommend to others. Next time I'll ask for a room upstairs!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 4 next to the office. I was wakened several times during the night by a bell or buzzer. The room was a bit cold in the morning, so I did not take a shower.

    Beds comfortable and room was large.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    On the whole, a very good place to stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freezing, and until we moved into a room with a fireplace we were pretty miserable. I don't think there are any places with heat in the city, though. Just the luck of the draw.

    Responsive staff, good breakfast, reasonable bed. The courtyard/ garden was beautiful. Very convenient to downtown, still very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place, stayed for two more nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit cold at night as our room did not have any kind of heating. Warm while in bed, but not when you have to go to the loo.

    Private parking, little bar and restaurant on site. Friendly staff. Pretty place with great views. Nice big room with sofa, table and chairs. Very hot shower with a lot of water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice and quiet hotel, spacious room, large and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was wet all the time because a pipe was broken and no one really cared, staff telling us that it was fixed even though it wasn’t. The water in the bathroom was not the issue, we were just disappointed about the customer service. Lack of personal atmosphere in the hotel, quite anonymous.

    Nice and quiet hotel, spacious room, large and comfortable bed. Nice patio.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    don’t think twice, just book this hotel when you travel to San Cristóbal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place really lives up to European standards for a 4* hotel! Spacious room in authentic Mexican hacienda style with comortable beds. Clean and proper, greatly located close to the historic center of San Cristóbal (15 min walking).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    The 18% tax that booking has listed is not really a TAX!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 18% tax that booking has listed is not really a TAX!!!! The hotel charges you 18% if you use a credit card to pay for you room BOOKING.COM YOU SHOUKD DUSCLOSE THIS!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    We would stay again and definitely recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit cold but when we asked the staff immediately provided a heater. A fridge in the room would be nice.

    The location is excellent, quiet but only a couple of blocks from a vibrant restaurant/bar/shopping scene. The property is beautifully kept and is very nice. Staff very helpful and very friendly. The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. Good options for breakfast and tasty. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay. Few blocks from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Stairs (but the staff helps you with the luggage)

    We have spent one night in this hotel located 10 minutes walk from the Zocalo. Calm area. We were on the 2nd floor in a rooms on a nice patio with a nice view over the mountains (they were bulding something just next to the hotel so I cannot tell how it is going to be in the future) Room is very big and clean We did not try the breakfast or bar but there is one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Wish we had a sunny room or one with a fireplace to make our stay more enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were give a room that was cold and dark. Other rooms had sunny locations and some had fireplaces. But ours was in a dark corner and it was uncomfortably cool with no heater. Fortunately blankets were adequate to keep us warm while sleeping.

    Grounds were nice. Room was good and large. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast had a nice variety. Pure water was available to top up water bottles. Located on a fairly quiet street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Great place to stay within easy access to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked it all!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful accommodating our very early arrival. The room was big and clean. There is a lovely garden area to sit and enjoy the sun and the view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable however sheets felt a little like plastic.

    Location is great (2 blocks away from the main tourist street & 4 blocks from the main square). The included breakfast is good. Room space was ample.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Colonial hotel...a nice experience in San Cristobal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark and cold (it was warm under the blankets). It felt a bit humid, maybe not so good air flow

    Peaceful, breakfast was very good, nice staff. Nice colonial facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Our room was extremely comfortable and centrally located. We loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I can't think of anything...I give this hotel excellent reviews for friendliness, cleanliness, helpfulness and location.

    Our room was clean and comfortable with soft beds and extra blankets. The breakfast was delicious and lots of choices. Staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    We loved this place & would recommend it. We stayed 2 nights & were pleased w/ location, ambience,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are uncomfortably thick. There was a rooster & fireworks that woke us up many times each night (close bathroom window). Offering hair conditioner & better famous coffee from Chiapas would be great.

    We liked the look & feel of the place, friendly staff, clean cozy room, nice breakfast option, decent bed, shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful but some things to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the very centre. The bread of the breakfast was bed and it is not exactly in the centre (7 Mon walk). U can hear all the noise of people that pass close to your room.

    Big rooms , beautiful structure and breakfast . Good view from the building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff should know little english, but ebglish problem is. Something common in all hotels there. Walls are too thin so you can hear outside noises but the hotel is not really noisy.

    Wonderfool staff , clean, comftarble, not the closest hotel to the center but only 5 min walking. It is not a fancy hotel as most of san cristobal hotels are not fancy(city and the are are lovely- the room is just for sleeping) But for $40 a night it is very good. Breakfast is good. If i return to san cristobal- i would return to that hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place to stay in San Cristóbal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only con - no air conditioning

    Great hosts Hot water Big room Good breakfast Even made us sandwiches when we had to leave early in the final morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Nice, cool surroundings, nice and quiet, yet close to the hubbub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I could not afford to stay longer

    I answered excellent value for money, but it's not a very cheap place. Saying that means, it's very good because you pay that little bit extra for great stuff all around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Everything was clean, the bed was comfy, the garden and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was clean, the bed was comfy, the garden and the view are very beautiful and relaxing, the staff is super helpful, breakfast was nice. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    above average. but we had a huge technical error and were ripped off and couldnt reach bookin.com
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was ripped off. they charged me because of a computer error i made, 200 peso for one night and an additional 30 to 50 dollars for the 2nd night. so instead of a 48 dollar and a 50 dollar stay i payed 150 almost. i could not get booking.com on the line and was taken advantage of. the grounds were nice the accomodations fair the breakfast fair. but i had to pay double for tons of things which were said included on the site. this technocal error and the inability to reach you from the hotel was a terrible disaster. it took us 4 hours to resolve and was very unfortunate.

    i was ripped off. they charged me because of a computer error i made, 200 peso for one night and an additional 30 to 50 dollars for the 2nd night. so instead of a 48 dollar and a 50 dollar stay i payed 150 almost. i could not get booking.com on the line and was taken advantage of. the grounds were nice the accomodations fair the breakfast fair. but i had to pay double for tons of things which were said included on the site. this technocal error and the inability to reach you from the hotel was a terrible disaster. it took us 4 hours to resolve and was very unfortunate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel behind a plain entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage, as on most Mexico hotels, is inadequate. You can only see the hotel name from directly in front, and that is difficult on the very narrow street. LOCATION - quite away from the main plaza but only a few blocks from a nice walking street with lots of restaurants and shopping.

    The bed was much softer than in other Mexican hotels. We saw inside some of the rooms that were quite small but ours was gigantic. The bathroom was large and water was hot with good pressure. The courtyard was beautiful and the view from our third floor was stunning. We could see several access points so Wi-Fi was great, even in the room. Staff was very friendly, available and helpful. Parking is available for a few cars. Don’t be fooled by the appearance from the street because behind that plain facade is a beautiful hotel!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    1)Hacienda style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not biggies really, but just be aware 1)Rooms are dark (hacienda style) and bathroom windows are dirty (they havent cleaned the outside for years). 2) Breakfast is ok, but pancakes were tiny and i dont like the variable prices. If its free breakfast just make it free please :) 3) indian villages tour booked through them - was not pleasant. It was a very old van tightly packed with no AC!! :( i highly recommend Escudo Jaguar tours which we used for Palenque.

    1)Hacienda style 2)Lovely sunny patio, perfect to grab a beer and relax away from bustle 3) They kindly accomodated us for an early free check in after an overnight bus trip :) 4) walking distance to everywhere. Dinner? Try El Secreto restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely little oasis in a bustling town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was a little gloomy.

    This was a lovely cool oasis in a bustling town with really good breakfasts. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was comfortable but a little dark. The outside dining area was wonderful and we enjoyed eating our breakfast with a view of the hills.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place, good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have almost no internet at my room which was on the outside corner of the courtyard. It was very spotty. But this might be different in other rooms. It also worked well in the courtyard but that made it a little more inconvenient.

    Great location, beautiful building and peaceful courtyard. Very clean rooms. Enjoyable breakfast. Overall, a great place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Parador Margarita was a wonderful place to stay while I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Parador Margarita was a wonderful place to stay while I was studying spanish. Most of their cllientel were middle class Mexicans and European tourists who knew a good thing. Very reasonable prices, especialy for longer stays [there seems to have been a discount because I was charged a significant amount less than the posted daily rate). Attentive staff, very quiet and well cared for hotel, with inner court yard. breakfast is included. Also has wifi [which I used all the time] and television [which I didn't]. Highly recommended. Spanish helpful, but I would guess not needed [though I never tried in english].

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable bed and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was king size and comfortable! The room was big. Location was convenient since we were about 4 blocks from the main restaurants street and city square. We woke up very early in the morning (at 5am) for our tour to Palenque and the staff was up to open the front door. Sadly we wouldn't take advantage of the breakfast since we had to leave very early each morning. Overall great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in San Cristobal de las Casas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    We stayed in this wonderful old colonial house in San Cristobal de las Casas. The place was perfect to explore the city, it is just a few blocks walk to the Zocalo. We enjoyed a visit to close Indian villages, which was organized from the hotel. Parador Margarita was the nicest colonial house on our trip through South Mexico. The breakfast was tasty and the patio was so beautiful!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay in Oaxaca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Extremely nice, aesthetically pleasing grounds and room decor. My second stay there for its quietness convenience, and economical rates. It has safe underground parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    perfect place for visit sc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room is a bit dark,

    good location,excellent breakfast,good size of room and comfortable bed,sstrong signal wifi,room cleaning daily,nice design of hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Take a break in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was somewhat colonial as us the charm of San Cristobal. The staff was very sweet & accomodating, maintaining a clean & gentle environment. Breakfast is served each morning. A garden provides a lovely place to enjoy the mountain air & to chat with other travelers. A bar opens in the late afternoon & offers snacks & sandwiches. I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    The included American breakfast was excellent & good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toiletries were supplied but no hair conditioner which is needed for long hair.

    The included American breakfast was excellent & good value. The area was 3 blocks from the centre so was very quiet but close to restaurants & sites. Front desk very pleasant & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel, less fancy than in the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just ok. Not something too good. Every morning you can hear the Church bells and it wokes us up at 7am.

    Free bottles of water. Good location- not too close to the center but not too far.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, bathroom was big and hot water worked very well. The breakfast was included and was very delicious. The staff was very helpful and kind. The hotel is away from the street noise but a 5 to 10 minute walk to restaurants, bars and downtown.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows in room didn't open (bathroom did) and strong smell from cleaning chemicals, neither big probs and windows is no doubt for security.

    Great location in walking distance to centre and bus station, helpful staff, comfy bed and awesome hot shower. I had a downstairs room around the inner courtyard which was quiet and nice to open door onto beautiful plants and flowers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.0
    No kitchen open at night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen open at night. Arrived at some 22.00. Moreover, could not even organize for some breakfast sandwiches or package for the morning. We left at 6.00. At this price level that would be a minimum requirement.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Excellent value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast was mediocre. Service was excellent. Eggs and bacon or fresh fruit with yogurt were fine. Fresh squeezed juices were excellent. Other selections were dry, stale, or somewhat tasteless. Internet service was spotty, but about as good as it gets in this city.

    Excellent service. Remarkably quiet considering the central location in a noisy city..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Great location but the guests ruined the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. A group of loud obnoxious American teenagers or college students were staying there and made ungodly noise all night. It really ruined the stay. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that is going on.

    Good breakfast, nice location, attentive staff (somewhat)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Charming, with the best staff ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything.

    Bed was fabulous. I got food poisonong, not from hotel, but staff were so sweet nd helpful. All of them. They just made one feel it was their place and they wanted you to feel welcome and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, lots of amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms can be a little cold but to be expected at this elevation.

    There are 7 great options to choose from for the complimentary breakfast and all include fresh juice or fruit & organic coffee or tea along with the entrée. I always get the delicious chilaquiles. On departure day I left too early for breakfast so the hotel packed me a bag lunch. The large tiled shower has very hot water and great pressure; there are nice complimentary toiletries. Decent Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.8
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    3rd floor water pressure was bad. Same for WIFI. Sometimes there was a very bad smell coming from the drain. No phone or kettle in the rooms.

    Big rooms, nice and cozy feel, very good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.3
    A good hotel without good wifi or TV.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As many other reviewers mentioned, the wifi does not work. The manager blamed the telephone company but wifi worked extremely well through out San Cristobal. I spent the whole weekend without internet. A technician arrived on Monday. (IP was wrongly configured.) It seems to me they have an old wifi system without enough capacity for so many users. Television didn't work either. Despite all this, the manager did not try to make it up in amy other way, mot even a late checkout.

    The location was very convenient. The hotel is a new building with beautiful grounds, and nice rooms. (However, my room needed a coat of white paint.) The breakfast was very good. The general staff was kind and professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Well-maintained hotel in the centre of the city !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been good to have a window that can be opened for fresh air at night, this was a window giving in the garden so more difficult to leave it completely open as evenrybody could enter .....

    Nice hotel very close to the centre of San Cristóbal de las Casas. Very quiet. Breakfast was good, choice between different types of breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Cant beat it for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is a very attractive place however the rooms do you tend to be a little dark

    Lots of variety for breakfast. The receptionist was very helpful, but it will be really helpful if you have a little Spanish. We had a car and I have a garage on property.it will be really helpful if you have a little Spanish. We have a car and then I have a garage attached to the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.8
    The huge bed was super comfortable, the shower excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very cold (though I suspect this is the case everywhere in San Cristobal) and the wifi was not very reliable.

    The huge bed was super comfortable, the shower excellent, breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.6
    Experience old time parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is cold and linen also had moist, they use plastic cover in the bed

    very nice atmosphere, nice service. Old parador has problem with the heating during the cold season but there are extra blankets

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador Margarita traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: