Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riviera Maya Suites 4 stars

CALLE 32 ENTRE 1° y 5° AVENIDA, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#16 of 203 Holiday rentals in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice bungalows in a luxuriant garden. It was quiet. The terrace with hammocks was nice too. It's close to restaurants and to the beach. You can borrow chairs and umbrellas at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically there was a lack of communication. We stayed in R M Suites, the pool was closed for three days, with just an apologetic note on an upturned sunbed. On the last day we asked when we could expect it to open - they said we could use the pool next door. This is a larger pool - better Good! Then they shut this one (no apologetic explanation this time).

    The location was excellent. Definitely recommend Playa Del Carmen as a vibrant resort but beach and sea spoiled by seaweed. Loads to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are very firm which is fine for some people but we did find them pretty hard.

    Great location, easy walking distance to everything you might need. Away from the noise and party life which is great. Good space within the resort. Staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud music from nearby Mamitas Beach Club was disturbing in late afternoon/early evening, but only for a couple hours per day. It would not prevent us from staying there again.

    We were delighted with our bungalow. Very comfortable with well-equipped kitchen & deluxe bathroom, lovely spacious palapa patio, and super nice & welcoming staff. The bungalow is breezy & also equipped with AC. Beautifully landscaped grounds with a small swimming pool. Excellent location steps from vibrant 5th Ave and close to the beach, while the property grounds feel like a secluded oasis. Trees provide good privacy between bungalows. We loved hearing the ocean waves at night. Will gladly stay at Riviera Maya Suites again when we come back to Playa!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the bungalows, and it was like our own little oasis. Although 5th Avenue was just around the corner, it was very quiet, and the pool was lovely. The bed was really comfortable, they kept everything spotlessly clean, and we woke to birds chirping every morning. It’s a perfect location for fun and the beach. Can’t wait to go back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any issues at all

    Patio off the bungalow was just perfect! Loved the hammocks too!! Shower was terrific, bathroom was huge!! Beds were comfy and the grounds were lovely, like being in the jungle, quiet, nature but at the same time so close to the best part of Playa del Carmen and only 1 block from beach, 1/2 block from 5th Ave and all the great restaurants and shopping! The pool was great sunny and shady spots for everyone! Would definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman who checked us in was rude and unhelpful. The beds were horrible. The roof was made of grass and not only leaked while it was raining but you could hear everything from the street directly behind you. The beach that was close to the hotel was dirty and covered with chairs from the resorts that you couldn’t use unless you paid.

    The man that helped us with out bags was nice and then the lady at the counter during check out was also polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I stayed in a bungalow 12/30-1/3, there was a huge two day's party at nearby Mamita beach club, the club is only about 600 feet away from the hotel. I don't think there are any noise control regulations at Playa Del Carmen, basically, they just played as loud as they wanted. The 1st day, the party went till 2:30 AM, which is not too bad. The 2nd day, which is New Year's eve, the party went crazy loud, I could literally felt the ground was shaking, the soft top of the bungalow did not help to block the noise either. We felt like we were at the 1st row in front of the stage. The most insane part was the party went on till 4:30 AM!!! I understand this party is out of control of property's management, they probably can not nothing about that. But at least, they should warning us before we check in. Or at minimum, prepare some ear plug to their customer just like nearby Hyatt did to their customers.

    Great location, close to the beach, and 5th ave. Very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water seemed in short supply. The hot tub was just over room temperature, and the hottest setting in our room shower was "warm" at best. The vaulted thatched roof is beautiful and "beachy", but let in a lot of random noise.

    Great location, great facilities, great staff. Hammocks were a nice touch. Overall, good bang for buck.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • People with friends
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy till 2:00am at least over 80db the whole day. Very losd rock music from near by out side of hotel compound. Was told Jass festival.

    Good Location, clean,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were not comfortable.

    The facilities are beautiful, the hotel is very close to 5th avenue and beach. The people who works there are pretty nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing would be higher quality sheets and thicker blankets (down alternative ) are the best

    Outstanding in every way! Highly recommend to anyone considering a visit to area. The staff at hotel was outstanding, very helpful and always cheerful. Made us feel like part of a family not just a hotel guest

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach access Pool was dirty and small Our dishes weren't washed after the first night

    Spacious Everything in the apartment worked properly Full kitchen

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds could be a little more comfortable.

    Friendly staff. Large apartment and great location. Very short walk to beach and restaurants. Staff arranged transportation to/from the airport for us which was seamless. Housekeeping folded towels into animals and left a surprise on each bed each day. Daily housekeeping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was very nice, but the pool was small, water was cold and it was not well maintained. (We had to ask them to clean the hot tub before I could use it, as it was cloudy and dirty).

    Close to all the action, but not right in it, so it was still quiet. Really clean rooms!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. (Except for some loud music from nearby clubs---not property's fault)

    Property was beautiful! Gardens well tended and birds singing all the time! Great location for restaurants and easy walk to the beach. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from guests. Not the hotels fault but there were people who were very loud near us. They left the day before us but they clearly do not know how to consider other human beings.

    Great Mexican experience living in a family bungalow that seems like it's in the rainforest as the resort has so many trees and tropical plants. Lovely hammocks outside to swing in and listen to birds or just read a book.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not expecting us, so after 11 hours of flying, the showers weren't working

    We were offered an upgrade, but We chose to stay in the bungalow, and everything was perfect The gardens are beautiful, it is hard to believe you are in the centre of town

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is ideal, close to the beach and to 5th Avenue for restaurants and bars. It is a very clean property with the staff happy to assist where they can to make your stay pleasant. The property has its own swimming pool which offers the option to avoid the beach crowds and chill out in seclusion.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Four-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night. Pool is small and not the most inviting

    Staff are very friendly and hepful. Location is good for 5th ave access but there is no beach access, which is not great for kids. The nearby beach is not kid friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a 3 day dj concert going on at Mamitas. The noice inside our rooms with the doors all closed was terrible. We couldn't hear each other talk. We would leave the condo as much as possible and stay awake much later than we would have liked. I booked this property due to the ads saying it was outside the noisy area. Management should warn potential guests of these concerts. :( There is another rooftop bar on the other side of the condo that was also very loud.

    The room was large and comfortable and well stocked. It was close to the beach and good restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble with lack of hot water in main ensuite bathroom took a couple of days to resolve.

    Excellent sparkling-clean and well-equipped rooms. Great location close to Avenue 5 and lots of excellent restaurants and shops. Kool beach club 2 blocks away is a great place to spend your day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds

    Oasis. Clean. Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm. Otherwise no complaints

    Roof top terrace was awesome. Great swimming pool and amazing location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ample space. All amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Quiet, but only a block from all the action on 5th Av

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice apartment !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, a little bit expensive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction noise going too late into the evening.

    I liked the tropical feeling throughout the resort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are firm. Lovely pool but not a lot of sun.

    Staff and location was amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything’

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean , nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bungalow was very clean and neat! The location is great! Quiet although is near clubs and bars. Staff was polite and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I was super impressed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the pools were open later.

    Best wifi in the area. Loved the amenities and inclusive water sports.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment Penthouse
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds are firmer than we would have liked.

    The staff were fabulous, the grounds are immaculately maintained.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tob didnt work

    Very good place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riviera Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in bed in cabana

    I was moved right of way German manager

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a bungalow surrounded by tropical plants - very peaceful and beautiful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Amazing apartments. They were clean, very well designed with a lot of space. We enjoyed every moment over there. The locations is great, close to the sea and the 5th avenue. I would recommend to everyone to rent these suites.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture seems outdated and overall the bugalow was not what we had expected for the price we payed. But the worst thing was that the bed smelt of urine. There are so many options in Playa del Carmen, I would recommend staying somewhere else.

    Nice pool area and garden. The bungalow was spacious. The location is very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting for room to be ready. Still mopping the floor when they gave us the bungalow. Maintennance and construction noise in the morning.

    Spacious bungalow, the location and the parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Construction works in the hotel resorts right next door - loud and persistent, starting early in the morning until late evening. I asked about the noise before my arrival and was assured there wouldnt be any which the direct opposite happened. The hotel is trying to keep this information from arriving guests!! Bungalow roof is thin - not for light sleepers. A lot of mosquitos outside and also inside the bungalow. Beach cant be used because of the construction and the alternative - the Mahekal hotel beach - is quite far away. Also, when I first came down there, they wanted to charge me 500 Pesos for entry. Overall, a very expensive accommodation related to the discomfort!

    Location near 5th Avenue.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The smell from the construction going on next door.

    What was there not to like. Everything was excellent, staff, location. We had a group of 13. Stayed in the Casa Villa and a Bungalow.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the problem was that we had a rodent in the bungalow, except for that very nice!

    The staff was really nice and helpful. very close to the center. at the first two night we were in the bungalow which was very cute but had some problems so they upgraded us to a bigger apartment which was nice.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just a few lizards and bugs sometimes, but was bearable. Also the walk to the beach club, was very smelly

    Loved the little bungalows. They were very comfortable and so close to 5th Avenida

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quite a bit of new construction nearby with Club Mehekal expansion. Didn't bother us, since we really weren't in the room during the day, it was not an issue.

    Very nice condo (Playacar Del Sol) Riveria Maya Suites - right at 32nd Calle, and 5th Avenida. Nice pool side view. Kitchen and dining area. Wifi. Cable. 10 minute walk to shared private beach and accomodations with Club Mehekal. Enclosed gated garage was important for us as we had a car. Perfect for family of 4 with older children.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Family with older children

    too much leaves in the pool I believe some of the trees around the pool need to trimmed . I didn't like too much trees around the bungalow suites . Apart from that it was great

    it was close to the 5th agenda and the bungalow was great

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too close to Mamitas Beach club, can hear the loud music until late. But it was Easter week, so its to be expected.

    Beautiful hotel grounds, great rooms, very comfortable. Excellent location, close to beach and 5th Avenue.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a thing we did not like - we were totally happy and comfortable,

    My husband Doug summed up our experience with this comment," Wow, this is the first place we have stayed for vacation that I would even consider buying, and no one is trying to sell it to me!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Great location near the beach. Tropical garden around. Very-very big room -- 150 m, wow! Three bedrooms and three bathrooms -- very comfortables. Kitchen. Two balcons with two hammocks. The best hotel of the world.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was VERY hard...Beach had a lot of seaweed and debris floating in the water.

    Beautiful bungaloo...Loved the close access to tyhe beach and the full use of amenities from the beach club. Very accessable to downtown and all the nightlife, restaurants, and shops.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We found out the first morning that there is a daily maid service to clean up and change all the white towels and sheets. It was a very pleasant surprise! Little did we know that the service was more a recon session for the maids to document as much as they can to charge against the security deposit. Many times during our stay we would arrive back to the condo and find that something was left undone, whether it be beds unmade, not enough towels (we could only get one towel per person so even one towel short was a big deal), etc. Upon check out I was told that many of the white towels and some of the sheets were "too dirty with makeup, etc" and had to be replaced. Uhh? Too dirty?? They were white towels that could have easily been washed with bleach and good as new. I have never once in my life been charged for a towel whether it be in the united states or abroad. it felt like they had made the list as robust as they could and then given us an arbitrary dollar amount that was due. I ended up getting charged almost $200 USD after we had already paid almost $4,500 for the condo. It sucked to end up a great vacation with something like this - put a huge damper on the stay.

    The condo itself is beautiful. Large spacious rooms with private restrooms in each and a lovely ocean view balcony with two hammocks. I stayed here for 10 nights with 7 of my friends and everyone was very pleased with the location and the demeanor of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The water and wifi cut off for 5 hours one of the days we stayed there, apparently due to some sort of explosion down the street .

    Was conveniently located with in walking distance of great restaurants and far enough from all the tourists traps and annoying loud ones. Stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view suite / apt, it was great! Included free wifi, TV, laundry room etc ..

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No beach anymore in this facility.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great apartment in great central location in Playa.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooftop terrace with BBQ facilities and sea view was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a great stay, location, equipment was just perfect. They even lent us a barbecue for the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A few steps from 5ta avenida.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bungalow room was nice and spacious!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wi-fi problems continuously

    definitely the best people and they will help you with anything you need.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    little expensive

    very clean, lovely rooms,close to beach and shopping walk

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small swimming pool

    Close to restaurants and stores

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Helpful staff, private quiet location and still close to shopping and dining.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mosquitoes:(

    Everything was amazing the bungalow we stayed was incredible you feel surrender with the nature .

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool could have been a bit bigger.

    Location to 5th Avenue and beaches. Size and space of bungalow. Kept clean every day and a nice place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had everything we wanted - close to the beach and town. Never had to use my car.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    spacious appartment for a family great spot in the middle of the action but not on the main street perfect

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Villa felt like a nature retreat despite being in middle of complex. Very quiet. Clean. Not fancy but good value for price. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Location was great. Little French cafe around the corner. Hammocks on the balcony & rooftop was a nice perk.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A villa next to the pool ..what's not to like !

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The refrigerator doesn't work.

    I loved their service, nice spot and great location.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riviera Maya Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: