Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta Real Huatulco 5 stars

Benito Juarez Lote 2 Bahia de Tangolunda, 70989 Tangolunda, Mexico

#3 of 11 hotels in Tangolunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous and very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with King Bed - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel; location, staff, ammenities!

    The staff was very professional, caring and, obviously well trained to the standards of Quinta Real. Room service food was very good. Huatulco has some beautiful hotels but it is not possible to ho into the ocean in front of some of them the time of year we visit, August. However, we spent 6 days enjoying the ocean in front of Quinta Real. Also, QR sits above the ocean and there are lots of stairs to the pools and beach. Fear not, they provide transportation to both!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay and got plenty of sun and rest which is why we came.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with King Bed Private Pool - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 170 steps from the room to the pools and 200 to the beach. Not bad going done but challenging going up! There is very little shade at the pools at any time.

    The food at the hotel was very good. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is good and the property is lovely. The beach is nice and the ocean water is warm and the water pretty clear.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel Manager personally spoke with me about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking said that it included breakfast. At the property I was noticed that it only included a mild continental breakfast (coffee and fruit) causing some discrepancies. Also, A/C didn’t work properly and had to be moved into another suite.

    Hotel Manager personally spoke with me about the inconveniences and proposed solutions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location beautifully appointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with King Bed Private Pool - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of meals and drinks were like being in an American resort too expensive

    Amazing location beautifully appointed rooms. The staff gave exceptional service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    The view was incredible and the staff were mostly very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with King Bed Private Pool - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower and the bathtub was never more than barely warm; our private pool was not at all private; the food at the hotel was not good (mediocre american food, where are all the mexican and oaxacan options?)

    The view was incredible and the staff were mostly very nice and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our visit, but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with King Bed Private Pool - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The location of the hotel was glorious, but the hotel itself is a little tired. One of the night table lamps was broken and the other night table did not even have a lamp. The pillows were impossible to sleep on and it took us 3 days to have the pillows changed to a softer feather pillow. The staff were accommodating, but due to their rather poor English, it took a lot longer have these problems rectified (which should not have even been issues with the rates we were paying). More importantly, there were no hand rails on any of the major staircases and while there was a rope handrail on the very steep stairs to our private pool (which was coming off the wall), the other side of the stairs was completely open with no guard rails to the pool approximately 10 feet below. I do not know what the building code standards are in Mexico, but these kind of safety issues are in total violation of Canadian and US building code safety standards. My husband who is waiting for knee replacement surgery could not do the very long treck to the pool area and the beach and I had to hold on to him so that he could walk up the stairs to the dining room level and the jitney to drive us to the main pools and the beach as there were no hand rails to help him climb the stairs. In addition, both my husband and I are seasoned Mexico travellers, but both of us got violently ill with Montezuma's Revenge, something that has not happened to us for many, many years. Could have also had daily specials on the dining room menu as the meal choices were somewhat limiting.

    Other than some language difficulties the staff were wonderful and very accommodating. Once you got down to the pool level, the pool area was beautiful and the staff very helpful. It was also fun to stand in the pool and watch the daily giant iguanas feeding down by the beach area. Our room was large with a lovely out door patio and a private pool, and the bird life was a delight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Great getaway !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe that the only way to get to Huatulco is by air..hope that I could drive

    I have been at this hotel at least 5 times, always at this time of the year. In all ocasions the weather has been great and the quality of service, food and facilities have met outr expectations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing. Superb sun rises. A little pricey but cheaper than CANCUN and much NICER location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite wiht King Bed - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lot of step to the pool area and no gym. But would this stop me going again NO. I am already looking at our next trip

    Location is sensational. View from the room at 530AM was great. Watching the sun rise from the bed!!!! Hammock very comfortable, and jacuzzi very relaxing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very nice, discrete place - excellent staff, facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Two Double Beds Private Pool - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, but could include breakfast in the price as standard.

    Very nice, discrete place - excellent staff, facilities, pool. Room with an amazing sea view. Also close enough to the local town so that you can visit easily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice environemnt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Two Double Beds Private Pool - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning was not really accurate (didn't recover the food we ordered in the room the day before) and didn't clean the private pool. I understand quality has a price, but here is very expensive.

    Nice room, big and comfortable bed. Quiet and amazing environment, private beach, big pool. The private pool in the room was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    We will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Two Double Beds Private Pool - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator wasn't cold enough. Would like a coffee pot in the room. The outdoor sitting areas of our room needed a couple of patio imbrellas for shade.

    The staff at the Quinta Real were amazing. We've always had good experiences staying in Oaxaca, the Quinta Real staff were above and beyond our expectations. The private pool was nice for the hot weather. The view is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Romantic Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Two Double Beds Private Pool - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible beach service. Waited an hour for a drink on beach and asked 3 staff. Finally got it ourselves after walking back to room and calling room service. Too expensive. Could only afford one night.

    Very romantic. Beautiful room with private pool. Great room service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Great staff. Very nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Two Double Beds Private Pool - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like getting a quote in US$'s then having to pay in Mexican Peso's. It was %10 more than it should have been, considering posted exchange rates. Seems like a scam by the hotel.

    I liked the restaurant and all it's staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Our only complaint was the fact that the pillows were not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only complaint was the fact that the pillows were not comfortable (feather down) which is what you would expect in a resort of this quality. Otherwise, resort and all facilities, including food, were excellent. We had an awesome time and will be back with entire family...!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    beautiful rooms :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with King Bed Private Pool - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the coffee, not all power points worked in the room

    beautiful rooms :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    The restaurant for the supper is not that good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite wiht King Bed - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant for the supper is not that good...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk with lots of stairs to (beautiful) pool and beach area.

    Quiet. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Elegant hotel with a commanding view of the bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to increase the wages of the hard-working staff.

    The location was unbeatable and the staff was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    5.8
    The pool is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price is rediculous. It's simply not worth it. Also the pool being about 6 flights of stairs below the hotel rooms makes you wonder if the hotel is secondary to the villas

    The pool is great

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.5
    Nice pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't see any fitness facilities. Quite a hike down to the pool and beach (150+ steps), if you did it yourself. There was a shuttle available, but we did not use it. Not very friendly for people with mobility issues. You needed to take a taxi to almost everywhere off resort, but taxis were inexpensive -- usually less than $2.00 US per ride (except airport)

    Nice pool area. Room and restaurants were fine, but relatively expensive Beautiful view over the bay. Restaurant staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    10
    The beach and weather were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was eaten by bugs, but my friend had but two bites. I didn't realize there was a bug repellent wipe in the bathroom. It also would have been nice to have a small net for the private pool.

    The beach and weather were fantastic. It's so far south that the water was warm enough to swim in, even in January. Each night we had dinner at the restaurant, which was excellent, and the prices were very reasonable, too. Our suite included the private pool and plenty of places to relax and enjoy the numerous geckos scurrying about in search of food.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    The hammock!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room

    The hammock! Even when ours broke it wa swoon fixed. The walk to the pool And beach is lovely

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    The location has spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't connect to wifi with Lumia phone

    The location has spectacular views

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    location was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    long walk to the beach going down and coming back great if you like hiking.

    location was fabulous

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: