Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Playa Grande Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Av. Solmar 1, Col Centro, 23410 Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

#20 of 73 hotels in Cabo San Lucas

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 292 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, every room has a spectacular view of both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As with any resort, prices were a little steep for someone of my financial means as far as food and drinks, spa, etc. Great experience overall though.

    Great location, every room has a spectacular view of both the poor area and the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and met expectations. Pools were comfortable and plenty of room for the kids to play. Would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    We had a great experience, the only thing I didn’t like was the food and the walking to our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We initially stayed in the Ride (did not book there) and the walk up two hills were terrible. The front desk said we could call a golf cart anytime however each driver said they were for those with limited mobility only. We eventually moved to the Playa Grande side (were we booked) and the route was much better. The restaurants are very expensive and the food choices were limited. For example for breakfast everything was sold separately: waffles $11, eggs, 8. Once you get a meal you’ve basically paid the $26 buffet price.

    The property is beautiful and the picture online reflect the true facilities. Our room had a full kitchen, we had three kids so we shopped and cook a couple nights. We arranged grocery shopping with our hotel transportation at the beginning of the trip. You are in walking distance of the marina and taxis are $2-4 a person to go almost everywhere. FYI if you take a local taxi it’s a flat rate, not per person.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Really good property, they used deceptive sales tactics to up sale you on a time share property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a water leak in the bathroom, they up sold you on another property by giving you a room upgrade if you agreed to attend a 90 minute meeting the next day which ended up being 4 hours, the whole encounter was very deceptive at checkin. The person checking you in sent you over to the concierge who then scheduled you for the meeting to sell you a time share property, the people used high pressure sales tactics and tried to wear you down.

    The restaurants, spa, bell service, and house keeping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    6.7
    Nice facility but look out for a double charge on your credit card!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid in advance through bookings.com, but the hotel said I had not paid in advance. My credit card statement now shows I paid twice. This is frustrating.

    Nice facility and amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like how the restaurants for the all inclusive closed quite early so the one night we got the all inclusive wristbands, we had to eat in the sports bar.

    We were offered an upgrade for an extra $65 a night and we are glad we got it because the view from the balcony and the suite itself was absolutely breathtaking. Overlooking the pool area and the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our "ocean view" room was about 80% obstructed. The whole place was permeated by a sticky sweet cleaner smell that seemed more to cover up odors than anything else. Staff were more interested in taking care of "members" than guests. (Yes we tip and we tip well).

    The beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked to have stayed at the main part of the hotel, or given the option when booking. Didn’t know about the different locations. Liked The Ridge, would have liked a beach view rather than the marina which was a bit loud, and had to walk all the way to the other end just to get a pool towel.

    Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    4.6
    No bang for the buck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At check in we arrived 1:40pm and there is strict rule of no check in before 3pm. I asked for a suggestion of how to fill the time till 3pm and received horrible tips from the person at reception. Do not take the watertaxi to go to Lovers Beach in afternoon because tide is v high and you will have to return quickly! Instead of telling us to go enjoy the beach for a little spell in front of hotel the receptionist sent us on a goose chase to do something that we would have enjoyed much better during morning on following day. Also, if someone tells you there are showers by swimming pool in bathrooms, it is not true. Must go to gym for that. Food was mediocre and drinks also on the weak side. No late checkout even if you want to PAY extra!!!!

    OK location and the swimming pools are nice but for cost of a junior suite i found not worth it of the price tag. There are no robes, no hair conditioner, if you wish to make coffee in your junior suite with an ocean view you must buy a 16 dollars bag of coffee 😳 It is a pretty simple resort with no bang for the buck.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The food in the hotel was quite expensive (American prizes), but the quality was fantastic so we didn’t mind paying more than what we would have paid outside of the resort - we booked a shuttle from and to the airport. Awesome service, except that the driver that brought us back to the airport was driving really really fast. We told him and he immediately adjusted his driving style.

    Loved our stay, beautiful hotel, super clean and the straff was amazing! The pools are great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was not good at the hotel. Just very bland and nothing worth the money. Definitely go out to the restaurants on the marina and downtown

    The location is perfect! The grounds are absolutely amazing. So many wonderful pools.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.8
    The all inclusive and pool bars were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The concierge staff and check in staff weren’t the friendliest and weren’t very helpful. We setup our shuttle the day before check out and when we went to leave nothing was set up and we almost missed the shuttle because of this. It was also happening to another couple in front of us, luckily we made it to the airport. The guy taking care of us was like this is gonna take five minutes (which would have been fine) but he kept stopping to talk to people and that made it take a lot longer.

    The all inclusive and pool bars were great. All of the waiters and bartenders were fantastic! So fun and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    The best vacation we can remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing! we were all so very happy

    We all LOVED the beach party and Roberto was simply amazing!! Excellent location, beautiful grounds, good housekeeping etc. it was all perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing and scary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The poolside staff served us drinks spiked with unknown drugs. Did not expect this at an otherwise nice resort. Now I read that this is happening at other Mexican resorts too. It was very scary to be 'out of it' for over 4 hours and unable to even walk back to our rooms. The manager of the day, Omar, accused me (60+ year old woman traveling with my adult daughter) of drinking too much with our friends (we were there ALONE) and only had the 2 drinks his employee served us. It was very scary. My advice, DO NOT BUY THE DRINKS HERE>

    The maid service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Massage at the spa was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to have a boardwalk along the beach that connects the other Solmar properties so it is easier to walk to the other Solmar resort restaurants.

    Massage at the spa was excellent! All staff on the property were very attentive and professional. Our 1 bedroom 2 FULL bathroom suite was located on upper floor with a beautiful ocean view. The suite was tastefully decorated and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great but extras expenses are a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurants are a bit over priced, you have to pay for wi-fi which isn’t worth the expense and you have to pay for the gym which is great but Also expensive.

    The pools are amazing, room is beautiful and location is only a 5 minute walk away from the marina with restaurants, clubs and ect. The resort has a mini golf and tennis court.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great place but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because we made reservations at the last minute the room charge was more than I was comfortable with. Prices for food and drinks are comparable to what one would pay in Las Vegas, which is to say, not cheap. So bring money. The property opens onto the ocean, but you are advised not to get into the water. You can walk along the beach however. Despite the high room charge, there is an extra fee if you want to use the exercise room (11 US/day) and $13 (!!!) a day for wi-fi.

    The location is great..a fairly short walk to the marina area. Staff was helpful and many spoke English. Pools and hot tub were large and clean. Several spots for dining on property with prices comparable to what you would pay in marina restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    Great hotel - great price. Most enjoyable holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of a thing.

    Just about everything. The staff were friendly and helpful the selection of food and wine were great. We have stayed in Cabo before and hopefully will return again. We talked about it on our way home and agreed we would return to Playa Grande and even try to get the same room! I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing staff! They made our stay flawless. Miranda in the Calima poolside restaurant was so delightful! He went above and beyond! Because of the great staff we are booking another trip back there in a few months!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.6
    Playa Grande is the place to be for the most amazing vacation on the Pacific ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that could have made our vacation better is if it was free.

    This was the most enjoyable vacation we have ever had. It was our 50th wedding Anniversary and the manager Omar Manzano made it a great memory that we will never forget. Omar along with Raul the maitre d' and Alahanria our special waitress at the outstanding Brigantine restaurant served us a special dinner in the beach gazebo that was AMAZING! I can't say enough about the outstanding service and treatment that we received at this amazing resort. Zoe at the front desk and his co-workers went above and beyond to satisfy our needs and make us feel comfortable. The Puerto San Lucas Restaurant in the resort served us dinner that most can only dream about. Fernanda the hostess made us feel like family and we had a window table overlooking the city/marina. A 2 1/2" thick prime rib dinner cooked to perfection and I had giant bacon wrapped shrimp dinner like never before. Aldo and Hugo at the concierge made booking our dinner cruise, city tour, shopping and getting about the town easy. Great lunch and Pina colada along the many pools was very relaxing. The whole resort inside and out is constantly being maticulously maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    7.5
    Quite nice place , whales were jumping out front , the staff are always really friendly but slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the time it takes to get served for dinner or drinks ect . They seemed unorganised and we waited so long in the restaurant to get out food . Sitting down for lunch they are also very slow to take order ect

    Food was quite nice , beds were really nice , the place is always very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    WE LOVED IT! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can't think of anything I would change!

    The bed was very comfortable. We loved having a ceiling fan and a large patio. The sunken tub was nice to have too. The beach was beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.1
    OK place, lack of WiFi in an expensive place in 2018 spoils thing. Happy to stay only 1 day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not go to room until 3:30. Checkout at 11! No basic free WiFi although policy states it. Asking for $13/day (for premium) is ridiculous if the room charge is over $250/day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Definitely plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The foldout bed and sofabed were small and uncomfortable; teens could barely fit.

    Beautiful location. Super close to town but looked on the ocean so felt private. Loved the staff, all were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    5.4
    The pool area was beautiful and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioner did not work correctly so everything in our room was slightly damp the entire stay. We expressed our concerns and they sent a repairman whom inspected the air conditioner and said it was fixed but it did not improve. Also the hostess lied to us regarding arrangements that were made for entertainment in order for us to use their facilities instead.

    The pool area was beautiful and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Really nice resort with great location to downtown. The resort itself is very clean and well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For the price, I think the breakfast should be included.

    Very clean room and property. I also liked the breakfast buffet each morning. Awesome variety and free for kids which is a plus. Large number of staff around the pool area and very attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    5.8
    Not very relaxing due to above statements
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beach was a disaster , full of trash Same trash on beach from the day before No chairs to sit on beach Pool was dirty Pool was very noisy with blasting music No place for relaxation because no chairs on beach Staff was indifferent Customer service indifferent How can you come to a beach resort to not be able to sit on the beach ? If I want to sit at a pool ,I can do that at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    5.8
    Pretty views shame about the issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception on arrival, could not find my booking, not welcoming. Loads of works taking place so not relaxing (pneumatic drilling). Issues with charges, example given a price for an event and then they kept trying to inflate it.

    The view was gorgeous from my room. The room was really nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    5.0
    Front desk staff was not very friendly and made us wait...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff was not very friendly and made us wait until 4 pm to get into our room even though they knew we had been waiting in the lobby since 11:30 am. Eventually I went to the room to confirm that it was ready. Bad customer service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.8
    We loved the ambiance of the resort & the staff & activities but food&drink overly expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks were overpriced-$30 for 2 daiquiris. & $40 for water at Colima restaurant was exhorbitant!! Dinner at Brigantine Restaurant very overpriced. Presentation was nice but we all walked away hungry. I had requested a birthday cake weeks in advance & reconfirmed once we arrived at resort but waiter said he had no knowledge of any such request

    Loved the staff-very friendly & personable-especially Itzel & Reyna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    6.3
    Facilities,cleaness,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beach location however it’s impossible to swim there, facilities for extra charge what was not mentioned, very disappointed and disturbing about that they tried to sell us something all the time! They promised us free breakfast if they csn show us the resort; at the end of the day it took 3,5 hours and they pushed very hard to sell resorts

    Facilities,cleaness,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.8
    Nice and very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort listed itself as all inclusive, however when we arrived for check in they told us that we would need to pay an additional 100/person per night for food and beverage. We never would have booked such an expensive hotel if we knew our food and drink were not included. This was extremely disappointing and cost is a lot of extra money that we didn’t have to spend. They shouldn’t call themselves all inclusive if you have to buy the food and drink separate from the cost of your room. They should be much more clear and up front even as far as to have booking.com explain that extra charge before booking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.7
    3 vs. 5star: The hotel location & staff were awesome, but the facility could use a refresh (old now)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not Great/Poor: Hotel was probably a 4 or 4.5star (out of 5) when it first opened, and while the place was clean and facilities offered were many... the place feels old and needs a big refresh (i.e. 3star masquerading as a 5star due to age). Beds were decent (6 out of 10? but bit lumpy). Some construction around pool area (Nov 2017). Sad/Not at Price Level Paid: Furniture in room was old (like being at 'moms' house). TV was old/small size (20in-22inch) while it should have been say 40-50inch (to fit room/furniture). Most channels (all?) were in SD vs. HD resolution. Channel selection was decent. Best regards.

    Highs/Best Parts: Staff and service were great; Hotel location was top notch!!!; Room size was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful Resort but all-inclusive would be the best value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would suggest an all-inclusive package as food was expensive. Sunday Brunch was over $40.00 a person which seemed extreme.

    Rooms were beautiful and we were upgraded to a Suite. Bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.5
    Parents anniversary gift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was additional cost on the property, i.e workout gym, tennis, putt-putt golf, etc. Wifi, was additional cost $44/week. Ants in the room

    Lots of amenities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    5.0
    Would have been nice if we had a cool room to come back to after being out in the hot sun. Other th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our air conditioner did not work. Complained and they tried to fix it however that did not work out. No mention of, sorry, or can we get u a room with ac. Bathtub/shower would not drain properly. Took two calls to try to get that fixed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Wonderful! Best place I've ever stayed. Already making plans to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to pay for Wi-Fi and the signal really only worked in the room. Also, the pictures show an infinity pool that isn't accessible to hotel guests, only for owners of the residences on the other side of the resort.

    What a shower!! But really, everything was just fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    5.8
    Nice, grand facility in general, beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff stiff and unpleasant, pillows not very comfortable, getting and going needs quite a walk, a shuttle to the town would be a good service. Full of American chavs.

    Nice, grand facility in general, beautiful beach. Apartment was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    5.8
    The hotel room was good. The charges and tax and fees was outrageous and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was overpriced for Mexico. Everything was so expensive. They charged for tax, service fees and then we also paid tip. We probably won't do this resort again or even book with booking.com

    the room was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    8.8
    Clean, quiet, and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wait staff were incredibly pushy, always trying to upsell and constantly hovering. The food is bland, they consider Tabasco as hot sauce. The latest bar open on the resort closes at 11. You have to go out in town if you don't go to sleep early.

    The rooms were amazing, the views from The Ridge pool was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel and view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at one of the restaurants was incredibly slow and we almost had to leave our food since we had a boat to catch. At the lobby restaurant the service was great. You can't swim in the beach next to hotel, but it is a really nice view. When I checked my bank account, I noticed the hotel did overcharge by almost $50 for our room charges that were incurred over the weekend - it looks like they rounded up to the nearest hundred instead of charging the exact amount that I signed for on the invoice.

    Beautiful hotel and view of the ocean. The pool was very nice. The food was also very good. I ordered two suites and we were able to have them be adjoining. The hotel isn't near the marina, but it is really easy to get a cab and it is a short drive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous place but not going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of the meals!! Too expensive! We were convinced into buying the inclusive meals after having spent fifty dollars for two for a breakfast buffet. We thought it would save us money if we purchased the inclusive after that, big mistake!! The restaurants offered were not that good except for the one down the hill from the resort. We ended up eating downtown most of the time. Also we had to pay $ 44.00 dollars for our shuttle to the hotel and going back to the airport we had an early flight so there was no shuttle service. We had to pay for a taxi $98.00 for two people. Also if you wanted to go into town you had to take a taxi, $ 8.00 each way. Hotel should include this since the rooms are expensive. Also since we had paid for inclusive meals we thought room service was included, wrong again, had to pay for this extra but did get a small discount. Resort was gorgeous but we will not be back!!!!!!

    We were upgraded to a beautiful suite since we were celebrating my birthday. Resort was beautiful with gorgeous landscaping, views of the ocean and quite a few swimming pools.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    9.2
    The property was beautiful and walking distance to marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Prices were a little high on some food /drink items. But the 2 for 1 deals we're good when we remembered when they were offered.

    Enjoyed relaxing at the pool waitstaff was very attentive. The room was equipped with a kitchen so we had several meals in after a quick stop to the local Walmart, which helped cutdown food/ drink expense.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    10
    The Vacation 2017 that we will never forget ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went to the pool a little after 5:00 towel station was closed & they had ran out of towels in the cabinet . We also finally were getting our free margarita & the bar was already closed.same day same time 🙁

    From the time we checked in the front desk & met Eddie Cortez we knew this was the right place to stay he's hospitality & time he took to explain everything to us about the town & all the different restaurants on the location he went above & beyond he's Job .. it was a pleasure to see him daily with a friendly wave & a smile we will be back .... Again Thank You Playa Grande

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.6
    Cabo vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking in took about an hour which was a little annoying as we were tired from traveling.

    Ocean front property was gorgeous. The pools and staff were excellent. The room was very nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    6.7
    Okay, wouldn't stay again though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in and out process is slow, inefficient and the staff are not conscious of your time, nor being helpful and courteous (we were served by Eddie both times). We were locked out of our room on 3 separate occasions, each time requiring us to trek back to the lobby. Our late check out was promised but then never entered into the system resulting in us being locked out of our room AGAIN! When we went to the lobby the same staff member (Eddie) was rude, told us we were late to check out, and that we only had 15minutes to exit our room (it was 11:20 & we had a noon checkout). The food at the hotel is average and expensive. You have to pay for all additional amenities such as the gym and tennis, despite this not being clear on the website or upon check in.

    The adults only pool and the pool staff. Very attentive and friendly - especially Hector! Maid service was great - we always came back to a clean room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    5.0
    Dont stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not having any running water in our room for 2 days! And zero compensation for it. And getting robbed right in front of the resort, which had no security and then the staff blamed me for it. They claimed I got robbed because I was committing illegal activity. Not true, I was walking to meet my friends at a local bar by the hotel.

    Leaving the property was the best moment of the trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    6.3
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities weren't very clean. The staff didn't clean up the pool areas adequately during the night so in the morning there would be trash and drinks left on the ground from the previous day. There was a cockroach in our room. The food and drinks were not very good. Inconsistent mixed drinks (either pure alocohol or none) and the food was not tasty at all.

    The resort is very large but well laid out. The pools and restaurants are all in the center of the property so no room is too far from the fun and action. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job of maintaining our room while we were there, that was much appreciated! The staff was helpful and friendly. The bell hops were all fantastic and there was always a cab nearby with a minimal wait.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    7.9
    A cruise-ship atmosphere for better or worse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced, staff was not helpful and mostly they want to charge for everything. Overall, it's beautiful, but not very representative of true Mexico.

    If you like a tourist destination where you feel more like you're on a cruise ship with Americans and not in Mexico, then this is fine. It's a beautiful property but with tons of rooms, many people and a lot of catering to "touristy" things to do.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful place with pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smoking, construction noise, loud person above us, buffets were awful

    room was nice but neighbor was super noisy scooting chairs around. Pools were nice and landscape. Staff was very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    6.7
    The beach is not usable. They should not say it has a private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many rules. My wife hung her wet bathing suit on a chair on our balcony and we got a call from management that this was not allowed. My son in law and I took single beers to the pool and we were told that we could not.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    8.8
    The resort was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very upset that cleaning staff came in my room without my consent. I had already told them not to clean. Also They came in they opened the patio door and did not lock it back. The food at the resort was horrible.. every restaurant had the same menu....wifi should be free at every hotel and they charge daily.. also the fitness center and other amenities were not available to guest.only to members.. everything shuts down in the resort at 6pm basically.. a lot of m missed opportunity at night..also the shower holding standing water not draining. Which is so freaking gross....a lot of timeshare marketing. A lot of pan handling.. everyone with a sad sorry, and get mad if you don't tip.. but again everyone was friendly over all

    The resort was awesome.. clean and friendly staff.. views were amazing from everywhere...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    6.7
    Charming on the surface and good location but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything cost extra! Wifi was $13/day for 4 devices per room. Fitness center cost extra to use it. Parties/activities at resort cost extra. Felt like they were taking us for all we had. Also... my credit card declined a charge for $540,000 (yes, USD) from the resort. Not sure if that was a mistake or what but with the way I felt like I was always being taken for my money it left me really uneasy. Oh and the best was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on.

    Great location on Pacific Ocean and walking distance to Marina/Downtown. Really friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    10
    Fantastic last minute vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress and pillows could have been more comfy.

    Beautiful beach location, we could walk into town or just stay on the resort for food, fun and entertainment. Friendly staff always ready to serve or help. The entertainment at the resort's Mexican fiesta was so much fun and the performers were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    WONDERFUL! LOVED EVERY MINUTE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The food was delicious, but there wasn't much variety. Glad we did not do all-inclusive because we enjoyed venturing into town to try other restaurants ... but our favorite was a little hole-in-the wall taco stand! :)

    Loved the location! Staff was wonderful, resort was clean, no high-pressure sales pitch. Loved that there was a separate pool for adults only. We went to the Beach Party on Wednesday and had a blast!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coustemer service wasn't good It's time share property get ready to be threatened to be thrown out if the person next door don't want to hear or see ppl enjoying there time. It's like retairment house. The manger Omar and even who's responsible about the hall property was extremely rude unprofessional to the point a lady Atorny had to interfere explaining we are 9 ladies have 4 rooms staying just for 3 night we planned this trip to go and have fun not to be threatened with police and be thrown out. If you like to go have fun and be on real vacation I don't recommend this place. But if you like to sleep at 7:00 pm be quiet it's the place to be.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    10
    Beauty and Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, The location, the room, the view, the service and the food. The only thing I can comment on is that I found the price of cocktails and food was a little high but I learned that they also have the All inclusive plan which I might consider on my future trip.

    This resort is kept up very well. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished and have a large balcony with a beautiful view of the pools and ocean. The pools are very nice and fresh and one has a swim up bar. The entertainment was also very nice. The cocktails are amazing and the food quality is good. Tacos at the Taco stand at the pool area were delicious. Friendly, happy staff everywhere. I had a wonderful time and will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful resort, strange transaction handling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not appreciate or respect their handling of my credit card. They placed a $500 hold when I checked in. I accumulated $864 in charges so they applied the $500 hold and then charged my card an additional $600 stating that they would credit the difference back to my card. Who does that? Why not just charge an additional $364 instead of $600. This is borderline fraud. They are playing with my money and everyone else they do this to. Unprofessional and lacking in integrity. Never had that happen at a US luxury resort. Shameful practice. Resort prices for food and services high for Mexico, everything can be found cheaper in town. You are paying $$$ for convenience.

    Great resort with a highly trained energetic staff. Service staff fluent in English (with the exception of the spa), communication was easy and enjoyable. Beautiful property with everything available at the resort. Spa has a steam room and huge hot tub. Room service was quick and accurate. Service staff is friendly and professional. Everything is within walking distance. Walk over the rocks to divorce beach and then onto lover's beach. Take a water taxi from there to Medano Beach. Lots of fun. Had small problem with noisy toilet and slow draining shower but it was fixed immediately once reported. Views from the room balconies were fantastic. Select a higher floor if possible to see over the palm trees.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    5.8
    Looksi better than it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beach resort where guests are not allowed to access the ocean-the surf is too dangerous. Therefore, all guests are in the pools, making the entire area very crowded. I'm sure some people like this, but it is not my style. My wife got up ik the night to use the restroom and found a cockroach in the sink. The kitchen area is not really big enough to cook effectively. Finally, I became horribly ill either from water or dinner at the resort.

    The concierge and the desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay, very nice resort, not really very high end and not crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Internet is NOT free at the resort! Moreover it costs 13$ a day, and it is not of fantastic quality for this price. Beware of usual local hospitality - if you don't see/aren't told price expect it to be unreasonably high in the end bill. So ask... And the conversion rates - you should know the approximate rate when paying in dollars, or you will be occasionally charged more.

    The resort is really nice, apartment with full kitchen and a big balcony. All the surroundings are beautiful and the staff was friendly. The resort lobby is big and nice, we also enjoyed the pools and an occasional walk on the ocean beach. Some swimming beaches at Cabo are accessible by feet as well as the Marina which is an additional bonus Brigantine restaurant at the property is a real treat, must try at least once

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced meals and beverages... I guess that comes with staying at a beautiful resort.

    Beautiful hotel, access to beach (but no swimming), close to marina. The food was delicious. Staff was great. Our room was great as well, small kitchenette with equipment too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great family vacation spot, works for very age..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They could offer a couple of bottles of free water on arrival, a place to get free water down by the pool.

    It was close to town so we could go in for meals and to explore. Paying for WIFI in today's world is stupid. Many of us work while on vacation and paying for WIFI in a room is a cost that they could absorb. The pool staff was great. The coffee cart was nice right outside the lobby door.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel but falls short of Grand Solmar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Decor of the room was dated. Main pool did not have a view of the ocean. These features were superior at the Grand Solmar.

    Comfortable room with 2 bathrooms (1 bedroom luxury suite). View of the Pacific Ocean from the balcony. Walking distance to Marina, downtown and Medano beach (long walk). Good service from staff. Taco stand by the pool was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    7.1
    didnt love Cabo San Lucas or the resort - both are too big, too expensive - No wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This resort was just not for us. In fairness, we have similar complaints about cabo San Lucas generally. This was probably my 20th trip to Mexico. I love Mexico. It is my favourite winter destination. CSL is a busy and expensive party town. The Playa Grande resort is on the non swimming beach. It is very big, and hard to get around. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on The Ridge (the room was big and beautiful and comfortable and very clean) They locked the doors gIving access to the street from the ridge til noon, so we had to walk a long distance just to leave the resort. This was inconvenient for us as we went out every morning. It is really ridiculous not to offer WiFi at over $300 per night.i found it so annoying that I refused to buy it - which upset my 13 year old, $5usd for a cup of coffee also seems a bit over the top - and the indication in the guest book that coffee and newspapers are complimentary from 6:30-8 am is just not true. The staff is very nice, and during happy hour the drinks (which are very good) are quite reasonable at 2 or 1 ($11USD per drink).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything at the property seemed to close early! I wish they kept the pool bars open longer and the gift shops since there wasn't a store super close by for last minute items...still walking distance from a lot though.

    Overall the property was beautiful and the staff was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    "Welcome Home" on arrival says it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely not a thing all 3 of us didn't rave about. (And I'm usually very critical)

    If we hadn't wanted to go zip lining and snorkeling we might have never left the property! Speaking as a pool owner I've never seen such sparking clear, clean water. Grounds are immaculate, staff welcoming and entertaining. We rarely return to a property, with so much to see in the world, but we will definitely be back here. Excellent value all around from food to room prices. Easy walk to Marina if you need more excitement.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    8.3
    Amazing infinity pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced for everything....food, gym, no free wifi, drinks, and activities. I wouldn't waste money eating any food at the hotel, go into the marina and eat the food there instead. Much better and a lot cheaper

    Loved the pool, views, and

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    10
    Perfect location with a beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we had to change rooms after the first night due to the resort being full and little things like only getting one pool towel per person.

    Perfect location with a beautiful view. The room was spacious with everything needed. Pool was beautiful as well. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    6.3
    Very nice, but watch it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was not very helpful, the rooms we booked were not available (hotel was overbooked), staff pushes "ownership" and RCI membership quite a bit.

    Location was good, with easy access to the marina area. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    7.5
    Beach side is great, not sure the Ridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Ridge section, where we were the first night, was very noisy, busy street and Marina view. We had to wait until we he next day to move to the beach side

    Location of hotel part of property was nice. Great beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    6.7
    Family reunion in Cabo, great meeting facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost of stay very pricey after taxes, gratuities and exchange factored into the final total. Unless it is a time share stay to annualized your expense.

    Overall, lived up to expectations. Free parking appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    9.6
    Playa Grande Ridge Resort. Cabo San Lucas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Explanations were not clear on how to turn air conditioning on.

    We were upgraded to another resort on the property called the Ridge resort and we Loved it! We loved the Infinity Pools. And the excellent service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the lack of information about the resort and the resort activities upon check in. I absolutely hated the fact that the amenities that were advertised cost extra (The work out facility, putt putt golf, and wifi). I chose this resort over others because I knew my family would want all of them, only to get there and find out they all cost extra. Also the fact that we paid $12 a day for wifi that worked when it felt like it. The microwave in the kitchen worked half the time and we were never able to use the stove top. We did not sign up for all inclusive food option and I am so glad we did not. The food at the resort was mediocre at best with the exception of the Mexican Fiesta night.

    I liked the location of the property, beach was beautiful and it was a 2 minute walk to the marina and downtown. The grounds of the property were well kept and pretty. I also liked the spa and the people in charge of daily activities at the pool. The staff around the pool were very kind and friendly. Mexican Fiesta Night was a lot of fun and the food that night was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    10
    We enjoyed a very relaxing stay and felt welcomed by all the staff members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our suite was always immaculate. The food was fresh and served with a smile. The check in was fast and the arrival staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We loved how clean the resort grounds were kept. We will come back again soon.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    10
    Very enjoyable, a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one of the restaurants had coffee that I liked. Many steps and sometimes stone paths that are less friendly to those not steady on their feet - elderly like us. Limited TV channels.

    Great room with separate bedroom. Ours was close to lobby so not a far walk except getting to family members in other buildings.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    8.8
    Playa Grande Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are always bothered by the extreme noise by the pool. Being older, the screaming at the volley ball game carried over to the adult pool. The worse was when they had a band play on Friday and it made it impossible to read, even in our room. On our balcony, there were no lounge chairs, just two upright chairs.

    The bed had a firm mattress. The pillows were a little hard. Everything was very clean and well maintained. Nice new refrigerator and stove. Comfortable lounge chairs by the adult pool. We had two very good dinners at Playa Grande. At Calima, I had excellent sashimi and we loved our waiter, Auturo( I think that was his name). The Mexican Grille night was also good and we had a nice waiter, Martin.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Playa Grande Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: