Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Playa Conchas Chinas 3 stars

KM 2.5 Carretera Barra De Navidad, 38390 Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

#88 of 111 hotels in Puerto Vallarta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very slow service in restaurants and there are no other options at walking distance. There was no room service. Close to the city center by car.

    The food was nice but service was extremely slow. Be prepared to wait for more than an hour for food, either in the restaurant for dinner or the one that is close to the beach. There was no room service. The beach is nice for children as it has big rocks that stop strong currents. Make sure you take swimming shoes as the beach has a lot of broken shells and stones.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark with not enough lighting, no blankets, balcony doors didn’t fully lock, not enough pool towels (1 to share for 3 people because they ran out). Photo advertised on the website is NOT a photo of the shared pool BUT of the private pool you get IF you rent the 3 bedroom suite.

    The view, the view... the view. And access to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a leak in the bathroom ceiling and the shower was slow to drain. The jacuzzi jets in the tub didn’t work

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The view was spectacular.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one restaurant associated with but not owned by the hotel is just OK, with a grossly overpriced weekend brunch as its only option on Saturdays and Sundays,

    Beach-side yet very close to town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioners were noisy during the night, but we could still sleep

    Right on the beach, a calm and beautiful place. The personnel is super helpful and friendly. A bit far from the city center, therefore calm and you can get into the old town by bus only for 8 pesos. If you wake up early, you can see dolphins from the balcony ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't really have any complaints. This is not a resort - it is a little funky, but I personally like funky.

    Nice location in Conchas Chinas, close to the bus stop and feels very much like "Old Mexico." Easy access to a beautiful beach and two restaurants. Staff are helpful and kind. Walking distance to the Oxxo for supplies.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was exactly as it shows on the pictures on your website. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our questions and requests. The onsite restaurant was very good! The food was good, the prices were very good considering you're a little out of the city center, and the staff was very nice! I would definitely go back and stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some repairs happening on the property and tile work was being done right outside our hotel at 8am, that could've waited until later. We had a kitchen in our room and could smell gas so we ended up turning the gas off. The pool was very cold, small and disappointing.

    View was amazing and property was rustic and the rooms comfortable. We had breakfast twice at the restaurant and enjoyed everything. New beds was an added touch but could've used a light down comforter (we only had a sheet) and a few more pillows.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at Playa Conchas Chinas. The staff treated us like family. Our room was lovely with a great deck and amazing view of the ocean. The location is about a mile walk outside of town in a beautiful, elegant neighborhood. We enjoyed walking into town and exploring the various sections. There are two great adjacent restaurants. The hotel is on five levels so if stairs are a challenge this may not be the right place for you, we enjoyed the bit of exercise.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly rude and unhelpful.

    The location and hotel charm. It's a bit run down and there's construction next door, but it's the perfect distance out of town to have some tranquility and also be able to walk to old town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnot like that they didnt even gave us food for breakfast o dinner everything is extra

    I like the great staff and the restaurant on the back its really good and its right next to the beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and the resort in general need a total update. Construction went on 24 hours a day. Had to move 2 times to be able to sleep.

    Great staff. Beds were comfy and looked new. Restaurant was good and not too pricey.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ongoing construction not mentioned is noisy and will continue for at least another year. Expect power, water and propane interruptions. Pool was filthy and unswimable . They finally cleaned it after much complaint from me. No parking on site and limited on main road Being overcharged on departure didn't help either

    location was good. No beach on property but great public beach nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is being remodeled, no elevator and all rooms below the street . No pool, horrible beach access. Will not return, glad it was only 1 night

    The staff were friendly, nothing else

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little parking

    Old style rock structures!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, gas lik, old, small pool, water like, no blankets and very expensive

    Good video view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Estacionamiento por la noche.

    Hospedaje confortable y playa excelente .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from my room was amazing. Staff was really professional. made you feel like home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel is very basic, no extras. had to pay for coffee in the lobby.

    the view and sounds of the ocean at night was amazing. relaxing place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited services available. No trash can in the room. Nice spot but pricey for PV

    New beds. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of workers around

    The view was amazing!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    O

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many stairs, no elevator.

    Isolated from road noise on a cliff above the rocky surf. Palapa bar and great food above the water. 1.5 mile beach walk to busy old town PV.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were not particularly friendly nor did they go out of their way to assist with the exception of one young man at the front desk. Kitchen was poorly equipped.

    Location and the view.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. For some people, perhaps the age of the place might bother them, but we found it more quaint.

    We really liked that it was just out of the hustle of Puerto Vallarta, and right on the beach. The restaurant there was also excellent. Liked the big balcony off of the room with 2 large patio doors that you could open up to the ocean. :)

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They advertise a kitchenette, but don't want you to use it! The small fridge was noisy all night, the gas cooktop doesn't have a vent, and there were no cooking utensils except a flat fry-pan. Our cooking attempts were therefore very limited. The pool is also a big disappointment -- it is crammed in a corner that doesn't get sun until the afternoon, and the water is actually a bit cold!

    We are generally 'backpacker' travellers -- we enjoy staying at places that are off the beaten track or more authentic. THis place suited us much better than a big international hotel -- it has some character. Every room has a view of the ocean -- we left the glass doors to our patio open at night and listened to the crashing surf. The king-size bed was new, and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and beautifully tiled. The front-desk staff were always helpful. THe location is good -- easy to catch a quick bus into Old Town PV (8 pesos), or head south to visit Mismaloya or Boca for the day.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Travelocity overbooked and the room we paid for wasn't available, even though we got there early. We stayed in a tiny closet room, and were refused even a partial refund. We were eventually moved to a room with a strong gas smell, and got no service when we repeatedly asked to have it fixed. The main office staff and restraunt workers were abrupt and sometimes downright rude. It didn't seem like anyone was very happy working there. Lucky to give it a 5.

    We got a good price online.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was cold and pool area a little run-down. Lots of improvements going on, though, so stay tuned. Great value!

    Excellent staff!! Right on the beach (but a lot of stairs from room to actual beach)!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Multiple stairs, some dimly lit. Beach shower inoperative.

    Quiet and relaxing with good swimming and two good restaurants to choose from for sunset viewing.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was too shaded, not enough lounge chairs current construction in progress

    Excellent view, nice and open rooms At low tide great little swimming 'pools' Able to walk to Old Town or Oxxo

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevators and hard to transport luggage up and down so many stairs

    Close to beach

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing all great

    Location excellent Staff friendly, helpful, polite Room clean fresh & comfortable

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are 20 years past due for renovation,

    Location is excellent

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    View, jacuzzi on patio

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Playa Conchas Chinas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: