Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Playa Mazatlan 3 stars

Avenida Playa Gaviotas # 202, 82110 Mazatlán, Mexico

#14 of 73 hotels in Mazatlán

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since there was construction going on in front of our balcony did not feel comfortable leaving curtains open. Would have liked to have been given a heads up about the construction outside.

    I enjoyed the ocean view even though it was just partial view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are really uncomfortable. The mattress is very very firm to the point where it feels like you're sleeping on concrete.

    Clean, safe, staff has great attitude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection. Sheets were a bit stained.

    If you are referring to the WiFi it wasn’t good it kept me logging off and I had a very hard time logging in and staying logged. If you are referring to the breakfast, everything think I had was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was next to a main entrance, next to the bar. Noise was an issue, we were unable to sleep 4 nights.

    The food was good, the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a misunderstanding with the price and how many kids should stay, we end up paying for an extra kid but besides that, ok

    We enjoyed the pools, especially my kids

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stated above

    No, bed was pretty hard!!! Restaurant service was pretty slow!!!! Non-English speaking person at register, was very impossible to communicate. Omelette making person, did not speak English either!! Very different from 2 years ago!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't just order coffee in the restaurant without having an open ticket.

    It was in a good location and the beach was great. I asked for and received a quiet room. It's a family friendly hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The crashing music at intervals during the day beachside was both irritating and ugly. Various bands traveled along the beach stopping to screech and holler their music irrespective of whether anyone wanted to listen. They are a plague . . . persistently loud and particularly obnoxious during the day and into the evening. Would not want to go back if that situation persists. And, apparently, there is nothing the resort can do about it.

    Service from the staff was most excellent. Price was very good. Excellent restaurants available off site. Transportation to and from resort was very available and most reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The poor WI-Fi service disrupted my visit. I needed access through out the day and evening. Access was very unreliable, When I checked with the front desk to do some work in the evening the business centre was closed at 18;00 The next day, the business centre was up but only had two workstations and no separate wireless wifi capability.. This is a major defficiency for a business traveller or conference attendee. I would suggest a minor investment in this area would result in repeat business. I had to go to other places,nearby hotels and restaurants for internet service I would not return to the Playa for any type of Conference or business where internet access is essential until this deficiency is rectified. Similar comments were made by other Travellers

    Staff were uniformly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Food was good Locations was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very firm. Hotel looks modern and new on the outside, but a bit old fashion within the rooms & bathroom. A lot of construction going on, but still a great stay.

    Premium beach location! Helpful staff! Very family friendly, so if you don't have children or don't enjoy children then this isn't the place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rent two rooms both was having trouble with the toilet I have to call front desk many times to fixing it,

    Place are on a good location clean easy to go walking to the beach

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was a mess. The reservation with Booking.com was oceanfront with King. What was sent to the hotel was garden view with 2 doubles. After 40 minutes, they finally resolved to get us the oceanfront but no king bed. It appeared to be a Booking.com issue.

    Beah facilities were great, clean, plenty of shade and sun. Nice wait staff. Location was purest for venturing out and exploring the town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Noise all hours of the night. Confusion with what the room rate/exchange was; did not know what we were being charged until credit card company called when home. Hotel said exchange rate was 15:1, everywhere else stated close to 20:1 Phone service of 6-8 pesos per minute for a local call required a commitment of extending credit of which I refused to do because of arguing about room rate as quoted by Trip Advisor/Booking.com. I finally negotiated leaving 100 pesos for the 36 pesos used for phone. Thus they lost nearly all hotel food/bar expenses of which I find most guests said it was not that great anyway; we ate and played outside of hotel that was good and cheaper.

    Location to the 'Gold Zone'. Great beach access, ocean view, and local eating establishments outside of hotel. Very clean room and exterior.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not great - smelled of smoke, outdated, ants in the bathroom, shower was old and gross

    Beach was nice and there were plenty of beach chairs available. Also we had free parking right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we arrived to the hotel the receptionist by name Fabiola was not friendly at all.At 5:30 you could hear a lady walking with hills,blenders on.I try to get the towels to go to the beach and I couldn't because I didn't have a blue card so I was told by Fabiola to look for my card given otherwise I had to pat 150 pesos.I felt my accomodation was not welcomed at all,i can add more facts to this review but I rather do it on their page.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My Spanish is pretty reasonable so it was never a problem, but English-only speakers might have to be patient and just enjoy. The Gestapo-like regimentation of their breakfast buffet entry system is heavy-handed

    The setting on the Sea of Cortez, the sunsets beyond Isla Venados, great beach for young and old, long walks, local shopping, several excellent restaurants (one in the hotel itself, others in town), very nice housekeeper, kid-friendly facilities (our grandchildren loved it all!), and the less-touristic, more-Mexican ambience of Hotel Playa Mazatlan. For the most part staff is pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    They are now all inclusive so we didn't eat any meals there. What we did eat (sandwich), was awful. I thought all rooms had been remodeled but obviously ours was not, but it was okay.

    The beach is the best in Mazatlan.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was bedbugs, a lot of mold in the walls and very small rooms.

    Food was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor problem whit the room

    It's was located in a good place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were too hard!

    It was very beautiful and a great location. A classic hotel in Mazatlan.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    was a lot of construction noise going on The Internet service was horrible

    Dining room service was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator kept on getting stuck

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looks kinda old.

    The breakfast is the best with the ocean view. The facilities are ok and the people that work there are very kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked mini fridge in rooms

    Great place for families Several swimming pools for small children Very kid friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    No fridge in the room and I had to go to the bar for ice. No ice machines.

    Ocean view room was worth the extra cost.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was the best.

    The overall experience was awesome the Dinning and music show is very entertaining ocean view is beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A nice Mexican family hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyting in genelal

    Every thing was perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pools, awesome spot on the beach, clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesnt work most of the time

    Hotel is located close to everything making it very fun. Its clean and they go the extra mile to make you happy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restrooms had an ugly odor.

    Great location! Great beach!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    The beach

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The woman at check in was rather short and didn't explain the bracelets to me I had to switch them the next day. No refridgerator in the room or an option for it.

    Great location it's really clean plenty of beach/pool chairs good food.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful people working at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionist not too friendly. Busboy was friendly though.

    hotel location is good. Close to restaurants/ stores. Great beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The price as doubled in check in.

    The view and location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy area, parties until 4/5am. Rooms are adequate if a bit spartan.

    Located centrally, good swimming beach. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy

    The beach location is perfect

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: