Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Playa Palms Beach Hotel 4 stars

Avenida 1era Bis entre Calle 12 y 14 Nte, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Review score

Based on 477 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    We loved Playa del Carmen, but not this resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I must say that the photographs are deceptive. Here are the cons. We just returned from this place 2 days ago: Except for a couple of rooms, none of the other rooms are ocean facing. We paid extra for ocean facing for no reason. The rooms face each other. Beach is right off the building, however the water is black in color - maybe due to weather or because of the fishing boats docked there. Not maintained. My daughter almost stepped on a syringe at the beach. Secondly, there is no telephone in the room and you constantly have to run downstairs to reach reception or housekeeping. If there are guests with disabilities, recommend booking rooms on ground floor as there are no elevators. Thirdly, the noise levels in the building are unbearable. Not sound proof and you can hear loud screaming and singing by other guests (drunk perhaps) or them dragging furniture across the rooms upstairs. We did not get a single night's peaceful sleep. Loved Playa del Carmen, but not this resort. Another thing is that the website on booking.com said the rates were in CAD and that's how we ended up booking. Only after payment does it show the rates were in USD and we were in shock. Also be mindful of ruthless cabbies who are waiting to fleece tourists.

    We just returned from this place 2 days ago. Beach is right off the building, so there is no need to walk far for the beach. I must say that the staff are courteous and the place is maintained clean at all times. It's a safe and central location. Walkable to all the cute market places, 5th avenue, awesome eateries and shopping, nightclubs etc. We took the ADO bus to and from Cancun airport - reasonable, safe and reliable. However, sadly, the cons outweigh the pros.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.3
    Sad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it is. Breakfast poor, if you want something more you have to pay for it. It is in front of the beach but what they didn't say is that is full of boats so it kills the views. Pool really small. It feels like you are invading other people place. The smell was disgusting probably for the "sargaso" in the sea but they never did anything to clean or reduce it as they did at Playa Mamitas 300m away. And they didn't had anything special for special occasion as ours even if I request it on advance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is right on the beach, good views, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming since there are parked boats and water is not good in this place.

    The hotel is right on the beach, good views, breakfast served right outside the room. A nice and quiet place a little off the main loud street. Staff were nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Birthday trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only negative statement is about the rooms offered, when we arrived it was relatively quiet and we were taken to our room at the furthest part of the hotel away from the beach even though we paid more “for a view”. Of course you can catch glimpses from most rooms but the added charge seems as though we would at least be near the front. Even with our added charge and lack of clientele we were in the back. My husband asked to be moved which was then to the best room there. In my opinion is we had already paid for and it was empty why weren’t we placed there in the first place. I believe he had to pay an additional fee for this. Obnoxious but we got over it. Besides that little advertising flaw we were happy.

    Seriously the greatest location we walked every where and upon returning home were always delighted that the beach was literally encroaching into the hotel it was an amazing experience. The scenery is amazing and the added breakfast makes it easy to go out and explore after starting the day right. The staff was great and helped us book several excursions, I am a planner and it was nice having locals cut through the holiday huge amount of advertised activities in the city. Breakfast was yummy a few things are extra charge but totally worth it for the price. Room was spacious, totally clean, lots of amenities like cooking equipment and fridge. If we return very very likely to go back to this hotel. Also left some balloons and cake as a surprise for the birthday festivities, very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, amazing staff, and great views, just can't swim on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach is not really swimmable, which was not really clear to us ahead of time. It's only a 10-minute walk to Mamita's Beach Club, where you can swim, which was not an issue but was just not expected for us. There are boats in front of the property at all times (somewhat clear in the pictures, but we incorrectly assumed they would leave during the day). And there is no bar/restaurant on-site, so the staff needs to go to neighboring locations to get food/drinks (they are more than happy to do so, but we felt bad asking them to continually go on runs for us). None of this took away from a great hotel experience, but we wish we knew this ahead of time.

    Location could not have been more perfect. Literally everything in Playa is less than a 15 minute walk away, including the ADO bus station. We never needed to take a cab. Most rooms have some sort of ocean view, and the air conditioning in the rooms was amazing (very necessary in late May). The staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Everything was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area where you can lie on the beach is rly cute, it is just difficult to go into the water because of the boats. But this is the case for a lot of hotels there.

    Everything was really great. The hitel itself is very comfortable. They have really cute rooms and filtered water which is the most important thing. Breakfast is served on each rooms balcony. The personell is so nice and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay for relaxing with some weaknesses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coast was heavily polluted by algaes, it was not possible to swim at all. The breakfast included in the price was really poor any other wishes have to be paid as extra and it was relatively expensive.

    The room was extremely friendly and comfortable fulfill all our requirements. The entire building was also nice and friendly we loved it. It was close to the city center however still in a quiet street. It has a nice inside garden and pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Location top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay it was very windy with ruff sea. Lot of seaweed on the beach. It’s not a hotel fault but anyway. Lack of parking

    Location is great. Near 5 avenue but quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    the room was big and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel does not have a restaurant! however there is a restaurant next door which you can order food and be delivered to your room! i assume breakfast is made there! the beach in front of the hotel was not good... it was full of seaweed and smelly! it should have been more clean!

    the room was big and nice! pretty clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Cosy and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony are too close to each other. Staff of hotel freely come to your balcony to water flowers when you are naked or staying in the bed!! Sea is awful because of sea weeds but it is not the problem of hotel, of course.

    Cosy and clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Stellar location, but the beach and water access is awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach was not what we expected. Piles of seaweed, and the seaweed smells like rotting fish. They didnt clean it up until the 4th day we were there.

    Staff was fantastc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay at a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It takes a while to get hot water.

    This was our third stay at this Condo Hotel. We really enjoy the Playa Palms. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They are working to enhance the small beach area. It is extremely convenient to downtown and 5th Ave. The room are studios, and perfectly fine. The included breakfast, which is delivered to your room, has plenty of options. There are many repeat quests, all of whom are friendly. We already have our reservation for next year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    An Oasis within an Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The semi-private beach is small, but accommodates the required # of beach chairs. The beach was being built up while we were there after a lot of erosion this Summer. Room service breakfast menu could be upgraded, but the food is fine and nice choices are a short walk away.

    A perfect small hotel that’s really condos with hotel-like services and staff, two blocks from 5th Ave, directly on the beach. Great in town location nestled between busy beach clubs and nightlife, though from inside the peaceful complex you’d never know it. Friendly, attentive staff and many of them! Great beach service! Friendly, well-traveled guests who appreciate lounging and chatting. Our week most guests were 50+ with a smattering of younger couples. People you’d call friends and good neighbors. Super clean rooms and common spaces. Small, efficient kitchen with fridge. We’ll stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Coffee options, and water were incredible, bed was awesome,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was freezing!! Every time i tried was imposible for me to use it

    Coffee options, and water were incredible, bed was awesome, and staff always helped me

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    The interior of the rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking. There is no beach access to swim. No "ocean view" in the ocean view room we paid for. There would have been much better hotels for what we got.

    The interior of the rooms were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel and nicer staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, there is nothing to complain. If I had to say, I wanted some extra coffee potions.

    Everything is excellent. There is a big closet with hangers, a water server, a box tissue, kitchen with microwave, an adjusting the height shower, and a private beach!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice small property on the beach in the centre of town with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was a bit small and smelly (better if you go either side of the piers) and there is a horrible big loud night club round the corner but the rooms are very well sound proofed and it actually wasn’t a problem at all.

    Nice small property on the beach in the centre of town with breakfast delivered to your room daily and a beach service if required.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.4
    the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is very very very noisy, you can hear every single noise the cleaning staff is making in the room next door, and every cut the cook is making in the kitchen ( this is how we woke up...) the beach they claim they have is a very small one, ... it s nearby other beaches, but you can t count on swimming in the beach of your hotel ... !!! value for money ?? not really !

    the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Rocky start with a happy end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the first room was 104 and was not up to the expectations you have. We moved room and received room 310 with a bigger bed but still it was not what you would expect. All over all they made a big effort and moved us to room 311 which was excellent and gave us a real difference in our stay. The beach is not that great at the tiime of the year. Very rocky but hey you can’t get it all.

    If you book this hotel you need to request the specific room if you know which one. We had room 311 at the second half of our holiday. Which was very comfortable. As well the second half was much better due to the weather conditions. The M.D. is very thoughtful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    I would be back and also recommend to others but alert them about the ocean view option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I initially was upset as my room with "partial view to the ocean" that cost me money in reality was a NO VIEW at all to the Ocean. I complain and they manage to accomodate me to a better room. I would definitely recommend the manager/owner to have two options when advertising and charging guests (ocean view or not ocean view) to avoid having upset customers.

    Small, cozy and very clean property. Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Great Apartment, clean and small Beach.
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Beach is very small and Ships are Directly in the water. The Sea has destroid the Beach. Very Loud because the Clubs are next to it

    Garden, good Apartment with Kitchen. Beach. Service. Clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful and peaceful hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately, the only draw back is possibly also what makes it so lovey- the beach area is slightly separate from the rest of the beach, which means it is quieter and you don't get many but that means the tiny cove creates some stagnant water/air and can be a very foul odor when the wind shifts. It by no means impacted my stay, but it is quite unpleasant.

    I loved having my breakfast on the balcony each morning, and having my own hammock was lovely! The staff was very helpful and friendly, but it still always felt very private. Despite being in a very busy area, I never noticed any of the noise from outside. It was so great to have my own kitchenette!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    - We recommend Playa Palms due to the location and price/quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Beach in front of the hotel, full of algea ehich produce a bad smell being the wind always from east you get all of it on your face. Boats are constantly parked on the water so it is impossible to go for a swim. You can get much better beachs to swim north and south. But our recommendation is to rent a car and visit isolated beachs with cenotes which are paradise - Breakfast: not the best, basic bread with ham/cheese and orange juice is not natural we recommend to get it in other place. - If you are planning to stay 24/7 on the hotel this is not for you. But if you go to meet with the culture and visit what playa, Tulum, cozumel and rent a car this Hotel is excelent for the basic rest after a busy day and feel comfortable charging batteries.

    - Room and balcony are excellent, very clean and comfortable, quiet, you can definitely rest after a day of beach or touring - Staff aleays helpfull - Can visit central area and surrouding by foot which is a plus, loads of excellent restaurants all around - Pool is ok, quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The hotel was everything we needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms, friendly staff who were very helpful with organising tours and transfers to the airport. Great view from the balcony (ocean view). We felt very safe! The housekeepers were very thorough and also made towel sculptures every day on the bed! We would stay again and recommend to friends and family ! Thank you playa palms!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Definitely would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the beach, just a couple of blocks walk to shopping, nightlife and restaurants so quiet but convenient. Staff was very nice. Room was beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The seaweed had a terrible smell & the pool was quite small.

    The staff were great, the rooms had an amazing view and the breakfast bought to our rooms were the perfect start to the day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Amazing sea view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I had to say something I would say that the breakfast was not amazing but acceptable (coffee, juice, small fruit salad, croissant or bread & jam). They bring it to the room. Also the beach has boats parked there so not ideal for swimming at the front.

    I absolutely loved this place. Our room had sea view and a private balcony and hammock (in fact most rooms do). The facilities in the room are fantastic (even Nespresso machine) and it has really thick glass so not affected by the noise outside. I absolutely recommend it. Best hotel we stayed at during our 10 day stay in Mexico.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Room are very good—well thought out in its details and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Photos are deceptive because they give the feeling that this is a beachfront hotel, which was why we chose it. However, the beach is not used by people because many boats are moored there and the seaweed that has accumulated not only made the seawater look like muddy pond water but they are so smelly that at night, despite the air conditioning, the smell can at time be quite overwhelming. Also, the hotel does not have parking and because of its location, parking could be quite impossible to find on the site.

    Room are very good—well thought out in its details and very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Very cute! Quiet & relaxing!
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking!...beach front full of boats..you cant get in the water!...you have to walk a little further down the beach because of this...pool closes at 8pm!?....

    The breakfast was very fresh and great!..very clean rooms!...nice & great staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    We had one of the front rooms on the second level so great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really swim at the beach in front of the hotel as lots of fishing boats and weed and very shallow.

    We had one of the front rooms on the second level so great view from there and right on the water. Great value for money considering the location. Good pool and sunlounges on the sand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Playa Del Carmen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in Playa Del Carmen. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with great facilities. Lovely pool area with access to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.8
    Ok but wont stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a strange smell in the room of moisture, the room was very old fashion, breakfast very poor quality-had to eat in the town to not get sick

    location was good, close to main shops and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, and hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boats docked at the beach but it's not a deal breaker. There's open beach 100 feet down.

    Breakfast delivered to your room and the pool was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location, basic amenities and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were not worth being called breakfast. Asked for a nespresso coffee pod for three days and always acknowledged but never got one. Pool was too small. Staff was good but not going above and beyond to make our stay memorable .

    Convenient location, close to everything and the beach. Best part were the hammocks in the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Good days at Playa dl Carmen. Playa beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was small. A lot if see weed but this vary frim week to week.

    Breakfast brought up to the room w no extra cost. Having breakfast on own balcony was great. Close 30 meters to own beach. Friendly staff. Fresh water on the room and on pool area without any extra cost.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    Not quite you see on booking.com except for the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach was incredibly small and parked with boatssssss right infront of it. The swimming pool is much smaller than you'll expected too. The don't have restaurant, so the breakfast are in room dining, which is not a problem, but the quality of the food is really average.

    The location is good. Near to the main street but still quiet. The balcony with hammock is fantastic. Nice to have a kichenette.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Pleased with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service, bookings.com pics were deceiving ! You weren't able to swim in the beach because of the boats docked there. The breakfast options are very limited. The hot water in the shower played up and not much pressure.

    Love the location of the room as it was close to the pool and the property is in a great spot, close to everything ! Shops, beach, clubs . Loved the friendly Staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    This is a clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is in the vacinity of the main open fronted street nighclubs which stay open til 6am many nights. Despite being in the best room, furthest away from this it did make it uncomfortable even with earplugs. If you are not a clubber beware. It certainly was not worth the money we paid , this place is expensive by any standards. The nearest parking is a good 4 blocks away in the heat and you have to hunt for it- so drivers beware. The local streets have become run down in this high end location.

    This is a clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    A placid vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In rainy days balconies get overflowed because clogged drainage.

    This is mi first time visiting Playa deal Carmen and the staff and the hotel's location helped tremendously that my wife and I had a wonderful 25's anniversary. Carlos was so helpful anytime we asked for places where to eat or to visit. Lucy was a receptionist so professional that once left the front desk to go and unclogged our balcony after a rainy day. We loved our stay at Playa del Carmen and we already stared planning coming back and of course Playa Palm Beach Hotel will be including in our plan!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    stylish hotel with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our last day we did not get the chance to have breakfast cause our taxi left at 7:00 am. We asked if they could make us a lunch box or if we could have our breakfast earlier but this was unfortunately not possible. Also they did not make any effort to provide us any Kind of Food (an apple) this early. The security man was super nice and offered us coffee while we were waiting for our taxi. The ocean and the beach were full of seegrass. You cant go Swimming in the ocean cause there are fisherboats. We already had the Information and made trips to Cozumel, which is an good Option cause the Ferry is Close to the Hotel (10-15min Walking)

    The ocean view was awesome and the rooms were really nice and clean, especially the kitchen was great cause we had the chance to eat snacks on the balcony with great view! You can drink Nespresso coffee (one capsules per Person) and water for free in the room. Although the Hotel is located in the Center it was not too loud at night (Qunita Avenida is just 2 min. of Walking away) The Hotel is directly on the beach and you can enjoy Cocktails, beer.... there! We had also our own sunbed there. They also oraganized us a great tour, which corresponded well with our individual needs! Thanks Carlos! Its a really nice and stylish Hotel inbetween the huge other Hotels!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful, affordable hotel, with minor technical difficulties
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioning unit broke twice during stay. We were also without hot water for 40 hours.

    Beautiful location, view, staff. Wonderful place. Having breakfast brought to your balcony while swinging in your personal hammock is divine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Amazing Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hot water system went out one day and we had to shower in cold water. I'm sure it's not a regular occurrence but it sucked

    The staff was amazingly nice and welcoming. they bring you breakfast right to your room. And they have a private beachfront lounge area. Beautiful views from your balcony every morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Over all, we enjoyed stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day,no hot water that I couldn't take a shower till next day. Slow drainning sink. The room smells may be do to the old air conditioning system .

    Balcony with a hummock. Having breakfasts there was very nice. Very clean facility . Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we were shown was sea front and ground level; however there was no patio accessible directly from room. No sliding glass doors or windows that opened for sea breeze. Felt like we were in a dungeon. However, the staff were great, appreciated our comments and found us another room with partial sea view, which was much more acceptable.

    Location, breakfast served to room. Proximity to beach and night life.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Bueno Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property just needs more beach chairs for the guests. It gets a little territorial since the beach frontage is small

    Great location, rooms are very nice and well maintained. Staff was very hospitable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Great location, Great staff, Great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast was okay. Not great. But still delivered with a smile.great

    Balcony with partial sea view was awesome. Just back enough to be out of wind but still able to see the beach. The maid was really good. Very clean and neat with a cute towel animal everyday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Friendly, homey place to stay in Playa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Pillow choices were not varied. Should have brought my own. AC was either on or off.

    Food available through the restaurant next door that the staff brought to us any time and anywhere we wanted. Friendly,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony flooded and didn't drain properly so made balcony unuseable for more than a day. The palm trees shaded too much of private beach so not ideal for sun lovers.

    Breakfast served on balcony and hammock were unique selling points and very enjoyable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    The hotel itself was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was beautiful!!!! The rooms were spacious and it was nice to have a kitchen to prepare some meals or snack. The hotel is right on the beach and in walking distance to anything you would want to see, do or eat. The beach was a lot smaller than I imagined (was told most of it washed away in a storm). Besides that the hotel was exactly as pictured/ described. Also, the staff was very helpful and very nice! A big plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Very nice hotel with great location to downtown area BUT bad beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were VERY DISAPPOINTED with the beach. We would had not booked this hotel if we knew that the beach is half gone and so busy. Also, there are many boats parked in front of the beach with tons of ropes where countless people that walk on the beach tripped all the time. Since the beach is so small, we always felt on display, also because there is not much space, it felt very crowded. We were so close to the other guests that it felt uncomfortable. It you want a quite nice beach ..... find another hotel faraway from the downtown area of Playa del Carmen!!

    We liked everything about this hotel except for the beach. The hotel is very beautiful, clean and modern and location is great if you do not mind the noise from the many night clubs located just a few feet away. The noise did not bother us after we locked everything to go to sleep. We have teenagers and they liked going around on their own, so we liked the proximity to the downtown area. The pictures in their website showed what the beach used to look before half of it was washed away by a storm. Staff is very friendly and helpful, honestly my only complain is the beach.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beach nearer (small beach at the property, 700 metres public Playa beach)

    great personnel (M.Luis especially :) ), great place (close to 5th avenue), breakfast served at balcony

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach front is smaller than expected and the boats tend to be docked right in front. However you could always walk around to the beachfront of another property which was nice. Wifi was also spotty at times from the room and didn't really work in the general area but it wasn't to the point where it was a big issue

    The staff was really nice especially Luis. I was given a ground floor and he was able to move me up. Very personable staff. Hammocks are a really nice touch and view is amazing. The buildings are not commercialized so it has its own personality which is nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice but can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel next to all clubs and music all night, although when the windows are close you can't hear much... but inside the room has smell of orchid and old from the walls, so its better to keep the windows open. breakfast was simple and repeated everyday the same without any changes

    The hotel is great! nice balcony with ocean view, very relaxing in the morning, big room with nice kitchen and shower. AC is working great and Wifi most of the time. quiet little pool in the middle and not really private beach as it is very very small.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since recent storms very limited beach area. Not the best value for money.

    Good hotel in great location. Quiet at night, despite being close to the club area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Club noise made it sometimes hard to sleep

    Everything! The room was comfortable and inviting and clean. The view and location was superb. The staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice building & layout. Central part of town. Easy to get to shops, bars & resturants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or bar at hotel so had to go to Indigo, next door. Very little atmosphere round the pool or on the beach although bad weather had destroyed half of the beach.

    Room & bed brilliant. Breakfast good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice place, good price, bad beach side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast need a little more something, the beach is a boat ⛵️parking not to tentative. We have to go farther to the water

    The rooms are beautiful, very clan, quiet place , very nice service 👍

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    6.3
    Nice room, not so nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible staff at front desk, waited at least 45 min to check in, not enough help. People in front if me were rude and dissatisfied and the clerk did not know how to shut them up and move on. Location is awful, no parking, tiny beach with no swimming bc of boats tied up. Couldn't eat breakfast bc fruit was immediately swarmed with ants

    Beautiful room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice sunrise views from the rooms, (if you have a room on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The croissants were a bit rubbery. Nice to see them upgrading the hotel whilst we were there (there was some work being done in reception), but at least try and give us a room near the front of the hotel away from the work, rather than a room directly above the work being done. Considering we had stayed there before at our wedding in the Beach Front suite, there should be some kind of system knowing you have repeat customers and accommodate them accordingly.

    Nice sunrise views from the rooms, (if you have a room on the right hand side) The rooms are smart and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The conditioning system is quite noisy.

    Perfect location. You can be at the beach, and in 5 minutes to walk through 5th Avenue. The hotel is not big and cosy. Ideal for people, who prefer manage time in own way and don't like huge resort with All inclusive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel and great location. Management poor and really 3 star rating.
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Management poor ! Our check-in was delayed. Be aware they tried charging us full amount (of our 10 day stay, not accounting for our deposit) on three occasions . Did not enjoy breakfasts.

    Hotel is pretty as in the photos, and located perfectly for walking everywhere ,from night clubs to dinning out. Right on beach so can hear the sea at night . Lovely balconies and hammocks. Rooms spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    Verry good location, nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanleness. After a rain water accumulated in the balcony and they never cleaned it. After we asked for our towels to be changed, they left less towels, just took them and replaced only two. In 5 nights they never replaced the shampoo and the other bath supplies.

    The staff and the location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Holiday of a lifetime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The site from the ocean view studio was spectacular, the room was very clean/spacious and the balcony with a hammock was perfect. All of the staff were extremely helpful and very professional. Prime location for all of the bars and restaurants on the strip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the boats parked by the seashore, other than that It was just perfect!

    I liked the hotel a lot, the location is perfect and the staff was amazing!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    directly at the beach, little kitchen, breakfast on own...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    directly at the beach, little kitchen, breakfast on own balcony, really friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Very nice location for partyanimals:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar. The rest was all good.

    Location is awesome. Right on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Love everything here, I can’t wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love everything here, I can’t wait to come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach in filled with algea, so its not really for swimming.

    unbeatable location, great rooms, excellent customer service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Noce beach nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noizy not good atmosphere for children

    Noce beach nice food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff were really friendly and helpful , close to 5th Avenue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and helpful , close to 5th Avenue , great if your after a quiet place yet close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    they were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    having the boats infant of the beach

    they were good. The beds I would prefer to have them king beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    The best break I’ve had in ages, relaxed and made better by the hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, great location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is not good in playa del carmen

    Breakfast was served at the room, good shower and bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent location, great staff, close to beach and beach amenities. Close to a variety of fantastic dining experiences.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Cheap option to spend one night in Playa del Carmen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room when we entered. It was closed already of ages.

    Warm and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Playa Palms Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: