Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Playa del Karma 3 stars

Avenue. 15 Entre Calle 12 y14 Col. Centro Mza 122 Lote 9 2 loc.n D2, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#122 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was great. Especially location of hotel was excellent. Receptionist was the best I have ever met. His recommendations made our vacation. I am very thankful for his help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed with Single bed Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A few blocks away from the busy/crowded Quinta Avenue, this hotel is quite and unpretentious. Pity Playa del Carmen has turned out to be this such touristy/noisy shopping mall. Arrogant and noisy US tourists now run the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi went down in my room on the same day I needed to do urgent work. It was frustrating, but these things happen.

    The staff went out of their way for me, the room was better than expected, everything worked well and was very comfortable. Quiet but right in the middle of almost everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Bed with Single bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot really use the pool. The door is bit hard to lock and people can see us a bit from the outside

    Great location and very good value. Staff are very friendly and bed is super big

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was small and dirty (full of leaves and bugs) - only for decoration, not for swimming. The little garden, although pretty, blocked any daylight, so the room was dark and gloomy. Lack of basic amenities like kettle and cups.

    Location close to the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't fantastic. Some were quite rude others were fairly helpful. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment.

    The outdoor are with pool, lots of little wild animals there and a jungle feel which made it for me. Also the hammock outside my room was excellent and the rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed with Single bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the 4th floor of a building without an elevator but only very steep stairs. Its quite exhausting bringing your baggage up there after hours of traveling. Water pressure in the 4th floor was also very low. It took actually quite a while to get wet :) Also the pool looks much more compelling on the pictures than it actually is. It was dirty (due to the palm trees around) and had very cold water.

    The backyard is quite relaxing and the staff is really nice. We forgot an USB charger but could pick it up the next day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on the ground floor smelled of mould. The didn't change the towels every day. Very bad wifi connection

    Location! Just behind the 5 avenida

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool didn't look as it did in the photos and it's not as spacious as it looks

    Staff were great! Beds were comfortable and the maids did a great job of cleaning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't get why it gets a good score on booking or why it is recommended in the lonely planet 2016. When we entered our room there was a smell. It was like we entered a cave or basement. I asked the guy if there were other rooms with kitchenette (i read that somewhere and they don't have breakfast) but he told me they didn't. I dont get that you get this bad room when there were plenty of rooms available since there were only few guests. The rooms also had really old (not in a good condition) furniture and if you used the airconditioner, you couldn't sleep because of all the noise. When we wanted to sit outside my friend even felt the chair falling so we couldn't even sit outside. And inside only one nightlamp was working. They also say that it is quiet but in the evenings we heard loud music from the nightclubs in the neighborhood, we heard loud singing from the church in front of the hotel and there was one guest who wanted the play some loud radio as well. So we really don't see why you could ask that much money and get nothing, there was noy even breakfast included... Something you get even for a smaller price in other hotels with cleaner rooms.

    The location was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is gorgeous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights which were connected to the fan could not turn on on the 2nd day.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Comfortable big room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jungle garden and patio were lovely and quiet. It was so close to everything but a real haven-quiet and cool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, staff and amazing oasis in the middle of the center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi had constant disconnects, bed was too hard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Bed with Single bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very chilled out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to get to, clean rooms as great value for money. Very close to 5th Avenue and the beaches. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi slow

    Not far away from beach, but still very quite! Samuel gave us great tips for places around PdC.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    awesome place, a little jungle in the heart of the city. david was a terrific host!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos of temazcal on website, but there's no temazcal anymore

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Samuel the concierge was the highlight of the stay. Super welcoming, helpful and overall a delight. We went to look for another spot at one point to mix it up but decided with the price and just how comfortable we felt there, partially because of the great service from Samuel, that we'd stay there the rest of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was not good but it wasn't good anywhere else. A problem of the region I would imagine.

    The location was easy walking distance to everything but very quiet. Two blocks or so from the ADO bus station. Clean and neat. The staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only regret was 99% of TV stations were in Spanish, not helpful for non-speaking guests.

    Location - it was very central to the main commercial area of Playa del Carmen, ie, just 2 blocks off from Avenida Quinta (5th Avenue), where all the commercial stores and restaurants are located. Plus it was right in front of a Catholic Church which we found very helpful! Also, just 2 blocks off the ADO bus terminal which we used to go out of town and to the airport. Price - considering that we booked into the New Year's calendar, on the day of our stay, we found the price to be competitive. Normally, I would imagine the daily rates to be lower, but because of high demand/peak rates, it was a good deal. No frills - "Palapa" style of accomodation, ie, like staying in a casita/bunglow room. Simple fixtures (ie bed/tv/closet), even no phones in the room, we did not need it!

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we booked a specific room at a agreed to price. Instead we got a inferior room with a fan that looked like it would fall off the ceiling and a poor door locking system. Way overcharged vs what we got.

    Intwresting vegetation

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thin walls - You can hear the neighbors in the bathroom.

    Nice staff, helpful although nobody speaks English, Hotel is located close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    King size bed was awesome! Jungle courtyard right downtown.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Hotel Playa del Karma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: