Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Playa La Media Luna 4 stars

Seccion Rocas Letes 9/10 Punta Norte, 77400 Isla Mujeres, Mexico

#24 of 42 hotels in Isla Mujeres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 656 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service was indifferent. I feel that I'm being overly generous in suggesting that this may have been because our stay was only a few days prior to the big Mexican national holiday Cinco De Mayo. I also didn't like that there was no bar on the premises. And there was no funtioning restaurant; there was a self-service breakfast nook for cereal and coffee, but that was it for on-premises sustenance.

    Fabulous outlook onto the ocean. Plus which, we had a ground floor room which had a back door that opened directly onto the pool-side area; this was a wonderful and unexpected bonus. The pool was generous size and chlorine free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited security. People that did not belong to the hotel and not friends of guests were using the beach chairs provided for guests and swimming in the pool. This was unacceptable for the price you pay for the hotel.

    The location was fantastic. King room with tub on deck was awesome. Maid service was excellent. Pool was clean, beach was right there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We did not find the front desk staff were friendly, they merely did their job. Our maid however, was very friendly and did a great job.

    Close to Playa Norte & Av Hildago, yet private. Clean and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has very little to offer. No food other than the worst hotel breakfast I’ve ever had, only took it once. No bar or any drink service. Staff very unfriendly especially front desk. One in particular who was very rude to my wife. Very disappointing

    Nice room overlooking the sea. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Filthy, smelly and damp. Unfriendly, rude, dishonest staff. The beach on the picture is unsafe and you can't swim in there. Horrible breakfast. I spent 10 weeks in Mexico, three of which were on Isla Mujeres - this was the worst hotel by far. Worst of all, the manager fraudulently used my credit card for charges without my consent. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.

    Worst hotel experience ever - AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The island is very busy, lots of traffic.

    Nice location, quiet beautiful setting. Beach in front of property not swimmable but just a short walk to a great beach that was swimmable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like that it is a boutique hotel experience so the pool and beach area are quiet, relaxing and beautiful. The King beachfront room is fantastic with an amazing view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fab hotel situated on the quieter side of Playa Norte just a few minutes walk to bars restaurants, really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet only worked in the lobby which was a little annoying.

    The pool area was gorgeous and not overcrowded. It looked onto a private beach area which made it even more peaceful. It’s also in the perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to prometo their local venders !! And know everything about the island events and more

    Thank you everyone was amazing the breakfast was amazing the staff was friendly the view was lovely it was an excellent experience for feature candidates go to the island locals for the tours around the island it’s cheaper and great service don’t book with the companies they are more expensive and enjoy every moment try new thing new food !!!! Is amazing even the guajillo margarita!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi in our room was a bit spotty, but we didn't even expect wifi in our room, so I wouldn't even really consider it a negative.

    We've stayed here twice now -- it's about the only hotel with its own almost private beach, very nice pool area, and is close enough to walk to the downtown restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic. Room was small but we knew that when booking.

    They had peanut butter and nice fruit for breakfast. Location was fantastic. Pool was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet seat was broken and the toilet did not flush well. The shower water was hard to get warm. The rooms are dated, but clean.

    The location was great! The staff were very nice! The outdoor bartender was spectacular!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is not that we didn't like the breakfast but realize there is no eggs, ham, or bacon. It consisted of breads, fruits and cereal.

    Location: Two blocks off of the main strip. So very quiet View: Room #26 was fantastic. View of inlet, trees, and pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was broken so water pressure not good. No view, coffee provided but no milk or cream. Staff on check in were not friendly or welcoming and there was a bad smell outside the room

    Room was tidy and bed was comfortable. Shower was hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amenities were poor...bring your own soap and shampoo. Pillows on bed small and uncomfortable. Continental breakfast poor. If you return after 10 pm there is a security guard on duty but he was a little old man who was asleep the whole time with the door wide open....better they lock the door and give you a key. TV the size of a computer monitor with no English channels.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was surprizingly delicious - Fresh fruit every morning. Pool was well maintained, beautiful beach area. reception was very accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean with a refrigerator but no microwave or phone. The continental breakfast wasn't much like others had mentioned but it was clean and at least put something in your stomach.

    The property is in a perfect location right on the water, on a secluded,quite part of the Island. My flight was cancelled due to weather at my home airport and the Hotel extended my stay which was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing as we got exactly what we paid for!

    Great location with a 2minute walk to the main downtown area and to Playa Norte.......one of the best beaches in the world! Great view as well with a small pool overlooking the Caribbean. There is a small beach but not really swimmable, but once again - walking distance to one of the nicest beaches in the world. Hotel itself is nothing special but for the price, view, and location it is a value. Rooms are clean, beds are very good for Mexico, and breakfast only is very basic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The birds!! The first night they screeched all night long. After that we only heard them in the morning. Was a little disappointed with the continental breakfast. Limited quantity on everything. Ran out of clean dishes.

    The view from our room was spectacular! Housekeeping did a great job. The hotel was close to the beaches, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t always that helpful...focused on rules, didn’t look for solutions. Internet only available in lobby till mid way through stay. Was great then when they got it everywhere but next day, it didn’t work in our room and staff just said it doesn’t work but didn’t try to resolve in any way. Limited amenities. No little store, no bar except one night, no restaurant and given property is a few blocks from where you can get things old Ben helpful to have more on site.

    Beautiful view, rooms were modern, spacious, well kept. Pools were lovely and beautifully set w ocean behind. Property and number of rooms weren’t too big so you got to know people staying there. Open continental breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi throughout. Staff very unenthusiastic. Sound proofing needed in rooms. Rooms smelled a bit musty. I’d recommend the ocean view rooms.

    Location and proximity to beach and pool area were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loose faucet, shower head not working properly. Soap and shampoo that did not lather well. No hair conditioner or body lotion. Stingy on providing bath towels if more than one per person was needed. Beach not usable. Some accent lights on the property had exposed outlets. Breakfast was not very impressive but adequate.

    Hotel was very clean and inviting. Internet was only available in the lobby area. Pool area was small but adequate for a hotel this size (30 rooms). There was a bar at the pool but you had to go to the lobby to have someone come out and serve you. Great view of the sea with a small beach. The beach had two to three foot waves and there was a lot of sea grass. Posted red flag for no swimming. The room (standard double with garden view) was large and clean - bed was very comfortable. There was a good size balcony with a hammock. The faucet was loose and the spray from the large shower head was weak (some holes not working). Soap and shampoo did not lather well and no hair conditioner or body lotion. There was a purified water dispenser in the hallway near our room. A cold breakfast with bread and bagels (toaster available), fruit, orange juice, coffee, choice of cereal and granola, milk, yogurt. and condiments was included. Location was very good - only three blocks from the main shopping and restaurant area and five blocks from Playa Norte and Playa Centro (very nice beaches). The hotel is attached to a "sister" hotel - Hotel Secreto, which is more upscale and costlier. I was told both hotels are owned by the same people. Overall, a very good value for the money, but attention to detail would have warranted a higher overall score.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was disappointing. Very cold and unhelpful. Breakfast was pretty bad too.

    The location was awesome. Hidden but walkable to path, north beach and all the restaurants and bars. The beach was beautiful and pool overlooked it. Very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included is pretty basic. There is no gym facility or hot tub at this hotel.

    Close proximity to beach front with private beach is wonderful. My room with ocean view had a splendid view and a nice sea breeze. A lovely boutique hotel that offers a relaxing, enjoyable, quite stay,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the views immediately took our breath away! The pool is amazing and we loved the beach even though you can’t swim the setting and all the shells were amazing. We got upgraded to a better room because something was wrong with the one we booked so we ha a jacuzzi and it was awesome! Clean, friendly staff! Great location! Overall great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My family and I have been coming to this hotel for over 15 years now. It has been been wonderful to see how the hotel has grown, yet it still gives you the small boutique feel with unique touches. The hotel staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and keep the grounds clean and welcoming for the guests. We love coming back here year after year and will continue to recommend it to friends and family who visit Isla Mujeres!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is really no bar, outside there is but very limited choice!

    The beachfront view was beautiful, but you really can't swim much because of the red flag out every day (undertoe). If your looking for a more secluded beach this is it, because Isla has unfortunately become found out, we probably won't return. This once quiet island has become overrun with people and golf carts!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a real big deal but the breakfast could be a little more selection.

    We really enjoyed our stay and the view is great! Met some new friends and we plan on staying there again in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't swim outside the hotel because water was too dangerous.

    The hotel faces a beautiful stretch of the ocean, with a pool and plenty of chairs for watching the waves. It was one of the more tranquil places on a very busy island.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I itched from the moment I touched the bed. I stayed in room 15, and they either have bed bugs or the sheets weren’t washed. The floor was filthy, the room was small and bland. Also, someone stole my video camera.

    The view was great, and the bathroom was ok. They had nice hot water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the rooms was out of service during our stay.

    The location: isolated and on the sea front, but 5 minutes away from the center. The sea view. A direct passage to Playa Norte through the shore. Nice staff. Overall a great value for money place considering the standards of Isla Mujeres

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Every hotel should have a fully-stocked, well tended bar. This hotel did not. There was a small makeshift bar by the pool that was under construction. When it was tended, it was tended poorly by a very inattentive barkeep. Also, it would make all the difference in the world if the not very good continental breakfast was served poolside. It wouldn't make the offerings any better, but it would have made the experience more pleasant.

    The location was beautiful!! Loved the porch looking out on the ocean. The hotel was secluded enough, but close to town. Everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is only available at the lobby. We didn't really mind since it's good to get disconnected for a while in an island.

    Super comfy and spacious bed and clean bathroom. We had a ocean view room which was really great at night to view stars while listening ocean sounds. Playa norte is 15-20 min walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could be better - also, I didn't care for having to pay for the entire bill up front. Other than that, the place was amazing.

    The view, the view, the view!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location and quiet area, you can't swin in front of hotel but 3 min. walk from the nicest beach in isla mujeres and 5 min. walk from everything - good continental breakfast and water available - nice pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor, almost none existent. There was some fruit, sugary cereals and flavourless mass-produced bakes goods.

    The staff were very friendly. The location was fantastic. The rooms were great. The beach and pool were lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the expensive cost, it was disappointing that the were no free meals/drinks...especially for our wedding and my husband's birthday 😞

    Excellent staff and comfortable accommodations. The ocean view was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service was every other day and with all the sand I would have preferred every day.

    We had an apartment that opened onto the beach. It was fabulous. Best sleep I have ever had.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Laundry service

    Location of the property was perfect..very nice room..very very clean..staff was accommodating and quick to solve issues...beautiful setting...will go again...love Isla de Mujeres

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Garden View 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we got a room which is in a different building and we had to go out of the hotel and get inside from a different entrance witch was close in the night when we came back from the "city" center so we had to go around. In the room, the shower water flow was so weak and even after they tried to fix it, that was the case. The pool is beautiful but got no services at all. If you need anything you need to get it yourself.

    Generally, the hotel is beautiful and perfectly located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Garden View 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description is inaccurate. Breakfast is not complimentary unless you have the best rooms. 'Garden view' is a wall! You can't swim in the sea and have to go to the north beach for the closest snorkelling which isn't very good. No idea why this is listed as onsite (this appears to be the same for all hotels on East coast of IM). Receptionist was very rude and unhelpful, also lots of dogs and cats owned by the hotel that roam free. No useful signage to help find the hotel and the road leading up to the hotel is very tatty. Has potential but needs an accurate description on booking.com and new staff

    The hotel is near the main strip of bars and restaurants. sea view rooms seemed much nicer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big problem of safety in the rooms (the windows does not close at all and are maintained in place by an aluminum piece that is laid at the bottom of the window letting anyone open the window and break into the room while you are sleeping or not in the room. At the beginning, we didn't pay attention that the window doesn't close at all. The chain on the doors that are supposed to help gaining a security feeling are missing or broken). Completely impossible to sleep knowing that the room is so breakable! YOU CAN'T BE SURE YOUR FAMILY IS SAFE WHILE ASLEEP. The rooms are so dirty that the floor is slippery at all times. The bed linen is so humid that so can't sleep without getting hitchy and dirty the whole night! A SHAME THAT THIS HOTEL IS LISTED ON BOOKING. THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE BEEN TO! A 2.5 RATING IS FAR TOO HIGH FOR THAT HOTEL.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not care for the staff, there was a problem with my reservation and ants in one of the beds the staff seemed to care less. The bed was sprayed and changed... There were NO accomadations made for my inconvenience at all!, I did not feel welcomed!!!

    I love the layout and the location of the property!!! The view is amazing!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Best location. Walk to bar, restaurant, supermarket. Also directly on the beach but this part of the beach is not allow to swin however walk around a bit in the other part of beach you can swin . For us was the best!! if you want rest on the beach without noise you rest on the beach right on the hotel & enjoy the pool looking the sea if not you walk 3 minutes and you get nice and crowded beach where you can swin

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor septic. AC could have been better

    after not getting the proper room and making the change for what I thought I booked, the room and view were nice. Somewhat secluded from the rest of the madness of town and people which I liked

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No friendly staff, breakfast is not fresh nor tastfull, they clean the room with the doors open, so every night you have musquitos in your room. Only the rooms on the sea side have a nice view, if you don't have sea view, your balcony views a mess. The pool wat dirty, lot's of hairs, not enough cleaning. You have to pay a deposit, which is very high.

    The only nice thing about this hotel is the location, because you have a wunderful view from the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough golf cart for the entire hotel if I had to choose something, but a place named Ciros is closeby and at the same price.

    The king room with the private terrace and the hot tub (room 16) is just amazing for 2 people. This offers view on the ocean, the pool and the private hot tub is perfect for a sunset bath. The services offered by the hotel (golf cart for 55$ a day, massage in your own terrace for 50$ each/1h) are just ideal. Breakfast is included which is good but restrictive choice (cereals, coffee, toasts, fruits). The hotel is 5 min by walk to the playa norte, close to everything by walk..amazing stay!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi didn't really work in the room, only sporadically and very slowly. That's the only drawback, but it didn't surprise me as wifi in rooms rarely works in any hotel on the Yucatan peninsula.

    The room was very spacious and very comfortable. Great AC. Mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a safety box were all nice amenities. Also free chilled water was available at all times. I knew when I booked the room that "Garden view" wouldn't be anything to write home about. What was spectacular was the outside area with the pool looking out onto Playa La Media Luna - Half Moon Bay beach. It is not swimmable as it faces open Carribean with dangerous currents. However, the beach is walkable and almost completely private. The wifi didn't really work in the room, only sporadically and very slowly. That's the only drawback, but it didn't surprise me as wifi in rooms rarely works in any hotel on the Yucatan peninsula. As is with Mexico, water flow is an issue everywhere and so is getting cold water to come out - which is really what you want when you are hot and sweaty. But I have yet to find such a thing as cold water in a hot and humid climate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no restaurant at this hotel which was disappointing so every meal you had to leave the hotel. Since the hotel was only slightly away from the main eating part of town, sometimes you just want to have the choice of staying in or going out. There was no choice here, if you were hungry you have to get dressed and leave the hotel and start walking. The pool bar was only open at certain times as well, but when it was, it was nice to have a drink by the pool.

    The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. Loved my view of the ocean but the beach was not swimmable. But you only have to walk 100 around to corner to another quiet beach in a safe cove. The staff were also helpful as I had an early flight departure from Cancun and due to the ferry terminal timetable not starting early enough for me, I had to cancel one night here and the staff were understanding and didn't charge me for the final night i had booked. I cancelled the final night and stayed in Cancun (near the ferry terminal) instead.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could of been better. Better transportation offers

    I loved the jacuzzi on the roof. I loved the view from our room "08" . I loved distance from the hotel to the beach. I wish there was more variety in your breakfast. The staff was amazing. I loved that it was very private not that many people. I loved that it was an adult ambience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, improve the wifi! Not that I think people on vacation should be on their phones the whole trip, but it is important for planning purposes to be able to access the internet. The wifi only worked in the lobby and not even very well there. We can get wifi on planes flying 500 mph, so I think they could put a few more routers around the hotel. Nothing here was super clean. The beach outside was nice but they keep all the chairs locked up and not out on the beach where guests can use them. The beach towels they offer are tattered and old, and they make you wear a bracelet the entire stay for purposes of identification. Overall, this place just seemed like it is out of date and isn't well maintained. I get the impression that it was once very nice, but people just stopped caring. The main issue is not that the hotel didn't offer a pleasant experience (it did), but that it was very overpriced for what it was. They should be charging half of what they are.

    The staff was relatively friendly, but didn't seem particularly happy to be there. The room was nice, with good AC and the bed was very comfortable. The location was convenient to experience the northern part of the island while remaining in a quiet area. I liked seeing all the cats and dogs roaming around the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Sofa beds are never comfortable. For some reason, we weren't able to partake of the continental breakfast because we were in a bungalow?

    Being able to wake up in the morning and see the ocean. Sea turtles came to our bungalow and laid their eggs!. The pool was right outside our door. Private.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired but this seemed to be so of many properties around the island and was something you got used to. Good to have a fridge in the room and you didn't actually need anything more than what was provided although it seemed very basic at first. More rustic than luxurious.

    Fantastic location and views on a stunning part of the island

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt all a tiny bit run down, maybe? But they announced that they'll do some renovations over the summer so this will probably be fixed soon. In total, it didn't feel like value for money was completely in check, though. Minor details that added up led to this impression. The continental breakfast consists of sweet stuff only. Our room should have had a welcome basket that wasn't there. The always-wet cushions on the balcony weren't taken care of.

    Big room (kingsize with jacuzzi), with everything there. Wifi, safe, TV, air-condition, fan, refrigerator, big terrace. The swimming pools of the hotel were nice and some very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's such a shame not to have wifi in the room. The hammock on the balcony was also quite dirty and not very appealing unfortunately. We would have liked to use it more. Finally, it was very weird having to pay US $200 as a deposit, considering we had paid for the whole stay in advance and provided our credit card.

    We really appreciated the quiet location, view from the room and balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wish they had hard boiled eggs with breakfast. The breakfast is great for fruit and carbs.

    Room 13 was our room and was the best because it had a patio you could enjoy even when it was raining. I think it is the best property on the island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything was great!

    Amazing location on it's own private beach. We had a great room overlooking the beach and pool. Pool was also great. Easy to walk to town and other beaches.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, not worth it.

    Beautiful secluded beach, yet less than three minutes walking to the middle of town and three minutes to the best beach in the whole island. Clean, good AC. Excellent location. Definitely will come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and treatment are shocking. Really do not match a 4 star hotel that is supposed to provide good service. We asked that the credit be canceled for the night and that cash was paid for it. There is no internet in the rooms (only in the lobby, and it does not work), breakfast that embarrasses the hotel, and we asked to keep our equipment until evening, and they said that after 3:00 we were being charged with money. I really do not recommend coming to this hotel and it does not justify being 4 stars. Just have to be ashamed of themselves !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wifi in room, only in lobby, staff unfriendly. They did not seem service minded at all. It felt as if we were annoying them, when we asked for help with something. The hotel needs an update.

    the view from the room was fantastic, the pool was nice and the location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar at the pool was not really a bar. Sometimes there was one guy who mixed "something" for you, but they did not even have a caipi. The Beach at the Hotel is not really for swimming because of the stones and grass. Breakfast was not what we expect from a hotel like this. Bread, strawberry-jam as always in Yucatán, and fruits. Sometimes a cake and boring cereals. No warm breakfast, no eggs, ham, cheese, mexican desayunos.....

    Really beatiful hotel with a nice and clean room. The balcony was directed to the pool and the sea as all other rooms. Perfect view and perfect atmosphere to relax. 5min walk to the beautiful playa norte and to all restaurants and bars. Nice Beach directly in Front of the hotel and just a few people are coming along through the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wish there was more of a variety of food for breakfast. Too many sweet options. Also, wish it was a "no smoking" premise. When guests smoked on balcony next door, their second hand smoke filled our room. Talked with the owners and they were very understanding, but couldn't do anything about the situation because the hotel was full.

    I thought the staff was very nice and accommodating. Great location. Really liked that everything was within walking distance. Ruben's was a great restaurant nearby. Overall really loved or stay here. Loved the people on the island very friendly. It's why I love Mexico!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find the staff to be overly helpful. The toiletries were very scarce and there wasn't a blow dryer in the room .

    The location was great and it was a very relaxing environment. It was close to the town and the beaches. The views were amazing .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was the common problem of other guests who claimed prime beach chairs early but weren't using them for long stretches of time.

    King balcony room was nice, and this was the most comfortable bed I've slept on in Mexico (springy rather than rock-hard). The real reasons to stay here are the balcony, and the beach and pool area. Walking into our room, the view was amazing! However, the beach/pool area was so nice we didn't use our balcony much. Though you can't swim on Playa Media Luna, it was wonderful to have access to beach chairs and lounge beds in sun or shade. Playa Norte (a short walk around the beach or a couple of blocks on the street) was packed the week before Easter, while our private beach was quiet and secluded. So much more relaxing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only downside is that you are on the windy side of the Island but for us it kept us from getting too hot .

    This hotel is tucked away in a secluded little bay near Playa Norte.You have your private little beach ,the hotel is small so you are not having to worry about getting a spot at the pool.Behind the hotel you are a five minute walk to all the great restaurants.Walk around the point by beach and you are on Playa Norte .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the location, right around the corner from a stunning beach, we loved the hammocks on the balcony. We enjoyed the spa and the food the attached hotel offered. The town had a great atmosphere day and night! We loved it there on the island.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is hit and miss in the rooms but available in the lobby. Other than that it was great!

    Great value: pool, private beach, near playa Norte & Ave Hidalgo, yet peaceful, intimate and quiet. Wonderful ocean views. Friendly and helpful staff. Reasonably priced for north end of the island. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacks charm and there weren't enough chairs for 4 people. Breakfast area is not very nice (only inside) but you can take your breakfast to your room.

    Location is great, quit and within walking distance of restaurants, ferry and playa norte. Hotel on the outside is charming. Nice little pool and sea (although not for swimming).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with two double beds Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast, poor choice of fruit considering we are in a country where it is in season, tropical fruit. They had apples from home, Washington apples!! I eat them at home, I expected mangoes,papayas, pineapple.. The glass doors into the breakfast area were very very dirty, finger prints from the day the place was build!! For me it is a BIG issue when they requested $200 US deposit in cash when they have my credit card! I NEVER carry this much cash, fortunately my friend did have it or we would be on the street! Also intern net available ONLY in the lobby! What is up with that. The lobby was full of people all the time. We intended to catch the 7:30 ferry, could not because the reception manager did not show until 7:30 !! The night before they said it will be open at 7:00 am No I will not stay here ever again, will not recommend this establishment to anyone. In fact I will discourage.

    No eggs, no hot oatmeal, no tropical fruit, poor service. Most of the time the attendant was behind the closed door.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is wonderful. It's a wee bit rundown but I assume with the winds and salt water ocean at this resort that's why. Umbrella are broke at the patio. Room was a bit plain. Breakfast could offer a bit more variety. Overall we enjoyed staying here and want to return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub and Terrace Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels could have been whiter and softer. Hammock was missing from unit. Floors were very slippery. Breakfast not the greatest.

    Bed was very comfortable. Location was the best. The view was phenomenal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Apartment with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the doors on the shower was missing...put down lots of towels. Could use a little remodeling..but what did I care...wasn't there to hang out in the room!!

    Gorgeous beach and sunrises! What's not to love?? We had a cabana on the ground floor with several bedroom, kitchen and living room with awesome ocean / beach front/ pool views. Hubby slept late the 1st 3 mornings, I was up with the sunrise..perfect. could make coffe etc wothout waking him, etc. Pool and hotel was quiet and beautiful. 5 minute walk to town or Playa Norte if you need more excitement. Loved the peace and quiet! Even though a bit pricey would stay again!( high season).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like it when they gently declined my offer to move into bungalow #2.

    There are so many good things to say about this place that it is hard to know where to start. The staff is always very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Wizer, especially, has always been so incredibly helpful. The hotel is not too large, which is excellent if you are seeking to get away from the resort-type atmosphere. Probably more than anything that I love about this place is the sheer tranquility. The hotel is tucked away on a side street that you would probably miss if you were not looking for it, but the beach is simply beyond compare...very nearly isolated from the rest of the properties at North Beach, with a protected cove that makes wading, swimming, and snorkeling enjoyable, even for those who are not very comfortable with the water (I do recommend bringing reef-runners/aqua socks both for the rocks and the occasional sea urchin). The sunrises are, without a doubt, the best on Isla Mujeres and from this point the only thing between you and Cuba is open Caribbean. My favorite "activity" (or lack thereof) is simply lying in my hammock and watching the waves crash. It's truly sublime. Although this hotel is very nice, do not expect a resort-style experience. Yes, you can arrange for tours and spa treatments, etc, etc, etc but there are no real restaurants on this property, more like a hotel dining room. There are also no bars or nightclubs here...hallelujah!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Garden View 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bare bones room. No ice bucket in room. Just a plastic pitcher that you had to carry down to main desk and ask them to fill. No view. I spilled water on tile floor and when I wiped it up towel was dirty.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Playa La Media Luna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: