Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Royal Beach Resort Ixtapa 4 stars

Blvd Ixtapa Lote 5A, Zona Hotelera, 40884 Ixtapa, Mexico

#14 of 48 hotels in Ixtapa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice resort and good food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Way too many kids in the pool bar, the native when they come they take over, chairs bars etc. I know it is there own country but not respect for others.

    Staff excellent very friendly and the service super

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    We discovered that the all inclusive clientele was not our style. The hotel itself was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was constant loud music around the pool. So much so that we spent all our time at the beach. If you wanted to have a chair anywhere for the day you had to get up in the middle of the night to reserve one. Many children, rather noisy at dinner time with so many of them. We felt we were in a kindergarten. The food was good but cold because everything was buffet style except for one à la carte restaurant.

    Very clean hotel and excellen staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Interesting but not good for a quiet holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no balcony furniture and my room was above the evening entertainment area which was very noisy.

    The food in all the restaurants was excellent and beautifully presented. The staff were helpful and friendly especially when addressed in their own language. I had a wonderful sea view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the pool is pretty, it is too small to accommodate the number of guests. It is only 3 feet deep, and is too warm and too shallow and crowded for serious swimmers. Although we were not approached by the vacation club salespeople, they were ever-present in the lobby and around the elevator area in numbers so great it was hard to walk around them. The atmosphere would be more pleasant without 20 or so salespeople congregating in the common areas.

    Staff was exceptional. Our housekeeping maid, Suzie, was like a ray of extra sunshine! Great location. Vladimir at check in was so very courteous and helpful. He is a great asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    First time experience at Royal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super Saver Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Algunas habitaciones son más chicas pero costaron igual. Some rooms are smaller but the price was the same. Hay algunas fugas de agua. There are some water leakage. Los colchones no son tan cómodos. The mattress are not as comfortable.

    Piscina, alimentos, bebidas y servicio. Swimming pool, food, drinks and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Disco noise until 2 am horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Saver Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change our room twice, and we have never done that in our extensive travels. The smell in the first room was odious:a combination of strong mildew and sewage stench. The second room was acceptable smell-wise (a little mildewy, but this is the tropics) but the noise from the disco, which continues EVERY night until 2 am left us sleep deprived was unbearable! We put up with it for a couple of nights, but could stand it no more, and again changed rooms. The final room was fine, but we had wasted so much of our holiday in discomfort that we cannot recommend this place?

    The staff here is lovely: friendly, hard-working, and accessible. The food is good, offering variety and healthy choices. The Italian restaurant is particularly nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Back for third visit..great beach and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the kids and babies in diapers in the bar pool. You could not get to a stool to ask for a drink. They had a NEW children's pool but the adults were in the bar pool with the kids.

    The Italian restaurant was wonderful. Service, food, friendly staff. Clean rooms.. Massages down the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a section for kids only, and they should have their own bar. I know families bring a lot of business, but should put a section just for families, and separate adults.

    There es always something to do - activities; and there was always food and drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    The constant request to buy tours by the staff and after we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The constant request to buy tours by the staff and after we decline the staff stare at us in a way that we did not wanted to be there anymore. The complain is only on the sale staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Best beach, put up with a little wear and tear older hotel. Food is good, servers are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No jacuzi, the pools were to full children and adults. The Ice machines lack maintenance, Filter changes, and functionality. No Ice available unless you order from front desk, and you tip the help. Tip jars at the bars in an all inclusive not desirable. Take note from Grand Azul Ixtapa. I have seen some one put a tip out to the server and the server cordualy put it back in the guest's front shirt pocket. Hotel, basically is a Cadilac with a Volkswagen engine.

    I liked the beach on the property, the best.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location, great for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the first morning we woke up to construction being done on our floor. We asked to change floors and they abided. The toilet in our first room didn't flush very well. The buffet food wasn't great but it was probably a 6/10.

    I liked that the beach access was right off the hotel property. The staff was super friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    Location very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people trying to sell the timeshare packages bother you every time they see you. Some of the staff weren't very friendly others were awesome.

    View of the ocean was very nice. Breakfast and lunch restaurant were very good. The snack bar and Italiano restaurant were mediocre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    didn't care for the food but there are many restaurants close by too many screaming kids at the pool music late at night was too loud inside the room a/c never got the room cold

    friendly staff. great location. amazing view. great value

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.1
    Great place but dont expect to sleep comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Always have a problem with the beds, always to hard, a bench has more comfort!

    As always the staff were excellent, always helpful, great people and will do anything to make the stay more rewarding

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Overall trip was good, found lots to do and see close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room AC was poor, cool but room very humid. Most of the food was almost warm. Disco needs fans and more tables.

    Staff was great, good cocktails.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN AND THE WEATHER WAS BEAUTIFUL!! NICE BEACH
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super Saver Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    MUSIC PLAYED TO LOUD OUTSIDE AT NIGHT

    BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE AND ROOM WAS LARGE AND NICE.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Amazing and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romance Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music we could hear late in the night.

    Staff members treated us like family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, enjoyable all inclusive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe an adults-only section in the pool

    Very nice and kind staff. They really make you feel welcome. Breakfast was yummi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That our two rooms were far away from each other.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    View, clean, nice beach, food all day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    odor in room, to many kids, to much mexican muisc, same food every day,

    View, clean, nice beach, food all day

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    IT IS A NICE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    TO MANY CHILDREN

    THE WEATHER THE BEACH

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    6.7
    Need another restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need another restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    All right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price! I had a reservation for 2 and added a 3rd person and I was charge 1800 pesos which I thought it was over price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    I couldn't have been happier with my stay at Park Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were beyond helpful. They were wonderful and made my one night stay perfect. Thank you,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    I loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I dónt like staff for sales.

    Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous beach and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is very hard.

    Staff was very attentive and friendly-from check in desk to maintenance staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Best resort in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds are a little hard and pillows too full. Personally I like a flatter pillows

    Everyone on resort are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Nature View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was quite firm.

    The staff was excellent. Beautiful beach. Decent food. The Italian restaurant was superb. Good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    4.6
    The towel animals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    * The staff spoke very litttle broken english. * We did not get the room that we upgraded and paid for until the 3rd day. We were supposed to be in a Romance Room. We were not credited anything for the 2 days in a room with 2 double beds and without a balcony. * The food options were pretty much the same everyday. * The facility appeared to be out of date and run down compared to other resorts in other Mexico destinations. Especially the pool area. * There were not coffee makers in the rooms. You had to get dressed to go downstairs to get coffee verses having coffee to drink in your room while you were getting ready. * There were not any safes in the room. You had to go downstairs to the main desk to have access to your items in their safe. * There were never enough lounge chairs by the pool for the number of guests. * The hotel offered "day passes" for non-guests to have access to the pool and beach. * Most of the time you had to get your own water refills at the restaurant by the beach.

    The towel animals.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent Staff, Very Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food selection other than breakfast was awful. We used the Italian Specialty restaurant 3 nights and that was very good. Room needs update. No safes in room. Rust on bathtub. No morning coffee until 7am. Awful food selection, they need much work there.

    Excellent Staff, Very Clean

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.5
    The staff was excellent, as was the pool and access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too many smokers around the pool area. Not enough variety with food. Bars all opened much later than I thought was a good time.

    The staff was excellent, as was the pool and access to the beach. Good bartenders.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    8.8
    Great people- lots to do just staying on the property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great people- lots to do just staying on the property!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    8.3
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Music at bedtime kept us awake.

    View Fruit for breakfast

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: