Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rocamar 2 stars

Avenue Nicolas Bravo Col Centro, 77400 Isla Mujeres, Mexico

#32 of 42 hotels in Isla Mujeres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom had clear glass walls with a curtain around it, frosted glass would have been much better than the curtain. Could have used a dresser or something to organize a little better too. Overall was a really good room for the money and location.

    View was amazing. This rooms was so close to the ocean so you could hear the waves breaking and it drowned out any noise from the neighbors, sometimes felt like we were the only ones staying there because it was so quiet. Nice amount of space in the room, parking outside for your golf cart if you rent one and still close to the main beaches. Lots of restaurants, laundry services and golf cart rentals nearby. I like the room safe here more too it was an actual keyed safe instead of just the cheap coded ones.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little higher then I wanted, when We reserved we got a room with a king bed and a hammock on our deck, but they put us on the main floor, no hammock, and two single beds, when I complained they said well we are very full n will have to check tomorrow if anyone is leaving and then you can upgrade if you want. For $17USD an night, I was not happy at all. I’m not here to spend time in my room I’m here to enjoy Mexico. For the 7days I was there they didn’t seem very full. And if you wanted wifi you had to go outside your room by the many lobby.

    The rooms were always nice n cool with the AC, it was at the end of the Conner road so it was very quite, not much traffic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn’t explain anything and in the check-out day they only hold your luggage until 3pm. After that they charge you per hour! Be careful because they don’t say anything!

    The room is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. Shower was a trickle. The beds were clean and comfy. You are paying for the view, and it’s worth it.

    The location and view of the ocean couldn’t have been better. But that would be the only reason I would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have had coat hangers to hang things and a place to dry wet items from pool and water activities. Internet could get a little spotty depending on the time of day.

    The View, proximity to the Centro, restaurants, snorkeling activities, but on the quieter side of the island so you do not have the noise and traffic. Renting a golf cart makes it easy to visit all around the island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a a glass cube with heavy plastic curtains. It smelt. The sink was full of hair and other gross stuff that made it hard to drain. You could use the toilet, shower and brush your teeth if you wanted. The best part, as I say this sarcastically, is that we did not have hot water! In fact, we hardly had any water and after traveling all day, we had to wash out of the sink. The water pressure in this place sucks. The staff were not very helpful and not friendly at all. The only good thing is that they gave us 5 of our 7 nights back even though we only stayed one night. Would have been better if we got it all back. Totally would NOT recommend this spot to anyone!

    The only good thing about this property was if you had an ocean view room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to move to 3 different rooms before being comfortable there. Do not rent on the ground floor. It is basement level and the rooms are sub par there.

    Location was perfect for our stay. Staff was very accommodating to our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely need more space for storage , there was really no place to put our clothes so we kept everything in our luggage . So bring only minimum . Air condition was little too loud at night and it was impossible to shut it completely down so we could only listen the waves outside

    Excellent location, nice clean hotel , close to beautiful North beach where you could rent cabanas and chairs . 3 -5 min walking distance to downtown , cafes and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’d reserved a room ahead of time, and they couldn’t find it. We asked for more blankets and pillows and they said they didn’t have any (they gave us a couple more sheets). The air conditioning made it either freezing cold or steaming hot. It took turns. We had a room with 2 double beds and it was TINY. I know there are bigger rooms because we’ve stayed there before. There was no water pressure. Trying to shower was pointless.

    The view and the pool were fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was bad. WiFi was spotty. Couldn’t find the light switch for the lights on the balcony. A TV? No thanks. I miss the wooden slats you could open to allow air flow instead of having to open the entire sliding glass door. The hammock was also unusable.

    The location of this hotel is why, after our first trip to Isla 40 years ago, we keep coming back. Don’t get a room in the basement or on the first floor. The basement used to be a restaraunt. It had quite a lovely view but was never busy. Maybe why it closed? Second and third floors are where it’s at. Close proximity to the town square (have a seat and watch the basketball game), grocery store, restaraunts, shopping, and a short walk to the ferry terminal. You can rent a golf cart or book a tour directly from the hotel (I recommend island hopping to Contoy. It is a bird sanctuary with over 150 species of birds. A lagoon with lots of critters. An Osprey nest. And beautiful beaches. The day tour includes lunch, beer, and snorkeling). The Rocamar is a short walk to the beautiful North Beach. The first time we visited the island this hotel was $12 a night! It also had no air conditioning and smelled like raw sewage. Needless to say times have changed on Isla. Necessary upgrades have been made. The Rocamar is a good value and you really can’t beat the location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Isla Mujeres.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend the city view rooms. They were like dungeons. One very small window. Nothing on the walls. Literally two beds, a night stand and a tiny tv. Very little water pressure and hot water was limited.

    Nice location and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dank, dark with low roof. No window in our bathroom or curtain in the shower so everything became and remained wet. No ventilation. Beds and pillows were uncomfortable so we barely slept and my husband is the kind of person who could sleep on the dancefloor of a night club. We are a couple who are well travelled and unfortunately these rooms have to be the worst we have stayed in when you consider value for money. The lovely staff or location do not save it. Try for a hotel further out of town and hire a golf cart to get around for your time here.

    Location is close to the action and staff were friendly and helpful but it doesn't override the flaws of the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water pressure and the room wasn’t cleaned every day

    Great everything!!! Missing- water pressure and the room wouldn’t be cleaned every day but other than that it was perfect:)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except view. Don’t go here. Lots of other choices. I want my money refunded. Very disappointing

    Smelled of exterminator everywhere. Staff indifferent and cold. Poor security. Room lacked basic necessities. Only plus was great view of ocean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had 0 water pressure it was like showering under a drop of water... i asked for them to look at it but it was not fixed ( i was in rm 17) also the bathroom is odd and small.

    I loved the view, the balcony, the super comfortable bed. I give that 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    lack of regular supply of towels and face cloths in the room, always had to ask, ground floor was actually in ' basement' that required stairs to be climbed (this was a problem with injury), attempted to be moved but hotel not able to accommodate, i had sent an email before we arrived as well requesting this move as i noticed the stairs in a picture, no blanket in room-had to ask again, bathroom was small with minimal shelf storage

    beds were comfortable, pool was good, cleanliness was acceptable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not saying that you should book a hotel for the wifi, but the wifi at the hotel was limited to a small outside common area behind reception. Outside of this area, the wifi was pretty much non existent. The rooms were a little dated and I’d say a bit overpriced for what I’d expect at that cost.

    The view is incredible and the surf is always pounding against the malecon, which helps keeps the outside noise to a minimum. The hotel is very close to Centro area and everything you need is well within walking distance. The pool is very welcoming and for the most part, always clean. Very economical golf cart rental just down the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not friendly and I had to ask for extra soap and toilet paper three times. This was met with a crabby face by staff. Many lounge chairs were ripped or broken. The bathroom needed a good deep cleaning. This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Rocamar in the past ten years. It was our least favorable experience there

    The bed was comfy. Our view was gorgeous. A great place for a restful nights sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor water pressure, some sewer smell in bathroom. Need tile on outside walkways as the wood looks bad.

    Ocean view is unparalleled, room is clean and comfortable. pool and pool deckarea are nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rocamar feels like it is being neglected. The rooms, while comfortable, need updating and small repairs. The light in the bathroom was so dim, a candle might have been better. Poor pressure in the shower. There are other properties on the Island that do better at this price point.

    The location can't be beat! It is right on the Caribbean, with only the sea wall between the hotel and the sea. Beautiful views and lovely pool area. Our room was clean, with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated rooms. Horrible furniture, falling apart. Curtains had weird powder film that came off on clothes and hands. One patio door didn’t close properly due to rust. It rattled all night until I secured it with the do not disturb sign. The water pressure in shower was non existent. The tv was at poor angle for viewing and too far away from bed. For the price charged and “boutique” feel that the hotel is trying to portray, its hugely disappointing

    Location and view. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants inside the room and we had to spray all over in order not to have them on bed and inside our suitcases. The hotel it can be turn out to a great luxurious hotel if the owner decides to spend some money to fix basic things in his property. It's a pitty that the hotel is located in such a great spot. I understand that humidity is destroying things but it's not the only hotel next to the sea. Especially this part with ants is just unacceptable. Also not enough sockets on the wall.

    We stayed on the second floor room 29 or 24 I am not sure. Great view and we had very good internet connection since the rooter was inside the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No communication with staff at check-in. They never let us know that ice, coffee and fresh water were available. WiFi available only outside of lobby area. Bathrooms needed updating desparatey.

    Location was very close to restaurants and shops. Some of the staff was helpful with problems.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom just wasn’t good. It was a glass fishbowl with a a heavy plastic tarp on a wire that needed to be pulled if you wanted any privacy. It was all open and the electric outlet was practically in the shower, which was frightening. Just a disappointing bathroom overall. Can’t we just have four walls and a door?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    amazing ocean view, nice rooms, cool balcony with a hamac, good bathroom and perfect wifi connection in our room,quieter area but still close to Playa Norte, also swimming pool available,beach towels for free, we were very satisfied with this choice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms. Our room was fine. However, the second room booked was located on the ground level and the view differed greatly than what was found on the hotels website. Additionally when we contacted Booking.com, about the room having a king bed, Booking.com supposedly contacted the hotel directly and was assured that the room would have a king bed; it did not. We ended up paying an additional $80+ to have a room located on an upper level. During that entire week, the shower did not work and locking the sliding door to the balcony was an issue. At no time did anyone at the hotel offer to give us a credit for the $80+. With all this said, if we were to travel to Isla again, I would not rule out this hotel, but would hope that the management would spend some money in upgrading.

    The room was great for what we needed...a place to put our head

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    In need of repairs - small things did not work consistently (e.g. sliding door, water in shower) . I would say the property was a little tired. Some people got the bottom floor - they nicknamed "the dungeon" limited view

    The view from the upper rooms was wonderful. Staff were helpful. Spartan but relatively clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could have been a bit cleaner and the staff could be a bit more friendly.

    Isla Mujeres is a wonderful place and Isla Mujeres is next to the town square so you get a taste of life for those who truly live in this beautiful place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain over the sliding door was very old, the backing came off as white power when touched and stuck to clothing. We had to be very careful about opening and closing it.

    The pool was great. The room super clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We had an ocean view on the third floor which was beautiful. Ocean view from the pool area makes it a relaxing gorgeous setting. Short walk to Playa Norte and UltraMar ferry.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two mornings there was no water pressure for the shower. We had to ask for clean towels twice. The WiFi was practically useless and was totally unavailable in the lobby due to a power outage. For a hotel that charges top dollar there was not top value. Please improve your services or lower your price down to about $50.00 per night. I will not stay there again nor will I recommend the hotel to anyone.

    A nice view of the water. It was close to the restaurant and shops. It was good that we could rent a golf cart at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in the king size bed room requested and booked wasn't available and the staff mention this after changing the room to my Credit Card

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *Door could not be locked - hotel changed us to another room. *Second room had two light sockets broken causing flash light by night. When I complained they were changed the day after but general state of the hotel is (very) outdated and needs maintenance. *Concierge probably forgot we changed room and following day I was almost naked in the room when door opened and new guest came behind the concierge. Not a big problem for me but the guests were very ashamed - this can type of "amateur" hotel problems be easily prevented specially for the amount of money the hotel is charging for a night. *Hotel charge in USD (not in pesos) - be aware of this as we ended paying +20$ more than the amount we booked in due to currency variation (we booked in pesos at the hotel made us pay in USD losing 20$ in the conversion rate - not a nice start)

    Location and view from the hotel was excellent. Good wifi signal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Construction. Water pressure was not great. Toilet went out for a day-ish. Ants in the room.

    Location is perfect. Ocean view. Amazing. I've been going to this specific place for 10 years now.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful felt more like an apartment than a hotel, cozy, clean, close access to the beach and city. Breakfast was amazing and loved that they had a small convenience store in the 1st floor. Service was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very minimalistic in terms of its structure. You can tell not a lot of money has been spent on the rooms, especially the bathroom, where you have to use some sort of curtain to cover the bathroom if you would like privacy. I would say the value for money was not great either.

    The location is great and you have a beautiful sea view, although the waves can be a bit loud at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were super close to the center and only a 5-10 min walk to playa Norte where we went every day. The ocean views were absolutely breath taking, we watched the sunrise every morning! We loved Rocamar and plan on staying again. Thank you for being accomodating- Israel and Victor!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No service at all - no bar/restaurant, no one by the pool, there was hardly ever someone at the desk and if there was they were not really very helpful or friendly, internet was annoyingly patchy, just felt like no one was around that worked there really.

    location and room was nicely done up - with a few small things that could be improved nice to have an ocean view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very old and lots of things need fixing. The bathrooms need to be improved quickly.

    The views of the ocean from out room and the location of the hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When it rains (and it can rain pretty suddenly and very heavily though usually for quite short periods, depending upon the season) the reception floor becomes extremely slippery. Wi-Fi was rarely available in the room. Had to stand outside or go down to reception area to get a decent signal.

    Excellent location with a truly fabulous view straight onto the Caribbean ocean and coast (if you request room with sea view), and facing a stunning sunrise. Room was clean and spacious, with balcony and hammock and plastic chairs. There's a small pool and sun deck for guests. Although the hotel is set right on the water, swimming isn't permitted in the sea here. Nearest beach is just a five or ten minute walk away, and the hotel is close to town centre but far enough away to avoid noise from the streets and late night bars. Reception staff were a little bit impersonal, possibly because of limited English language abilities (and my Spanish is lamentably basic) but they did their job sufficiently well. There's no breakfast, but that's made plain in the promotional materials, and there are plenty of good cafes and bars within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. The room was dirty, balcony door had a crack. False impression from the pictures online. Rooms were very basic and need to be re-painted. The hammock which the hotel supplied was sticky and smelly. Swimming pool had endless amount of bugs on the surface. The shower pressure was very low.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was comfortable. The view was amazing from the room. Perhaps the room is a little dated but it is kept very clean. Daily cleaning and changing of towels. The pool area is nice also, and kept very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a one star property. Staff doesn't care, curtain system in bathroom is stupid& hard to move, flair is very low. Doesn't like ok like the photos, rust on mirrors, not clean, feeling unsafe

    Close walk from ferry, view to ocean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have the twin room we booked available so one of us had to sleep on a foldaway bed - good that they solved the issue but would have preferred our original booking.

    Great views, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Our AC didn't work great at all. Booking.com States all rooms have Ceiling Fans...NOT TRUE. No ceiling fans. I went out and bought a floor fan for our stay. Pool was cloudy.

    Location and view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has no breakfast facilities so you have to go out every morning

    The location of the hotel is fantastic, 100 meters from the ferry and close to supermarket and restaurant. The rooms have balcony with sea view The atmosphere is very nice, kind of "boutique-style" , with a "living room where there is free coffee and water and some good internet. The pool size is average but plenty of space for relaxing in the lounge chairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi dropped frequently in the room but, was constant in the lobby -they tell you that. A.C. was a little loud but worth it.

    This hotel's balcony view was like NO other on the Isla! Breath taking, beautiful!! Hotel was a little industrial/ rustic chic, but very clean and the staff very nice and helpful. Bed was super comfortable. Again, THE VIEW -these regular photos were taken from our balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Property is outdated, bathrooms were slightly mildewed, plumbing created an odor when showering

    Location, sweeping panoramic views of the ocean, convenience to downtown area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi almost never works in rooms (reception doesn't care) if I knew this I would not have stayed there as its a major problem. No breakfast provided, the shower gels given in the room are really bad. There was no one at reception to check in with for 10 mins when I arrived, even tho I rang the bell multiple times.

    Beautiful view, large balcony and comfortable bed. Free beach towels every day are also great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom toilet is in a funny position behind a door, but it works ok. the whole place is a modern and very well designed and attractive functional space. we loved everything about it. there is a fridge and a coffee maker in the room too.

    the beds were comfortable and the view is amazing right on the atlantic side of the island by the water with a constant breeze. it's in town too, by the market and all the shopping but very quiet, all you hear is the ocean. the pool is beautiful and the private patio has a great hammock

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work in the rooms so we had to sit in the outdoor lobby in July heat to be able to contact people back home/look up restaurants and activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main concern was the bathroom. The shower had no screen or curtain so essentially everything gets wet and as the entire hotel room is tiled it made the whole room feel damp and cold. The wifi was temperamental and continued to drop off. We stayed 4 nights and the bathroom gels/soaps were not replaced when empty. The staff were hardly seen and whenever we had to ring the service bell at the counter they also appeared put out. We did not have a hamock on our balcony as indicated in the pictures.

    The pool looks good. Was raining while we were there so unfortunately unable to use it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use a little bit of updating. They were very bacis. The bathroom was roomy but instead of walls they had shower curtains. All in all it was pretty good. But they definitely need to start updates before it's too late.

    The location is perfect! Within walking distance to everything. The pool was great! The views from my room were spectacular! Looking over the ocean with a balcony & hammock.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Microwave didn't work, could be a good thing, as bad as it is for us.

    Amazing view to the ocean. ~Easy access to shopping area and walking distance to Playa Norte!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit raw and looked more luxurious on the pictures than in reality.

    The terrace and the view to the wild sea was amazing. Clean and with fresh water available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is substandard, bathroom was very strange and not very clean. They also pumped the air conditioning really high and there was no place to turn it down

    Small island and hotel is super close to the ferry which is awesome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exchange rate is valued up to hotel convenience (not actual exchange rate). Overpriced Staff is inflexible Never respect genius advantage of late check out

    Great ocean view Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needs improvement in terms of stability of hot water and flow. The toilet also works so so and the pillows could be upgraded.

    I loves the view to the sea and the cleaning. The bed was amazingly comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loved swinging in the hammock on our room's deck that looked out onto a stunning view of the ocean!! The bathroom and shower we had was spacious and clean. It was also nice to have the option of the outdoor pool if you don't feel up to going to the beach one day. Fresh beach towels everyday and my wifi worked well here. For being so affordable this hotel is clean, cute design, spectacular view, great location, and overall an awesome spot! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - nobody to help get our bags up the stairs - had to pay to keep our bags the day of check-out - not very safe place to keep the bags - bathroom is all glass so whoever you´re sharing a room with can see you in the bathroom

    - The view from the balcony - Close to ferry - shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I don't care for is the soliciting, it makes me uncomfortable, but I understand it.

    Everything! The view is spectacular, the staff extremely kind, and accommodating. The entire area surrounding the hotel is a complete pleasure!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was on and off in the room. Extra charge to leave our bags in the reception for anther hour after check out. I appreciate the hotel won't take responsibility if something been stolen but there were too many signs to be aware from stealing and breaking in the rooms (even when you sleep) - I couldn't sleep week any of the nights there worried someone will get in.

    View was amazing. Ask to be in top floor with ocean view! Wow wow wow! I still can't believe it was real! Amazing!!! See the photos attached

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was only available in a common area near reception not in the rooms

    Fabulous location, the room had a beautiful sea view. Easy walk to main area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't great at times and didn't have our booking in the system even though they charged us for the room a month earlier.

    The cleanliness and location of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathroom setup was weird - too many see-through windows and door couldn't close when the air was on, which meant the bathroom was not that private.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    1. While a coffee maker was provided and first morning's coffee, you had to purchase the coffee after that for US$1.00 each packet. Also, if you preferred to pay in pesos - this is Mexico, after all - they dinged you on the exchange rate. This little bit of "nickle-and-diming" was a sour note in an otherwise very enjoyable stay. Why not just raise the room rate by $1 and include the coffee with it? 2. We have stayed here several times in the past, which means we must like the place - but I'm surprised that they haven't replaced the clear glass panels enclosing the washrooms in the rooms with etched glass. Kind of quirky to have a see-in washroom experience.

    location, security, cleanliness - wonderful sound of the surf from our balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on the windy and wavy side of the island.

    Great location, Best value for money, We got the upper room with a big balcony and loved the room and the view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stuff not nice at all! we asked to get a double room and got tween (after telling her that its our honeymoon!). asked to change a room and they told us we need to upgrade the room and to add more money. after i insisted they found a double room at the same flour! so if you had one, why do you try to get extra from us?!?! over all the stuff looked like "couldn't care less"/ also the room had bed smell.

    nothing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hard to lock & unlock the door. Needs a new lock.

    Beautiful pool overlooking the ocean. Great location. Excellent view of the ocean from our room. Loved the tea and coffee outside the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room ( just in the lobby). But they are working on it ,so I've been told. Bathroom was transparent (glass walls) so you don't get full privacy (there are curtains but they don't go all the way to the floor).

    Location was great. Close to the terminal and the restaurants. Amazing ocean view. Big double bed. Purified water tanks in each floor and free coffee downstairs. Also private parking for our rented gold cart.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very very very rude! We booked a room on the ground floor, when we got there the room smelled really bad like sewerage. The glass sliding door didn't lock properly and being on the ground floor we didn't feel safe, especially because there were signs next to the door saying to make sure door is always locked so people can't get in! We complained about the room and the receptionist was very rude about this, we ended up changing rooms to an upper level and a door that locked. It was nicer but I don't feel like it was worth the money we paid. Would not recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful quality/price ratio. Beeing one of the most expensive hotels in Isla Mujeres, the conditions should be so much better. Shower with low pressure (you need at least 15 min to take a bath), having to wait 20 minutes for the water to warm up, with the shower regulator broken and falling to the floor. The hotel had a nice pool but when we wanted to use it at the end of the day it was fully occupied with people from outside the hotel. When we asked the receptionist if the pool was accessible to non guests, he said no, lying to us telling that the people were guests (we knew that there were no children at the hotel and in the pool were several with their parents). For almost 100 euros per night you find much, much better in Isla Mujeres.

    Located near the Port (about 3 minutes walking) and near Praia Norte (10 minutes walking). Room with great ocean view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit expensive. The AC is old and very noisy.

    the pool is excellent, the ocean view and the hgotal location are great, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To avoid rooms on first floor (à bit unsecure at night due to nearby public path). Check aircon to avoid problems.

    Easy to reach on foot from pier. Relatively close to various center of interests (beach, restaurants, shops, ...). Beautiful and impressive view on océan. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have such a beauitful view and the pool area is a nice place to chill and read a book. As is the hammock on the balcony. There's a sea path that leads along the water as well, which is nice for morning walks. I'm pretty sure I spotted some turtle nests in the sand on my morning walk! Location is excellent - right in the hub of everything. I'm a young female and was alone on the island but I felt really safe. So could recommend to solo female travellers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude. At one point it looked like sewage was running by our front door. The room was a little depressing. We were having trouble with the lock on the sliding back door, got help once and finally just keep the door shut the whole time, so we couldn't use the balcony.

    The only thing good about this place was the location.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rocamar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: